Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
sound fails to load on ibook g4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mattmatteh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 449
Location: near chicago

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:14 am    Post subject: sound fails to load on ibook g4 Reply with quote

i updated my ibook g4 and now sound is broke. i messed with it alot the other day, and had it working fine. then i rebooted to make sure it would stay that way, but no... of course not. it wants to stay broke.

ssbook ~ # lsmod | grep snd
snd_pcm_oss 43360 0
snd_pcm 74212 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_page_alloc 8360 1 snd_pcm
snd_mixer_oss 16096 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy 2788 0
snd_seq_oss 34452 0
snd_seq_midi_event 6304 1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 54920 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer 21380 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 6860 3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd 51796 7 snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcm,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
soundcore 5892 1 snd


ssbook ~ # /etc/init.d/alsasound restart
* WARNING: you are stopping a boot service.
* Storing ALSA Mixer Levels ...
alsactl: save_state:1501: No soundcards found...
* Error saving levels. [ !! ]
* Killing processes using ALSA ... [ ok ]
* Unloading ALSA modules ... [ ok ]
* Loading ALSA modules ...
* Could not detect custom ALSA settings. Loading all detected alsa drivers.
* Unable to find any ALSA drivers. Have you compiled alsa-drivers correctly?
* Loading: snd-seq-oss ... [ ok ]
* Loading: snd-pcm-oss ... [ ok ]
* ERROR: Failed to load necessary drivers [ ok ]
* Restoring Mixer Levels ...
alsactl: unrecognized option `---'
Usage: alsactl <options> command

Available options:
-h,--help this help
-f,--file # configuration file (default /etc/asound.state or /etc/asound.names)
-F,--force try to restore the matching controls as much as possible
(default mode)
-P,--pedantic don't restore mismatching controls (old default)
-d,--debug debug mode
-v,--version print version of this program

Available commands:
store <card #> save current driver setup for one or each soundcards
to configuration file
restore <card #> load current driver setup for one or each soundcards
from configuration file
names <card #> dump information about all the known present (sub-)devices
into configuration file (DEPRECATED)
* Errors while restoring defaults, ignoring [ ok ]
ssbook ~ #


ssbook ~ # cat /etc/modules.d/alsa
# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF version 1.0.17 ---
alias snd-card-0 snd-powermac
alias sound-slot-0 snd-powermac
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---


like i said, i thought i had this fixed.

i dont use sound much on my laptop, but once in a while i do. but the real reason for fixing is gtkpbbuttonsd wont work with out it..... dumb that a visaul wont start without audio.

anyone have any suggestions ?

thanks
matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems snd-powermac is not loaded; does it work if you manually modprobe it? Also, did you run update-modules after modifying /etc/modules.d/alsa? Otherwise, the module will not get loaded on boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattmatteh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 449
Location: near chicago

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats odd. i thought i loaded snd-powermac. so i loaded it again, restarted alsa, and it failed again.

then i zapped alsa ( /etc/init.d/alsasound zap), loaded snd-powermac, and started (not restart) alsa, it works.

so it looks like alsa unloads the module when its stopped, but can not load it when its started.

matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On stopping /etc/init.d/alsasound removes all sound modules. Did you run update-modules after editing /etc/modules.d/alsa? If not, run it and try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattmatteh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 449
Location: near chicago

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i thought modules were preferred over having it compiled in. i just recompiled and put snd-powermac as <*> for now its fixed.

i did not run update-modules at all. perhaps i could/shold have?

thanks
matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To reiterate :) : You MUST run update-modules after changing /etc/modules.d/alsa (or any other file in this directory), otherwise the changes will not get forwarded to /etc/modprobe.conf and won't take effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattmatteh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 449
Location: near chicago

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i only recompiled since i forgot highmem support, and was only seeing 768 of 1256 MB. since i was recompiling, i decided to put it in the kernel. but i will keep update-modules in mind incase i get stuck again, thanks

matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum