Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[how-to] 3d hardware acc with ati open source driver.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a note of warning... I was using 2.6.32-rc[134] and started experiencing serious crashes and resultant file-system corruption. Not much fun.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RadeonHDDVRMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joseph K. wrote:
Just a note of warning... I was using 2.6.32-rc[134] and started experiencing serious crashes and resultant file-system corruption. Not much fun.


Yeah, I'm not looking to go totally bleeding edge. That's why I'm trying to stay with the 2.6.31.x kernels for now.
_________________
VIDEO: Onbaord Radeon HD 3200
MB: ECS A780GM-A Ultra 1.0
CPU: Athlon 64 x2 5400+ (65W TDP)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 800
DISPLAY: 720p HDTV via HDMI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RadeonHDDVRMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chewi wrote:
Actually the version you should be seeing is 2.6.31-rc9, according to the latest from drm-next. The latest from drm-2.6, however, is 2.6.29-rc2. You have EGIT_BRANCH set correctly though so I don't know what the deal is there. I'm just using git directly instead of messing with ebuilds for this. If it's easier for you and you don't mind the rest of your kernel being bleeding edge, just use the latest rc from vanilla-sources or git-sources. 2.6.32 will probably be released pretty soon anyway.


I've tried looking at airlied's drm-2.6 repository on kernel.org with gitweb, I was hoping it might give me a hint as to what my ebuild's problem is. But I feel more confused now than I did before. :lol:
_________________
VIDEO: Onbaord Radeon HD 3200
MB: ECS A780GM-A Ultra 1.0
CPU: Athlon 64 x2 5400+ (65W TDP)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 800
DISPLAY: 720p HDTV via HDMI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RadeonHDDVRMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I'm trying to follow the RadeonBuildHowTo on the x.org wiki, but I'm running into problems when I try to pull the drm-next changes:

Code:
Tue Nov 03 03:38:12 -- root
/usr/src/linux-2.6.31.y
>git pull airlied_drm_remote drm-next
remote: Counting objects: 2294, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (821/821), done.
remote: Total 2053 (delta 1504), reused 1730 (delta 1230)
Receiving objects: 100% (2053/2053), 768.82 KiB | 710 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (1504/1504), completed with 98 local objects.
From git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/airlied/drm-2.6
 * branch            drm-next   -> FETCH_HEAD
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_drv.c
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_gem.c
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_gem_tiling.c
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_reg.h
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_bios.c
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_crt.c
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_drv.h
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lvds.c
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_sdvo.c
CONFLICT (content): Merge conflict in drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_sdvo.c
Auto-merging drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_tv.c
Removing drivers/gpu/drm/mga/mga_ucode.h
Removing drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/r600_microcode.h
Removing drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_microcode.h
Removing drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/rs690r.h
Removing drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/rs780.c                   <------ WTH?!? Isn't supporting rs780 the supposed to be whole point of this?
Removing drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/rv515r.h
Automatic merge failed; fix conflicts and then commit the result.


I'm great with Mac dev tools like CodeWarrior, but not so hot with linux type tools like diff and git. The git "community book" mentions using 'git diff' to view the conflicting changes, but I can't see any obvious way to resolve these conflicts because one of the files is in "git index" whatever/whereever that is.

Am I up a creek? I don't have any GUI installed on the linux box (it's a dedicated dvr so it's only getting the bare minimum required to run MythTV without kde/gnome/etc) so using a graphical diff tool just isn't an option. Can anyone point me to an existing tutorial on handling this? Everything I've found so far just says "use git diff, then edit the files manually and commit" which is utterly useless when I can't get at a file that's in the "git index". Grrrrrrrrrrrr!!!
_________________
VIDEO: Onbaord Radeon HD 3200
MB: ECS A780GM-A Ultra 1.0
CPU: Athlon 64 x2 5400+ (65W TDP)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 800
DISPLAY: 720p HDTV via HDMI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RadeonHDDVRMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A Quick Follow-up: Since I don't care about Intel graphics drivers, I decided to just edit the file and delete the change-marked segment to get the pull/merge to complete. I figured it probably won't even get compiled anyway :D.

Now the KMS options are actually showing up in make menuconfig. I'll update later when I know whether things are building working right.
_________________
VIDEO: Onbaord Radeon HD 3200
MB: ECS A780GM-A Ultra 1.0
CPU: Athlon 64 x2 5400+ (65W TDP)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 800
DISPLAY: 720p HDTV via HDMI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derbrain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a bit confused. Is hardware acceleration supported by the drivers in the x11-overlay? Is the first post still valid? And are there any (unstable) packages supporting hardware acceleration except *-9999?

I tried installing the hard-masked packages from the overlay, but hardware acceleration does not work. compiz-check says that Software Rasterizer is in use.
I switched to 2.6.31-zen4 (which vanished from the portage tree a couple of days later) and reinstalled mesa, xf86-video-ati and libdrm.
My graphics card is an onboard Radeon HD 4200.

EDIT: the module wasn't found because it was integrated in the kernel. Anyway I still have no 3D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try 2.6.32-rc5 or something and see if it works there.

Often the problem is a kernel-drm mismatch. I'm not 100% what is in the zen kernel you're using. The 3D support for your chipset is not in the 31 kernel, and I don't know whether it was backported in zen. I think it was, but it doesn't hurt to try. The vanilla 2.6.32-rc5 has the r600+ support. If it still doesn't work, tell us what glxgears says.

If it says something about -22 cmd error or similar, then you're using the wrong drm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RadeonHDDVRMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I got the 2.6.31.5 kernel patched as the "radeon build howto" describes, and configured it to enable KMS/DRI, but the kernel balks at mounting my ext3 root filesystem (/dev/sda3).

First udevd complains about bind failing, then about netlink initialization failing, and then that /dev/sda3 is supposedly corrupt (it isn't, it works fine with the kernel I've been using prior to this).
Code:
starting udevd:
udevd[212]: bind failed: no such file or directory

error initializing netlink socket
udevd: error initializing netlink socket
/sbin/udevd found running; none killed

Mounting devpts at /dev/pts ...
Checking root filesystem ...
fsck.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/sda3

/dev/sda3:
the superblock could no tbe read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem
[...snip...]


It say's I can press control-D to continue, but I'm afraid to let it continue since it might do something to actually corrupt my /dev/sda3.

I'm of the opinion that there's something screwy in udevd, since I've tried a slew of configuration variations for networking and network devices and I can't get rid of the netlink initialization failure. Could the "bind" failure be interfering with everything that follows after it? I doubt that "bind" refers to the domain name service daemon so early in the boot process, so I'm guessing it refers to some failed attempt by udevd to bind some service(?) to a device.

Has anyone else run into this sort of problem when trying to get KMS/DRI going?
_________________
VIDEO: Onbaord Radeon HD 3200
MB: ECS A780GM-A Ultra 1.0
CPU: Athlon 64 x2 5400+ (65W TDP)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 800
DISPLAY: 720p HDTV via HDMI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RadeonHDDVRMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Figured it out. Somehow my .config got messed up (I had rushed through the small systems menu and CONFIG_HOTPLUG got turned off by accident).

I configured the kernel to include the RS780 firmware blobs, and now it boots just fine with one exception: The screen seems to be severely oversized for my television. Even the tv's horiz/vert size/position adjustment feature can't reveal all of the console display, this is in text mode immediately after booting. Hopefully I can at least configure X to do away with the overscan problem, but that's a topic for a different sub-forum.

So, it seems the radeon build how to at x.org wiki is the way to go. Kerneloftruth's ebuild for getting drm-next needs some tlc from someone better versed in writing ebuilds than myself :).
_________________
VIDEO: Onbaord Radeon HD 3200
MB: ECS A780GM-A Ultra 1.0
CPU: Athlon 64 x2 5400+ (65W TDP)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 800
DISPLAY: 720p HDTV via HDMI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a branch in zen-stable now "master-drmnouveau" that pulls in drm-next/nouveau git tree on top of master.
(This would be 2.6.31.5/drm as well)

Read about it here:
http://zen-kernel.org/zen-stable-branch-master-drmnouveau-1

:D
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is anybody else experiencing jerky 3D when using the free drivers with KMS?

Ever since switching to KMS, I get short freezes every two seconds. They are short, but still annoying, especially when playing games, as it totally messes up the timing and movement.

It seems to be better immediately after starting X, but it's always there. Even when wiggling windows around, it stops for a split second before resuming, same with glxgears.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jprobichaud
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what's the 'new' status on this thread now?

I don't see x11-drm in the x11 overlay anymore... what should I do? I have a radeon hd3300 that I would like to have working with the kwin effects (I don't really care about games)

I'm now with the gentoo-sources 2.6.31-rc5 with the -9999 of libdrm, mesa and xf86-video-ati, no KMS.

What else should I look after? When I try to enable the compositing effects, I get a message saying that it couldn't be activated...

Any advices?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jprobichaud wrote:
what's the 'new' status on this thread now?

I don't see x11-drm in the x11 overlay anymore... what should I do? I have a radeon hd3300 that I would like to have working with the kwin effects (I don't really care about games)

I'm now with the gentoo-sources 2.6.31-rc5 with the -9999 of libdrm, mesa and xf86-video-ati, no KMS.

What else should I look after? When I try to enable the compositing effects, I get a message saying that it couldn't be activated...

Any advices?


The kernel DRM for 3D is in 2.6.32. x11-drm is gone because all the DRM is being put into the kernel.
You can try out vanilla-sources-2.6.32-rc7, or wait until the general release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jprobichaud
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, that's good to know.

Do I still need the customized mesa-9999/libdrm-9999 or I can take the "official" packages from the x11-overlay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jprobichaud wrote:
Thanks, that's good to know.

Do I still need the customized mesa-9999/libdrm-9999 or I can take the "official" packages from the x11-overlay?


You need to use the original libdrm-9999.
The modified mesa-9999 would work, but the original would be fine too. All that was changed in the ebuild was to keep it from building the r300 driver. It doesn't matter if it's built or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All the r600/r700 stuff is in the master branches now, so official ebuilds will be fine.

They depend on many masked packages nowadays (X + friends), so be careful if running a stable system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jprobichaud
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hum, i'm stuck now.

I've upgraded to the kernel version 2.6.32 and I've un-emerged mesa and libdrm (to re-emerge them from the original x11 overlay).

Now, libdrm fails complaining:
Code:

...
modetest.c: In function 'main':
modetest.c:570: warning: format '%64s' expects type 'char *', but argument 4 has type 'char (*)[64]'
modetest.c:574: warning: format '%64s' expects type 'char *', but argument 5 has type 'char (*)[64]'
mv -f .deps/modetest.Tpo .deps/modetest.Po
/bin/sh ../../libtool --tag=CC   --mode=link x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -I../../shared-core -I../../libdrm/intel/ -I../../libdrm -I/usr/include/cairo -I/usr/include/pixman-1 -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I/usr/include/libpng12   -O2 -pipe  -march=native   -Wl,-O1 -o modetest modetest.o ../../libdrm/libdrm.la ../../libdrm/intel/libdrm_intel.la -lcairo
libtool: link: cannot find the library `/usr/lib64/libGL.la' or unhandled argument `/usr/lib64/libGL.la'
...


Any idea what I'm doing wrong? I've tried to re-emerge xorg-server and the x11-drivers/xf86-video-radeonhd packges, but no luck...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 872
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

libGL is set by eselect opengl. Yours is probably pointing to the wrong driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, libGL.la was removed some time ago, as it was broken by design (according to the ebuild message).

You'll need to run lafixer, or something similar to fix all the breakage that's still spread around the libtool archives. If you emerge Mesa, it should tell you what you need to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jprobichaud
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Location: Montreal, Qc

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, I ran lafilefixer and this build problem went away. I had other errors that I solved by blindly removing and re-emerging part of X packages.

I still don't have working setup yet, but it looks like I'm making some progress...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bluesquare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, some problems here. The driver is working and all, but...

Code:
localhost Mesa-9999 # glxinfo | grep vendor
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.


doesn't do it for Cedega it seems:

Code:
videocard: error: unsupported videocard vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
videocard: Video cards from either NVIDIA or ATI are recommended.  Other video cards may not have enough hardware or driver support to run games under Cedega.
videocard: failed


Is there a way to get the vendor ID to something in the neighborhood of

Code:
localhost Mesa-9999 # lspci | grep RS780M
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]


?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bluesquare wrote:
Ok, some problems here. The driver is working and all, but...

Code:
localhost Mesa-9999 # glxinfo | grep vendor
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.


doesn't do it for Cedega it seems:

Code:
videocard: error: unsupported videocard vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
videocard: Video cards from either NVIDIA or ATI are recommended.  Other video cards may not have enough hardware or driver support to run games under Cedega.
videocard: failed


Is there a way to get the vendor ID to something in the neighborhood of

Code:
localhost Mesa-9999 # lspci | grep RS780M
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]


?


write them ?

seems like they use a hard-coded string for those cards ? (perhaps it's even a upstream problem from wine)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's probably keying on the vendor string used by fglrx.

Some people are running games through Wine using open-source drivers, but expect this to be a source of much issues for the foreseeable future. A lot of the code there works only with NVidia, or has other issues.

Checking the vendor string is retarded anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:

write them ?

seems like they use a hard-coded string for those cards ? (perhaps it's even a upstream problem from wine)


From what I've seen with wine is that when it doesn't recognize the vendor string, so it sets it to something like VENDOR_WINE, and it keeps on going.

His error with Cedega is that it doesn't recognize the vendor so it just stops. It's definitely a Cedega error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bluesquare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 7 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum