Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Amarok 2.0.2 released
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MaximeG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Apr 2008
Posts: 722
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

You are probably trying to compile it against Qt >=4.5. It doesn't work for Amarok in portage without a patch, that's why you need version >amarok-2.0.1.1, like you can find in overlays.

For example, Spitfire's overlay provide you such ebuild.

Regards,
Maxime
_________________
Future is wide open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
187451
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have nearly the same problem as Flarkis:
Code:
[ 90%] Built target amarok_data_engine_current
make: *** [all] Error 2
 *
 * ERROR: media-sound/amarok-2.0.2 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line 3115:  Called kde4-base_src_compile
 *             environment, line 2319:  Called cmake-utils_src_compile
 *             environment, line  752:  Called cmake-utils_src_make
 *             environment, line  824:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *           emake "$@" || die "Make failed!";
 *  The die message:
 *   Make failed!
- here it dies.

I did exactly what you said - I recompiled dev-db/mysql-5.0.70-r1 with
Code:
CFLAGS="-DPIC -fPIC"
CXXFLAGS="-DPIC -fPIC"
and tried to compile media-sound/amarok-2.0.2 with
Code:
LDFLAGS="-lrt"
but it still doesn't work... :( I'm using kde-testing overlay, maybe that's the problem. Do you have any other ideas? (I'm using qt-4.5.0)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flarkis
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 198
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOLVED!!! ok after reading around it turns out my problem was caused by all 3 things that can go wrong with amarok 2.x. First the ssl use flag breaks -fPIC (wasn't able to find very much reference on this but it did seem to work), second QT 4.5 does apparently need a patch for amarok, i used the ebuild from spitfire which contained that fix. Finally amarok is not compatable with libgpod 0.7 , so one must either disable the ipod use flag or mask the 0.7 build.

Hope this helps others

P.S. eclipsefan your cflags should be something like CFLAGS="-O2 -march=k8 -DPIC -fPIC -msse3 -pipe" (those are mine). So append the fPIC to your normal cflags.
_________________
Veni, Vidi, Vici
[I came, I saw, I conquered]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
187451
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flarkis wrote:
P.S. eclipsefan your cflags should be something like CFLAGS="-O2 -march=k8 -DPIC -fPIC -msse3 -pipe" (those are mine). So append the fPIC to your normal cflags.


Yes, I know :) I only wanted to show the change. I'll try your solution in a moment.

Edit1:
Spitfire overlay and everything works perfectly.


Last edited by 187451 on Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chaos5522
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i grabbed a copy of the ebuild for 2.0.2 from one of the overlays, and according to posts on the amarok forums, 2.0.2 will compile with qt-4.5 with this patch
Code:
Index: scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml
===================================================================
--- scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (revision 933539)
+++ scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (working copy)
@@ -1346,8 +1346,14 @@
   </object-type>
 
   <interface-type name="QTextCodecFactoryInterface" java-name="QAbstractTextCodecFactory"/>
-  <object-type name="QTextCodecPlugin"/>
+  <!--<object-type name="QTextCodecPlugin"/> -->
+  <object-type name="QTextCodecPlugin">
+      <inject-code class="shell" position="beginning">
+  Q_DECLARE_METATYPE(QList&lt;int>)
+      </inject-code>
+     </object-type>
 
+
   <object-type name="QTextDecoder">
     <modify-function signature="toUnicode(const char*,int)">
         <remove/>
Index: scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp
===================================================================
--- scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (revision 933539)
+++ scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (working copy)
@@ -106,6 +106,8 @@
         s << endl;
     }
 
+    writeInjectedCode(s, meta_class);
+
     // write constructors
     foreach (const AbstractMetaFunction *ctor, ctors) {
         s << "QtScriptShell_" << meta_class->name() << "::";


The problem I'm having is getting portage to apply this patch. I included it in the ebuild, digested it, but when i emerge amarok it gives me the following error (Please note that the files listed in this error reflect one of my attempts to find a path/filename that it would work with and as such does not match the patch posted above which is the version i grabbed off of the amarok site.):
Code:
***** qt_45_patch_20090301.diff *****

=====================================

PATCH COMMAND:    patch -p0 -g0 -E --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/portage/media-sound/amarok/files/qt_45_patch_20090301.diff

=====================================
can't find file to patch at input line 5
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml
|===================================================================
|--- amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (revision 933539)
|+++ amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (working copy)
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored
can't find file to patch at input line 25
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp
|===================================================================
|--- amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (revision 933539)
|+++ amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (working copy)
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored
=====================================

PATCH COMMAND:    patch -p1 -g0 -E --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/portage/media-sound/amarok/files/qt_45_patch_20090301.diff

=====================================
patching file src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml
Hunk #1 FAILED at 1346.
1 out of 1 hunk FAILED -- saving rejects to file src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml.rej
patching file src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp
=====================================

PATCH COMMAND:    patch -p2 -g0 -E --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/portage/media-sound/amarok/files/qt_45_patch_20090301.diff

=====================================
can't find file to patch at input line 5
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml
|===================================================================
|--- amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (revision 933539)
|+++ amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (working copy)
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored
can't find file to patch at input line 25
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp
|===================================================================
|--- amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (revision 933539)
|+++ amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (working copy)
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored
=====================================

PATCH COMMAND:    patch -p3 -g0 -E --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/portage/media-sound/amarok/files/qt_45_patch_20090301.diff

=====================================
can't find file to patch at input line 5
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml
|===================================================================
|--- amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (revision 933539)
|+++ amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (working copy)
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored
can't find file to patch at input line 25
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp
|===================================================================
|--- amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (revision 933539)
|+++ amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (working copy)
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored
=====================================

PATCH COMMAND:    patch -p4 -g0 -E --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/portage/media-sound/amarok/files/qt_45_patch_20090301.diff

=====================================
can't find file to patch at input line 5
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml
|===================================================================
|--- amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (revision 933539)
|+++ amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/typesystem_core.xml   (working copy)
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored
can't find file to patch at input line 25
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp
|===================================================================
|--- amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (revision 933539)
|+++ amarok-2.0.2/src/scriptengine/generator/generator/shellimplgenerator.cpp   (working copy)
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored


Following its suggestion that it was the -p option on the patch command I tried every single permutation of the filenames from the absolute path removing a directory at a time, but it still refuses to find the files it needs to patch even though I can patch them if i run the patch command manually.

Any suggestions on how to get this patch to apply would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The spitfire overlay for me doesn't contain amarok. eix amarok finds only the packages in portage. It's not present in the spitfire overlay tree either.

What am I doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7693
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Multimedia to Unsupported Software. It can be found in the kde-testing overlay.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rtomek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 210
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, every few days for the last couple of weeks, I would try to compile amarok again, finally today it magically worked! I even have the ipod use flag (amarok 2.0.2 from kde-testing). Amarok runs and I can listen to music, however I can't see my collection. When I add files it starts building the database and there's a progress bar as if it's doing something, but nothing is in my collection. At least I got passed the first step...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dopester
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rtomek wrote:
So, every few days for the last couple of weeks, I would try to compile amarok again, finally today it magically worked! I even have the ipod use flag (amarok 2.0.2 from kde-testing). Amarok runs and I can listen to music, however I can't see my collection. When I add files it starts building the database and there's a progress bar as if it's doing something, but nothing is in my collection. At least I got passed the first step...


You are not the only one rtomek, I already opened a thread here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-755861.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amarok 2.0.2-r1 is in portage now.

It requires a keyworded qtscriptgenerator and mysql (and the regular USE-flag dance still applies), but it compiled without a hitch here.

For some reason, the collection is not being scanned properly, but I'm glad that I have a music player again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikkoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2007
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:

For some reason, the collection is not being scanned properly, but I'm glad that I have a music player again.


https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=266071
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eisenmann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

i have the following problem if i start amarok, amarok crashes:
Code:

eisenmann@mars ~ $ amarok
amarok(15917) Phonon::KdePlatformPlugin::createBackend: using backend:  "Xine"
InnoDB: The log sequence number in ibdata files does not match
InnoDB: the log sequence number in the ib_logfiles!
090417 11:07:03  InnoDB: Database was not shut down normally!
InnoDB: Starting crash recovery.
InnoDB: Reading tablespace information from the .ibd files...
InnoDB: Restoring possible half-written data pages from the doublewrite
InnoDB: buffer...
<unknown program name>(15916)/: Communication problem with  "amarok" , it probably crashed.
Error message was:  "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply" : " "Message did not receive a reply (timeout by message bus)" "

Has anyone a idea what i can do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikkoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2007
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eisenmann wrote:
Hello,

i have the following problem if i start amarok, amarok crashes:


delete your collection: ~/.kde/share/apps/amarok/mysqle
Amarok will start then but it won't be able to scan the collection, see this bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=266071
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaximeG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Apr 2008
Posts: 722
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Does it impact the spitfire overlay version as well ?

Maxime
_________________
Future is wide open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eisenmann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikkoc wrote:
eisenmann wrote:
Hello,

i have the following problem if i start amarok, amarok crashes:


delete your collection: ~/.kde/share/apps/amarok/mysqle
Amarok will start then but it won't be able to scan the collection, see this bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=266071


Thanks, this solves the crash problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaste
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 541
Location: /home Sweet /home

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikkoc wrote:
eisenmann wrote:
Hello,

i have the following problem if i start amarok, amarok crashes:


delete your collection: ~/.kde/share/apps/amarok/mysqle
Amarok will start then but it won't be able to scan the collection, see this bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=266071


I got the same problem, except that this path doesn't even exist. I don't have a file or folder called mysqle or similar underneath that tree. amarok 2 has been nothing but pain so far, if only Songbird would start without crashing. :(

EDIT:
Sorry its located under ~/.kde4/... for me. Now i get a different crash:
Code:

...
kded(26594) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "findServiceByDesktopPath: kded/kdedglobalaccel.desktop not found"
kded(26594) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "findServiceByDesktopPath: kded/kdedglobalaccel.desktop not found"
amarok(26579) CurrentTrack::dataUpdated: CurrentTrack::dataUpdated
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 20 (X_GetProperty)
  Resource id:  0x3000062

_________________
I'm a membar of Mesnar and me scull contains wakky secrets!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ComaWhite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kaste wrote:

I got the same problem, except that this path doesn't even exist. I don't have a file or folder called mysqle or similar underneath that tree. amarok 2 has been nothing but pain so far, if only Songbird would start without crashing. :(


I totally agree. First it was the stupid qtscriptgenerator issues with Qt-4.5 now it's the crappy mysql. Why don't they just go use postgresql MySQL is shit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaste
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 541
Location: /home Sweet /home

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't really have an issue with mysql since it works fine for all other things and its the first problem with amarok so far. I had at least three other problems with amarok and even when it worked i can't see an improvement over 1.4 yet and its dead slow for me.

But lets stop the whining. If i weren't a fan I would go back to 1.4 or use something else but i really hope they ulitmately reach the old greatness.
_________________
I'm a membar of Mesnar and me scull contains wakky secrets!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6944
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still having that nasty problem where amarok:2 mixes up artists and tracks. Sometimes part of, sometimes a whole album gets displayed with a wrong artist/album name. Happens only to songs within the collection. :roll:
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaximeG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Apr 2008
Posts: 722
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Not saying that Amarok 2 is perfect, but I'm using it at the moment and never had such issues.
What sources, patches are you using ?

Using spitfire overlay should give you a """good""" amarok 2, up and running.

Regards,
Maxime
_________________
Future is wide open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Autie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Ledegem - Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have problems emerging amarok-2.0.2-r3:

Code:
emerge amarok -vp

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

emerge: there are no ebuilds built with USE flags to satisfy ">=dev-db/mysql-5.0.76-r1[embedded,-minimal]".
!!! One of the following packages is required to complete your request:
- dev-db/mysql-5.0.76-r1 (Change USE: +embedded)
(dependency required by "media-sound/amarok-2.0.2-r3" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "amarok" [argument])

_________________
The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The willingness to learn is a choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaste
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 541
Location: /home Sweet /home

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just do echo "dev-db/mysql embedded" >> /etc/portage/package.use
and then emerge -1 mysql
_________________
I'm a membar of Mesnar and me scull contains wakky secrets!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum