Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Distcc from Bootstrap and on
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chrisis
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 May 2003
Posts: 112
Location: Auckland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JSharku wrote:
Great guide!! If only I'd seen this before spending 72+ hours bootstrapping a Pentium 100 MHz; well 36+ hrs
Sharku


Is it correct to assume that in a case like this, your distccd hosts would NOT include localhost? That way the slow P100 wouldn't drag the whole process down?
_________________
But the situation seemed to call for witty repartee. "Huh?" I said.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried this on my laptop and desktop - (AMD Athlon-XP 1600+ vs. 500MHz Celeron).
The Desktop has been bootstrapped from ground up earlier, and distcc is installed.

But on the laptop I get messages like dist_mkdir failure /root/.distcc and distribution failure building locally.

I set DISTCC_HOSTS in make.conf on both machines, and ran distcc-config on both machines.

And a bit more worrying

gettext spits this at me:

checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++... g++
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... no
checking whether g++ accepts -g... no
checking dependency style of g++... none
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... /lib/cpp
configure: error: C++ preprocessor "/lib/cpp" fails sanity check
See `config.log' for more details.
configure: error: /bin/sh './configure' failed for autoconf-lib-link

I must have fscked up good ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carambola5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 214
Location: Madtown, WI

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My experiences have been good with the following routine:
  • Install as normal until bootstrapping.
  • USE="-gtk" emerge -O distcc
  • nano -w /etc/distccd/hosts #add your distcc hosts here
  • nano -w /etc/make.conf #add 'distcc' to your FEATURES

I think that's it. Can anyone else (read: lisa) confirm that this is OK?
_________________
Get Firefox!

Proper Web Development

I'm done at 999.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=81309&highlight=distcc+permission
That fixed the permission errors - but distcc still ain't distributing the load to my desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lovechild wrote:
I tried this on my laptop and desktop - (AMD Athlon-XP 1600+ vs. 500MHz Celeron).
The Desktop has been bootstrapped from ground up earlier, and distcc is installed.

But on the laptop I get messages like dist_mkdir failure /root/.distcc and distribution failure building locally.

I set DISTCC_HOSTS in make.conf on both machines, and ran distcc-config on both machines.

And a bit more worrying

gettext spits this at me:

checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++... g++
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... no
checking whether g++ accepts -g... no
checking dependency style of g++... none
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... /lib/cpp
configure: error: C++ preprocessor "/lib/cpp" fails sanity check
See `config.log' for more details.
configure: error: /bin/sh './configure' failed for autoconf-lib-link

I must have fscked up good ?


If you have upgraded gcc after installing distcc, re-emerge distcc.

Are you sure that the distccd daemon is running on all machines?

Also check which machines are included in the distcc farm with:
distcc-config --get-hosts

Set all the machines you want to work in distcc with:
distcc-config --set-hosts "localhost x.y.x.y"

Don't use /etc/make.conf to specify hosts.

Also make sure that /etc/make.conf has the following set:
FEATURES="sandbox distcc notitles"

By setting distcc in features, emake will use distcc rather than the pure gcc to compile.

Have you actually read the distcc guide???? :)

Erik
_________________
'Yes, Firefox is indeed greater than women. Can women block pops up for you? No. Can Firefox show you naked women? Yes.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I did read the guide, I even filed the bugreport to have the original one rewritten and added to the documentation collection.

And I made it work, it turned out that I didn't really think, I copied over the tarball, and I was clever enough to compile dictcc without opts, but I completely forgot about popt - so the celeron was trying to run a library build for athlon-XP.

d'oh....

Might want to make a note of that, oh bootstrapping goddess.

Anyways, it seems to work now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lisa
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 273
Location: York, UK again! Horray!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using --nodeps|-O to compile distcc on the "new" box will work on the other box.

Lovechild, what bug #?
_________________
Distcc guide
Visit my website
I maintain Distcc, Ccache, Memcached, and some others (i think)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bfdi533
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Distcc from Bootstrap and on Reply with quote

lisa wrote:
Hi gang, here's a quicky guide to using distcc to bootstrap.

That should be all that is needed to use distcc to bootstrap.

Report bugs here or in private messages.




Well, I have followed this forum thread and checked and double-checked the settings and still cannot get this to work. I have been watching the build with distccmon-text and the bootstrap does not even seem to be using the -j3 flag that I have set for it.

I have the FEATURES set, MAKEOPTS is set to "-j3", the files are in the right place, distccd is running on the other machine to use, I even set the log file for distcc and it shows execs ONLY on localhost; no attempts seem to being made to the other machine.

I am not sure where to check next.

Please help.

Ed Davison
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lisa wrote:
Using --nodeps|-O to compile distcc on the "new" box will work on the other box.

Lovechild, what bug #?


you closed a long time ago beautiful...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bfdi533
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Distcc from Bootstrap and on Reply with quote

bfdi533 wrote:
I am not sure where to check next.



Actually, I have checked this a bit further and I tried the "emerge -O distcc" and that did actually distribute the compile. However, when I do the "sh /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap.sh" command, it does not distribute the compile of ncurses so that was my indication of "not working".

Should it be distributing the ncurses compile? I thought that this guide would help with ALL compiles for bootstrap.

Update: Actually, other packages from the bootstrap process (zlib, binutils, etc. and even gcc) do actually distribute. But ncurses definitely does not.

Ed Davison
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshdr77
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ill give this a go now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
requiem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone get strange errors after compiling their fresh system? I do the following:


    Follow the installation guide up until bootstrap, when I perform the following:

    Code:

    USE="-gtk" emerge -O distcc



    I then compile the bootstrap with the following:

    Code:

    /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap.sh



    I then emerge the system with the following:

    Code:

    emerge system



    This is the bit which screws me up. I do the following:

    Code:

    emerge distcc unmerge
    emerge distcc
    /etc/init.d/distccd start



I get a screenful of errors concerning bootstrap.sh and other things, and the daemon does not start. Even after fully finishing the system and rebooting, unmerging and remerging distcc, the errors still pertain. I was wondering if it has anything to do with the fact that I am emerging distcc before I have a working system.

Cheers,
Requiem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I tried distcc using the guide from the docs page on gentoo.org, but I couldn't get it working and there are some things that puzzle me a lot.

When I look in this thread and read the first post from Lisa it seems to me that it only covers the steps for setting up distcc on the new box I want Gentoo on. Am I right?

Something else. If I am correct, is the new box the server and are the computers I want to use to compile for the new box the hosts?

I have a Pentium 100MHz with 96MB RAM I want to install Gentoo on from Stage 1. This I want to do by using distcc.
My other system is a AMD XP 2200+ with 1GB RAM I want to use to speed up the install process on the Pentium 100MHz system.
The Pentium machine has 192.168.1.101 and the AMD machine has 192.168.1.100 leased from the dhcp server.


On the AMD XP 2200+ machine I did these steps:

- emerge distcc
- nano -w /etc/make.conf and added distcc to FEATURES. Also added this line: DISTCC_DIR=${PORTAGE_TMPDIR}/portage/.distcc at the end of make.conf.
- /usr/bin/distcc-config --set-hosts "192.168.1.100"
- nano -w /etc/make.conf and edited #MAKEOPTS=-jN to MAKEOPTS=-j3

I then executed /etc/init.d/distccd start and DISTCC_DIR=/path/to/distccdir distccmon-gnome to start the monitor.

On the Pentium 100Mhz machine I followed Part 4 from the guide (the one in docs on gentoo.org.
In Step 3 I used this line after /usr/bin/distcc-config --install:

/usr/bin/distcc-config --set-hosts "localhost 192.168.1.100"

I then executed /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap.sh but nothing happend according to distccmon-gnome.

Did I do something completly wrong, if so can someone point me what to do before I screw up again tonight?

Thanks in advance!
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funeagle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit: First a tip:

distcc can have problems if the gcc on the server is not the same as on the client, so I got aroung it the following way:
Code:

dd if=/dev/zero of=gentoofile bs=1024 count=`expr 1024 \* 700`
mkreiserfs -f gentoofile
mount -o loop gentoofile /mnt/dirname


I copied my archived gentoo to /mnt/dirname
I bet 90% of the users dont make backups so those of you have suffer a lit more :)
If you have a gentoo archive:
Extract your files from the archive into /mnt/dirname (you should know how to do this if you created the archive :wink: )

Code:

scp gentoofile user@server:.
ssh user@server


on the server do the following:
Code:

mkdir gentoo
mount -o loop gentoofile gentoo
mount -t proc proc /home/...../gentoo/proc/
chroot gentoo
/etc/init.d/distccd start
exit
exit


If you dont have a gentoo archive:
if your hard drive is less than half full then you can create a larger file and then delete the unnecessary stuff from it
Code:

df -h # see how much space will you need in the file

dd if=/dev/zero of=gentoofile bs=1024 count=`expr 1024 \* 1024 \* N` # substitute for N
mkreiserfs -f gentoofile
mount -o loop gentoofile /mnt/dirname


copy the whole root into /mnt/dirname except /proc and /mnt (i guess this is safe) :)

clear the file's filesystem
Code:

chroot /mnt/dirname /bin/bash


"emerge unmerge" packages you dont need kde, gnome, gtk etc, we want just a clean system
Make sure you are chrooted first! try unmerning 1 package only and chheck if that package is still on your system in an other shell if you are not sure!

If you have only little space on your hard drive: then create the file with dd command on the server and mount it, and copy manually from your system the directories which are necessary (or all except /proc) and you can clean up the system on the server.

You can also resize your file with the reiserfstools to be as small as possible.

This way you will have a small gentoo system on the server with distcc chrooted and using your gcc version, if you upgrade gcc you will have to copy the new version to the server. But I think that's important just for major version number change (is that right ?)

It works for me, I hope for you too.

-----

Now my problem: I think distcc should send out multiple tasks at the same time and then I should be able to see a nice monitor like at
http://distcc.samba.org/distccmon-gnome-2003-09-23-01.png

But I always see only 1 line on my monitor (1 task sent out ?), I didnt include the localhost in the hosts. On the monitor I see that it keeps alternating the compilation on the server and localhost in frequent intervals, why is it compiling on localhost ?

If i watch the load on the servers the first is about 80% idle when compiling and the secound is 98% idle (not compiling at all) and my localhost is 0.0% idle )-;

Edit: Solved :) I was using colorgcc and it was the first in path (before ccache and distcc) which also creates links to gcc etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lisa
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 273
Location: York, UK again! Horray!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2003 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

freshy98 wrote:
Hi,

I tried distcc using the guide from the docs page on gentoo.org, but I couldn't get it working and there are some things that puzzle me a lot.

When I look in this thread and read the first post from Lisa it seems to me that it only covers the steps for setting up distcc on the new box I want Gentoo on. Am I right?

Something else. If I am correct, is the new box the server and are the computers I want to use to compile for the new box the hosts?

I have a Pentium 100MHz with 96MB RAM I want to install Gentoo on from Stage 1. This I want to do by using distcc.
My other system is a AMD XP 2200+ with 1GB RAM I want to use to speed up the install process on the Pentium 100MHz system.
The Pentium machine has 192.168.1.101 and the AMD machine has 192.168.1.100 leased from the dhcp server.


On the AMD XP 2200+ machine I did these steps:

- emerge distcc
- nano -w /etc/make.conf and added distcc to FEATURES. Also added this line: DISTCC_DIR=${PORTAGE_TMPDIR}/portage/.distcc at the end of make.conf.
- /usr/bin/distcc-config --set-hosts "192.168.1.100"
- nano -w /etc/make.conf and edited #MAKEOPTS=-jN to MAKEOPTS=-j3

I then executed /etc/init.d/distccd start and DISTCC_DIR=/path/to/distccdir distccmon-gnome to start the monitor.

On the Pentium 100Mhz machine I followed Part 4 from the guide (the one in docs on gentoo.org.
In Step 3 I used this line after /usr/bin/distcc-config --install:

/usr/bin/distcc-config --set-hosts "localhost 192.168.1.100"

I then executed /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap.sh but nothing happend according to distccmon-gnome.

Did I do something completly wrong, if so can someone point me what to do before I screw up again tonight?

Thanks in advance!


You can only monitor things that your computer sends away, not things that are on other computers.

You set up each other host as described in the guide and the one to bootstrap on as described in the guide's bootstrap section.

When starting the monitor you have to replace "/path/to/distccdir" with the actual path to DISTCC_DIR, such as /var/tmp/portage/.distcc
_________________
Distcc guide
Visit my website
I maintain Distcc, Ccache, Memcached, and some others (i think)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 364
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed the guide to bootstrap using distcc, and it works well, but starts to use distcc only after the completion of the bootstrap.sh script. There is a suggestion that, if the server gcc has been updated since the liveCD was built, this is expected behaviour. Is this the case?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, i have follwed the distcc doc and got it working between two workstations ok, even though they have different gcc ver.

Now i then tried to use distcc to install on my p2 366 notebook, could not get it working with bootstrap so disbled distss and left it over night to do its stuff. I am trying distcc with emerge system, it failed on moditils but beleive this to be due to bug so disabled distcc for that one ebuild and started emerge system with distcc enabled.

It has now gone though a number of ebuilds and installed them ok but distcc is not working, the load on other machines is the low and top does not report distcc usage.

I have checked all settings mentioned in this thread but still no joy.


Note i set the notebook (one trying to install on) as a host in one of my workstations and distcc used it so distcc is working on notebook

Question, do the workstation which i am trying to use for distcc also have to have the notebook IP in hosts for it to work on notebook?


any ideas
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i dropped the host with old gcc and it now works, just need to sort out updating gcc problem
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a2carat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey
I just install gentoo after a week of trying and I finalyy got it working now I installed distcc and it was workinf fine (i think) I had cc1 showing up in "top" on both computer but now it does not wants to work i'm trying to complie xfree86 and im getting this error:
Code:
 unrecognize .....-fno-stack-protector

cant remeber now
:(

the machine with gentoo is a pentium-mmx 200 mhz and the other machines is a amd athlon 1.4 ghz with slackware

just in case I have everything like the guide says on my gentoo machine

does any one now what that is? and how can I fix it
TIA
a2carat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erezny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 10:59 pm    Post subject: XFREE Reply with quote

Quote:
hey
I just install gentoo after a week of trying and I finalyy got it working now I installed distcc and it was workinf fine (i think) I had cc1 showing up in "top" on both computer but now it does not wants to work i'm trying to complie xfree86 and im getting this error:


The xfree e-build doesn't allow using distcc because of bugs. there are a couple of programs like this, too bad xfree is one of them.

Now on to my own problem,

I have a 100 (or so) MHZ laptop that i'd like to put a stage 2 on, and i have a nice 2.4ghz desktop i'd like to use distcc on, but i can't get distcc working.

i followed the directions for distcc about bootstrapping on the laptop, and i've installed distcc on the desktop, set the hosts, started the daemon, but the laptop is not doing anything over the network. i've set the distcc flag in the features part of make.conf, set the hosts, set the temp directory, everything the documentation said to do, but it isn't doing anything. i've seen in a previous post about some symbolic links, but i've never seen them before in any documentation, and they don't appear on my computer in (i think) /usr/lib/distcc/bin . are there any steps that are undocumented possibly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2004 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed the instructions for setting up distcc before the 1st stage bootstrap step. distcc did not appear to be used during the bootstrap but that was as expected according to the guide. After bootstrapping, I noticed that the line "distcc:x:240:2:distccd:/dev/null:/bin/false" had disappeared from /etc/passwd. Is that a problem? Do I need to reinsert that line?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum