Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to turn your box into a Xvnc Terminal Server
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mord
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 68
Location: Where the rubber meets the road.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, using Xnest (raw XDMCP) works just fine with no problems (I get the XDM logon screen and it takes me into a fluxbox session). Great!

However, if I use vncviewer, I get XDM, but once I log in, the vncviewer exists. The last message on the console is "ReadFromRFBServer: rdr::EndOfStream". Something is messed here. Someone else in this thread was having this problem but I don't think they ever fixed it. Any thoughts?

(EDIT: Damn Xnest is sweet though. You can run any geometry....I open a 1000x700 window to my server from my laptop, who's little screen runs at 1024x768... :D)
_________________
I feel more like I do now than I did when I got here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fdarling
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lines wrote:
Unlike Windows Terminal Services, games and videos also play like a charm, Office needs no extra configuring. Just wat runs locally will probably work remote. The only things I found that do not work are:

OpenGL games like Quake III, tuxracer etc.
Sound. (but that doesn't work with terminal server to)

Does anybody have an idea how to make sound working (remote)?


Let me explain how VNC works... It has a remote X server that has all the clients (windows having visual output) running on it. It takes a picture when something changes on the screen, just a bitmap, compresses it with JPEG and sends it over to the client. Thus the client only needs to know how to uncompress and view a JPEG, it doesn't need to know anything else about the server.

However, there is another technology called XDMCP. Thats where the person connecting to the server is running the X server at their end, and then the applications with visual output and whatnot are running on the server, and they communicate over the network with your server.

The reason you would want that is because instead of just receiving JPEGs, you are receiving the actual pre-rendered instructions, and instead of all the windows on your screen being blobbed into one JPEG, they are seperate windows on your end. Thus dragging windows and stuff would seem faster. And also, since the whole point of OpenGL is to say "draw a polygon using this image and these coordinates" and have the hardware deal with it for speed, but it has to interface closely with the hardware to do this. XDMCP, since the clients are using *you're* X server, running on *you're* hardware, OpenGL will work. With VNC its running on *their* server without OpenGL support, since everything is rendering into JPEGs and not using the video card at all.

So why doesn't everyone use XDMCP? Because... You have to have a local X server running, and in windows its harder to do that. VNC is nicer for cross-platform stuff, and also its faster since it blobs all the windows into one image, then compresses it.

Sorry if this was a bit of a long post :wink: I just wanted to let ya know the difference between the methods
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
befortin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to get XFCE to work with VNC. VNC works very well, but after I login through XDM, I fall in the ugly twm. Here's my ~/.vnc/xstartup file :

Code:

startxfce4 &


Anyone has an idea??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mord
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 68
Location: Where the rubber meets the road.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If everyone follows the howto at the very beginning, how on earth are you getting a .vnc/xstartup file?!?

Or are people just trying to get Xvnc working without the rest of the junk dropping into this thread for help?

I for one could not get Xvnc working the way the howto suggests, even though individually my XDMCP and Xvnc standalone servers work perfectly. So I just launch Xvnc servers manually when I need them via SSH.

One more problem I noticed just using Xnest in Gnome to connect to an XDMCP session: If I switch to another virtual desktop in gnome, and back to the desktop that has my Xnest session, I lose all keyboard to the Xnest session and I have to restart it. So for this reason, I'm just using Vnc client from both Windows and linux clients when connecting to my server, tunnelling through ssh when appropriate.
_________________
I feel more like I do now than I did when I got here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fdarling
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

befortin wrote:
I'm trying to get XFCE to work with VNC. VNC works very well, but after I login through XDM, I fall in the ugly twm. Here's my ~/.vnc/xstartup file :

Code:

startxfce4 &


Anyone has an idea??


....yeah. Edit your /etc/rc.conf and change
#XSESSION="Gnome"
to
XSESSION="XFCE-4"

that should fix it! =) That will make XDM use XFCE-4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tscolari
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 602
Location: curitiba - pr - Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tscolari wrote:
tscolari wrote:
how can i fix this kind of problem:

vncviewer: VNC server closed connection

i tryed to run vncserver to see if it fixes it, but then i got that my display was sancho:1 (sancho is my hostname), shouldnt it be localhost:1? also connect to the hostname doesnt work...


nobody knows what cause this?
_________________
------------------------------------
Tiago Scolari
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
befortin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to configure xdm to set a background but it doesn't work. I've tried all I could, googled a lot and still I can't find how to get the background color as I would like it to be (black!)...

In my /etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup_0 file, I have the following :

Code:

/usr/X11R6/bin/xsetroot -display 192.168.2.34:1.0 -solid black


ad my $DISPLAY=192.168.2.34:1.0 when I'm connected through VNC.

I've also tried to not use the -display option and to use it with the following values :

- :0.0
- :0.1
- :$DISPLAY


but the background is that ugly default xdm background!! I've done "/etc/init.d/xdm restart" each time I changed the config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2003
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone here who has had the "sudden close" after an xdm login resolved there issues yet? I am doing a recompile of X without ipv6, we-ll see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mord
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 68
Location: Where the rubber meets the road.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

epx wrote:
Has anyone here who has had the "sudden close" after an xdm login resolved there issues yet? I am doing a recompile of X without ipv6, we-ll see what happens.

That only fixed my inability to connect via vncclient at all. I still had the "connect to xdm, log in, bye-bye" problem. Are you launching vncclient from a command prompt? Windows or linux. On linux, vncclient will spit information out to stdout in the console window. On Windows, vncclient writes to a log file somewhere, I think its accessible through the vncclient interface. I'd have to double check that though.
_________________
I feel more like I do now than I did when I got here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zehnan1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 90
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed the steps in the tutorial, only I used vnc, since tightvnc segfaults here on amd64. When I try to connect with vncviewer I get:

Code:

 CConnection: No password configured for VNC Auth
 main:        No password configured for VNC Auth


I've tried setting pass with vncpasswd, as root or as user... didn't make any difference. If I start vncserver manually, I type in the password (previously set with vncpasswd) and it works well. Any ideas how to solve this?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eagle_cz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice how to , but its probably too old or it isnt universal.

i had to change /etc/inetd.d/xvncserver

server_args = -fp unix/:-1 -inetd -query localhost -once -geometry 1280x1024 -depth 32

and also make sure, that you doesnt have /tmp/.0.... something related to Xvnc,
When Xvnc crash due to font problem, it will not run even when you fix xinetd.d, coz his lock file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eagle_cz wrote:
Nice how to , but its probably too old or it isnt universal.

i had to change /etc/inetd.d/xvncserver

server_args = -fp unix/:-1 -inetd -query localhost -once -geometry 1280x1024 -depth 32

and also make sure, that you doesnt have /tmp/.0.... something related to Xvnc,
When Xvnc crash due to font problem, it will not run even when you fix xinetd.d, coz his lock file.


This didn't help with the "connect to xdm, log in, bye-bye" problem. Can't find any log files anywhere. From the terminal:

Code:
Connected to RFB server, using protocol version 3.7
Enabling TightVNC protocol extensions
No authentication needed
Desktop name "nobody's x11 desktop (gungholady:1)"
VNC server default format:
  32 bits per pixel.
  Least significant byte first in each pixel.
  True colour: max red 255 green 255 blue 255, shift red 16 green 8 blue 0
Using default colormap which is TrueColor.  Pixel format:
  32 bits per pixel.
  Least significant byte first in each pixel.
  True colour: max red 255 green 255 blue 255, shift red 16 green 8 blue 0
Using shared memory PutImage
Same machine: preferring raw encoding
vncviewer: VNC server closed connection
ShmCleanup called


Edit:

My user had export DISPLAY=:0.0 in his home .xinitrc file. I commented that line out and it is working again for me.


I tried realvnc and like someone else got the passwd authentication errors. Wish we could solve this soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pret3ndeR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone!

Congrats to lines, this HOW-TO rocks :) I just got it running out-the-box with my GDM and Gnome desktop.

But now I have another machine (PII 350) only running XDM and Fluxbox, and I can't get it to work. I've read almost all pages and saw people with the same problem, but no solution.

And yes, I've tripled check my configs ... I don't know what to do :(

If someone can help me, I appreciate :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flbiggs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 10
Location: Richmond, VA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like zehnan1, I also use RealVNC instead of TightVNC because I have not been successful at getting TightVNC to work on the AMD64 kernel. Anyway, I have been able to implement the method described in this HowTo just fine with RealVNC. The only change I had to make was to add the following to the end of each "server_args" line in the /etc/xinetd.d/xvncserver file: "-SecurityTypes None". I am no expert, and the experts are welcome to correct me, but I think that this change is required because RealVnc defaults to requiring a password, even when login is "Nobody." Hope this helps others!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mord
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 68
Location: Where the rubber meets the road.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pret3ndeR wrote:
But now I have another machine (PII 350) only running XDM and Fluxbox, and I can't get it to work. I've read almost all pages and saw people with the same problem, but no solution.

I posted further up this page about a problem like this. I too was simply using XDM and Fluxbox and this turorial would not work. So I recompiled X without ipv6 support (the xdm implementation of XDMCP must be bugged) and it fixed one of the problems. I was then able to connect via vncclient and get the XDM logon screen. But after that, as soon as I logged into XDM, the vncclient session would die. I was never able to fix this problem.

Since then, I don't even start XDM anymore, and I just start vncservers for myself directly, and everything works just fine. I do the bulk of my remote server administration via SSH anyway. I don't ever really NEED a remote desktop.
_________________
I feel more like I do now than I did when I got here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nesl247
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any way to connect to the first running x session and when disconnecting it keeps the x session running.. Just like windows remote desktop connection?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Colddiver
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 22
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 5:06 pm    Post subject: Can't start apps from the CLI Reply with quote

First, great how-to!

My only problem is that I can't seem to be able to figure out how to start apps from the terminal, when logged as ROOT. I always get these errors:
Xlib: connection to "localhost:1.0" refused by server
Xlib: Client is not authorized to connect to server

I tried a few apps as a normal user and it worked fine. I only get these errors when I try to run an app as root. This is quite annoying since I need my VNC'ed box to burn CDs and DVDs using k3b (which needs to run as root). Other tools where not as reliable (especially with all the recent kernel trouble with CD/DVD burning).

Anybody has a clue?

Colddiver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:19 am    Post subject: Re: Can't start apps from the CLI Reply with quote

Colddiver wrote:
This is quite annoying since I need my VNC'ed box to burn CDs and DVDs using k3b (which needs to run as root). Other tools where not as reliable (especially with all the recent kernel trouble with CD/DVD burning).

Anybody has a clue?

Colddiver



I use k3b and do not have to run it as root. I just make sure that cdrecord is not set suid and that my user is a member of the cdrw group on my computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhboricua
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a though for those having problems connecting after following the instructions.

I was having connectivity issues with this. Symptoms went from getting socket errors to no errors at all but no connection being made either. In MY CASE, the problem seems to be that portage has the 1.3-alpha version of Tightvnc marked as stable, don't ask me why. Masking THAT PACKAGE and then emerging tightvnc-1.2.9-r1 fixed my problem. Now I get the login screen just fine and can work on my box remotely.

This was really killing me because I had it working before and didn't think about the package being upgrade during a update world emerge being the problem until now. What really is confusing to me is why an alpha release of tightvnc-1.3 is marked stable in portage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahir
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Dec 2003
Posts: 725
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 11:25 am    Post subject: tightVNC vs Vino Reply with quote

which is better?
tightVNC or Vino? (vino comes in gnome)
_________________
"wa ma tawfiqi illah billah"
Mahir Sayar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mholtz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am frustrated because I had this working perfectly up until a few months ago. I made the change to PAM, but I still get this every time I try to use Xvnc with xinetd:

Code:

$ vncviewer localhost:71
vncviewer: VNC server closed connection
$


The odd thing is that I can manually setup a Xvnc server from the command line and it works great. Is there some bizarre thing I broke with xinetd? How does Xvnc choose a display from X when run via xinetd? Here is its output from the command line:

Code:

$  /usr/bin/Xvnc ¥:1 -query localhost -once -geometry 800x600 -depth 16 -fp unix/:-1
07/03/05 22:24:50 Xvnc version TightVNC-1.3dev5
07/03/05 22:24:50 Copyright (C) 2000-2003 Constantin Kaplinsky
07/03/05 22:24:50 Copyright (C) 1999 AT&T Laboratories Cambridge
07/03/05 22:24:50 All Rights Reserved.
07/03/05 22:24:50 See http://www.tightvnc.com/ for information on TightVNC
07/03/05 22:24:50 Desktop name 'x11' (sakura:1)
07/03/05 22:24:50 Protocol versions supported: 3.7t, 3.7, 3.3


Here are few config files:

Code:

$ cat /etc/xinetd.conf
defaults
{
        #only_from      = localhost
        instances      = 60
        log_type       = SYSLOG authpriv info
        log_on_success = HOST PID
        log_on_failure = HOST
        cps            = 25 30
}

includedir /etc/xinetd.d
$



Here is the other relevant file:
Code:

$ cat /etc/xinetd.d/xvncserverservice vnc-640x480x8
{
          protocol = tcp
          socket_type = stream
          wait = no
          user = nobody
          server = /usr/bin/Xvnc
          server_args = -inetd -query localhost -once -geometry 640x480 -depth 8 -fp unix/:-1
}

service vnc-800x600x8
{
          protocol = tcp
          socket_type = stream
          wait = no
          user = nobody
          server = /usr/bin/Xvnc
          server_args = -inetd -query localhost -once -geometry 800x600 -depth 8 -fp unix/:-1
}

service vnc-1024x768x8
{
          protocol = tcp
          socket_type = stream
          wait = no
          user = nobody
          server = /usr/bin/Xvnc
          server_args = -inetd -query localhost -once -geometry 1024x768 -depth 8 -fp unix/:-1
}

service vnc-640x480x16
{
          protocol = tcp
          socket_type = stream
          wait = no
          user = nobody
          server = /usr/bin/Xvnc
          server_args = -inetd -query localhost -once -geometry 640x480 -depth 16 -fp unix/:-1
}

...[etc.]

$


Oh, and here is my log:
Code:

$ tail -30 /var/log/everything/currentMar  7 22:10:41 [xinetd] START: vnc-800x600x16 pid=12627 from=127.0.0.1
Mar  7 22:10:42 [xinetd] START: vnc-800x600x24 pid=12629 from=127.0.0.1
Mar  7 22:10:45 [xinetd] START: vnc-800x600x32 pid=12632 from=127.0.0.1
Mar  7 22:10:47 [xinetd] START: vnc-640x480x32 pid=12634 from=127.0.0.1
Mar  7 22:10:52 [xinetd] START: vnc-1024x768x24 pid=12638 from=127.0.0.1
Mar  7 22:10:53 [xinetd] START: vnc-800x600x24 pid=12640 from=127.0.0.1


...just a bunch of entries like that (once per vncviewer attempt) and nothing else. How can I get Xvnc do give me some debugging info? How do I tell xinetd to do the same? How does Xvnc choose its display number? Most importantly, how can I get this working? Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mholtz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is interesting:

Code:

$ telnet localhost:5971
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to localhost.
Escape character is '^]'.
Connection closed by foreign host.
$


Any time I try to connect to that port, the connection is immediately closed. xinetd is letting me in, but Xvnc is kicking me out immediately. Any ideas??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mouser
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 1419
Location: Milano

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi! I'm italian and at first I want to ask the excuse for my horrible english :roll:

Anyone know some link for more information about GNU/Radius? I search an howto for my work!
I don't know if it is the wrong thread, but I've search the keyword "Radius" and in the result list this thread appear.

Thanks a lot to everyone!

Ciao
mouser :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
socr0819
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 15
Location: raleigh, nc

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 4:58 pm    Post subject: Question(s) Reply with quote

Not sure if I'm asking too much here, but this is what I would like to setup:

1) Have the normal screen that you see if you were to walk up to the box and log-on (with the list of users to logon as).
2) If that's not possible, allowing the 'vncserver' service to start for a user (who is not root) and then be presented with that user's desktop. (I've tried this, but I still get the grey screen, even if my 'xstartup' file has 'startkde' in it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ducklord
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 1:45 pm    Post subject: Can I combine new and existing X logons? Reply with quote

Awesome guide, but I've got a little problem...

With this procedure, somebody can login to new X-Sessions, right?
Well, can there be some combination, or something, where a user from a different pc (internal or external network) will be able to connect, at the same time, both in a new X-Session as well as the one running - maybe by use of different ports, or something?

That was the first question, and my main problem... The second one is a bit idiotic, and I... beg for your forgiveness!

I had followed this guide when it was first posted, before the "days of the Wiki". I needed, though, to be able to connect to the running X-session, wich couldn't be done with this procedure (or, at least, so I thought), so I followed some other guides I found on the net. Now, excuse me, but I don't have any serious experience in linux. I did some stuff, I added some programs and, behold, I was able to connect to my X-session, and still am.

Until some days ago, I had installed programs, added and changed stuff, but hadn't connected to my PC "from outside" for some time. Yesterday I tried connecting and couldn't. When I returned home, I met a requester that asked "If I granted access to the incoming connection" (or something along these lines).

So, now, I'm in a position where...

a. I don't know... (don't laugh)... how many different VNC flavours are in my PC
b. how to find out the above
c. how to configure them so that a) I'll be able to connect to my running session from someplace else without granting permition from my own pc (what's the use of that? ;-) )
d. how to combine the above with your solution so as to be able for other users to connect to autonomous X-sessions.

Sorry for bothering you with these problems, if somebody knows anything, please, help. I had previously (when I first tried this stuff) read a-lot of threads, this one among them, regarding VNC, and none combined or acknowledged these two different ways of connecting to a pc. The worst was that each way mentioned cancelled the others, and being a newb and jumping from one to the next I got a bit lost...

Thanks in advance for any possible answers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 13 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum