Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xorg-server-1.6 and xf86-video-intel-2.6.2 please :D
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1700
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, come on guys, you know I enjoy it ;] I'm just looking forward to it, but also am quite bussy lately so it's always like "do I have the time to rebuild back and forth? oh, what the hell :D"

I'll be checking it out later today - hopefully randr-1.3 will be in x11 at that time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdw_hu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 200
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

szczerb wrote:
Oh, come on guys, you know I enjoy it ;] I'm just looking forward to it, but also am quite bussy lately so it's always like "do I have the time to rebuild back and forth? oh, what the hell :D"

I'll be checking it out later today - hopefully randr-1.3 will be in x11 at that time.


KMS only took:

CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y (tho i'm not sure this is needed)
CONFIG_DRM_I915_KMS=y

+ newest (non *-9999) stuff from x11 and ~ portage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1700
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pdw_hu wrote:
szczerb wrote:
Oh, come on guys, you know I enjoy it ;] I'm just looking forward to it, but also am quite bussy lately so it's always like "do I have the time to rebuild back and forth? oh, what the hell :D"

I'll be checking it out later today - hopefully randr-1.3 will be in x11 at that time.


KMS only took:

CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y (tho i'm not sure this is needed)
CONFIG_DRM_I915_KMS=y

+ newest (non *-9999) stuff from x11 and ~ portage.
Yeah, I know. Tried it a few times already but couldn't hibernate and randr wasn't really working.

BTW How about fbsplash? Do you guys have it working right from the beginning (that is just after grub)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdw_hu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 200
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szczerb wrote:
BTW How about fbsplash? Do you guys have it working right from the beginning (that is just after grub)?


What's that? :) Is that the grub image? I haven't used that, but only the ncurses version :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrsaccess
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried xorg-server 1.6 with intel driver 2.6.3 and finally I have decent 3d acceleration with textured video and textured opengl after so many months! Allelujah! :D

I have though two problems and I wonder if anyone came across them.

First I have a huge memory leak, in the order of gigabytes if I stay logged in long enough (as in one hour).
Second, using libxcb 1.2 from x11 overlay, xorg-server can not even start. Maybe it has to do with libXpm being unable to compile against libxcb 1.2 but I don't really know.
_________________
Hardware: The parts of your pc you can kick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
math_roc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you want to try it and have the possibility to go back easily, just append "i915.modeset=0" to disable KMS.
as in: 'kernel /gentoo/linux quiet root=/dev/sda9 i915.modeset=0'

In fact, I have this in grub.conf and I remove "i915.modeset=0" to test how it's (not) well working.

for now:
- mesa-9999
- libdrm-9999
- xf86-video-intel-2.6.3
- xorg-server-1.6.0
- linux-2.6.29-rc6

I can watch videos, suspend/resume but:
- I have performance problems when xterm redraw itself..
- CPU is highly used whenever I move a window, switch desktop or do anything X related -> battery last 2 hours instead of 5~7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0000000000000
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is anybody getting occasional weird display issues?

sometimes, usually when loading an image, firefox will look corrupted (either white with colored lines running through it, or will rearrange what should be normally painted in blocks) this happens with other applications too

minimizing then restoring fixes it so it's not a big deal and it doesn't happen often
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 2151

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had a similar problem with 2.6.2, upgrade to 2.6.3 fixed it for me - at least I guess so, has happened in the weirdest and unreproducable situations before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gambit89
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pdw_hu wrote:
szczerb wrote:
BTW How about fbsplash? Do you guys have it working right from the beginning (that is just after grub)?


What's that? :) Is that the grub image? I haven't used that, but only the ncurses version :)

It adds eye-candy to the framebuffer console, here is it's homepage. I'd like to know this too. I use natural gentoo on 2.6.28 with vesa, but I think I read on a bugreport that vesa should be disabled when using intel+kms, and KMS should provide the fbsplash support that vesa would have provided. I can't find the bug report, so don't quote me on that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1700
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You definitely shouldn't try to use any fb driver with KMS enabled ;]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0000000000000
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Went ahead and enabled KMS yesterday. X refuses to start with such a configuration.

My only changes were to remove all framebuffer drivers (VGA and VESA) and enable mode switching for i915. X just gives me a black screen from which the only escape is SysRq+B

Any ideas?

Here is my only error from log: (EE) intel(0): [drm] Failed to initialized agp heap manager


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 2151

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running with the lastest xorg, libdrm, dri2prot, intel-driver and the like? In the last hours, kernel-team merged a lot of fixes concerning drm and i915 into .29-git5, maybe try that one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0000000000000
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xorg is 1.6.0
libdrm is 9999 from x11 overlay (also tried with 2.4.5)
dri2proto is 1.99.2
and intel driver is 2.6.3
mesa is 9999

my kernel is actually form anholt's drm-intel branch, 2.6.29-rc6

I will look around some change logs see if he's implemented anything new...


aaand he has.

See if that fixes it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0000000000000
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using Anholt's latest kernel didn't really fix anything

when I first startx, it will work, but if I use compiz the screen is very corrupted: http://i39.tinypic.com/2lwrrc0.png

But either way, the next time I start X I get a black screen from which I have to force a reboot

The first time starting X, there are no errors in xorg.log
The second time I get this: (EE) intel(0): [drm] Failed to initialized agp heap manager
as the only error.

If I unset KMS everything works fine (except my console resolution is 1024x768 as opposed to 1366x768 with KMS enabled)

Going to try Linus' latest kernel now, though I don't suspect much change.

edit: No change, still blackscreen



additional edit: seems to be working now
using kernel 2.6.29-rc8 from git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git
then emerged xorg-server-9999, xineramaproto-9999, inputproto-9999, dri2proto-9999, and xf86-video-intel-9999 and then ran X -configure
had to edit xorg.conf for the new hal/fdi policies
and now startx is working (seemingly) good, plus native resolution on console
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 2151

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated to .29-rc8, xbacklight problem still exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0000000000000
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know what else could have caused this issue apart from these upgrades, but i cannot get mplayer to properly fullscreen anymore.

using video output xv results in the video looking something like: http://i43.tinypic.com/x6lunp.png

if I watch a standard full screen movie, then there are bars on the top and bottom as well as that huge black void on the right of the video

if i use x11, the video stays the same size, and like three fourths of the rest of the screen goes black, but leaves visible whatever is underneath in the bottom right corner

-vo gl is the closest i can get to full screen, but leaves huge borders around all four sides of any standard widescreen movie/video
example: http://i39.tinypic.com/izok6u.png

previously using -vo xv resulted in wide screen movies taking up my entire display, and only borders if the movie was not in widescreen format, as should be the behavior

the -zoom option has no affect


Anyone else experience this using the latest xorg and intel driver?



Edit: I have also noticed, the Firefox popup telling me my downloads have finished is no longer in the bottom right of the screen, but rather only about two thirds of the way over,

It seems as if X applications are not getting the correct resolution after i've enabled KMS, though it is displaying at the correct resolution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamapii
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrsaccess wrote:
Second, using libxcb 1.2 from x11 overlay, xorg-server can not even start. Maybe it has to do with libXpm being unable to compile against libxcb 1.2 but I don't really know.


I tried this, and it seems this upgrade requires a rebuild of almost everything. So I'm back at libxcb 1.1.

btw, I'm also using up-to-date xorg-server, xf86-video-intel, libdrm, mesa releases and Eric Anholt's kernel. Works for me.

Note that I disabled KMS (according to the help it does not work with intelfb) and PAE (by selecting "High Memory Support (4GB)" losing a little RAM on x86).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdw_hu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 200
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jamapii wrote:
Note that I disabled KMS (according to the help it does not work with intelfb) and PAE (by selecting "High Memory Support (4GB)" losing a little RAM on x86).


intelfb isn't needed with KMS. And it works :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone have any idea when would we see xorg-server-1.6 in portage?

Cheers
Rahul
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 2151

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reading on b.g.o. and D.Berkholz's blog, not before 1.5.3 goes stable. You can use it through the x11-overlay or funtoo/regen2, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1700
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an interesting problem. I just built 2.6.29 with KMS and upgraded this on top of my official-tree-only ~amd64 xorg:
Code:
szczerb@nomad ~ $ cat /etc/portage/package.keywords/kms
=media-libs/mesa-7.4_rc1
=x11-apps/mesa-progs-7.3
=x11-base/xorg-server-1.6.0
=x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev-2.2.0-r1
=x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel-2.6.3-r1
=x11-libs/libXaw-1.0.5
=x11-libs/libXfont-1.4.0
=x11-libs/libXi-1.2.1
=x11-libs/libXrandr-1.2.99.4
=x11-libs/pixman-0.14.0-r1
=x11-proto/randrproto-1.2.99.4
The first time I start X after a reboot I get this:
http://omploader.org/vMWZrMw
(why does a disconnected screen have a resolution? and clearly gnome is confined to the same resolution for some reason...)
but after restarting X it's normal:
http://omploader.org/vMWZrNA

Another thing is that I can suspend to ram but not to disk (get a bar of random pixels on the screen and a hard hang), but this I need to investigate further....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
himpierre
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 863
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The first time I start X after a reboot I get this:
http://omploader.org/vMWZrMw

You're lucky. X doesn't start at all with 2.6.29 on my eeepc. Someone was more successfull?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ph030 wrote:
Reading on b.g.o. and D.Berkholz's blog, not before 1.5.3 goes stable. You can use it through the x11-overlay or funtoo/regen2, though.


I am already on 1.6, I was just wondering .. :)
Thanks for the info.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I tried this, and it seems this upgrade requires a rebuild of almost everything. So I'm back at libxcb 1.1.


yeah, Donnie wrote about this in his blog too. I´m using --as-needed in one of my boxes and didn´t hit that "problem"; in my eeepc 901 i don´t use --as-needed and got a truckload of packages to rebuilt too.

Quote:
You're lucky. X doesn't start at all with 2.6.29 on my eeepc. Someone was more successfull?


you are not alone ( although i don´t know what model is yours and i haven´t tried 2.6.29 final yet): if i enable kms in 2.6.29-rc8 , X doesn´t work.

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamapii
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pdw_hu wrote:
jamapii wrote:
Note that I disabled KMS (according to the help it does not work with intelfb) and PAE (by selecting "High Memory Support (4GB)" losing a little RAM on x86).


intelfb isn't needed with KMS. And it works :)


Thanks... I tried this. The builtin fb driver is called intel_fb (note the _). It worked better than intelfb - could do the native resolution, but when switching to X, the screen was black, a mouse pointer appeared, and nothing else.

I guess X works with a vesa fb or no framebuffer console, but I prefer a framebuffer console, so back to no KMS and intelfb for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 3 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum