Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[kde-testing] and [kde-crazy] KDE4 overlays thread (part 4)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 30, 31, 32 ... 36, 37, 38  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm. Part of the #gentoo-kde IRC channel on Freenode : "4.5.0 WON'T get to main tree"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duryodhana
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kdepim-4.5.0 is not ready yet. It'll be ready in kde-4.5.1, so they will be released together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

duryodhana wrote:
kdepim-4.5.0 is not ready yet. It'll be ready in kde-4.5.1, so they will be released together.


Any thoughts on 4.5.1 release date?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeanfrancis wrote:
duryodhana wrote:
kdepim-4.5.0 is not ready yet. It'll be ready in kde-4.5.1, so they will be released together.


Any thoughts on 4.5.1 release date?
Typically, .1 release is one month after .0

All I can say wtf? KDE released kdepim as buggy/not-ready or whatever. Why would gentoo not honor that and be as close to upstream as possible. This is pure BS!

I don't care about kdepim. Give me my ebuilds. Hard mask them, I don't care!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
jeanfrancis wrote:
duryodhana wrote:
kdepim-4.5.0 is not ready yet. It'll be ready in kde-4.5.1, so they will be released together.


Any thoughts on 4.5.1 release date?
Typically, .1 release is one month after .0

All I can say wtf? KDE released kdepim as buggy/not-ready or whatever. Why would gentoo not honor that and be as close to upstream as possible. This is pure BS!

I don't care about kdepim. Give me my ebuilds. Hard mask them, I don't care!


what's so hard in adding the kde-testing overlay and unmasking/un-keywording those ebuilds ?

everything emerged fine so far (except kdepim of course) :wink:
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
devsk wrote:
jeanfrancis wrote:
duryodhana wrote:
kdepim-4.5.0 is not ready yet. It'll be ready in kde-4.5.1, so they will be released together.


Any thoughts on 4.5.1 release date?
Typically, .1 release is one month after .0

All I can say wtf? KDE released kdepim as buggy/not-ready or whatever. Why would gentoo not honor that and be as close to upstream as possible. This is pure BS!

I don't care about kdepim. Give me my ebuilds. Hard mask them, I don't care!


what's so hard in adding the kde-testing overlay and unmasking/un-keywording those ebuilds ?

everything emerged fine so far (except kdepim of course) :wink:
Its not about hard. Its about my distro supporting me! How does it look in the linux world? All distros have KDE 4.5.0 and Gentoo is waiting for 4.5.1 to release to give its users the taste of 4.5.

I could have added the overlay 2 weeks ago! But decided to wait it out for official ebuilds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dorsai!
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jul 2008
Posts: 276
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

which packages do i have to mask (on ~arch) to get a working kdepim?

kdepimlibs-4.5.0
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
kernelOfTruth wrote:
devsk wrote:
jeanfrancis wrote:
duryodhana wrote:
kdepim-4.5.0 is not ready yet. It'll be ready in kde-4.5.1, so they will be released together.


Any thoughts on 4.5.1 release date?
Typically, .1 release is one month after .0

All I can say wtf? KDE released kdepim as buggy/not-ready or whatever. Why would gentoo not honor that and be as close to upstream as possible. This is pure BS!

I don't care about kdepim. Give me my ebuilds. Hard mask them, I don't care!


what's so hard in adding the kde-testing overlay and unmasking/un-keywording those ebuilds ?

everything emerged fine so far (except kdepim of course) :wink:
Its not about hard. Its about my distro supporting me! How does it look in the linux world? All distros have KDE 4.5.0 and Gentoo is waiting for 4.5.1 to release to give its users the taste of 4.5.

I could have added the overlay 2 weeks ago! But decided to wait it out for official ebuilds.


afaik it was the same with 4.0.0 or 4.1.0 - don't know the exact version anymore

but this already happened in the past so no big deal (to me ;) )


anyways: yes, it's somewhat strange since the 0 releases are meant for testing & ironing out the bugs - why should bug-reporting by the other distributions be better than Gentoo's ? Gentoo has almost pure vanilla sources so the bug-reports should be best to reproduce and besides that gentoo-users often also provide fixes for it :o
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D


Last edited by kernelOfTruth on Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dorsai! wrote:
which packages do i have to mask (on ~arch) to get a working kdepim?

kdepimlibs-4.5.0
...


the 4.4 release of kdepim, which afaik isn't masked.

kdepim-4.5 won't be installed by the overlay either, you have to rename the 9999 version and sed all 9999 slots to 4.5. If you're a kmail user, you don't want kdepim-4.5 yet though.


Last edited by xibo on Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xibo wrote:
Dorsai! wrote:
which packages do i have to mask (on ~arch) to get a working kdepim?

kdepimlibs-4.5.0
...


the 4.4 release of kdepim, which afaik isn't masked.

kdepim-4.5 isn't in the overlay either, you have to rename the 9999 version and sed all 9999 slots to 4.5. If you're a kmail user, you don't want kdepim-4.5 yet though.


oh, yes it is ;)
Quote:
[I] kde-base/kdepimlibs
Available versions:
(4.4) 4.4.5!t
(0) **4.4.9999[1] (~)4.5.0[1] **4.5.9999[1] **9999[1]
{aqua debug +handbook kdeenablefinal kdeprefix ldap +semantic-desktop test}
Installed versions: 4.5.0!t[1](08:36:50 PM 08/11/2010)(handbook ldap semantic-desktop -aqua -debug -kdeenablefinal -kdeprefix -test)
Homepage: http://www.kde.org/
Description: Common library for KDE PIM apps.


kdepim isn't but kdepimlibs are already available


where's my akregator ? :P
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
earendilion
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 115
Location: Meudon (92), France

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pykde4 fails to compile with this error :

"Mapped type has already been defined in another module"

Do you know what that means ? I tried to recompile sip, PyQt4 and the whole Qt stuff, but it made nothing :(

Thank you all
_________________
Laptop : XPS M1330/Core2 T9300 - 2.50Ghz/2Go Ram - DDR2/250Go 7200TPM/nVidia 9200GS/Led Screen
-----
Desktop : Gygabyte EX58-UD3R/Core i7 920 2.67Ghz/3Go Ram - DDR3/WD 1To - 7200TPM - 32Mo Cache/ATI HD4850 - 1Go Ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kdepim won't be released with KDE-4.5.1...

Instead, they will release a new beta every 4.5.x release and hopes they will make it into SC 4.6... (I have read it on the kdepim mailing list and on some blogs).

So - the argument about waiting for kdepim makes SC 4.5... Unavailable :lol:

I have overlay and only cantor took hours (HOURS!! some hang on one file at gcc 4.5.1 here) to compile, but everything works as expected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How is the kontact-4.4.5 going to use kdelibs-4.5.0? Confused?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xibo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 152
Location: moving between kubuntu and ubuntu kde edition

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
How is the kontact-4.4.5 going to use kdelibs-4.5.0? Confused?

Why not? kdelibs-4.5.0 is a superset of kdelibs-4.4.x, from an API point of view, so you can update the libs and keep the programs ( you need to recompile/link them though).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xibo wrote:
devsk wrote:
How is the kontact-4.4.5 going to use kdelibs-4.5.0? Confused?

Why not? kdelibs-4.5.0 is a superset of kdelibs-4.4.x, from an API point of view, so you can update the libs and keep the programs ( you need to recompile/link them though).
Really, that's good to know! I wasn't hoping for it. But if it works, then good!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, 34 minutes later, I am all (whatever I had installed previously) emerged and ready to go! Sort of surprised that gcc 4.5.1 compiled it all.

Only thing failed for me: yawp-0.3.2. Hopefully, a fix will come along soon!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3253
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm.. This seems like a big monkey-wrench thown into my nice gentoo/kde-4.5.0 plans. :?

So, in order to continue using my 7+ years distro/DE/mail client of choice for at least until kde-4.5.1 appears (6 months?), I have to use the kde-testing overlay, and mask kdepim-4.5.0 and kdepimlibs? Will my old kmail-4.4.5 (with my 7 years of archived emails) still work seemlessly with just a rebuild after updating everything else to 4.5.0? :roll:

I happily ran the overlay 9999's for 2 years on 2 boxes, so that doesn't scare me, but at this point I really don't want to run qt/kde 9999 anymore. Call me crazy, but for some reason I just wish to settle down for a while with nice ~xf86 and ~amd64 sytems, running the usual ~Arch qt version and kde-4.5.0, with kmail.

Guess I'll try the kde-testing overlay on my amd64 testing box, and see where that is at now. Haven't looked at it since kde.4.4.0. Any tips or advice?

My main concern is kmail giving me problems.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Move to 4.5 from 4.4.4 was smooth. No problems so far. I think the absence of kdepim is overblown, because all apps which were compiled and linked against 4.4.4 worked fine when used against 4.5 kdelibs. I did not even have to recompile or link. So, some of those apps can stay at 4.4.5. yawp gave me compile error but it loads and runs fine. Same for knotes-4.4.5.

So, @Gentoo devs: Just release the damn thing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3253
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk,
Wish I'd have checked back and seen your post. :lol:
I got the overlay, unmasked and keyworded 4.5.0, but got the kdepimlibs blockers on -upD @world. No matter what I tried (uninstall, install, mask, unmask, etc. whatever versions, I couldn't seem to figure it out. :roll:
Finally, I remembered how I used to do it when running kde-live stuff with the overlay. (When you're old, it's amazing how fast you forget things... :roll: ). Oh yeah- sets- duh! :oops:
I made quickpkgs of kmail, kdepimlibs, kontact, kmail backup, etc., and did a quick
Code:
emerge -C $(qlist -IC kde-base).
Then an
Code:
emerge -pv1 @kdedeps-4.5 @kdelibs-4.5 @kdebase-4.5 @kdeartwork-4.5
gave me a nice clean list of 104 kde-4.5.0 packages of the required kde deps and basic system.
Reading your last post now makes me think I probably didn't need to completely uninstall kde-4.4.5. Remains to be seen if I can figure a way to reinstall kmail somehow. For now, my basic kde emerge seems to be progressing well. :)
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When the packages were split (long time ago), I picked and chose the apps I wanted. I used no sets! Just plain old brute force. List all the apps I wanted on the command line and made sure they land in my world file to track updates. From then, upgrading has been as simple as:
Code:
cd /var/db/pkg && time emerge -1v `qlist -CI kde-*/*`
Portage takes care of un-installing the older slot. This command has consistently returned in around half hour on my i7 box for past 5-6 upgrades. And has rarely needed any maintenance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrc1944 wrote:
..I got the overlay, unmasked and keyworded 4.5.0...
hmmm...I never did that. I don't know if we are using the same overlay.

Code:
$ layman -L|grep kde
* haskell                   [Darcs     ] (http://code.haskell.org/gentoo/gen...)
* kde                       [Git       ] (git://git.o.g.o/proj/kde.git, http...)
* kde-sunset                [Git       ] (git://git.o.g.o/proj/kde-sunset.gi...)

11.08-22:47:23 sukumar@sunil-amd-pc /mnt/raid-vol
$ layman -l
* dagger                    [Git       ] (git://git.overlays.gentoo.org/dev/dagger                                                                )
* kde                       [Git       ] (git://git.overlays.gentoo.org/proj/kde.git
After adding the overlay, it was just that command I mentioned above (OK, I think I had to unmerge attica first but that's it!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3253
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah- I basically do the same thing. After I do those four basic sets, I do
Code:
emerge -1v @kdeadmin-live kde-base/gwenview ark kdf okular ksystemlog marble dragonplayer kde-misc/webkit-kpart
and maybe add a few others like k3b, kmail, etc.

I just did layman -a kde, and went from there.

Nice upgrade command- Thanks! 8)

When I was running kde-live, I used
Code:
equery list kde-base/ | grep 9999 | xargs -n1 -i echo ={} | xargs emerge -v1
which reinstalled all kde-base 9999 packages.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dorsai!
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jul 2008
Posts: 276
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried 4.5.0 yesterday and performance was really bad. A CPU usage of ~20% (idle) with either accelleration on or off and a very, very unresponsive plasma drove me to back to 4.4.5.

also I noticed a ~200MB higher memory footprint.

I hope this gets fixed in 4.5.1 when it comes to portage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dorsai! wrote:
I tried 4.5.0 yesterday and performance was really bad. A CPU usage of ~20% (idle) with either accelleration on or off and a very, very unresponsive plasma drove me to back to 4.4.5.

also I noticed a ~200MB higher memory footprint.

I hope this gets fixed in 4.5.1 when it comes to portage.
Oh Wow! I was going to report exact opposite: Memory footprint of 4.5 is down compared to 4.4.4. CPU usage of kwin is down substantially (1.6% to 0.4%) compared to 4.4.4. Powertop doesn't show as many wakeups as before.

Overall, 4.5 is a winner of a release!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3253
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While booted to gnome, I just finished emerging the my 4 basic sets (104 kde-4.5.0 packages) posted above, and have logged into kde.4.5.0.

Things seemed snappier and more responsive. However, Konqueror segfaulted when I tried to open this forum, but when I resored the session it came right up, and I'm posting. A few panel and menu items aren't there, but I haven't done my full install. Maybe I need to do that, reboot, and also try a new .kde4 directory.

Rekonq comes up OK- haven't recompiled it. Cpu idle is the normal 1-2%. Memory usage change is unknown, as I just logged out of gnome into kde- didn't reboot.
This is working out better than I thought. If I get kmail back, I'll consider it a success. :)
Well, enough for tonight.

BTW, this is a pure ~amd64 gcc-4.5.1/graphite system.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 30, 31, 32 ... 36, 37, 38  Next
Page 31 of 38

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum