Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[how-to] 3d hardware acc with ati open source driver.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Perfect_P
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mesa build fine against xf86vidmodeproto-2.2.2. In version xf86vidmodeproto-2.3, xf86vmode.h was rename to xf86vm.h. So just downgrading xf86vidmodeproto worked for me.

http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/proto/xf86vidmodeproto/commit/?id=50fe2de4abe06bcf9e38e7dcd5005538e0ba3ce1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wumpyr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 63
Location: Downunder

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect_P wrote:
mesa build fine against xf86vidmodeproto-2.2.2. In version xf86vidmodeproto-2.3, xf86vmode.h was rename to xf86vm.h. So just downgrading xf86vidmodeproto worked for me.

http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/proto/xf86vidmodeproto/commit/?id=50fe2de4abe06bcf9e38e7dcd5005538e0ba3ce1


I've opened http://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=24334
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 872
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been waiting for this stuff for a very long time. One feature that I particularly need is zaphod mode. I tried the open drivers a good while back and it worked but there was no 2D acceleration in this mode, nevermind 3D. I gave the stuff a shot today using 2.6.32-rc3 and the git versions of mesa, libdrm and xf86-video-ati. KMS was causing my system to lock up all over the place so I disabled that. That was before I even made it into X. X did work on a single screen and I even had Neverball and Quake 3 running perfectly but zaphod mode just caused another lock up. I'm so close, it's really frustrating! I know it's supposed to work because one of the most recent commits to xf86-video-ati simply says "radeon: fix zaphod".

Update: Hmm just digged up an old Phoronix thread. I'd forgotten that John Bridgman told me that zaphod mode would need KMS in order for DRI to work. Maybe I'll give it another shot in a few days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chewi wrote:
X did work on a single screen


Do you use dual screens?
I do, and this is my bug:
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=24095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ootput
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 4:38 am    Post subject: tried with x11 overlay Reply with quote

Hi guys,
I have a hd4850 card. I'm having a little trouble replicating success of this thread and other similar threads - seems the ebuilds listed on the first page are not enough for me (amd64), and I had to add the x11 overlay in its entireity. Also, lots of entries in package.keywords and package.unmask, respectively:

Code:

#from x11 overlay
sys-kernel/gentoo-sources ~amd64
x11-base/xorg-server ~amd64
x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati ~amd64
media-libs/mesa ~amd64
x11-libs/libdrm ~amd64
x11-base/x11-drm ~amd64
app-admin/eselect-opengl ~amd64
x11-proto/fixesproto ~amd64
x11-proto/xextproto ~amd64
x11-proto/xf86vidmodeproto ~amd64
x11-proto/renderproto ~amd64
x11-proto/recordproto ~amd64
x11-proto/inputproto ~amd64
x11-proto/xineramaproto ~amd64
x11-proto/bigreqsproto ~amd64
x11-proto/xf86driproto ~amd64
x11-proto/xf86dgaproto ~amd64
x11-proto/xcmiscproto ~amd64
x11-base/xorg-drivers ~amd64
x11-libs/libXext ~amd64
x11-libs/libXi ~amd64
x11-proto/xproto ~amd64
x11-libs/libX11 ~amd64
x11-libs/libxcb ~amd64
x11-proto/xcb-proto ~amd64


Code:

>=x11-libs/libdrm-9999
>=media-libs/mesa-9999
>=x11-base/xorg-server-9999
>=x11-proto/fixesproto-9999
>=x11-proto/xextproto-9999
>=x11-proto/xf86vidmodeproto-9999
>=x11-proto/renderproto-9999
>=x11-proto/recordproto-9999
>=x11-proto/inputproto-9999
>=x11-proto/xineramaproto-9999
>=x11-proto/bigreqsproto-9999
>=x11-proto/xf86driproto-9999
>=x11-proto/xf86dgaproto-9999
>=x11-proto/xcmiscproto-9999
>=x11-base/xorg-drivers-9999
>=x11-libs/libXext-9999
>=x11-libs/libXi-9999
>=x11-proto/xproto-9999
>=x11-libs/libX11-9999
>=x11-libs/libxcb-9999
>=x11-proto/xcb-proto-9999


Once I got the .31 kernel installed, I enabled KMS. I've yet to reboot the system or to load a new instance of X, as I'm unsure if what I've done so far will yield any results.

Can someone offer any pointers, or words of reassurance?

Cheers

[edit]

Turns out mesa fails to emerge:
Code:
glxcmds.c:2336: error: for each function it appears in.)
glxcmds.c:2336: error: expected ';' before 'mode_line'
glxcmds.c:2342: warning: implicit declaration of function 'XF86VidModeQueryVersion'
glxcmds.c:2343: warning: implicit declaration of function 'XF86VidModeGetModeLine'
glxcmds.c:2343: error: 'mode_line' undeclared (first use in this function)
gmake[2]: *** [glxcmds.o] Error 1
gmake[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
gmake[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/mesa-9999/work/Mesa-9999/src/glx/x11'
make[1]: *** [subdirs] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/mesa-9999/work/Mesa-9999/src'
make: *** [default] Error 1
 * ERROR: media-libs/mesa-9999 failed:
 *   emake failed
 *
 * Call stack:                                     
 *     ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile   
 *   environment, line 3297:  Called _eapi2_src_compile
 *     ebuild.sh, line  638:  Called die           
 * The specific snippet of code:                   
 *              emake || die "emake failed"         
 *                                                 
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * This ebuild is from an overlay named 'x11': '/usr/local/portage/layman/x11/'
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/mesa-9999/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/mesa-9999/temp/environment'.                                           
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/mesa-9999/work/Mesa-9999'

_________________
configs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:50 am    Post subject: Re: tried with x11 overlay Reply with quote

ootput wrote:

Turns out mesa fails to emerge:

I think you have the same xf86vidmodeproto problem that I mentioned above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I upgraded to 2.6.32-rc3 without KMS and it worked fine. Enabling KMS has not worked. :(

DRI2 initializes OK:
Code:
(II) RADEON(0): [DRI2] Setup complete
(II) RADEON(0): Front buffer size: 8400K
(II) RADEON(0): Remaining VRAM size (used for pixmaps): 249616K
(==) RADEON(0): Backing store disabled
(II) RADEON(0): Direct rendering enabled
(II) RADEON(0): Setting EXA maxPitchBytes

Tangential question: Is it correct that the Remaining VRAM size is ~256M given that my total VRAM is 1G?
Back to the main story, later on I get this:
Code:
(EE) AIGLX error: Calling driver entry point failed
(EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
(II) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI capable

:(

Any clues? Thanks.

Edit: I should note that I'm using xorg-server-1.7.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 872
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kingoftherings wrote:

Do you use dual screens?
I do, and this is my bug:
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=24095

Zaphod mode is slightly different from conventional "big desktops". Each screen is treated as an independent display, such as :0.0 and :0.1. You can start programs on one or the other and they change resolution independently. You can't (or at least you couldn't before) drag windows between the two screens. This suits me better as I sometimes have MythTV or a game running on the second screen while my desktop is still available on the first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 4408

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect_P wrote:
mesa build fine against xf86vidmodeproto-2.2.2. In version xf86vidmodeproto-2.3, xf86vmode.h was rename to xf86vm.h. So just downgrading xf86vidmodeproto worked for me.

http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/proto/xf86vidmodeproto/commit/?id=50fe2de4abe06bcf9e38e7dcd5005538e0ba3ce1

It is not only that the header was renamed. Many lines got removed, there are no more structs defined in xf86vm.h. Like XF86VidModeModeLine. And all Function-declarations are missing too.
Just try symlinking xf86vm.h to xh86vmode.h. It will fail again.
I don't know exactly, if those deletions got into another header, but if so why it is not installed? Are all those deleted inforamtions not needed anymore?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hrm.

I'm still using the ebuilds from this thread, except I manually changed them to track the master branch of everything.

I didn't upgrade anything else (at least nothing major, and I'm running stable). I'm still on X 1.6.3, and things are working fine.

The X overlay is more convenient as you don't have to edit/manifest ebuilds by hand, but the downside is that they pull lots of other masked packages. I think that the X overlay makes more sense for people running ~arch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 872
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running ~arch. I added the X11 overlay but removed it from my layman/make.conf so that it's not always present. I added mesa, libdrm and xf86-video-ati to my package.unmask and emerged them like this.

Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage/layman/x11 emerge --nodeps mesa libdrm xf86-video-ati


I used --nodeps because xf86-video-ati wanted xorg-server 1.7 even though it's not really required. It did work for me with 1.6.4. Despite the problems I had with zaphod mode, it worked well on a single screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I disabled the RDEPEND on xorg-server-1.7.0 in xf86-video-ati, downgraded everything back to 1.6.3 and now KMS/DRI2 works (and Mesa compiles). Cheerio!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have encountered a serious problem with KMS/DRI2: when I resume from suspend, the display is stretched horizontally as though it is going across another screen to the right, and it's blurry and swimming about like a psychedelic trip. Needless to say, I have added "nomodeset" to my kernel line for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wumpyr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 63
Location: Downunder

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

franzf wrote:
Perfect_P wrote:
mesa build fine against xf86vidmodeproto-2.2.2. In version xf86vidmodeproto-2.3, xf86vmode.h was rename to xf86vm.h. So just downgrading xf86vidmodeproto worked for me.

http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/proto/xf86vidmodeproto/commit/?id=50fe2de4abe06bcf9e38e7dcd5005538e0ba3ce1

It is not only that the header was renamed. Many lines got removed, there are no more structs defined in xf86vm.h. Like XF86VidModeModeLine. And all Function-declarations are missing too.
Just try symlinking xf86vm.h to xh86vmode.h. It will fail again.
I don't know exactly, if those deletions got into another header, but if so why it is not installed? Are all those deleted inforamtions not needed anymore?


The header has moved to a different package. If you have upgraded to xf86vidmodeproto-2.3, then unmask/emerge =x11-libs/libXxf86vm-1.1.0 and mesa-9999 will compile again (as well as other things such as nexuiz-2.5.2).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5326

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mesa fails econf here on libdrm being to old, it says I have version 2.4.3 but I 'm using the svn version...
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 872
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I assume you mean git, otherwise I'm not surprised it's too old. :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
mesa fails econf here on libdrm being to old, it says I have version 2.4.3 but I 'm using the svn version...
Yeah, I just had to emerge mine again to update the git repo, then it was fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5326

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, git, after asking in #radeonhd I was told that the drm in agd5f is unmaintained and advised to try the master, so I did, no problem after that I can't seem to see any difference in performance.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
yeah, git, after asking in #radeonhd I was told that the drm in agd5f is unmaintained and advised to try the master, so I did, no problem after that I can't seem to see any difference in performance.


libdrm 2.4.14 can do KMS on r600 as well if you have linux 2.6.32.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 872
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gave it another try using linux-next this time and had better luck. KMS is working nicely. I think the real problem was that I didn't realise you had to disable all framebuffer drivers. Oops. :oops: Might seem obvious but no one mentioned it! Still having trouble with my dual head configuration though. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mallrat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
Try starting X with no xorg.conf . You seem to be getting no DRI at all:

Code:
(II) RADEON(0): GPU accel not working, using shadowfb for KMS         
...
(WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled                                                                                                                                                   
(II) RADEON(0): Acceleration disabled


Does DRI work if you disable KMS?


This is the X log for the case without xorg.conf file:
Xorg.0.log

DRI works with KMS disabled. Here is log file in KMS disabled mode:
Xorg.0.log

------------------

Heeee-ha! I have updated xorg to 1.6.4 and live libdrm and xf86-video-ati. Now I have DRI2 with radeon (not radeonhd) driver! It's really cool. All kwin4 effects works good, I can play video and run GL windows. Performance still bad: World Of Goo works fine with fglrx, but I see about 2 fps with opensource driver at levels with much goo-balls. Does anybody knows how I can tune performance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RadeonHDDVRMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I've read this thread over a few times and from what I can tell, this is the way to get the experimental KMS/DRI2 support for r600/r700 up and running:

1) Get the kernel sources as Kingoftherings recommends (using the ebuild he posted).
2) emerge libdrm-9999 from the x11 overlay.
3) emerge mesa-9999 from the x11 overlay.
4) emerge xf86-video-ati from the x11 overlay.

Unfortunately, I can't get past the first step: When I get the kernel sources that are supposed to have KMS/DRI2 support, it isn't there!

This is the ebuild file I use to get the kernel sources:
Code:
# Copyright 1999-2009 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/sys-kernel/vanilla-sources/vanilla-sources-2.6.31.5.ebuild,v 1.1 2009/10/23 06:28:42 bangert Exp $

K_NOUSENAME="yes"
K_NOSETEXTRAVERSION="yes"
K_SECURITY_UNSUPPORTED="1"
ETYPE="sources"
inherit kernel-2
inherit git
detect_version

DESCRIPTION="Dave Airlie's Direct Rendering Manager kernel sources"
HOMEPAGE="http://www.kernel.org"
EGIT_BRANCH="drm-next"
EGIT_REPO_URI="git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/airlied/drm-2.6.git"

KEYWORDS="~alpha ~amd64 ~arm ~hppa ~ia64 ~ppc ~ppc64 ~sh ~sparc ~x86"
IUSE=""


When I go into "make menuconfig" I can set the direct rendering option for Radeon, but the modesetting option under the staging drivers menu is nowhere to be seen!

Also, the menuconfig is saying the sources version is 2.6.29-rc2. I thought this was supposed to be a version of the 2.6.31.5 modified to include the KMS/DRI2 from 2.6.31.x. Has the menuconfig just not been updated with the correct version string? Or is this a clue to why KMS is missing from these kernel sources?

Has the KMS/DRI2 support been moved into some other repository/branch?

Thanks!
_________________
VIDEO: Onbaord Radeon HD 3200
MB: ECS A780GM-A Ultra 1.0
CPU: Athlon 64 x2 5400+ (65W TDP)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 800
DISPLAY: 720p HDTV via HDMI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 872
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should be there! Here's the dependencies for that option.

STAGING [=y] && !STAGING_EXCLUDE_BUILD [=n] && DRM_RADEON [=y]

So you just need staging enabled and Radeon DRM enabled really. I use linux-next but drm-next is still okay, I think. I keep an eye on both branches.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RadeonHDDVRMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chewi wrote:
Should be there! Here's the dependencies for that option.

STAGING [=y] && !STAGING_EXCLUDE_BUILD [=n] && DRM_RADEON [=y]

So you just need staging enabled and Radeon DRM enabled really. I use linux-next but drm-next is still okay, I think. I keep an eye on both branches.


No dice. I've already got those settings set that way, but modesetting refuses to show its face.

To double-check, I just now grep'ed .config for RADEON, here's what I got:
Code:
Mon Nov 02 04:23:44 -- root
/usr/src/linux-2.6.31.5
>grep RADEON .config
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y


(above, everything before the > is just my prompt)
_________________
VIDEO: Onbaord Radeon HD 3200
MB: ECS A780GM-A Ultra 1.0
CPU: Athlon 64 x2 5400+ (65W TDP)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 800
DISPLAY: 720p HDTV via HDMI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 872
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually the version you should be seeing is 2.6.31-rc9, according to the latest from drm-next. The latest from drm-2.6, however, is 2.6.29-rc2. You have EGIT_BRANCH set correctly though so I don't know what the deal is there. I'm just using git directly instead of messing with ebuilds for this. If it's easier for you and you don't mind the rest of your kernel being bleeding edge, just use the latest rc from vanilla-sources or git-sources. 2.6.32 will probably be released pretty soon anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 6 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum