Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
vmware-server-2.0.1 - cannot start virtual machine
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 pm    Post subject: vmware-server-2.0.1 - cannot start virtual machine Reply with quote

Google give me an idea that this is a quite common issue, however noen of the solutions seemd to work to me.

I started out with a hardened system. As I ran into trouble I tried different kernelversions, and finaly a physical new server installed exactly as the gentoo handbook explains, using vanilla-sources, vmware using layman, and no other packages installed. All the way I've ran into the same issue, and all attempts to fix has just made things worse.

The main issue is that when I try to start a guest pc, I get "failed to initialize monitor device"
The vmmon service is running. The /dev/vmmon device exists. I event did "chmod 777 /dev/vmmon", but that did not make any difference.
Some place I read that uninstalling kvm had solved their problem. Kvm was not installed on my system, but I had the kvm* modules compiled into kernel. So I compiled those as modules. Then when I try "modeprobe kvm_intel" I get "Cannot allocate memory" error on both hardened-sources and gentoo-sources. With vanilla-sources the modules loads fine.
If the kvm* modules are not loaded I get "failed to open device /dev/vmci" when I try to start the guest.
If I then edit the .vmx file for the guest to disable vmci, the host gets kernel panic when I try to start the guest.

Would it make any difference to install X? (I would prefer to not have X installed on this server)

The virtual guest maschine I'm trying to start is an new machine created on this vm-server. The same thing happens if I try to load vm's created on a windows host. (I've never been running vmware on linux before.)

Does anyone have any clue on how to make vmware-server-2* run on gentoo?


Server is a HP DL 380 G5

output of emerge --info
Code:

Portage 2.1.6.7 (default/linux/amd64/2008.0, gcc-4.1.2, glibc-2.8_p20080602-r1, 2.6.27.10 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-2.6.27.10-x86_64-Intel-R-_Xeon-R-_CPU_E5335_@_2.00GHz-with-glibc2.2.5
Timestamp of tree: Tue, 07 Apr 2009 15:30:01 +0000
ccache version 2.4 [disabled]
app-shells/bash:     3.2_p39
dev-lang/python:     2.5.2-r7
dev-util/ccache:     2.4-r7
sys-apps/baselayout: 1.12.11.1
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.18.1-r2
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.63
sys-devel/automake:  1.9.6-r2, 1.10.2
sys-devel/binutils:  2.18-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.0-r4
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.26
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.27-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=nocona -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/terminfo /etc/udev/rules.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=nocona -O2 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="distlocks fixpackages metadata-transfer parallel-fetch protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-orphans userfetch"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://mirror.gentoo.no/ http://ftp.easynet.nl/mirror/gentoo/ http://ds.thn.htu.se/linux/gentoo ftp://ftp.easynet.nl/mirror/gentoo/"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage/layman/vmware /usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="acl amd64 apm berkdb bzip2 bzlib caps chroot cli cracklib crypt cups curl curlwrappers directfb dlloader dri exif fastcgi fbcon fftw fortran ftp gd gdbm gif gnutls gpm hardenedphp iconv imap imlib innodb ipv6 isdnlog ithreads jbig jpeg kerberos libclamav maildir mhash midi mime mmx mudflap multilib ncurses nls nptl nptlonly ntpl openmp pam pcre pdf perl perlsuid php plotutils png pppd prelude python readline reflection session shared sharedmem simplexml sockets spl sse sse2 ssl sysfs tcpd tokenizer unicode userlocales vhosts virus-scan xml2 xorg zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="fbdev glint i810 intel mach64 mga neomagic nv r128 radeon savage sis tdfx trident vesa vga via vmware voodoo"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, FFLAGS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LINGUAS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vaxbrat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 731
Location: DC Burbs

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:21 am    Post subject: kvm and vmware server 2 Reply with quote

I didn't hazard the ebuild, but I did do an install of vmware server 2.0 from their tarball and installer to /usr/local. This same machine has kvm up and running, but I can't do both at once.

I manually start vmware from /usr/local/etc/init.d/vmware (where I had it install its init scripts). I use a plain old eth0 setup in /etc/conf.d/net so that vmware can do its vmnet devices without any potential interference. I may change that later to see what happens.

When I use kvm, I reboot and modprobe kvm_intel (I install kvm and kvm_intel and pretty much all of the virtualization options as modules). I also use an /etc/conf.d/net which sets up eth0 and a tap0 tap device as a bridged br0 device.

This is a core 2 duo box (a corporate hp desktop, a dc6300 I think) with a stable x86, unstable X (for new Intel gma support), unstable app-emulation ebuilds and gentoo-sources-2.6.27-r8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, my issue is that without kvm the host server get kernel panic. With kvm I can do everything except for starting any guests. The server is meant for vmware only.
Is there a howto available for vmware-server 2.* on linux 64bit on xeon? Could someone post their kernel config?

You have no idea how much I've argued to setup this environment to be linux + vmware rather than windows + hyper-v. It's going to be so embaressing if I can't make this work. After all the company owning the server is a microsoft partner!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me the ebuild from the vmware-overlay worked. However I did upgrade from an already running 2.0.0 from the same overlay. The initial install on that was a bit of a pain with most of the problems being related to the license manager. Its really frustrating to have a license manager give you fits on a free product..


BTW, I am not using hardened and I have not tested vmware-server without an X server.

Do you have vmci in your auto load modules?

I have added it to my

/etc/conf.d/modules

with baselayout 2 and openrc-4.3
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply

I wonder if this could be a licensing issue? How do I find out?
Is there any howto to check for such issues? I haven't done any licensing action other than entering the serial number when the vmware-config.pl asks for it.

I don't have the vmci as autoload modules. I've had them compiled into the kernel, then for debug I had them as modules, manualy loaded.

As you have X installed - do you use the webadmin from remote or on localhost only?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
As you have X installed - do you use the webadmin from remote or on localhost only?


Both


Quote:
I wonder if this could be a licensing issue? How do I find out?


I don't think so. I remember having similar errors but that was about not having a /dev/vmci and modprobing the driver got that to work for me

BTW
/var/log/vmware

is where I tracked down authentication problems.

One problem is in the setup. You must use user root instead of admin or whatever the default.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I don't have the vmci as autoload modules. I've had them compiled into the kernel


You had this driver compiled into the kernel? I am using the module from the vmware-modules:

Code:
jmd0 vmware # equery list vmware
[ Searching for package 'vmware' in all categories among: ]
 * installed packages
[I--] [  ] app-emulation/vmware-modules-1.0.0.23-r1 (0)
[I--] [ ~] app-emulation/vmware-server-2.0.1.156745 (0)

_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just after I said this was working well... It vmware-server broke for me last night and I did not sync the data on it before it broke so I ended up having to install vmware-player to access my data. What happened for some reason vmware-server thought their was some time change at ~1:30AM last night and got stuck with that. It flooded my dmesg and brought my quad core to a screeching halt with no chance of recovery. After the magic sysrq key would not get my machine to reboot cleanly I ended up using the reset button. When it came back up I could start a VM under vmware-server I just could not connect to the console on either of my machines. The local gentoo machine just said the operation timed out. And the windows laptop did not even get that far.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm really unable to make this work.
I did a new installation again, this time using vanilla-sources, just changing the hardware settings and installing vmware from the downloaded tar not, layman. This time I'm not able to get the webinterface running - I get javascript error and no login prompt.

So I uninstalled the installation done with the downloaded tar, and installed via layman. Then I'm back to where I was - vmware cannot start any guest machines.

Could anyone with a working vmware-server-2* please post their kernel config, list of emerged packages and emerge --info?

btw: this is a 64bit server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
btw: this is a 64bit server.


Same here. I have retired most of the 32 bit dinosaurs by now, home and at work. Well at least on the linux side..

BTW, I will try to get you that info later tonight. Obviously I will have to post that somewhere else and link here since both lists will be enormous.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly happens when you try to start a guest in the web interface? Does it go all the way to ~90% and then stop and eventually issue an error message? I remember seeing that with vmware-server-2.0.0
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is my info:

http://home.comcast.net/~drescherjm/config

http://home.comcast.net/~drescherjm/emerge.info.txt

http://home.comcast.net/~drescherjm/world
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, Drescherjm!
Using your kernelconfig (with minimal modifications to my hw) made it all work!

Now I'm going to try to figure out what makes the big difference....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

8O

I am a little surprised at that.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rainbow goblin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take KVM support to modules
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
foxbox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rainbow goblin wrote:
Take KVM support to modules


hi, I had the same problem. I've recompiled the kernel core, and moved the kvm to the modules. After i did this, vmware asked me if i moved or copied my virtual machine. I answered that i copied but then my server restarted (kernel panic probably). Moreover now when i am trying to power up any virtual machine, vmware causing my server to reboot.

Do anyone has any clue ? this is something extremely strange to me, any help is appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1497
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had this happen on a hardened kernel.

To fix it, I had to build standard gentoo-sources kernel. I used my hardened-kernel config file as a starting point and it all works now.

The only problem I currently have is in running 64bit guest OS's :oops:

I'm running 64bit Gentoo OS as the Host, with the 64bit vmware-server and I'm unable to get 64bit guest os's to work :-(

Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum