Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[how-to] 3d hardware acc with ati open source driver.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To add to the successful installs in this thread. On my Asus N81Vp laptop, with ATI's Radeon Mobility HD 4670 GPU, I configured the current gentoo sources 2.6.33-r1 in kernel radeon driver, installed the radeon-ucode-20100408 package, and was able to install and configure the driver, with 3d support, in my xorg server 1.80/KDE 4.4.2, system, without issue. The key was configuring everything, (agp and Radeon), as modules, and on bootup everything worked fine, with the 2 RV730 and 1 R700 firmware blobs correctly downloaded from the proper directory. I also would point out that I have not needed to use the x11 overlay versions of anything, yet. If I tried to compile everything built in, including the firmware blobs, I could compile in the 2 RV730 blobs, but not the R700, and my system would pause while trying to get the R700 blob from the not yet mounted /lib/firmware/radeon directory. More importantly, X wouldn't load with the radeon driver.

My Asus G73Jh laptop, with ATI's Radeon Mobility HD 5870 GPU, unfortunately would not work with the 2.6.33-r1 in kernel radeon driver. I could build it, and even load it, which would also load a bunch of other related modules, pretty much looking like the lsmod from my 4670, but I didn't get the same dmesg output, and most importantly I could not get X to work with the radeon driver module. I also couldn't get any firmware blobs downloaded, even if I compiled in the 2 CYPRESS firmware blobs. However, I was able to install the latest fglrx 10.4 rc driver on this laptop, using the gentoo-quebec overlay described in, this thread. 3d also works under an xorg 1.80/KDE 4.4.2 configuration, in a good enough manner to hold me over until the open source driver supports the RV870 chips. Hopefully there will be overall speed improvements in subsequent driver releases as well. All in all, very impressive work.

BTW.. What would be the best way to determine when new hardware support is added to the radeon driver effort? One way I figured would be to watch for new radeon-ucode updates and when I see something that looks like a RV870 blob, try the radeon driver again with this laptop.

Thanks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If I tried to compile everything built in, including the firmware blobs, I could compile in the 2 RV730 blobs, but not the R700, and my system would pause while trying to get the R700 blob from the not yet mounted /lib/firmware/radeon directory. More importantly, X wouldn't load with the radeon driver.

Yes, this is a bit tricky. You need to supply a path to the firmware blob in .config (there is a menu option for it too), for example:

CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL=y
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/R700_rlc.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="firmware"

Then it compiles the firmware into the kernel and you don't need to use modules (I compile almost everything into the kernel as a matter of habit, and it usually saves me the init headaches and race conditions).

Quote:
BTW.. What would be the best way to determine when new hardware support is added to the radeon driver effort?

Short of checking git changelogs, the mailing lists and the IRC channels, the fastest way to get news is probably by checking the phoronix.com forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5713

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone had any luck with the S3TC stuff on 64-bit yet? Every time I've tried libtxc it only gave me garbled graphics. Worked fine on my old R200 though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
You need to supply a path to the firmware blob in .config (there is a menu option for it too)

I did. In fact I could compile my kernel with the RV730 blobs, however whenever I added the R700_rlc blob, I got a similar kernel compile failure as described in this post.
Code:
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `firmware/radeon/R700_rlc.bin', needed by `firmware/radeon/R700_rlc.bin.gen.o'.  Stop.
make: *** [firmware] Error 2

The only way I could make it work, was to go all modules.

Thanks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The updated 32-bit emul libs are not enough for 3D acceleration on r700 yet, at least it doesn't work for me.

EDIT: I spoke too fast. You need to unmask emul-linux-x86-opengl and keyword -xlibs and -baselibs, then OpenGL works with 32 bit apps too!

I'm off to play around now :)


Last edited by pingufunkybeat on Wed May 05, 2010 7:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fanthom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2007
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@jasn
you need to put it in '/usr/src/linux/firmware/radeon' folder to get it compiled (*)

Regards,
fanthom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genewb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone else here not able to compile xf86-video-ati with kms enabled?

git:
Code:

/bin/sh ../libtool --tag=CC   --mode=compile x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I.. -I./AtomBios/includes  -Wall -fvisibility=hidden -I/usr/include/xorg -I/usr/include/pixman-1 -I/usr/include/libdrm -fvisibility=hidden -I/usr/include/xorg -I/usr/include/pixman-1 -I/usr/include/drm -I/usr/include/libdrm -I/usr/include/X11/dri -DDISABLE_EASF -DENABLE_ALL_SERVICE_FUNCTIONS -DATOM_BIOS -DATOM_BIOS_PARSER -DDRIVER_PARSER -march=core2 -O2 -pipe -MT radeon_video.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/radeon_video.Tpo -c -o radeon_video.lo radeon_video.c
In file included from radeon.h:93:0,
                 from radeon_accel.c:79:
drmmode_display.h:51:3: error: expected specifier-qualifier-list before ‘drmEventContext’
In file included from radeon.h:93:0,
                 from radeon_cursor.c:54:
drmmode_display.h:51:3: error: expected specifier-qualifier-list before ‘drmEventContext’
make[2]: *** [radeon_cursor.lo] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....


6.13:
Code:

libtool: compile:  x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I.. -I./AtomBios/includes -Wall -fvisibility=hidden -I/usr/include/xorg -I/usr/include/pixman-1 -I/usr/include/libdrm -fvisibility=hidden -I/usr/include/xorg -I/usr/include/pixman-1 -I/usr/include/drm -I/usr/include/libdrm -I/usr/include/X11/dri -DDISABLE_EASF -DENABLE_ALL_SERVICE_FUNCTIONS -DATOM_BIOS -DATOM_BIOS_PARSER -DDRIVER_PARSER -march=core2 -O2 -MT drmmode_display.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/drmmode_display.Tpo -c drmmode_display.c  -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/drmmode_display.o
drmmode_display.c:82:8: error: expected declaration specifiers or ‘...’ before ‘drmModeModeInfo’
drmmode_display.c: In function ‘drmmode_ConvertFromKMode’:
drmmode_display.c:88:16: error: ‘kmode’ undeclared (first use in this function)
drmmode_display.c:88:16: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
drmmode_display.c: At top level:
drmmode_display.c:114:8: error: expected declaration specifiers or ‘...’ before ‘drmModeModeInfo’
drmmode_display.c: In function ‘drmmode_ConvertToKMode’:
drmmode_display.c:117:9: error: ‘kmode’ undeclared (first use in this function)
drmmode_display.c: In function ‘drmmode_set_mode_major’:
drmmode_display.c:264:2: error: ‘drmModeModeInfo’ undeclared (first use in this function)
drmmode_display.c:264:18: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘kmode’
drmmode_display.c:322:39: error: ‘kmode’ undeclared (first use in this function)
drmmode_display.c:322:3: error: too many arguments to function ‘drmmode_ConvertToKMode’
drmmode_display.c:113:1: note: declared here
drmmode_display.c: In function ‘drmmode_output_get_modes’:
drmmode_display.c:608:3: warning: passing argument 2 of ‘drmmode_ConvertFromKMode’ from incompatible pointer type
drmmode_display.c:81:1: note: expected ‘DisplayModePtr’ but argument is of type ‘struct drm_mode_modeinfo *’
drmmode_display.c:608:3: error: too many arguments to function ‘drmmode_ConvertFromKMode’
drmmode_display.c:81:1: note: declared here
make[2]: *** [drmmode_display.lo] Error 1

_________________
I don't give a darn about "experience", just functional copyleft software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How old is your libdrm?

Update that first, then Mesa, and only then try to update xf86-video-ati.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genewb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
How old is your libdrm?

Update that first, then Mesa, and only then try to update xf86-video-ati.

libdrm is git head from x11 overlay, as is mesa, dri2proto and xf86driproto.
_________________
I don't give a darn about "experience", just functional copyleft software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genewb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could someone who successfully compiled xf86-video-ati lay out their sequence of actions please?

That is, the steps after adding the x11 overlay, including which packages from the overlay and order of packages.
_________________
I don't give a darn about "experience", just functional copyleft software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use an overlay, I use the ebuilds from the first post in this thread (a small adjustment was needed at one point -- everything is in master now!).

Then it's "emerge libdrm mesa xf86-video-ati", with the occasional kernel upgrade. This is what I've been doing for almost a year now.

If you use an overlay, chances are that the ebuilds are depending on other packages and that this complicates things. Perhaps somebody else has more experience here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5325

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
I don't use an overlay, I use the ebuilds from the first post in this thread (a small adjustment was needed at one point -- everything is in master now!).

Then it's "emerge libdrm mesa xf86-video-ati", with the occasional kernel upgrade. This is what I've been doing for almost a year now.

If you use an overlay, chances are that the ebuilds are depending on other packages and that this complicates things. Perhaps somebody else has more experience here.

actually not, I've updated my ebuilds and the differ from the original ones that I've posted, the only dpe is eselect-mesa
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I missed that.

Even better then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone tried the colour tiling patches from about one month ago?

I'm a bit busy to patch mesa by hand, it would be cool if anyone had an ebuild for it..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bendeguz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working 3d?
I can't even get a working 2d now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What hardware? Evergreen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bendeguz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bendeguz wrote:

I can't even get a working 2d now.

It's more precise to say useable.
It's radeon 7500, the old one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to use the r300 driver, not the r600 one (which is the one discussed in this thread), but seriously, everything should work just fine on your card.

What exactly is the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bendeguz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-832663-highlight-.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
You need to use the r300 driver, not the r600 one (which is the one discussed in this thread), but seriously, everything should work just fine on your card.

What exactly is the problem?


I think the Radeon 7500 uses the r100 driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant_P wrote:
Has anyone had any luck with the S3TC stuff on 64-bit yet? Every time I've tried libtxc it only gave me garbled graphics. Worked fine on my old R200 though.


how did you enable libtxc? i cant find any packages in portage?

i get this
Code:
Mesa warning: couldn't open libtxc_dxtn.so, software DXTn compression/decompression unavailable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5713

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

h2sammo wrote:
how did you enable libtxc? i cant find any packages in portage?

Manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge driconf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i emerged driconf but i dont see anything related to libtxc. can you explained how you manually enabled it please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can enable s3tc in driconf.

I have no idea where to find the libtxc library.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 17 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum