Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Sensors output script for 2.6 kernels
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fusibou
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gkrellm2 doesn't find my ECSk7s5a sensors but using a tweaked version of the sensors script I get:

Code:

VCore 1:    +1.79 V    (min = +1.53, max = +1.87)
VTT:        +2.48 V    (min = +1.12 V, max = +1.37 V)
+3.3V:      +3.26 V    (min = +2.96 V, max = +3.60 V)
+5V:        +4.90 V    (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.47 V)
+12V:       +12.20 V   (min = +11.36 V, max = +13.80 V)
5VSB:       +5.10 V    (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.47 V)
Volcano 9:  4927 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)
MB Temp:    +26.0°C    (min = +20°C, max = +60°C)
CPU Temp:   +48.0°C    (min = +20°C, max = +60°C)


I had to make some changes to the script.

1. My path is: dev="/sys/bus/i2c/devices/0-0290" (not 1-0290)
2. I changed the temperature inputs so that I pull #1 for sensor #2 and #2 from sensor #3 (ignoring sensor #1 which on an ecs k7s5a i was given to believe was a crap reading.... it says temps are -100 or +100 C)

I wrote a stupid script called sense.sh:

Code:

./sensors.sh
sleep 10
clear
./sense.sh


To watch changes but it results in CPU spikes ever 10 seconds so not exactly efficient.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasando
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do you get the sensors to output in gkrellm? do you have to have the lm-sensors plugin emerged or is there some other way to do it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasando
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

got it :D running gkrellm2 did the trick - although it doesnt detect my sensors. oh well... it will soon enough
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fusibou wrote:
gkrellm2 doesn't find my ECSk7s5a sensors but using a tweaked version of the sensors script I get:

Code:

VCore 1:    +1.79 V    (min = +1.53, max = +1.87)
VTT:        +2.48 V    (min = +1.12 V, max = +1.37 V)
+3.3V:      +3.26 V    (min = +2.96 V, max = +3.60 V)
+5V:        +4.90 V    (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.47 V)
+12V:       +12.20 V   (min = +11.36 V, max = +13.80 V)
5VSB:       +5.10 V    (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.47 V)
Volcano 9:  4927 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)
MB Temp:    +26.0°C    (min = +20°C, max = +60°C)
CPU Temp:   +48.0°C    (min = +20°C, max = +60°C)


I had to make some changes to the script.

1. My path is: dev="/sys/bus/i2c/devices/0-0290" (not 1-0290)
2. I changed the temperature inputs so that I pull #1 for sensor #2 and #2 from sensor #3 (ignoring sensor #1 which on an ecs k7s5a i was given to believe was a crap reading.... it says temps are -100 or +100 C)

I wrote a stupid script called sense.sh:

Code:

./sensors.sh
sleep 10
clear
./sense.sh


To watch changes but it results in CPU spikes ever 10 seconds so not exactly efficient.


you can do:
watch ./sensors
:)
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3271
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2003 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't get either the bash or perl version of this script to work on an Abit KT7-RAID. I know the board's sensors are good, as they work fine with gkrellm in Mandrake, and win XP Pro. I can't get any sensors with ANY kernel on this board, with gkrellm or the script. This is only when booting to Gentoo. If I switch hard drives and boot to win xp or Mandrake, Gkrellm2, or Motherboard monitor works fine.

The bash version gives me this (I named the file sensorb):

wrc@mymachine wrc $ bash sensorb
sensorb: line 7: syntax error near unexpected token `then'
sensorb: line 7: `         if [ $3 ]; then '
wrc@mymachine wrc $

The perl version gives me this (named this version sensors):

wrc@mymachine wrc $ perl sensors
Unrecognized character \xA0 at sensors line 5.
wrc@mymachine wrc $

This happens either as user, or root. I've checked, and recopied the file 3 times.
I changed the target to 1-0018 from 1-0290 (the default). I had to change this also on the MSI, and that worked fine. All the i2c stuff is compiled in the kernel.

On my MSI KT3 Ultra2 board, gkrellm and this script work fine with 2.6 kernels.

Any ideas as to the problem with Gentoo and this Abit KT7 board? I must have something wrong, but I can't figure out what it is- I had no problems on the MSI board.

Thanks,
wrc1944
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.30-r2, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.4.1-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 2380
Location: Atlanta, Universe

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mafteah wrote:
Not to me
maybe it becaue the lm-sensors installed?


you're not supposed to have lm-sensors installed in kernel 2.6 anyways..
_________________
what up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw

i see my sensors on gkrellm now !!!
the new version supports it
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cicero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fusibou wrote:
gkrellm2 doesn't find my ECSk7s5a sensors but using a tweaked version of the sensors script I get:


I don't suppose you could post the relevant parts of your kernel config? Same board, no sensors :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum