Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Converting Sabayon to Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2253
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:58 pm    Post subject: Converting Sabayon to Gentoo Reply with quote

I know Sabayon uses a small amount of prebuilt packages to make the installation process faster...exactly which pacakages are these?...if I recompile these, will I get Gentoo?

What I'm asking is what's the difference between Sabayon and gentoo excluding the few binary packages and the extra installed software?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
energyman76b
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 2045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no,

to get from sabayon to gentoo you need to remove the sabayon overlay - and probably profiles. then emerge sync, then emerge -auvnD world. Look out for breakage.
_________________
Study finds stunning lack of racial, gender, and economic diversity among middle-class white males

I identify as a dirty penismensch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, there is a lot of stuff inside /etc/portage/package.unmask too.

The best way, is to install Gentoo from scratch instead of migrating...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2253
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there anyway I can install Gentoo manually using the live CD?

The manual install assumes a network to be present.

What's the performance difference between Sabayon and Gentoo?

And during installation of Sabayon, does the kernel gets compiled?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
energyman76b
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 2045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dE_logics wrote:
Is there anyway I can install Gentoo manually using the live CD?

The manual install assumes a network to be present.

What's the performance difference between Sabayon and Gentoo?

And during installation of Sabayon, does the kernel gets compiled?


yes

you can do it without network

probably none

ask sabayon
_________________
Study finds stunning lack of racial, gender, and economic diversity among middle-class white males

I identify as a dirty penismensch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timeBandit
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 2674
Location: here, there or in transit

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Other Things Gentoo to Unsupported Software.
_________________
Plants are pithy, brooks tend to babble--I'm content to lie between them.
Super-short f.g.o checklist: Search first, strip comments, mark solved, help others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7112
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know how much Sabayon differs from Gentoo; my migration from Funtoo ~amd64 -> Gentoo ~amd64 was quite smooth at least. I created my own funtoo overlay to put in those packages that wouldn't have been covered by obligatory overlays such as qting-edge, kde-testing or x11 to avoid downgrading these and just replaced /usr/portage with an official portage-snapshot.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43560
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dE_logics,

You can install Gentoo without a network using Sneakernet until your network works.

You still need networking but it can be on another system or another operating system.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum