Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[how-to] 3d hardware acc with ati open source driver.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VinzC wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
to be sure, get kernel 2.6.32(from the tree), libdrm, mesa and xf86-video-ati all from svn

Thanks, man. Are these the ebuilds you posted at the beginning of this thread?

yes. I use them on my ati3450 mobility and I get about 1200 FPS in glxgears and nice general performance.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rampage7
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Poland / Jastrzebie Zdroj

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have R700_rlc.bin in /lib/modules/radeon, and the module is not loaded, when kernel is starting. There is only a message that kernel is requesting R700_rlc.bin firmware file. Any suggestions? Does it need some userspace firmware loader?
_________________
To nie moje s± s³owa, to legenda ludowa.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it should go under /lib/firmware/kernel-version/radeon. This is assuming that you're loading everything as modules.

In any case, if you're compiling drm into the kernel (and not loading it as a module), then you must build the firmware into the kernel too. See this post at phoronix for more info.

I had this problem, and this was the fix that did it for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

are you sure? I'm using the svn version and I'm pretty sure that I don't use that feature and I've got vanilla sources with drm and kms working

I could be mixing things up, or it might not be relevant anymore.

But the DDX operates very differently depending on whether you're using KMS/TTM or not, so it could be the reason why the console is fine, but X freezes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iss
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 134
Location: Poland/Bydgoszcz

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rampage7 wrote:
I have R700_rlc.bin in /lib/modules/radeon, and the module is not loaded, when kernel is starting. There is only a message that kernel is requesting R700_rlc.bin firmware file. Any suggestions? Does it need some userspace firmware loader?


Put it in /lib/firmware/radeon/. Unlike modules firmware is not installed in kernel specific subdir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

strange, I have no such files on my system...
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iss
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 134
Location: Poland/Bydgoszcz

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just installed git-sources-2.6.33-rc1 and everything works on HD 3300 [RS780]!

x11-base/xorg-server-1.7.3.901-r1 from main tree
mesa-9999 + libdrm-9999 + xf86-video-ati-9999 from x11 overlay (I didn't try versions from main tree)
R600_rlc.bin firmware (which is still not included with kernel)

KMS works great! No tearing and no artifacts. GoogleEarth and glxgears with wobbly windows without any glitches.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
strange, I have no such files on my system...

The two firmware files needed for KMS/drm are in the kernel tree so you won't see them.

The remaining bin file is only needed if you enable IRQ support, which is experimental at the moment and needs to be enabled by editing the code or passing a #define via an environment variable.

I guess that this firmware will land in the kernel tree soon too, but at the moment, you need to drop it in by hand. Otherwise you get a system hang with interrupts enabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iss
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 134
Location: Poland/Bydgoszcz

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
The remaining bin file is only needed if you enable IRQ support, which is experimental at the moment and needs to be enabled by editing the code or passing a #define via an environment variable.

There is no need to edit anything nor setting environment variable. You only need to place firmware in /lib/firmware/radeon and any kernel >=git-sources-2.6.32-git7 will use it.
pingufunkybeat wrote:
I guess that this firmware will land in the kernel tree soon too, but at the moment, you need to drop it in by hand. Otherwise you get a system hang with interrupts enabled.

If R600_rlc.bin (or R700_rlc.bin) is not found system will not hang. It will just disable EXA acceleration and use shadowfb instead. Although it will work.

Above is true for my system with HD3300 [RS780]. But it is possible that other hardware will behave otherwise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It certainly did hang for me. But this is because I built drm into the kernel (not as a module) and the kernel got locked up looking for the firmware.

I was using the latest drm-radeon-testing branch, immediately after the interrupt support was pushed.


Anyway, argh, I mixed up interrupts and GLSL. You need to uncomment stuff for GLSL, not interrupts. Time for winter holidays :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
It certainly did hang for me. But this is because I built drm into the kernel (not as a module) and the kernel got locked up looking for the firmware.

I was using the latest drm-radeon-testing branch, immediately after the interrupt support was pushed.


Anyway, argh, I mixed up interrupts and GLSL. You need to uncomment stuff for GLSL, not interrupts. Time for winter holidays :)


I get a hang, I have the firmware in /lib/firmware/radeon too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rampage7
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Poland / Jastrzebie Zdroj

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
I think it should go under /lib/firmware/kernel-version/radeon. This is assuming that you're loading everything as modules.

In any case, if you're compiling drm into the kernel (and not loading it as a module), then you must build the firmware into the kernel too. See this post at phoronix for more info.

I had this problem, and this was the fix that did it for me.


It sounds reasonably. Kernel wants that firmware even before mounting root filesystem, so it can't be in /lib/firmware, wchich is not accesible at that moment. I'll try to build firmware into the kernel tonight.
_________________
To nie moje s± s³owa, to legenda ludowa.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rampage7 wrote:
pingufunkybeat wrote:
I think it should go under /lib/firmware/kernel-version/radeon. This is assuming that you're loading everything as modules.

In any case, if you're compiling drm into the kernel (and not loading it as a module), then you must build the firmware into the kernel too. See this post at phoronix for more info.

I had this problem, and this was the fix that did it for me.


It sounds reasonably. Kernel wants that firmware even before mounting root filesystem, so it can't be in /lib/firmware, wchich is not accesible at that moment. I'll try to build firmware into the kernel tonight.


I read a post on Phoronix that the firmware needs to be in an initrd.
They said they're moving away from letting you build the firmware into the kernel.

I'd prefer building it in though, so report back if it does work.
I don't even know how to build an initrd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bluesquare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting very variable glxgears-fps (500-1300 fps), (using {mesa, libdrm, xf86-video-ati}-9999, and git zen-kernels with kms enabled) And I'm also getting this:

Code:

do_wait: drmWaitVBlank returned -1, IRQs don't seem to be working correctly.
Try adjusting the vblank_mode configuration parameter.


Apart from that, everything seems to be working. Is the error message anything to take notice of?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rampage7
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Poland / Jastrzebie Zdroj

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't get it to work with KMS. I've compilled firmware into the kernel, but it is still not loaded during the boot process.
I've used kernel options as below:
Code:

-*- Userspace firmware loading support
[*]   Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
(R700_rlc.bin) External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary
  (/home/karol/firmware/radeon) Firmware blobs root directory   

All build in firmware files are loaded (RV770_pfp.bin and RV770_me.bin) without any problems. The R700_rlc.bin is requested but it doesn't load.
According to the kernel build log, R700_rlc.bin is found in make process, and it should be included in the kernel bzImage.

UPDATE: I've compiled radeon as a module, and also enabled KMS. The only difference is, that the driver is starting a few seconds later. Firmware is loaded from userspace, IRQ support is working.
_________________
To nie moje s± s³owa, to legenda ludowa.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nissarin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Encouraged by positive feedback I decided to check out latest os ati drivers.. and I'm generally quite happy with the results:
- Radeon HD 4850
- libdrm, mesa, ati drivers from X11 overlay (git versions compiled yesterday)
- xorg-server-1.7.3.901
- 2.6.32.2 (from git stable tree) + patches from airlied repo (drm-linux, drm-radeon-next, drm-core-next), compiled today

The most popular benchmark (glxgears..) shows ~3.1k fps with both enabled and disabled composing manager compared to ~4.7k/~8.2k on fglrx. 2D works flawless - moving/resizing windows is perfectly smooth, KMS in general is huge win (does that mean, that I won't have to wait a few minutes before I can switch to the console, to shut down some "hanged" X11 app which eats all the cpu power ?). I also tried to play Tremulous (1.2 preview), sure there is noticeable fps drop (I suppose it's at least 30-40 fps) but if the game runs in 1920x1200 at full details and don't go below 50-60 fps, then who cares ? There is just one annoying issue: gamma setting doesn't work and I'm not sure if it's drivers' fault but the game is unfortunately too dark. I also tried running unigine tropico demo but apparently it's a way to soon.. I'm looking forward to some basic power management and perhaps some video playback acceleration (along with fixing the gamma issue :P), with that I can easily switch to "experimental" os drivers from official "stable" crap..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Am I the only one with a lot of artefacts on the screen when KMS is on? I have RS690 graphics card, xf86-video-ati driver from git, mesa 7.7, libdrm 2.4.17, kernel 2.3.32 (gentoo sources, without additional patches). That thing makes KMS unusable at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5877

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@NForce: I've had a few crashes involving screen corruption when using KMS, but nothing during normal use. Try a newer kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NForce wrote:
Am I the only one with a lot of artefacts on the screen when KMS is on? I have RS690 graphics card, xf86-video-ati driver from git, mesa 7.7, libdrm 2.4.17, kernel 2.3.32 (gentoo sources, without additional patches). That thing makes KMS unusable at all.

when I use kms, the system hard freeze, what is your card? mine is 3450m and it is know to cause lockups.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schachti
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 3765
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not succeed in getting 3D hardware acceleration.

My graphics card is a Radeon 4670 (RV730XT according to lspci). The system is freshly installed (~amd64), and I use media-libs/mesa-9999, x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-9999 and x11-libs/libdrm-9999 from the x11 overlay and x11-base/xorg-server-1.7.3.902 from portage. I have enabled (as module) DRM and ATI Radeon in the kernel config (sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.32-r1).

I tried with and without KMS in the kernel, with DRM and radeon as modules as well as compiled into the kernel.

I do not use a xorg.conf configuration file.

Here is the /var/log/Xorg.0.log log file.

Do you have any idea what's going wrong here?

Maybe it's related to having a radeon 4200 GPU on the mainboard that is not in use (deactivated in BIOS)?
_________________
Never argue with an idiot. He brings you down to his level, then beats you with experience.

How-To: Daten verschlüsselt auf DVD speichern.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant_P wrote:
@NForce: I've had a few crashes involving screen corruption when using KMS, but nothing during normal use. Try a newer kernel?

You mean 2.6.33-rc? Because I have a 2.6.32 now, and it was the same (or even worse) with older kernels
DaggyStyle wrote:
when I use kms, the system hard freeze, what is your card? mine is 3450m and it is know to cause lockups.

My system doesn't freeze, desktop loads normally, but if i start to use it i get random screen corruptions like mouse cursor turning into a huge rectangle or the top part of the screen turning into garbage. My card is X1250 (integrated), which is RS690 (which belongs to r500).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

schachti wrote:
I do not succeed in getting 3D hardware acceleration.

My graphics card is a Radeon 4670 (RV730XT according to lspci). The system is freshly installed (~amd64), and I use media-libs/mesa-9999, x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-9999 and x11-libs/libdrm-9999 from the x11 overlay and x11-base/xorg-server-1.7.3.902 from portage. I have enabled (as module) DRM and ATI Radeon in the kernel config (sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.32-r1).

I tried with and without KMS in the kernel, with DRM and radeon as modules as well as compiled into the kernel.

I do not use a xorg.conf configuration file.

Here is the /var/log/Xorg.0.log log file.

Do you have any idea what's going wrong here?

Maybe it's related to having a radeon 4200 GPU on the mainboard that is not in use (deactivated in BIOS)?

can you post your xorg.xconf?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NForce wrote:
Ant_P wrote:
@NForce: I've had a few crashes involving screen corruption when using KMS, but nothing during normal use. Try a newer kernel?

You mean 2.6.33-rc? Because I have a 2.6.32 now, and it was the same (or even worse) with older kernels
DaggyStyle wrote:
when I use kms, the system hard freeze, what is your card? mine is 3450m and it is know to cause lockups.

My system doesn't freeze, desktop loads normally, but if i start to use it i get random screen corruptions like mouse cursor turning into a huge rectangle or the top part of the screen turning into garbage. My card is X1250 (integrated), which is RS690 (which belongs to r500).

my bad, I was sure it is similar to mine.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schachti
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 3765
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
can you post your xorg.xconf?


I do not use one, but start X directly.
_________________
Never argue with an idiot. He brings you down to his level, then beats you with experience.

How-To: Daten verschlüsselt auf DVD speichern.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

schachti wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
can you post your xorg.xconf?


I do not use one, but start X directly.

notice lines 600 and 606, I'd recommend you use an xorg.conf because as you can see in your situation, xserver doesn't fully detects right the config.
first post you .config file
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 10 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum