Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[how-to] 3d hardware acc with ati open source driver.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you know... it fixed itself. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any experience with dynamic powersaving?

I've switched back to vanilla kernels, and tried it with 2.6.34-rc2, but I got random stutters during OpenArena. I'm assuming that it was clocking down while the levels are loading, and then reclocking up after the game started again.

Has anyone tried airlied's radeon-testing kernels with the latest powersaving patches?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newfuntek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about a suspend function:
Code:
 s2ram -f -s -p -m

It works with binary ati-drivers, but not with kms enabled open-source drivers.
_________________
gcc 8.1.0 lto graphite, rpi3 gcc 7.3.0
Tools for easy installation of Gentoo Linux (comments in Polish)
https://github.com/pwasiewi/gentools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

newfuntek wrote:
What about a suspend function:
Code:
 s2ram -f -s -p -m

It works with binary ati-drivers, but not with kms enabled open-source drivers.

Have you tried using pm-suspend from sys-power/pm-utils? It works fine for me on both Radeon cards using KMS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joseph K. wrote:
newfuntek wrote:
What about a suspend function:
Code:
 s2ram -f -s -p -m

It works with binary ati-drivers, but not with kms enabled open-source drivers.

Have you tried using pm-suspend from sys-power/pm-utils? It works fine for me on both Radeon cards using KMS.


thanks a lot !

after moving to core i7 & 5850 I wasn't able to revive my box from a black / blank screen and not even aware this useful tool existed

what kind of quirks do you need and for which hardware ? (I assume it's the 4850 from your signature ?)

many thanks in advance
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:

thanks a lot !

after moving to core i7 & 5850 I wasn't able to revive my box from a black / blank screen and not even aware this useful tool existed

what kind of quirks do you need and for which hardware ? (I assume it's the 4850 from your signature ?)

many thanks in advance

I didn't add any quirks or anything, I just run it as is. It has some list of quirks that it chooses from. Yes, it's the two Radeon cards from my signature. Sorry, can't be of much more help. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Athens, Greece

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello all,

I have an on-board Radeon HD 3300 and I installed media-libs/mesa-9999, x11-libs/libdrm-9999 and x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati from the x11 overlay, along with x11-base/xorg-server-1.8.0. Thanks to the information here, it seems 3D accelleration is now enabled, since glxinfo reports OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RS780 9614) 20090101 TCL DRI2, OpenGL version string: 2.0 Mesa 7.9-devel.

My question is, how well is this supposed to perform? glxgears runs at 1461 FPS in the default window, but only 60 FPS full-screen (1440x900), and World of Goo (what I'm mainly interested in right now) is almost unplayably slow.

If these numbers are normal given the current state of the software, that's OK, but I'm wondering if I'm not missing something.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5724

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It shouldn't be completely unplayable, I've been running ut2004 on a HD4350 and getting about 20-30fps (all settings maxed out).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Athens, Greece

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, the 3D support worked fine, and I was missing something: the World of Goo I had installed was the 32-bit executable of version 1.40, which I'd bought when it came out. I just downloaded the demo of version 1.41, which includes a 64-bit build, and it's perfectly fast and smooth. Now to see how to get a full version of 1.41...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, curious, I had the same problem! World of Goo runs fine on my laptop (Pentium-M w/Mobility X600) and unplayable on my desktop (Core2 Duo w/HD 4850). Both machines are using KMS and fairly recent versions of Mesa. And from memory, it ran OK on my desktop before I enabled KMS. Anyway... I tried the 1.41 demo and the 64-bit binary works beautifully! And the best news is... it seems that they completely separated the program from the data, so all you have to do is copy the new binary and lib64 directory to wherever your commercial "res" directory is. Voila!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, running 32-bit GL apps is a major pain in the behind at the moment, as you need the whole chain (recent Mesa, libdrm, X, etc.) compiled for 32 bits too -- compatibility packages have older versions which don't have all the needed radeon bits.

So unless you are willing to compile all that stuff twice, acceleration will only work on 64-bit apps. But there it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Torangan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there an easy way to compile the stuff for 32 bit or is it likely that compatibility packages will catch up soon? At least we've got the required stuff in unstable already...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Torangan wrote:
Is there an easy way to compile the stuff for 32 bit or is it likely that compatibility packages will catch up soon? At least we've got the required stuff in unstable already...


I use a 32-bit chroot, and I put all my 32-bit games into there.
From what I could find, there isn't a good way to do it without a chroot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess that we need Mesa 7.8 and the radeon DDX 6.13.0 to reach the compatibility packages. The packages in there tend to be years old, so I don't know when this might happen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Torangan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree, just had a look. Current unstable version ships Mesa 7.5.6 which is quite ancient...
...so, is there some documentation on how to create a 32 bit chroot? Should be worth a try, can't destroy much as it is quite seperated from the system. Not that I expect high performance of course, at least not yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/base/amd64/howtos/index.xml?part=1&chap=2

When I get home, I'll post the modifications I made to the /etc/init.d/ script so that I could run X applications from the chroot within my 64-bit X server.

You can run a separate X server in the chroot though. It's just more convenient to run one X server with your 32-bit apps side-by-side with your 64-bit stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Torangan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That documentation is a bit outdated, there are no stage tarballs anymore it seems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Torangan wrote:
That documentation is a bit outdated, there are no stage tarballs anymore it seems.


Did you pick a mirror from here?

I just picked the first USA mirror:
http://mirror.mcs.anl.gov/pub/gentoo/releases/x86/current-stage3/

For all other mirrors, the stage3 will be in releases/x86/current-stage3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Torangan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, your first link was invalid and I seem to have gotten into the wrong directory by trying manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that I'm back home. here is what I had to add to the init.d script.

In the start() function I added this:
Code:

xhost localhost &
cp /home/casey/.Xauthority /mnt/gentoo32/root &
cp /root/.xauth* /mnt/gentoo32/root &


I just run everything as root in my chroot, but if don't, the second line (first cp line) should copy to your user's home folder inside the chroot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joseph K. wrote:
kernelOfTruth wrote:

thanks a lot !

after moving to core i7 & 5850 I wasn't able to revive my box from a black / blank screen and not even aware this useful tool existed

what kind of quirks do you need and for which hardware ? (I assume it's the 4850 from your signature ?)

many thanks in advance

I didn't add any quirks or anything, I just run it as is. It has some list of quirks that it chooses from. Yes, it's the two Radeon cards from my signature. Sorry, can't be of much more help. :)


no prob,

your mentioning of that tool was helpful anyways,

unfortunately I still couldn't get it to suspend yet :( (my box still wouldn't turn power off - to start with) ...

but that's off-topic here ...
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Torangan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Slightly offtopic as well... so far the chroot didn't work out perfectly either. Could get wine to display something on my normal 64 bit X but I can't even install directx9 with winetricks.

Note: command 'wine /root/.winetrickscache/directx_nov2008_redist.exe /t:c:\winetrickstmp' returned status 43. Aborting.)

Doesn't bode well for running games I'd say.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If 32-bit apps are really important, you might consider installing a 32-bit system instead of a chroot, or dual-booting.

For me, it's just a minor annoyance, but if running 32-bit OpenGL apps is more important to you than 64-bit address space, then why not simply run a 32-bit gentoo?

I agree that it's rather inconvenient at the moment, but it's the nature of a source-based distro when it comes to multi-lib. Even the compatibility packages in gentoo are just a kludge (binary lib packages dropped in to make the odd program run). With time, the kludge will catch up, but in the meantime, it might be worthwhile to go the path of least resistance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrsteven
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 1938

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just updated to stable xorg-server-1.7.6 and currently testing xf86-video-ati-6.13.0 a few hours ago. Then I switched on KMS in my 2.6.33.2 kernel, just to notice how nice it works right out of the box. :) No artifacts (finally), seems to be stable so far. Performance is okay, does not seem to be (notably) slower than UMS. For Scorched3D, Google Earth and KDE's desktop effects it's enough. VT switching is smooth and happens in almost no time. Video playback and desktop effects interact nicely on this old RV350.

Really great work! :)
_________________
Unix philosophy: "Do one thing and do it well."
systemd: "Do everything and do it wrong."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Torangan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just for the record - with the latest update of the emul libs packages I'm able to run games in wine without any chroot or similiar (KMS enabled). A slight problem was that I tried with Dungeons & Dragons Online and I had to enable S3TC texture compression to get rid of some error. By now it does start, performance is likely to improve over the next weeks / months - looks like the situation improves quickly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 16 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum