Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[how-to] 3d hardware acc with ati open source driver.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
kernelOfTruth wrote:
perhaps at the very first time it took a little bit but generally it's quite fast

what kind of connection have you got ?

My connection should be at least 6 Mbit, it's usually very fast.

But now Mesa has been stuck at 13% for at least half an hour :/


if you're trusting me - here's the 4 relevant folders compressed into a tar.bz2 ball:

http://omploader.org/iMjVnYQ

(libdrm, mesa, xf86-video-ati, xf86-video-radeonhd) -> around 100 MB
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No offense, but I prefer not to download stuff like that. I know you're a long-time contributor and all that, but still.

It's getting rather annoying though, I left it downloading the whole night and it was still stuck in the morning. No idea why it stalls. I only have mesa left, but that's a huge one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5339

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it has its days and moods, if it stuck for over a half an hour, it won't download, break and try again
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome!

I finally got it working.

The problems I've been experiencing had to do with messed-up ebuilds. When I copied them from this thread, the whitespaces and newlines went berserk, resulting in mysterious results with ignored use flags, and all that. I cleaned that up, and the ebuilds work just like they should be!

And I have accelerated 3D, so far without problems. Thanks for the ebuilds and thanks for the help, especially kernelOfTruth, whose tarball I ended up using -- downloading all of mesa from git is simply not going to happen.

XVideo works again, as does -vo gl2 in mplayer. Still have to check KWin OpenGL stuff, but I'm looking forward to it :)

EDIT: Nope, KWin + OpenGL hardlocks the computer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woohoo, got it working!
Code:
jeremy@prison ~/games/MAME $ glxinfo |grep OpenGL
IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 2 16
no rrb
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV770 9442) 20090101  TCL
OpenGL version string: 1.4 Mesa 7.6-devel
OpenGL extensions:
Getting ~2,000 FPS in glxgears. Desktop effects don't crash the system but are still too flaky for general use. Thanks for your help.
Edit: OK, they don't crash the system immediately, but a few random minutes later...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5339

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joseph K. wrote:
Woohoo, got it working!
Code:
jeremy@prison ~/games/MAME $ glxinfo |grep OpenGL
IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 2 16
no rrb
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV770 9442) 20090101  TCL
OpenGL version string: 1.4 Mesa 7.6-devel
OpenGL extensions:
Getting ~2,000 FPS in glxgears. Desktop effects don't crash the system but are still too flaky for general use. Thanks for your help.
Edit: OK, they don't crash the system immediately, but a few random minutes later...

wow 2000 is a lot... last time I"ve checked I've got a lausy 15...
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
wow 2000 is a lot... last time I"ve checked I've got a lausy 15...

Want to see my kernel config and USE flags, etc? Surely it can't just be a matter of hardware.
Edit: And after all, I get ~1,600 FPS on my old Radeon Mobility X600. :)
Edit: Admittedly that's in the starting window size, if I maximize the window (on my desktop PC), it drops to ~330 FPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5339

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joseph K. wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
wow 2000 is a lot... last time I"ve checked I've got a lausy 15...

Want to see my kernel config and USE flags, etc? Surely it can't just be a matter of hardware.
Edit: And after all, I get ~1,600 FPS on my old Radeon Mobility X600. :)
Edit: Admittedly that's in the starting window size, if I maximize the window (on my desktop PC), it drops to ~330 FPS.

but still. you get 2000 with a rv770 where got (comp is in the shop for repairs now) 15 with my 3450...
I guess that the developers made vast improvment since the last time I've synced (10-14 days ago)
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. A few days ago, agd5f fixed the slow blitting in drm, and everyone's fps jumped from ~30 to ~2000. I'm getting 1800 on my 4550.

I guess the main issue now is the graphical corruption in GL apps. Most things I've tried run, and are stable, but are basically useless due to the corruption.

Still, I can play neverball and emilia-pinball, and that's awesome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyway, here's my report on rv710 hardware:

glxgears - perfect, 1800 fps
Supertux OpenGL - works, stable, graphics corruption
Emilia pinball - works, stable, graphics corruption
Neverball - works, stable, graphics corruption
Supertuxkart - menu works with corruption, crashes when loading the course
OpenArena - works, stable, completely unplayable due to corruption
KWin OpenGL - hardlocks computer (works with corruption for some people, though)

So, this is not exactly ready yet, but it seems to be very close to being usable, which is great after such a long wait. As soon as the geometric corruption stuff gets sorted out, these will be usable for daily work.

Then we'll be following the cool new KMS/TTM/DRI2/Gallium development! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe they'll have the corruption fixed in time for Quake Live on Tuesday.

A guy can dream can't he?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:

KWin OpenGL - hardlocks computer (works with corruption for some people, though)


KWin with OpenGL crashes X for me when I switch to it, but when I restart KDE it works but with corruption.
Also, eduke32 runs really well aside from lots of corruption. It had minor corruption after agd5f's first "performance" commit, the next day after his next one with even more performance it got much worse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5339

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is the diff between the r6xx-r7xx from drm to the one from agd5f?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For anyone playing with this:

Setting LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1 fixes most of the rendering issues in many apps, and things like OpenArena run very well. Unfortunately, sometimes it brings down X if run in this mode.

It's great to have open source drivers running 3D games :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5339

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
For anyone playing with this:

Setting LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1 fixes most of the rendering issues in many apps, and things like OpenArena run very well. Unfortunately, sometimes it brings down X if run in this mode.

It's great to have open source drivers running 3D games :)


how do you do that?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I presume that pingu just means
Code:
$ LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1 opengl_program

because when I tried that with sdlmame, it crashed X. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5339

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joseph K. wrote:
I presume that pingu just means
Code:
$ LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1 opengl_program

because when I tried that with sdlmame, it crashed X. :)

tried that, no difference
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SnEptUne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 653

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently, 3D acceleration only works using the r6xx-r7xx-3d branch of x11-drm from git, as described on the wiki: http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/RadeonHD


I got 2D accleration and XV working on my Radeon HD 3650, but video decoding still does not work, it is still using up all my CPU to play a HD video. Does anyone have any luck with the hardware h264 decoding?
_________________
"There will be more joy in heaven over the tear-bathed face of a repentant sinner than over the white robes of a hundred just men." (LM, 114)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5339

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SnEptUne wrote:
Apparently, 3D acceleration only works using the r6xx-r7xx-3d branch of x11-drm from git, as described on the wiki: http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/RadeonHD


I got 2D accleration and XV working on my Radeon HD 3650, but video decoding still does not work, it is still using up all my CPU to play a HD video. Does anyone have any luck with the hardware h264 decoding?

notice that one of the ebuilds here are of x11-drm and it uses the right branch.
by decoding, do you mean that the gpu will be doing the decoding? like vdpau for amd? I don't think it can do that yet.
how does the same feature is called in amd?
also, in order to get the full 3d support, you need the mesa too because that is where the stack resigns
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tariella
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2005
Posts: 377
Location: Europe/Austria

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The video deconding support for ATI is called XvBA (X Video Bitstream Acceleration). The support for it is added in the proprietary fglrx drivers but there is no documentation on how the API libraries can be called. So none of the software players support this.

Since this was already added late last year and there is still no documentation on it, there isn't much hope that it will be released soon. I've also been waiting for this for a long time now.

For now nvidias VDPAU is the only way to get video decoding acceleration.

My source of information is www.phoronix.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
razum2um
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Location: Russia)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got kwin+OpenGl working (? not fully sure :) on radeon2600xt.

Sorry, but it's in Russian
_________________
Моя жизнь в ked`ах
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5339

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

razum2um wrote:
I got kwin+OpenGl working (? not fully sure :) on radeon2600xt.

Sorry, but it's in Russian

the ebuilds provided will do the same.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
razum2um
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Location: Russia)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But what about
Quote:
[mi] EQ overflowing. The server is probably stuck in an infinite loop.

and then -> X-freeses?
_________________
Моя жизнь в ked`ах
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5339

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

razum2um wrote:
But what about
Quote:
[mi] EQ overflowing. The server is probably stuck in an infinite loop.

and then -> X-freeses?

sorry, no idea... where did you found it?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
razum2um
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Location: Russia)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tail of /var/log/Xorg.0.log
_________________
Моя жизнь в ked`ах
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 2 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum