Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to turn your box into a Xvnc Terminal Server
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 15, 16, 17  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GrimSage
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah how would I accomplish that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frenkel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 1034
Location: .nl

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ezechiel_dantec wrote:
schneider wrote:
Veneroso wrote:
This happens even when I launch the vncviewer locally. It allows me to login, brings up the grey screen, sits for about a minute, then sudenly closes.

edit /etc/security/pam_env.conf and comment out the following lines:
Code:
REMOTEHOST     DEFAULT= OVERRIDE=@{PAM_RHOST}
DISPLAY        DEFAULT=${REMOTEHOST}:0.0 OVERRIDE=${DISPLAY}
XAUTHORITY     DEFAULT= OVERRIDE=@{XAUTHORITY}


I have the same problem, and these lines are NOT commented in my pam_env.conf...
I don't get it... :?

EDIT: I emerged the r2 version of pam, but now, how do I avoid it getting updated when I
Code:
emerge -Dua world
?


Read what he says... COMMENT OUT THE FOLLOWING LINES, so you have to make them comments, that's the whole point... :roll:

Good luck!
Frank
_________________
http://techfield.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezechiel_dantec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There you go, just follow the documentation, and you should be fine!

http://xf4vnc.sf.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GrimSage
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That seems to be timing out.... Interesting never seen sf down...
typing in sourceforge seemed to work though. Now my question is will this whole guide work with xf4vnc rather than tightvnc?


Last edited by GrimSage on Tue Nov 16, 2004 4:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezechiel_dantec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just checked works for me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Veneroso
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 27
Location: Batavia, New York

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks alot Frenkel, that did the trick. Sorry for my late reply, but I forgot all about this issue because I was busy with other matters. Thanks again.
_________________
All you need is the handyman's secret weapon, duct-tape.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezechiel_dantec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Frenkel wrote:
ezechiel_dantec wrote:
schneider wrote:
Veneroso wrote:
This happens even when I launch the vncviewer locally. It allows me to login, brings up the grey screen, sits for about a minute, then sudenly closes.

edit /etc/security/pam_env.conf and comment out the following lines:
Code:
REMOTEHOST     DEFAULT= OVERRIDE=@{PAM_RHOST}
DISPLAY        DEFAULT=${REMOTEHOST}:0.0 OVERRIDE=${DISPLAY}
XAUTHORITY     DEFAULT= OVERRIDE=@{XAUTHORITY}


I have the same problem, and these lines are NOT commented in my pam_env.conf...
I don't get it... :?

EDIT: I emerged the r2 version of pam, but now, how do I avoid it getting updated when I
Code:
emerge -Dua world
?


Read what he says... COMMENT OUT THE FOLLOWING LINES, so you have to make them comments, that's the whole point... :roll:

Good luck!
Frank


Sorry for being French. I'm not quite used to the use of comment out. Thought it meant "to put out the #", seems it means to put them in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meglamaniac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2004
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What can I say?
Worked first time and I'm a complete newbie at this.
A touch of class.

Thanks!

BTW, I had no trouble and I'm only using xdm. gdm and kdm are not installed. My window manager is fluxbox. However, it doesn't like it if I try 32bit colour mode - I just get the plain old X screen then. I suspect that's more to do with the old graphics card than anything else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sir_Chancealot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lines wrote:
... tightvnc, which is almost just as thin as rdp. ...


That isn't saying much. :wink: :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wanted to say thanks to schneider for the post about commenting out the lines, solved my problems here as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kioshen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 109
Location: Montreal, PQ

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

schneider wrote:
Veneroso wrote:
This happens even when I launch the vncviewer locally. It allows me to login, brings up the grey screen, sits for about a minute, then sudenly closes.

edit /etc/security/pam_env.conf and comment out the following lines:
Code:
REMOTEHOST     DEFAULT= OVERRIDE=@{PAM_RHOST}
DISPLAY        DEFAULT=${REMOTEHOST}:0.0 OVERRIDE=${DISPLAY}
XAUTHORITY     DEFAULT= OVERRIDE=@{XAUTHORITY}


Thanks a lot that did the trick for me. I had these lines in my gdm's log if anyone is interested because I was trying to log remotely (don't ask why I use XFree) :
Code:

This is a pre-release version of XFree86, and is not supported in any
way.  Bugs may be reported to XFree86@XFree86.Org and patches submitted
to fixes@XFree86.Org.  Before reporting bugs in pre-release versions,
please check the latest version in the XFree86 CVS repository
(http://www.XFree86.Org/cvs).

XFree86 Version 4.3.0.1
Release Date: 15 August 2003
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.9-gentoo-r1 i686 [ELF]
Build Date: 22 November 2004
        Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
         (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
         (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Thu Nov 25 09:58:00 2004
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:55 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34284
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:55 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34285
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:55 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34286
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:55 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34287
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:56 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34288
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:56 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34289
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:56 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34290
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:56 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34291
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:56 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34292
AUDIT: Thu Nov 25 09:58:56 2004: 3388 X: client 4 rejected from IP 127.0.0.1 port 34293

_________________
-= United we share =-

Adopt an unanswered post today!
Why emerge -U will kill your Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrekkie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello fellow-gentoo-ers,

*** GREY-SCREEN STORY ***

I had the stupid grey-screen problem, and I did try anything in this thread, except the re-emerge of xfree with USE="-ipv6", cause i didn't like the long compile. Anyway at the end it was indeed the solution for me. So try recompiling your xfree without the ipv6 flag if you are as desperate as i was.

Hope this helps someone,

Greetz
_________________
irc.michiels.nu #lobby if you wanna talk to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShastaMaroon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed the directions (first post) but I still can't get this to work.

When I type vncviewer localhost:71 I get the error:

Error: Can't open display: localhost:0.0.

Anyone have any ideas how to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tscolari
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 602
Location: curitiba - pr - Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how can i fix this kind of problem:

vncviewer: VNC server closed connection

i tryed to run vncserver to see if it fixes it, but then i got that my display was sancho:1 (sancho is my hostname), shouldnt it be localhost:1? also connect to the hostname doesnt work...
_________________
------------------------------------
Tiago Scolari
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SidneyKi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to test vnc by running
vncviewer localhost: 71
on the box it self.

but when I try to connect from my laptop I get an error:
unable to connect to host: Connection refused(10061)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ceapollo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Funky Town

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am just used to ssh into the box and tunneling the connecting over.

I am going to be setting up a machine tonight i might give this a try we will see.
_________________
Sorry if anything is miss spelled, but a second grader could beat me in a spelling bee!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tscolari
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 602
Location: curitiba - pr - Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tscolari wrote:
how can i fix this kind of problem:

vncviewer: VNC server closed connection

i tryed to run vncserver to see if it fixes it, but then i got that my display was sancho:1 (sancho is my hostname), shouldnt it be localhost:1? also connect to the hostname doesnt work...

_________________
------------------------------------
Tiago Scolari
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SidneyKi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do you vnc into a gentoo box with a windows 2000 OS latop?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob Paddock
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone been able to get this setup to work by using a web browser for a client?
I can get it to work if I start up a vncserver manually but not via this Xvnc Terminal Server
set up.

I set up the services and xvncserver file to have ports such as 5870, 5871 etc.

In the end when I try to login with the browser is "RFB 003.007" as a respons
to my request: http://othermachine.com:5871

tecknojunky wrote:
Any hints on enabling the java viewer in this fashion?

So far, I've added "vnc-http 5800/tcp" in /etc/services and ...
Quote:

service vnc-http
{
protocol = tcp
socket_type = stream
wait = no
user = nobody
server = /usr/bin/Xvnc
server_args = -inetd -query localhost -once -geometry 1024x768 -depth 16
-httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes
}
... in /etc/xinetd.d/vncserver


When I connect with Moz, all I get is "RFB 003.003" in the page and nothing else happens.

I don't know if it's a vnc issue or a Moz issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigMichi1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Location: Dresden, Deutschland

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way of getting glx available for xvnc on this how-to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schmokin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Salem, OR

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already made the changes to /etc/security/pam_env.conf as noted above, but when I try to connect from a remote host I get this in /var/log/messages:

Code:
Dec 27 16:12:00 aliens xinetd[14388]: START: vnc-1024x768x16 pid=14658 from=xx.xx.xxx.xxx
Dec 27 16:12:00 aliens Xvnc[14658]: segfault at ffffffff95fdb1c8 rip 0000002a95e57e9b rsp 0000007fbfffeed0 error 4

Yes I purposely x'd out my IP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpdsaorg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 359

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think those pam_rhost settings are there for a reason and i feel a little uncomfortable "just commenting them out".

are there any guru's out there that know how to set this up another way?? it seems to me that there should be a way to add specific hosts to remote hosts or allow only certain users to log in remotely all configured from pam or something...
_________________
PentiumM 2.0 GHz, MSI 915GM Speedster-FA4, Seagate ST3500641AS SATA 400GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danomac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 873
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another grey screen update:

I did not explicitly specify ipv6 in my USE flags, but I did come across a solution for this in my specific case. I followed the instructions from lines in the first post and I too was plagued with the gray X screen whenever I logged in. After a lot of head-scratching, I realized I goofed up at:

lines wrote:

5) Configure kdm
if you use kdm, edit /etc/kde/kdm/kdmrc and enable XDMCP on port 177


In my case, I looked for the above file and it didn't exist, so I assumed I was using xdm (big mistake on my part :oops: ). How I mixed up kdm/xdm is beyond me (tried xdm - uuuugly.) After checking my rc.conf I found out I was using kdm - but the kdmrc was not in the specified folder.

Doing a `find / -name "kdmrc"` revealed to me that in kde-3.3.2 that is was now located here:

Code:

/usr/kde/3.3/share/config/kdm/kdmrc


So, I made the appropriate change in step 5 here, and now I am logged in on my VNC-spawning server posting this article.

I hope this helps others - just a simple overlook caused this in my case.

D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mord
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 68
Location: Where the rubber meets the road.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using xdm/fluxbox and got the grey screen problem. Currently re-emerging xorg-x11 with USE="-ipv6" and hoping this works.
_________________
I feel more like I do now than I did when I got here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mord
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 68
Location: Where the rubber meets the road.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holy crap it worked. Now I don't get a grey screen anymore, I get xdm. But now as soon as I log in, I get dropped and the windows closes.

One tiny step closer...

EDIT: YAY PAGE 13!
_________________
I feel more like I do now than I did when I got here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 12 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum