Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[kde-testing] and [kde-crazy] KDE4 overlays thread (part 4)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30 ... 36, 37, 38  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Does anyone have a "/usr/include/akonadi/entity.h", and if so what package owns it?

kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.5.9999 (/usr/include/akonadi/entity.h)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xibo wrote:
Quote:
Does anyone have a "/usr/include/akonadi/entity.h", and if so what package owns it?

kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.5.9999 (/usr/include/akonadi/entity.h)


Thanks. It looks like kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.4.92 only installs that file if the semantic-desktop USE flag is enabled, and I guess lancelot in kde-base/kdeplasma-addons-4.4.92 needs it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ejs76
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:02 pm    Post subject: Kde sc 4.5 rc3 Reply with quote

Heads up: an extra release candidate came out today, the RC3 (4.4.95).

Just finished compiling without a hitch.
_________________
~amd64
PhenomII x4 955 | MSI 790GX-G65 | ATI Radeon 5770 | 8GB DDR3 1333
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Kde sc 4.5 rc3 Reply with quote

ejs76 wrote:
Heads up: an extra release candidate came out today, the RC3 (4.4.95).

Just finished compiling without a hitch.


nice ! :D
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duryodhana
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice to hear that! I've already started fetching :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ufoman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopefully the whole interface won't simply freeze and I'll have access to compositing settings (System Settings in RC2 says compositing is disabled due to technical problems, but it works, albeit without any configurations capabilities).
_________________
Registered Linux User #417638
amd64 no-multilib
desktop: Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 v2.0, Athlon II X2 250 @3,6GHz, 4GB DDR2 800, Radeon HD 4850, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 320GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 4:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Kde sc 4.5 rc3 Reply with quote

seems a qt-dbus problem has emerged...

emerge wrote:

[ 51%] Building CXX object kded/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_kded4.dir/kded.o
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp:74:8: error: ‘QDBUS_EXPORT’ does not name a type
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp: In constructor ‘Kded::Kded()’:
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp:132:32: error: ‘qDBusAddSpyHook’ was not declared in this scope
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp: In member function ‘KDEDModule* Kded::loadModule(const KService::Ptr&, bool)’:
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp:368:46: warning: ‘static KLibLoader* KLibLoader::self()’ is deprecated (declared at /tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kdecore/util/klibloader.h:142)
make[2]: *** [kded/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_kded4.dir/kded.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [kded/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_kded4.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

kdelibs-4.5.9999 had compiled 3 days ago, appearently no changes were made to kded in the kdelibs upstream, so i assume it's either a problem of qt or the ebuilds...


ejs76 wrote:
Heads up: an extra release candidate came out today, the RC3 (4.4.95).

Just finished compiling without a hitch.

however
emerge wrote:
!!! A file listed in the Manifest could not be found: /usr/local/portage/layman/kde/kde-base/kdepim-meta/kdepim-meta-4.4.95.ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 6:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Kde sc 4.5 rc3 Reply with quote

xibo wrote:
seems a qt-dbus problem has emerged...

emerge wrote:

[ 51%] Building CXX object kded/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_kded4.dir/kded.o
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp:74:8: error: ‘QDBUS_EXPORT’ does not name a type
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp: In constructor ‘Kded::Kded()’:
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp:132:32: error: ‘qDBusAddSpyHook’ was not declared in this scope
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp: In member function ‘KDEDModule* Kded::loadModule(const KService::Ptr&, bool)’:
/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kded/kded.cpp:368:46: warning: ‘static KLibLoader* KLibLoader::self()’ is deprecated (declared at /tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-4.5.9999/work/kdelibs-4.5.9999/kdecore/util/klibloader.h:142)
make[2]: *** [kded/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_kded4.dir/kded.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [kded/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_kded4.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

kdelibs-4.5.9999 had compiled 3 days ago, appearently no changes were made to kded in the kdelibs upstream, so i assume it's either a problem of qt or the ebuilds...


ejs76 wrote:
Heads up: an extra release candidate came out today, the RC3 (4.4.95).

Just finished compiling without a hitch.

however
emerge wrote:
!!! A file listed in the Manifest could not be found: /usr/local/portage/layman/kde/kde-base/kdepim-meta/kdepim-meta-4.4.95.ebuild


yeah,

kdepim is not quite ready yet:
Quote:
emerge @kdepim-4.5 -f

* IMPORTANT: 6 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.

Calculating dependencies... done!

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "kde-base/knode:4.5" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- kde-base/knode-4.5.9999 (masked by: missing keyword)


so knode-4.4.95 is missing, too
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 8:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Kde sc 4.5 rc3 Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
kdepim is not quite ready yet

that is true.
however, i think i should be able to build kde-4.5.9999 without having to delete a manigest for a kdepim-4.5-rc3 tarball that i don't have nor want to install anyway.

well, my primary issue is with kdelibs anyway, maybe i'll revert to a stable qt ( as the unpatched kdelibs-4.5 gets the same error, i guess it's not related to the ebuilds ) .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kget-4.4.95 doesn't compile for me:

Quote:
Scanning dependencies of target kget_mirrorsearchfactory
[ 69%] Building CXX object kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/CMakeFiles/kget_bittorrentfactory.dir/bttransferfactory.o
[ 69%] Building CXX object kget/transfer-plugins/mirrorsearch/CMakeFiles/kget_mirrorsearchfactory.dir/kget_mirrorsearchfactory_automoc.o
[ 69%] Building CXX object kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/CMakeFiles/kget_bittorrentfactory.dir/bttransferhandler.o
[ 69%] Building CXX object kget/transfer-plugins/mirrorsearch/CMakeFiles/kget_mirrorsearchfactory.dir/mirrors.o
[ 69%] Building CXX object kget/CMakeFiles/kget.dir/ui/splash.o
[ 70%] Building CXX object kget/transfer-plugins/mirrorsearch/CMakeFiles/kget_mirrorsearchfactory.dir/mirrorsearchtransferdatasource.o
[ 71%] Building CXX object kget/CMakeFiles/kget.dir/ui/transferdetails.o
[ 71%] Building CXX object kget/transfer-plugins/mirrorsearch/CMakeFiles/kget_mirrorsearchfactory.dir/mirrorsearchfactory.o
In file included from /var/tmp/paludis/kde-base-kget-4.4.95/work/kget-4.4.95/kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/bttransferhandler.cpp:16:
/var/tmp/paludis/kde-base-kget-4.4.95/work/kget-4.4.95/kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/scandlg.h:65: error: 'virtual void kt::ScanDlg::error(const QString&)' cannot be overloaded
/var/tmp/paludis/kde-base-kget-4.4.95/work/kget-4.4.95/kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/scandlg.h:62: error: with 'virtual void kt::ScanDlg::error(const QString&)'
[ 71%] Building CXX object kget/CMakeFiles/kget.dir/ui/viewscontainer.o
make[2]: *** [kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/CMakeFiles/kget_bittorrentfactory.dir/bttransferhandler.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/CMakeFiles/kget_bittorrentfactory.dir/all] Error 2
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....


I have Qt 4.7_beta2... Any idea what might be wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Unabeefer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 60
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get a bit further and then it dies:

Quote:
[ 81%] Building CXX object kget/CMakeFiles/kget.dir/extensions/webinterface/httpserver.o
[ 81%] Building CXX object kget/CMakeFiles/kget.dir/mainadaptor.o
[ 81%] Building CXX object kget/CMakeFiles/kget.dir/ui/nepomukwidget.o
Linking CXX executable kget
[ 81%] Built target kget
make: *** [all] Error 2
* ERROR: kde-base/kget-4.4.95 failed:
* Make failed!
*
* Call stack:
* ebuild.sh, line 54: Called src_compile
* environment, line 4236: Called kde4-meta_src_compile
* environment, line 3312: Called kde4-base_src_compile
* environment, line 2963: Called cmake-utils_src_compile
* environment, line 1117: Called _execute_optionaly 'src_compile'
* environment, line 529: Called enable_cmake-utils_src_compile
* environment, line 1486: Called cmake-utils_src_make
* environment, line 1136: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* emake "$@" || die "Make failed!";
*
* If you need support, post the output of 'emerge --info =kde-base/kget-4.4.95',
* the complete build log and the output of 'emerge -pqv =kde-base/kget-4.4.95'.
* This ebuild used the following eclasses from overlays:
* /var/lib/layman/kde/eclass/kde4-meta.eclass
* /var/lib/layman/kde/eclass/kde4-base.eclass
* /var/lib/layman/kde/eclass/kde4-functions.eclass
* /var/lib/layman/kde/eclass/cmake-utils.eclass
* This ebuild is from an overlay named 'kde': '/var/lib/layman/kde/'
* The complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/kde-base:kget-4.4.95:20100725-060950.log'.
* The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kget-4.4.95/temp/environment'.
* S: '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kget-4.4.95/work/kget-4.4.95'

_________________
I am a flying cow... worship me or DIE!!!

...and there he was, reigning supreme at number two...
The One... The Only... The Unabeefer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if anyone else ( like in 'the qting-edge users' ) is having trouble at the QDBUS_EXPORT macro of kdelibs' kded.cpp, adding
Code:
sed -es/QDBUS_EXPORT\ // -i kded/kded.cpp || die "sed on kded failed"

to the src_prepare section of the kdelibs' ebuild should fix the problem, as QDBUS_EXPORT is ( most probably - i don't have the old qt sources at hand ) only a macro that instructs the microsoft linker to import the symbol definitions from an external library and doesn't do anything on non-windows os builds.

Lustmored wrote:
kget-4.4.95 doesn't compile for me:
Quote:

In file included from /var/tmp/paludis/kde-base-kget-4.4.95/work/kget-4.4.95/kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/bttransferhandler.cpp:16:
/var/tmp/paludis/kde-base-kget-4.4.95/work/kget-4.4.95/kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/scandlg.h:65: error: 'virtual void kt::ScanDlg::error(const QString&)' cannot be overloaded
/var/tmp/paludis/kde-base-kget-4.4.95/work/kget-4.4.95/kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/scandlg.h:62: error: with 'virtual void kt::ScanDlg::error(const QString&)'

I have Qt 4.7_beta2... Any idea what might be wrong?

I don't have the kget sources at hand, but i would suspect line 65 to be a duplicate of line 62 in kget/transfer-plugins/bittorrent/scandlg.h . Otherwise it's "obviously" an inheritance problem between two classes of kde ( namely ScanDlg and ScanDlg which both are in namespace kt *suspicious* ), and therefore not related to qt.

The Unabeefer wrote:
I get a bit further and then it dies

More probably you just have a higher number of parallel make subproccesses, especially since your quote does not contain the actual error message
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the problem. It is kdenetwork-r1138807-fix-virtual-scandlg.patch. Remove it from the ebuild and everything should work.

Will edit post when compiling completes.

Thanks xibo for guideline :)

[EDIT] Yes - after commenting the "PATCHES" line in ebuild kget compiles fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kde-base/cantor _should_ DEPEND on gcc with fortran use-flag enabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is KDE changing anyone else's mount options?

KDE 4.4.92 was remounting / with commit=600 (ten minutes, like laptop-mode-tools does). I had to uncheck "Enable system power saving" in System Settings -> Power Management -> Edit Profiles -> Performance -> CPU and System tab.

Now when I log in to KDE it remounts / with commit=0 :roll:. I wish it would just stop changing it.

EDIT: Found a workaround. Go to System Settings -> Startup and Shutdown -> Service Manager. Under Startup Services, uncheck Power Management. Now logging into KDE will leave mount options unchanged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StringCheesian wrote:
Is KDE changing anyone else's mount options?

KDE 4.4.92 was remounting / with commit=600 (ten minutes, like laptop-mode-tools does). I had to uncheck "Enable system power saving" in System Settings -> Power Management -> Edit Profiles -> Performance -> CPU and System tab.

Now when I log in to KDE it remounts / with commit=0 :roll:. I wish it would just stop changing it.

EDIT: Found a workaround. Go to System Settings -> Startup and Shutdown -> Service Manager. Under Startup Services, uncheck Power Management. Now logging into KDE will leave mount options unchanged.


I've been wondering, too, who or what is changing my settings :x

thanks for the workaround !

it's strange anyways that this stuff gets loaded and set up even when I'm using Gnome DE :o
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that stuff gets loaded by kinit, which gets loaded when you initialize your first kapplication context ( i.e. a kde program ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't seem to activate Desktop Effects via OpenGL on my Intel 945GM (xorg-server-1.8.2). Anyone else with this issue?
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, really strange thing that I just discovered. If I remove active windows glow from Shadows in Oxygen settings, OpenGL starts working. Weird.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7106
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I wasn't alone with that issue after all (i915 + xorg-server-1.9). :) Interesting, I'll look into that. Had it running with Xrender for some time now, even though OpenGL worked great in games.

EDIT: Disabling active window shadow glow didn't have any effect here...


Now, what about that new KDE networkmanager applet thing that should finally appear with 4.5? Any news there?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2868
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When do we expect kde 4.5 in portage, folks? 4.5 is about to get out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It already in the overlay. Wainting for the tarballs to unmask I suppose.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxaddict
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like it's going to be a little bit longer: http://aseigo.blogspot.com/2010/08/kde-release-day-for-450-delayed.html.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2868
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Some devs on #gentoo-kde said that the main portage tree would be waiting for 4.5.1 because 4.5 does not correctly migrate certain plasma settings, which cause bad bugs unless you delete your plasmarc. I don't know how true this is or the accuracy of such claims, but if this is vaguely familiar to you, any chance that the fixes for it will go into 4.5.0 with the delay?
does anybody know what that's about? why is upgrade not handled well by KDE? I mean how long does it take to write migration code, particularly between minor versions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been using kde-4.5.9999 since about 6 weeks, and had 4.4.9999 before that. I didn't notice any major plasma issues. My desktop background image was getting reset to the one i had in 4.4 at each kde-4.5 restart, but that's not happening any more.

kmail-4.5.9999 is unusable again ( was working fine the last two weeks ), other then that i would consider 4.5.0 even more stable then 4.4.4. And kmail-2.0 alias kdepim-4.5's kmail is released with kde-4.5.1 instead of kde-4.5.0 anyway...

linuxaddict wrote:
Looks like it's going to be a little bit longer: http://aseigo.blogspot.com/2010/08/kde-release-day-for-450-delayed.html.

Yeah, i notices a considerable amount of .cpp and .h modifications in svn in the _complete_freeze_phase_ last week.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30 ... 36, 37, 38  Next
Page 29 of 38

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum