Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to turn your box into a Xvnc Terminal Server
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 15, 16, 17  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jeremy_Z
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 671
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes but I thought you had a problem with the howto. As i son't know how it works with xdmcp i can't help much.

But i doubt replacing Xvnc with gdm in the call made by xinetd would work. I would probably "add" gdm.
"Replace X with Xvnc in the gdm.conf. ", well maybe :D

Try, any of these changes are reversible, so you don't risk much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, no problems with the howto. I could just add gdm to a runlevel, but this box is rather slim and so it start X+gdm on a physical terminal for nothing (no monitor).

I f gdm is not started, i get only a grey X background in the remote screen. So I guess it's only a metter of knowing the mechanics that links xinetd, Xvnc, X and gdm.

On the basics, we know that gdm start X and Xvnc also start X. So, in the normal ways this howto, if xinetd start Xvnc and Xvnc start X (supposedly), I'm wondering howcome, it's gdm that appears on the remote console?

Like you said, you'd be tempted to add gdm instead of Xvnc into the xinetd config, then configure gdm.conf to start Xvnc instead of X. What I think will happen is that gdm will start on the physical screen.

I guess I'll have to try :(
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeremy_Z
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 671
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this possible to have gdm starting no X server at all ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jeremy_Z wrote:
Is this possible to have gdm starting no X server at all ?
What good would that serve?
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeremy_Z
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 671
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't know, is the X server started by gdm of any use since Xvnc is started when you connect with vncviewer ? Again i am not sure about how it worls so ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xvnc is an intermediary between the remote viewer and the real X. If you look at ~/.vnc/xstartup, you will see that eventualy, the real X is started. So Xvnc is not a replacement of X, it's more like a redirector of keyboard/mouse inputs and screen outputs over the network.

How gdm fits into this, that what's elude me for now.
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeremy_Z
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 671
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes but for each connection you make it starts X via Xvnc, so the X via gdm is useless unless for local connections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the problem. I did try to get this working by adding an xinetd entry for xdmcp. When I connect to the vnc server, it tries to contact the xdmcp server thrue port 711. xinetd catch that and starts gdm, which it will apear in the xvnc viewer.

The only problem is that gdm is too dumb to be only a xdmcp server. What I mean is that if I plug in a monitor, there is also an instance of gdm running on the physical terminal too.

I tried to make gdm to serve only to Xvnc, but it's too stuburn. The closest I came to, was that when gdm was called, it complained that X was already started (Xvnc).

So, I must conclude that this is not possible to do with gdm. A special greeter should be made for Xvnc only box. While at it, it should be tunneled thrue ssh.

In clear, gdm's main purpose is to be a local terminal greeter. The xdmcp for vnc is an hack around for a Xvnc's really really dumb implementation because it lacks any decent security features.
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tecknojunky wrote:
Xvnc is an intermediary between the remote viewer and the real X.

If you look at ~/.vnc/xstartup, you will see that eventualy, the real X is started.

So Xvnc is not a replacement of X, it's more like a redirector of keyboard/mouse inputs and screen outputs over the network.

How gdm fits into this, that what's elude me for now.


No. I think you got it wrong. There isn't such a thing as "the real X", nor does Xvnc start it.

X11-clients (kde, xterm, gdm-greeter) all open a connection an X11-server. This can be Xwin.exe, Xsun, XFree86, X.org, WeirdX (a java applet!), and even Xvnc ...whatever as long as it speaks X11R6.

Both XFree and Xvnc create an image from the X11 commands they receive. (Xvnc even contains XFree code) The big difference is however, Xvnc exports it to the network, and XFree instructs your video-card to display it. That's all.

gdm/kdm/xdm are display managers, they control how X servers are spawned locally on your display. gdm/kdm/xdm also contain a xdmcp-daemon.

XDMCP is a different story. Instead of telnetting/ssh-ing to your box, and changing the $DISPLAY variable, this handshake-stuff happens over a separate protocol, hence XDMCP.
_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Babeland... yeah! I wish!

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2004 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey there,
I had the grey X cursor screen problem, I was able to correct it. Now everytime I start a vnc session, I have a glimpse of the greeter and then the vnc client closes, I can see the processes running, and the display number incrments each time I try to reconnect. I'm using gdm, and trying to use XFCE4 and run out of ideas to try.

/etc/X11/xdm/xdm-config :
Code:

DisplayManager.errorLogFile:    /var/log/xdm.log
DisplayManager.pidFile:         /var/run/xdm.pid
DisplayManager.keyFile:         /etc/X11/xdm/xdm-keys
DisplayManager.servers:         /etc/X11/xdm/Xservers
DisplayManager.accessFile:      /etc/X11/xdm/Xaccess
DisplayManager.willing:         su nobody -c /etc/X11/xdm/Xwilling
DisplayManager*authorize:       true
DisplayManager._0.setup:        /etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup_0
DisplayManager._0.startup:      /etc/X11/xdm/GiveConsole
DisplayManager._0.reset:        /etc/X11/xdm/TakeConsole
DisplayManager*resources:       /etc/X11/xdm/Xresources
DisplayManager*session:         /etc/X11/xdm/Xsession
DisplayManager*authComplain:    true


/etc/X11/gdm/gdm.conf
Code:

[daemon]
AutomaticLoginEnable=false
AutomaticLogin=
TimedLoginEnable=false
TimedLogin=
TimedLoginDelay=30
LocalNoPasswordUsers=
AlwaysRestartServer=true
Configurator=/usr/bin/gdmsetup --disable-sound --disable-crash-dialog
GnomeDefaultSession=/usr/share/gnome/default.session
Chooser=/usr/bin/gdmchooser
DefaultPath=/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin
RootPath=/sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/
bin:/usr/bin
DisplayInitDir=/etc/X11/gdm/Init
Greeter=/usr/bin/gdmlogin
RemoteGreeter=/usr/bin/gdmgreeter
User=gdm
Group=gdm
KillInitClients=true
LogDir=/var/lib/gdm
PidFile=/var/run/gdm.pid
PostSessionScriptDir=/etc/X11/gdm/PostSession/
PreSessionScriptDir=/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/
FailsafeXServer=
XKeepsCrashing=/etc/X11/gdm/XKeepsCrashing
RebootCommand=/sbin/shutdown -r now;/usr/sbin/shutdown -r now
HaltCommand=/usr/bin/poweroff;/sbin/poweroff;/sbin/shutdown -h now;/usr/sbin/shu
tdown -h now
SuspendCommand=
ServAuthDir=/var/lib/gdm
SessionDir=/etc/X11/gdm/Sessions/
UserAuthDir=
UserAuthFBDir=/tmp
UserAuthFile=.Xauthority
StandardXServer=/usr/X11R6/bin/X
FlexibleXServers=5
Xnest=/usr/X11R6/bin/Xnest -audit 0 -name Xnest
FirstVT=7
VTAllocation=true

[security]
AllowRoot=true
AllowRemoteRoot=false
AllowRemoteAutoLogin=false
RelaxPermissions=0
RetryDelay=3
UserMaxFile=65536
SessionMaxFile=524388

[xdmcp]
Enable=true
HonorIndirect=true
MaxPending=4
MaxPendingIndirect=4
MaxSessions=16
MaxWait=15
MaxWaitIndirect=15
DisplaysPerHost=1
PingInterval=1
Port=177
Willing=/etc/X11/gdm/Xwilling

[gui]
GtkRC=/usr/share/themes/Default/gtk/gtkrc
MaxIconWidth=128
MaxIconHeight=128

[greeter]
TitleBar=true
ConfigAvailable=true
Browser=false
DefaultFace=/usr/share/pixmaps/nobody.png
Exclude=bin,daemon,adm,lp,sync,shutdown,halt,mail,news,uucp,operator,nobody,gdm,
postgres,pvm,rpm
MinimalUID=100
GlobalFaceDir=/usr/share/faces/
Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/gdm.png
LocaleFile=/etc/X11/gdm/locale.alias
Logo=/usr/share/pixmaps/gdm-foot-logo.png
Quiver=true
SystemMenu=true
Welcome=Welcome to %n
LockPosition=false
SetPosition=false
PositionX=0
PositionY=0
XineramaScreen=0
BackgroundType=2
BackgroundImage=
BackgroundScaleToFit=true
BackgroundRemoteOnlyColor=true
BackgroundProgram=
RunBackgroundProgramAlways=false
ShowGnomeChooserSession=true
ShowGnomeFailsafeSession=true
ShowXtermFailsafeSession=true
Use24Clock=false
UseCirclesInEntry=false
GraphicalTheme=gentoo-emergence
GraphicalThemeDir=/usr/share/gdm/themes/

[chooser]
DefaultHostImg=/usr/share/pixmaps/nohost.png
HostImageDir=/usr/share/hosts/
ScanTime=3
Hosts=
Broadcast=false

[debug]
Enable=true

[servers]
0=Standard
1=Terminal -query localhost

[server-Standard]
name=Standard server
command=/usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp -audit 0
flexible=true

[server-Terminal]
name=Terminal server
command=/usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp -audit 0 -terminate
flexible=false
handled=false


/etc/X11/xdm/Xaccess
Code:
*                                       #any host can get a login window


If someone has any hint, idea, comment please point out.

Thanks.
_________________
The heart has reasons that the reason will never understand.

-- La Renga. El final es donde partí
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2004 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried using a different vnc client? It almost sounds like your client crashes. I was also thinking about a firewall issue, but I don't exactly know how (because it seams to work very well for me)

Btw, if you're running gdm, you don't need to change the settings of xdm.
_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Babeland... yeah! I wish!

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2004 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vdboor wrote:
Have you tried using a different vnc client? It almost sounds like your client crashes.


Tried different clients, no luck... TightVNC 4 win and RealVNC, tight exits with a connection lost message Real says nothing...

vdboor wrote:

I was also thinking about a firewall issue, but I don't exactly know how (because it seams to work very well for me)


Tested without FW... same result...

vdboor wrote:
Btw, if you're running gdm, you don't need to change the settings of xdm.


OK..

This is the output of /var/log/messages, I'm using debug=true in gdm...
Code:

May 14 12:27:37 aqua xinetd[2070]: START: vnc pid=22185 from=200.9.75.132
May 14 12:27:37 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_decode: Received opcode QUERY from client 127.0.0.1
May 14 12:27:37 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_query: Opcode 2 from 127.0.0.1
May 14 12:27:37 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_send_willing: Sending WILLING to 127.0.0.1
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_decode: Received opcode REQUEST from client 127.0.0.1
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_request: Got REQUEST from 127.0.0.1
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_request: pending=0, MaxPending=4, sessions=0, MaxSessions=16
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_display_dispose_check (localhost:7)
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_auth_secure_display: Setting up access for localhost:7
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_auth_secure_display: Setting up socket access
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_auth_secure_display: Setting up network access
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_auth_secure_display: Setting up access for localhost:7 - 3 entries
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_display_alloc: display=localhost:7, session id=1084505477, pending=1
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_send_accept: Sending ACCEPT to 127.0.0.1 with SessionID=1084505477
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_decode: Received opcode MANAGE from client 127.0.0.1
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Got MANAGE from 127.0.0.1
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Got Display=7, SessionID=1084505477 from 127.0.0.1
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Looked up localhost:7
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_choose_indirect_lookup: Host 127.0.0.1 not found
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_forward_query_lookup: Host 127.0.0.1 not found
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_display_manage: Managing localhost:7
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: Resetting counts for loop of death detection
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_display_manage: Forked slave: 22186
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[22186]: gdm_slave_start: Starting slave process for localhost:7
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[22186]: gdm_slave_start: Loop Thingie
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[22186]: gdm_slave_run: Opening display localhost:7
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[22186]: gdm_slave_greeter: Running greeter on localhost:7
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: (child 22186) gdm_slave_child_handler
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[22186]: gdm_slave_greeter: Greeter on pid 22188
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[22186]: Sending GREETPID == 22188 for slave 22186
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[22186]: Sending GREETPID 22186 22188
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: Handling message: 'GREETPID 22186 22188'
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: Got GREETPID == 22188
May 14 12:27:39 aqua gdm[2104]: (child 22186) gdm_slave_usr2_handler: localhost:7 got USR2 signal
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[22186]: gdm_slave_wait_for_login: In loop
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[2104]: mainloop_sig_callback: Got signal 20
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_cleanup_children: child 22186 returned 2
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_child_action: Slave process returned 2
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_display_unmanage: Stopping localhost:7 (slave pid: 0)
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[2104]: gdm_display_dispose: Disposing localhost:7
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[2104]: (child 22186) gdm_slave_child_handler
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[2104]: (child 22186) gdm_slave_child_handler: 22188 died
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[2104]: (child 22186) gdm_slave_child_handler: 22188 returned 1
May 14 12:27:42 aqua gdm[2104]: main: Exited main loop



Also the contents of /var/lib/gdm/:4.log (and all :#.log are the same)
by the way, i'm trying this on a SUN ultra10, X at the console works well, so this (I think) should not be a problem...

Code:
XFree86 Version 4.3.0
Release Date: 27 February 2003
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.4.24-sparc-r1 sparc64 [ELF]
Build Date: 30 January 2004
        Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
         (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
         (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.4.log", Time: Thu May 13 22:42:24 2004
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
Detected FFB2+/vertical, Z-buffer, Double-buffered.
Symbol DRIQueryVersion from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol DRICreateInfoRec from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol DRIScreenInit from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol DRIDestroyInfoRec from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol DRIGetSAREAPrivate from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol drmAddMap from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol drmAddMap from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol drmAddMap from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol drmAddMap from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol drmAddMap from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol DRICloseScreen from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol DRIDestroyInfoRec from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol DRICloseScreen from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol DRIDestroyInfoRec from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol DRIFinishScreenInit from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol GlxSetVisualConfigs from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/sunffb_drv.o is unresolved!


Regards
_________________
The heart has reasons that the reason will never understand.

-- La Renga. El final es donde partí
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DAWG98
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2004 4:47 pm    Post subject: Grey Screen of dispair (GSOD) Reply with quote

I tried the howto. Thanks lines for putting it together. However, when I execute vncwiever on my XP box to linux_box:82 I only get the grey screen. Alternatively, if I start vncviewer manually and then execute vncviewer to linux_box:1 it works.

I tried editing the xstartup; i.e., startkde &, I ensured and double and triple ensured that everything is entered as it should be, that programs are listening on the correct ports, etc (I spent over 14 hours trying to fix this), but still GREY.

So there are a few hypo's/questions that I think may help me find the solution (please be considerate as I am a n00b):

1. I am running KDE 3.2. Many files are duplicate under KDE 3.2 and X; i.e., I have more than one version of Xsession, Xwilling etc. How can I ensure that the right file is being called? What's Xvnc using?

2. In /root/.vnc/xstartup I commented the twm out and replaced with startkde...should it be something else; i.e., kdm?

3. What is the /$home/.Xresources for? I searched for this file to no avail. Is KDE no starting because this is missing?

4. I checked out this Howto http://www.openbrick.org/en/Members/tn/thinclient/Howto%20configure%20X%20and%20VNC
and it requires one to edit the font server...is that necessary here also?

5. Where does Xvnc log its prcgress?

Thanks for any comments in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Babeland... yeah! I wish!

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, got tired...

I tried to use the vnc login in via ssh, then running, vncserver :# got the server spawned, now I connect using vncviewer localhost:# (I have a tunnel -L 590#:localhost:590#) and get twm PUAJ! but working. A few problems :
* fonts look UGLY, not only ugly, but characters without sense, missing, reversed... (yes, I have xfs running, no I didn't use -f font fifo, or whatever, I will try later)
* if i leave the server alone (only move mouse) everything OK! if I try to launch even an xterm, firefox or whatever the server closes...

Any clue?

Thanks.
_________________
The heart has reasons that the reason will never understand.

-- La Renga. El final es donde partí
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK... I went through the tutorial. Here is my problem:

Code:
bash-2.05b$ vncviewer localhost:71
vncviewer: ConnectToTcpAddr: connect: Connection refused
Unable to connect to VNC server


If I try to connect via a different box, I get "Unable to connect" or something to that effect.

If I manually start vncserver I can connect through vncviewer on the standard ports (i.e. 5901.)

Not sure how to resolve this one.... Any help is appreciated.
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geforce
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm using KDE 3.2:

Quote:

5) Configure kdm
if you use kdm, edit /etc/kde/kdm/kdmrc and enable XDMCP on port 177


There is no "kde" directory in /etc...

There is no configuration file for kde in /etc...


Can someone help me please ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moloch
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 293
Location: Albuquerque, NM, US

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

geforce
Quote:
There is no "kde" directory in /etc...

There is no configuration file for kde in /etc...


Try: /usr/kde/3.2/share/config/kdm/kdmrc


thorne
Quote:
vncviewer: ConnectToTcpAddr: connect: Connection refused


It sounds like xinetd has not been configured correctly or not started. You will usually get a connection refused when nothing is listening on that port. It could be firewall related as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geforce
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I founded it;


I setted XDPCM to

XDPCM=true

is it okay ?

Thanks alot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any way to set the default DPI for vncserver? (For manual activation of vncserver, not inetd)
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nx12
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somebody knows how to resume/suspend VNC sessions?
I need to run some GUI apps for a really long time on the remote computer and keep the vnc window open is a bit annoying, not saying that if I close it I'll be completely fscked?
I've seen a vnc session manager project but it requires patched client and has patches only for win32 clients. :roll:
I'll be glad to hear any suggestions.
_________________
signature sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomarsyd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After reading most of this thread, I'm wondering if it's required to have gdm/xdm/kdm/etc installed. When I boot my machine I prefer to get a text login and then run startx to get going in my window manager of choice. Can I still run vnc without having gdm/xdm/kdm/etc running?


Thanks.
_________________
Regards,
Tom Meeks
www.tomar.no-ip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Babeland... yeah! I wish!

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tomarsyd wrote:
After reading most of this thread, I'm wondering if it's required to have gdm/xdm/kdm/etc installed. When I boot my machine I prefer to get a text login and then run startx to get going in my window manager of choice. Can I still run vnc without having gdm/xdm/kdm/etc running?


xdm/gdm/kdm will manage your XDMCP connection between the Xvnc/vncclient.

So I think you should have one of these login mannagers running.

Another thing you could do (probably not doable, but well, I'm a n00b :)) is set up xinitd or whatever to have it start gdm upon a connection to udp 117 (this is the part I think is not doable)

Regards.
_________________
The heart has reasons that the reason will never understand.

-- La Renga. El final es donde partí
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
docbill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 8:49 pm    Post subject: Grey screen problem with xdm solved, for me at least Reply with quote

I too was not getting a login window. After studying the files, I found if I change the Xservers file to:

:0 local /usr/X11R6/bin/Xvnc

I also had to change the shell for nobody to /bin/bash. I tried a more restrictive shell, but that did not work. I also tried using a different account, i.e. 'xdmlogin', but that also did not work.

Now my only problem is once I login it tries to start kdm, even though I don't have kdm installed...

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nx12
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm-m, the only way to resume/reconnect to running vnc sessions I've found is to enable autologin in gdm and put vncserver comand in the .xprofile of the user.. :roll: Well, it's not elegant, but at least it works.. So at the end of all I can have a bulletproof Xsession. :roll:
I feel like to try later adding some kind of init script starting Xserver and Xvnc without gdm thingies.. If I get something interesting I'll write back.
_________________
signature sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xiando
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 19
Location: EU

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 1:31 am    Post subject: Gray Screen with xdm and && IPv6 caused Login Troubl Reply with quote

I've used this for quite a while and I was quite annoyed with this, out of the blue, stopped working (because I had recompiled XFree).

XFree must be compiled without IPv6 support. Xdmcp does not work if XFree is compiled with IPv6 support.

Code:
echo "x11-base/xfree -ipv6" >> /etc/portage/package.use


or install using

Code:
USE="-ipv6" emerge xfree


The Nobody Shell Issue (that will give you a gray screen without a login manager)

I use KDM as login manager. KDEs KDM does not require the user nobody to have a valid shell. XDM, on the other hand, does require nobody to have a valid shell when used as a vnc server.

Code:
usermod -s /bin/bash nobody

_________________
It is not named Bninux, Bninux is just a kernel, the OS is named BNU/Binux! Source: 24c3-2290-en-overtaking_proprietary_software.mp4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 9 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum