Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
A Hardware RAID install howto
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BernieKe
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: California/Bangalore/Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 9:32 am    Post subject: A Hardware RAID install howto Reply with quote

A Hardware RAID install howto

I'm using the hpt374 controller (highpoint)
(if you use another controller replace all hpt or highpoint with what suits you)

  1. apart from what is written here: follow the installation docs!!!
  2. boot (using min. a 1.2 install-disk)
  3. type (this will create the raiddevice)
    Code:

    insmod ataraid
    insmod hptraid
    fdisk /dev/ataraid/disc0/disc

  4. when making filesystem: use the /dev/ataraid/disc0/partX notation
  5. when choosing kernel-options: select hpt366 chipset support, support for IDE Raid controllers and Highpoint 370 software RAID
  6. in fstab: use the /dev/ataraid/disc0/partX notation
  7. instead of grub, i suggest using lilo
    Code:

    emerge lilo
    cp /etc/lilo.conf.example /etc/lilo.conf
    nano -w /etc/lilo.conf

  8. when editing lilo.conf:

    • as bootdevice: select the first hd of your raid-setup (in my case: hde)
    • and as root: use the /dev/ataraid/d0pX notation

  9. type (X is your root partition number):
    Code:

    exit
    ln -s /dev/ataraid/disc0/partX /dev/ataraid/d0pX
    mount -o bind /dev mnt/gentoo/dev
    chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
    lilo

    normally lilo should succesfully have written to the mbr
  10. exit, umount everything (including the /mnt/gentoo/dev !!!) and reboot
    if you are unable to umount /mnt/gentoo, make sure you have umounted
    the other mounts in /mnt/gentoo and try logout, after loging out, try to umount again, it should work now
  11. PRAY, no, seriously, this should work!!!

hope this helps someone,
Bernard
aka BernieKe


Last edited by BernieKe on Tue Jul 09, 2002 1:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moving this to tips and tricks. You might also want to consider submitting this to the documentation forum. (probably needs to be cleaned up a bit to make the formatting consistent with the other documentation.)

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
col
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 820
Location: Melbourne - Australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2002 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note that the kernel module only supports raid 0. Consider using the highoint driver which fully supports raid 0 , 1 hotswap & more.... Here is a guide :
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=18894&highlight=highpoint
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BernieKe
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: California/Bangalore/Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2003 7:52 pm    Post subject: UPDATES: Reply with quote

UPDATES:


  1. as it seems the 1.4r1 and 1.4r2 cd's aren't capable of recognising the raidvolumes (probably because of the kernel they use (see below)), use the 1.2 iso !!!! (at least until there's a new iso that does work ;-) )
  2. use kernel gentoo-sources 2.4.19r7, since -at least- r9,r10 and vanilla 2.4.20 DON'T work (not for me and several other people),
    the best thing to do would be to use r7, make sure everything works, and then try out other kernels if desired


i thought these were quite essential updates ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quiettype
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 11:15 am    Post subject: Hmmm - grub and partition table ?? Reply with quote

Just my 5c worth (and first post) :):

info grub ->'Bootstrap tricks' wrote:
... The optional Stage 1.5 can be installed in a filesystem, in the "boot loader" area in a FFS or a ReiserFS, and in the sectors right after a MBR, because Stage 1.5 is enough small and the sectors right after a MBR is normally an unused region. ...


There is a reference here which says:
BSc Ing. Wilfried Weissmann wrote:
Grub overwrites the the raid configuration that is stored in sector 9+. That is where the grub stage 1.5 loader is located. I manually copied the stage 1.5 loader (e2fs_stage1_5) to a higher sector (e.g. 16). And then I did run the grub install command (NOT grub setup!!!). You have to browse the grub info page to find the correct parameters to specify the real location of stage 1.5.

bye,
Wilfried
:(


Note that makes lilo a better option.

quiettype.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum