Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[kde-testing] and [kde-crazy] KDE4 overlays thread (part 4)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29 ... 36, 37, 38  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cyberwizzard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 244
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For one: since the mirrors are still updating, you can't install it at the moment. Just be patient until everything is distributed and confirmed to be working...
_________________
More ramblings of a linux junky...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it's strange, because the ebuilds are always there even if there isn't official announcement and the mirrors are empty. Now it's different, I am scared of new things
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyberwizzard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 244
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bah, I found myself unable to wait for RC2 (which has the the 100% CPU fix - or so I am told) so I hacked a script together to 'upgrade' the kde overlay 4.4.90 ebuilds to 4.4.92 (in a custom overlay).

Note that the kde eclass is designed to scrape a repacked version of one of the development servers from Gentoo: it needs to be converted to the kde mirrors to work.

Step 1: edit /usr/portage/eclass/kde4-base.eclass and find the line that says:
Code:
SRC_URI="http://dev.gentooexperimental.org/~alexxy/kde/${PV}/src/${_kmname_pv}.tar.xz"

Comment it out and inject the KDE mirrors:
Code:
#SRC_URI="http://dev.gentooexperimental.org/~alexxy/kde/${PV}/src/${_kmname_pv}.tar.xz"
#DEPEND+=" app-arch/xz-utils"
SRC_URI="mirror://kde/unstable/${PV}/src/${_kmname_pv}.tar.bz2"


Step 2: create a script somewhere (I called mine "make_kde.sh") and insert the following code - make sure to replace the paths to layman with yours (nowadays /var seems to be default, I forced it back to /usr/local) and provide the path to a local overlay, I called mine 'my-overlay'. Use the guide on custom overlays if you are new to this.
Code:
#!/bin/bash
KDE=/usr/local/portage/layman/kde
MINE=/usr/local/portage/my-overlay
KDEBASE=$KDE/kde-base
NKDEBASE=$MINE/kde-base

mkdir -p $NKDEBASE

ebuilds=$(find $KDEBASE -name "*-4.4.90.ebuild")
for ebuild in $ebuilds; do
        nebuild=$(echo $ebuild | sed "s@4\.4\.90@4\.4\.92@g" | sed "s@$KDEBASE@$NKDEBASE@g" )
        if [ -f $nebuild ]; then
                echo "$nebuild exists - skipping..."
        else
                echo "Copying $ebuild to $nebuild..."
                mkdir -p $(dirname $nebuild)
                cp -p $ebuild $nebuild
        fi

        if [ -d "$(dirname $ebuild)/files" ]; then
                if [ -e "$(dirname $nebuild)/files" ]; then
                        echo "Skipping 'files' link"
                else
                        echo "Linking $(dirname $ebuild)/files to $(dirname $nebuild)/files"
                        ln -s "$(dirname $ebuild)/files" "$(dirname $nebuild)/files"
                fi
        fi

        ebuild $nebuild digest
done


WARNING: Make sure you are using a local portage overlay and you don't have any custom stuff in 'kde-base' you want to keep.

Step 3: Test your new KDE 4.5 RC2 and revert the changes to the eclass file so future updates from the overlay will work again.

DISCLAIMER: Since it all installed except for kdm, it works for me. This script requires some setting up and is run as root - run it the wrong way and it might destroy your system. Check the paths before running and you will probably be fine. Also, none of the custom Gentoo patches are available for this 'hack' so it might not work at all.

Edit: updated script to skip previously generated ebuilds and provide the patch files from the overlay by means of symlinks.

Edit 2: you will download all the localization packages as well - this will take some time and requires disk space. Just be patient and let the script create the RC2 tree for you. Note that kdepim is missing since it wasn't finished yet.

Edit 3: Everything up to (and including) kdelibs-4.4.92 installs, after that portage keeps trying to unpack the wrong files...

Edit 4: Clearing out '/var/cache/edb/dep/usr/local/portage' fixed it: it now extracts the bz2 files again.
_________________
More ramblings of a linux junky...


Last edited by Cyberwizzard on Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benneque
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your script works fine. Now compiling PAST kdelibs-4.4.92
I changed a few things in the eclass (don't know which of them did the trick):
There are some of those expressions: 4.[34].9[0568]
Means: Version 4.3.9x oder 4.4.9x , with x= 0 , 5 , 6 , 8
you see? TWO ist missing!!

so i changed all of them to: 4.[34].9[02568]
Now Version 4.4.92 is there, too!


EDIT:
your script complains about missing kdepim-4.4.92 file
i looked at ftp.kde.org, there is NO (even for 4.4.90 there is no, but in my distfiles dir there is one for 4.4.90?! , maybe just a renamed kdepim-beta1 file?)

still 205 packages to install -> taking a nap


EDIT2: kdnssd won't compile :(
* Unpacking parts of kdenetwork-4.4.92.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdnssd-4.4.92/work ...
mv: cannot stat `kdenetwork-4.4.92/': No such file or directory

EDIT3: my fault (I think): kdenetwork-4.4.92.tar.bz2 was just about 8kb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyberwizzard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 244
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cleared out '/var/cache/edb/dep/usr/local/portage' and now it stops trying to extract a non-existing .xz file.

Everything in kde-base installed for me except kdm: it fails with a broken patch.

The package kdnssd seemed to have installed without problems over here.
_________________
More ramblings of a linux junky...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benneque
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah. kdm failed here as well
I just edited the kdm ebuild:
removed the line with the failed patch
then: ebuild kdm-4.4.92.ebuild digest
and it compiled fine

but i don't know if the patch is an essential fix !?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've successfully created all 4.4.92 using the script from Documentation/maintainers... I had to add those 2-s to cases in kde4-base and kde4-meta-base (or something like that).

I have created ebuilds based on 9999 version and had to change kget and korganiser.

Now everything from kde-meta compiled fine and works really stable. Bugs from 4.4.90 that I've noticed are gone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Meanwhile, there are still no ebuilds. What the hell? Do I have to run that script to have RC2, or should I wait a little more? Something's wrong with my Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NForce wrote:
Meanwhile, there are still no ebuilds. What the hell? Do I have to run that script to have RC2, or should I wait a little more? Something's wrong with my Gentoo


I guess the devs are just too busy with real life issues ...

they will sure soon appear in the overlay or in the portage tree
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6928
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
they will sure soon appear in the overlay or in the portage tree

Reinforcements arrived! ;)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
kernelOfTruth wrote:
they will sure soon appear in the overlay or in the portage tree

Reinforcements arrived! ;)


nice ! 8)

compiling right now and the only one failing/missing so far was: kde-base/kdepim-runtime (the 4.4.92 one - currently only 4.4.90 exists which compiled fine for me in the past)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duryodhana
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also libkdeedu-4.4.92 fails here. Filesize does not match recorded size :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6928
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just re-manifest it manually.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsevilleja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:59 pm    Post subject: Kget and kdeplasma-addons from kde overlay fail to build Reply with quote

I'm trying to emerge kde 4.4.92 from kde overlay, but kdeplasma-addons and kget fail when building them:

kdeplasma-addons:

[ 88%] Built target plasma_potd_oseiprovider
[ 88%] make[2]: *** [libs/lancelot-datamodels/CMakeFiles/lancelot-datamodels.dir/lancelot-datamodels_automoc.o] Error 1

kget:

[ 86%] Building CXX object kget/CMakeFiles/kget.dir/mainadaptor.o
Linking CXX executable kget
[ 86%] Built target kget
make: *** [all] Error 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6928
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think with kdeplasma-addons it was a missing dependency that should have come earler in the emerge queue, because emerge -1v kdeplasma-addons did work after all the other packages where finished.

kget indeed currently doesn't build.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsevilleja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:03 pm    Post subject: Cannot build kdeplasma-addons Reply with quote

This is what I get when building kdeplasma-addons. It seems something related to akonadi (I build kde without semantic-desktop USEFLAG, if that matters):
http://pastebin.com/SDurnf8q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6928
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, without semantic-desktop flag it's a rather different situation. Anyway, kget-4.4.92 compiles after a recent layman sync. ;)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsevilleja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way, is there any akonadi 4.4.92 ebuild? I want to install it to see if I can build kdeplasma-addons, but my last akonadi is 4.4.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On kde 4.5, powerdevil doesn't seem to support cpu frequency scaling. Is it a bug, or i'm just missing some USE flags somewhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsevilleja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NForce wrote:
On kde 4.5, powerdevil doesn't seem to support cpu frequency scaling. Is it a bug, or i'm just missing some USE flags somewhere?


It isn't a bug, it's a feature :P No, seriously, there is a thread on some forum where the developers explain the reason of getting out powerdevil support. I think that KDE now just put the processor on "ondemand" everytime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jsevilleja wrote:
I think that KDE now just put the processor on "ondemand" everytime.

That would be great, but it's putting "performance", not "ondemand". I have to set "ondemand" manually, in command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any easy way to have kdepim-meta-4.4.9999 and kdepimlibs-4.4.999 installed on kde-meta-4.4.92? I mean - it pulles dependencies for kdelibs-4.4.9999. Does it have to be this way? I mean - slotted live ebuilds usually just need same slot of kdelibs, isn't it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lustmored wrote:
Is there any easy way to have kdepim-meta-4.4.9999 and kdepimlibs-4.4.999 installed on kde-meta-4.4.92? I mean - it pulles dependencies for kdelibs-4.4.9999. Does it have to be this way? I mean - slotted live ebuilds usually just need same slot of kdelibs, isn't it?


Compiling them by hand would probably be the easiest way. According to kde techbase you're supposed to use kdepim-4.4 until kdepim-4.5 gets released together with kde-4.5.1. kdepim-4.5.9999 is usable in the meantime btw.

However, keep in mind that kde-4.4.9999 and kde-4.4.92 are NOT the same slot, as former is a snapshot of the 4.4 branch while later is a (pseudo-)snapshot of the 4.5 one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ormaaj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

digikam-9999 patch log: http://smorgbox.dyndns.org/digikam-1.3.0-libpgf.patch.out.bz2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot build kdeplasma-addons Reply with quote

jsevilleja wrote:
This is what I get when building kdeplasma-addons. It seems something related to akonadi (I build kde without semantic-desktop USEFLAG, if that matters):
http://pastebin.com/SDurnf8q


Same here.

Does anyone have a "/usr/include/akonadi/entity.h", and if so what package owns it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29 ... 36, 37, 38  Next
Page 28 of 38

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum