Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde 4.3 RC2 installed in wrong place
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 998
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:11 am    Post subject: kde 4.3 RC2 installed in wrong place Reply with quote

I did an kde 4.3RC2 install from an e16 enviornment
When i tried to use kde it didn't work at all, infact it couldn't find it.
now i see that the whole kde has been installed inside
Code:
/usr/share/e16usr

I don't have kdeprefix enabled.
Why did this happen?

EDIT:
I am able to start kde if i add the folder in /etc/env.d/99local
But still i am not able to install anything new related to kde and revdep-rebuild finds a bunch of kde related errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anton_kg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hit the same problem by installing kde 4.3 from the portage
Is it still unsupported?..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3260
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I installed kde-4.3.0 from portage without kdeprefix (as I thought was instructed, even though I also have kde-3.5.10 on this installation), IIRC it apparently flung everything into /usr/bin and usr/share, not /usr/kde/4.3 (I'm not on that box right now, or I'd check). I assume that's the expected behavior?

Before I re-booted, I created a dedicated kde-4.3.0 user, and so far I've only booted to 4.3 with him. No problems so far, however kdm-4.3.0 automatically took over from my kde3.5 kdm.

Also, I'm curious about why a .kde4 directory has now appeared in my normal user's home directory, where I've used kde-3.x.x only for years, and never have booted with any kde-4.x.x version what-so-ever with that user.

I know there must be a good reason to drop kdeprefix that currently escapes me, but I sort of wish I hadn't. :roll:
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.30-r2, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.4.1-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kalessin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 21
Location: Fresno, CA USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrc1944 wrote:
When I installed kde-4.3.0 from portage without kdeprefix (as I thought was instructed, even though I also have kde-3.5.10 on this installation), IIRC it apparently flung everything into /usr/bin and usr/share, not /usr/kde/4.3 (I'm not on that box right now, or I'd check). I assume that's the expected behavior?

Before I re-booted, I created a dedicated kde-4.3.0 user, and so far I've only booted to 4.3 with him. No problems so far, however kdm-4.3.0 automatically took over from my kde3.5 kdm.

Also, I'm curious about why a .kde4 directory has now appeared in my normal user's home directory, where I've used kde-3.x.x only for years, and never have booted with any kde-4.x.x version what-so-ever with that user.

I know there must be a good reason to drop kdeprefix that currently escapes me, but I sort of wish I hadn't. :roll:


kdeprefix only makes it so that different version of kde 4 are installed in different prefixes. It doesn't affect kde 3 at all. And if you got a .kde4 directory, it's likely because you used a kde 4 program when you hadn't before. Maybe kdm-4.3.0 was enough. You'd have to look at what was actually in it though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anton_kg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I presume kde4 uses prefix "/usr/share/e16" if ran from enlightenment (even without the ending slash).
So the installation ends up with screwed prefix path:
Code:
/usr/share/e16etc
/usr/share/e16usr
/usr/share/e16var

instead of /etc /usr and /var

So I had to reinstall KDE by running "screen" from console and starting emerging in that window.
After what it's possible to deattach the screen and boot enlightenment normally.

Anyway, I think it's common to install KDE from another light WM and the bug has to be fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum