Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to turn your box into a Xvnc Terminal Server
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 15, 16, 17  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ssl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 178
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Really nice topic - thanks everyone, especially author (lines)

Few questions:

7) Specify who can have access to
edit /etc/X11/xdm/Xaccess and uncomment the line " '* #any host can get a login window" by removing the single quote
You could also change it to 192.168.0.* for some security


I have similar line but not the same. My line is:
Code:
#*                                       #any host can get a login window

There is not quote here. What to do? To simply delete '#' character?

Are steps 4) and 7) needed if I want to have gdm for vnc sessions and not xdm?

Also, I'll wait your answers on this but now I get mesage:

Code:
slobo@localhost slobo $ vncviewer localhost:71
VNC viewer version 3.3.7 - built Apr  1 2004 01:02:07
Copyright (C) 2002-2003 RealVNC Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1994-2000 AT&T Laboratories Cambridge.
See http://www.realvnc.com for information on VNC.
ReadFromRFBServer: rdr::EndOfStream


My window manager is gdm. Did
Code:
emerge vnc
instead
Code:
emerge tightvnc
- is this makes difference?

Thank you
Ssl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ssl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 178
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, unmerged vnc and installed tightvnc and now I have this:

slobo@localhost slobo $ vncviewer localhost:71
vncviewer: VNC server closed connection

nothing more. Log in /home/slobo/.vnc/localhost:1.log

Code:
03/06/04 03:29:29 Xvnc version 3.3.tight1.2.9
03/06/04 03:29:29 Copyright (C) 1999 AT&T Laboratories Cambridge.
03/06/04 03:29:29 Copyright (C) 2000-2002 Constantin Kaplinsky.
03/06/04 03:29:29 All Rights Reserved.
03/06/04 03:29:29 See http://www.uk.research.att.com/vnc for information on VNC
03/06/04 03:29:29 See http://www.tightvnc.com for TightVNC-specific information
03/06/04 03:29:29 Desktop name 'X' (localhost:1)
03/06/04 03:29:29 Protocol version supported 3.3
03/06/04 03:29:29 Listening for VNC connections on TCP port 5901
03/06/04 03:29:29 Listening for HTTP connections on TCP port 5801
03/06/04 03:29:29   URL http://localhost:5801
xrdb: No such file or directory
xrdb: can't open file '/home/slobo/.Xresources'
                                                                                                                                               
03/06/04 03:29:56 Got connection from client 127.0.0.1
03/06/04 03:29:56 Protocol version 3.3
03/06/04 03:29:59 Full-control authentication passed by 127.0.0.1
03/06/04 03:30:00 Pixel format for client 127.0.0.1:
03/06/04 03:30:00   32 bpp, depth 24, little endian
03/06/04 03:30:00   true colour: max r 255 g 255 b 255, shift r 16 g 8 b 0
03/06/04 03:30:00   no translation needed
03/06/04 03:30:00 Using raw encoding for client 127.0.0.1
03/06/04 03:30:00 Using compression level 1 for client 127.0.0.1
03/06/04 03:30:00 Using image quality level 6 for client 127.0.0.1
03/06/04 03:30:00 Enabling X-style cursor updates for client 127.0.0.1
03/06/04 03:30:00 Enabling cursor position updates for client 127.0.0.1
03/06/04 03:30:00 Enabling LastRect protocol extension for client 127.0.0.1
03/06/04 03:30:10 Client 127.0.0.1 gone
03/06/04 03:30:10 Statistics:
03/06/04 03:30:10   key events received 0, pointer events 75
03/06/04 03:30:10   framebuffer updates 11, rectangles 771, bytes 3652930
03/06/04 03:30:10     cursor shape updates 5, bytes 410
03/06/04 03:30:10     cursor position updates 1, bytes 12
03/06/04 03:30:10     raw rectangles 741, bytes 3652124
03/06/04 03:30:10     copyRect rectangles 24, bytes 384
03/06/04 03:30:10   raw bytes equivalent 3652124, compression ratio 1.000000
xterm:  fatal IO error 32 (Broken pipe) or KillClient on X server ":1.0"


What's this: seems two errors - but maybe someone notice more :)

Ssl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raybdbomb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2004
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i followed the guide exactly, to the T

i tried xdm and gdm, and both give the error message when trying to run vncviewer:71

Quote:
nix root # vncviewer localhost:71
vncviewer: ConnectToTcpAddr: connect: Connection refused
Unable to connect to VNC server
nix root #

_________________
http://raybdbomb.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raybdbomb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2004
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok it works if i manually start the Xvnc server... but it doesn't load up a login, it just has the grey screen with cursor

i'll look through these other replies
_________________
http://raybdbomb.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lechuga
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Madrid, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:28 am    Post subject: I love it! Reply with quote

Oooooh This is sooo kewl man! I love it! Now we all have Xwindows and KDE running remotely.

But you forgot to mention the following:
Quote:
In /usr/kde/3.2/share/config/kdm/kdmrc look for the [Xdmcp] section and change Enable = false to Enable = true


Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Child_of_Sun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 11
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ist ja ganz nett dein Script, aber wie bekomme ich es hin das er die Sitzung beim schleißen des Client-Fensters aufrechterhält, ist nämlich nervig das Fenster bei allen Operationen geöffnet zu lassen.

CoS

Aber ansonsten hat es mich schwer beeindruckt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Babeland... yeah! I wish!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:?: :!: :?: :!: :!: :?: :!: :?: :?: :!: :?:

Child_of_Sun wrote:
Ist ja ganz nett dein Script, aber wie bekomme ich es hin das er die Sitzung beim schleißen des Client-Fensters aufrechterhält, ist nämlich nervig das Fenster bei allen Operationen geöffnet zu lassen.

CoS

Aber ansonsten hat es mich schwer beeindruckt.


In english please :roll:
_________________
The heart has reasons that the reason will never understand.

-- La Renga. El final es donde partí
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Child_of_Sun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 11
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, i have written at the same time in an German Forum and haven't thought about it.
I find your script very useful, but when i log off the current display won't stay open it will close and you must login every time when you close the Remote Window and reopen it. I need that the session stays open because of some Compilation an the other PC so it is not very useful for me, but i have got found out how i can do that what i want on another way.
But when it give a possibility to force the session to stay open, please tell me, because i haven't found out how.

CoS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geforce
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wich ports do I need to unlock on my firewall ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Treo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Newark, DE

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I just came across something in which you guys might be interested... and maybe someone could even offer a solution...
I just spent a good 4 hours to figure out why I only get grey screens when trying to vnc into my notebook... it works like a charm the other way around (NB to Desktop) and the configuration files are identical...

I have been running a Cisco wireless card on eth1/wifi0 and that was the only ethernet interface at the time. I then finally thought about using the build-in wired port and it worked, I was blown away...
And what was really strange was that it didn't even work locally on the notebook... a vncviewer localhost:72 always gave me a grey screen...

So, maybe that will solve some grey screen problems... but does anyone know how to fix this? I am not too got with X networking and all, but there must be some kind of solution so I can use both devices.

Thanks,

Treo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lechuga
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Madrid, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

geforce wrote:
Wich ports do I need to unlock on my firewall ?
The ones you added to the /etc/services file and that you want to make available.

Cheers!
Lechuga
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Babeland... yeah! I wish!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Child_of_Sun wrote:
Sorry, i have written at the same time in an German Forum and haven't thought about it.
I find your script very useful, but when i log off the current display won't stay open it will close and you must login every time when you close the Remote Window and reopen it. I need that the session stays open because of some Compilation an the other PC so it is not very useful for me, but i have got found out how i can do that what i want on another way.
But when it give a possibility to force the session to stay open, please tell me, because i haven't found out how.

CoS


Hey there... no prob...

I saw a posting in the tightvnc mailing https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/vnc-tight-list list regarding the persistence of the sessions... I just cant find it right now, but if you care to look there, or perhaps post there you will recieve some feedback...

regards!
_________________
The heart has reasons that the reason will never understand.

-- La Renga. El final es donde partí
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Child_of_Sun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 11
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Javock
Thanks at all, will search there, if i found out something, i post the link here.

CoS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rollinncoaster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 5:44 am    Post subject: Thanks for the howto Reply with quote

Worked exactly as described, (xdm + fluxbox). Just set your new services (there is no need to include all the services, just the ones you really need), set up the entries for the xinetd deamon, allow any client to get access to the login screen (comment out that line on the Xaccess file), restart gdm and xinetd, and open corresponding ports on the firewall. If you only use one resolution, just open one port. Works flawlessly over the internet at 1024x768x16 with a cable connection.

Thanks again.

RC

NOTE: anybody know about any security risk when running this kind of setup. I am going to configure some servers like this for remote administration. Is there any problems?
_________________
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning." Rich Cook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lechuga
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Madrid, Spain

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:13 am    Post subject: Re: Thanks for the howto Reply with quote

rollinncoaster wrote:
NOTE: anybody know about any security risk when running this kind of setup. I am going to configure some servers like this for remote administration. Is there any problems?

Yes. VNC is unencrypted (so anyone on your network with a sniffer can listen in a get all the passwords he/she needs). When I say network, this could be the Internet if you plan to run this over it.

You should use SSH to tunel the VNC ports you want to use.

Cheers!
Lechuga
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DreamweaverN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 17
Location: Northern Territory, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2004 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Old thread, sorry all :). Lechuga do you have a link or a guide or something on how to set that up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lechuga
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Madrid, Spain

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have anything ready made, but I'll try to make something up.

Ok. If you're using Windows client and a VNC viewer (say UltraVNC, why not?) then you only need PuTTY to setup an SSH connection from Windows and then tunnel your VNC connection through it, making it safe from prying eyes. This is how:

1. Start up "putty"
2. Enter your hostserver in the "hostname" field (duh!)
3. Follow the option tree on the left to the bottom to "Tunnels"
4. Add new forwarded port as follows:
a. Source port: 5961 (for example, this gives you 800x600x16)
b. Destination: yourhost:5961
5. Click on open. You should now be able to login to your host with your username and password (still text mode).
6. Now start your VNC viewer and point it to locahost:5961

Isn't it great when things are this simple?

That's it! Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slaterson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed /etc/X11/xdm/Xaccess to only allow connections from my network (192.168.110.*), but it still allows connections from any IP address. Has anyone else checked this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lechuga
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Madrid, Spain

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slaterson wrote:
I changed /etc/X11/xdm/Xaccess to only allow connections from my network (192.168.110.*), but it still allows connections from any IP address. Has anyone else checked this?

I think you need to look at /usr/kde/3.2/share/config/kdm/Xaccess. That is if you use KDE.

Cheers!
Lechuga
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slaterson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lechuga wrote:
slaterson wrote:
I changed /etc/X11/xdm/Xaccess to only allow connections from my network (192.168.110.*), but it still allows connections from any IP address. Has anyone else checked this?

I think you need to look at /usr/kde/3.2/share/config/kdm/Xaccess. That is if you use KDE.


i'm using gdm, but gdm doesn't appear to have an Xaccess file. is it named something else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mterlouw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is anyone else having trouble getting this to work with xorg? I tried tracing the problem and the most I could get it to do was give me the black & white screen and X mouse cursor by specifying font paths manually in the xinetd services file. I was thinking the problem was the font paths because xorg moved them to /usr/share/fonts. Anyways without specifying the font paths manually, I only get a response on the console "VNC connection closed by server" or something to that effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heavy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 3:32 pm    Post subject: Works great!! Reply with quote

Thanks for the great tutorial, been wanting to do this for a while.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roderik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 55
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

YES! it finally worked for me :)

i only have one very annoying problem left, as you can see below, it doesn't show icons etc. I mean to use it in my LAN to the gentoo server without a screen over a 100mbit, largely unused network, so all the effects could transmit without a loss of speed...

Screenie 1
Screenie 2


[EDIT] ok, got it, don't open a 32bit vnc on a 24bit TFT screen :)
_________________
"Never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narusegawa
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 210
Location: Bimringham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way of getting this methodology working with the java http client?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinnieNZ
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 126
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roderik wrote:
[EDIT] ok, got it, don't open a 32bit vnc on a 24bit TFT screen :)


Heh, I did that as well :lol:

Also note that your VNC screen doesn't display correctly if you try to open a 32bit session on a remote desktop that only supports 24bit max (well duh Vinnie... :oops:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 10 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum