Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[how-to] 3d hardware acc with ati open source driver.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How did you set power-state?
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yellowhat wrote:
How did you set power-state?


from the Archlinux Wiki

basically it's

Code:
echo profile > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method


(if not already set)

and

Code:
echo "low" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile


then checking whether it had been applied:

Code:
cat /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/radeon_pm_info

_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!!
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A question: I have tried to set
Code:
echo dynpm > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method
, but gpu freq is stopped to 600MHz.
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried using a game with dynpm but gpu clock is always at 600Mhz, while max is 850Mhz
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yellowhat wrote:
I have tried using a game with dynpm but gpu clock is always at 600Mhz, while max is 850Mhz


could be a bug

you tried the profile-setting and the "auto" profile whether that switches to the max ?
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
and support suspend-to-disk and/or suspend-to-ram properly (haven't tested yet)

I use it every day on my HD5470, it's working just fine :)

Personally, I need HDMI audio support, anyone knows when is that coming?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Profile-setting and "auto" same result as dynpw, clock stopped to 600Mhz, also when I play a game
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another issue:
if I set something in power_profile or power_method, when I reboot, it is automatically changed to profile - default.
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yellowhat wrote:
Another issue:
if I set something in power_profile or power_method, when I reboot, it is automatically changed to profile - default.


then write a script that does this on each startup or you have to set it manually ...

profile - default

is the "default"
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, but this script must have root permission on each startup.
I can not start it by user
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, it is default config, but how can I modify it?
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yellowhat wrote:
Ok, it is default config, but how can I modify it?


modify the kernel source ? :roll:


otherwise you could try to add that command to

/etc/conf.d/local

or

/etc/conf.d/local.start


don't know how that would work - never used it ...
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adding
Code:
echo profile > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method
echo "low" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile

in /etc/conf.d/local worked good

Thanks
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
disabling this only for mesa fixed it, question is why it poped up just now.
still I'm failing with this error:
Code:
/bin/sh ../../../../bin/mklib -o vmwgfx_dri.so.tmp -noprefix -linker 'x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-g++' -ldflags '-Wl,-O1 -L/usr/lib64/llvm  -lpthread -lffi -ldl -lm ' \
                target.o vmw_powf.o ../../../../src/mesa/drivers/dri/common/utils.o ../../../../src/mesa/drivers/dri/common/vblank.o ../../../../src/mesa/drivers/dri/common/dri_util.o ../../../../src/mesa/drivers/dri/common/xmlconfig.o   ../../../../src/gallium/state_trackers/dri/drm/libdridrm.a ../../../../src/gallium/winsys/svga/drm/libsvgadrm.a ../../../../src/gallium/drivers/trace/libtrace.a ../../../../src/gallium/drivers/rbug/librbug.a ../../../../src/gallium/drivers/svga/libsvga.a ../../../../src/gallium/drivers/llvmpipe/libllvmpipe.a \
                -Wl,--start-group ../../../../src/mesa/libmesagallium.a ../../../../src/gallium/auxiliary/libgallium.a -Wl,--end-group \
                   -ldrm   -lexpat -lm -lpthread -ldl -ltalloc   -lLLVMBitWriter -lLLVMX86CodeGen -lLLVMX86Info -lLLVMX86AsmPrinter -lLLVMSelectionDAG -lLLVMAsmPrinter -lLLVMMCParser -lLLVMInterpreter -lLLVMJIT -lLLVMExecutionEngine -lLLVMCodeGen -lLLVMScalarOpts -lLLVMInstCombine -lLLVMTransformUtils -lLLVMipa -lLLVMAnalysis -lLLVMTarget -lLLVMMC -lLLVMCore -lLLVMSupport -lLLVMSystem -lstdc++ -ludis86
mklib: Making Linux shared library:  vmwgfx_dri.so.tmp
x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -march=core2 -O2 -pipe -msse4.1 -ffast-math -Wall -Wmissing-prototypes -std=c99 -ffast-math -fvisibility=hidden -fno-strict-aliasing  -fPIC  -DUSE_X86_64_ASM -D_GNU_SOURCE -DPTHREADS -DHAVE_POSIX_MEMALIGN -DUSE_XCB -DGLX_USE_TLS -DPTHREADS -DUSE_EXTERNAL_DXTN_LIB=1 -DIN_DRI_DRIVER -DGLX_DIRECT_RENDERING -DGLX_INDIRECT_RENDERING -DHAVE_ALIAS -DHAVE_XCB_DRI2 -DHAVE_LIBUDEV -DHAVE_UDIS86 -DGALLIUM_LLVMPIPE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -DHAVE_LLVM=0x0208 -o vmwgfx_dri.so.test ../../../../src/mesa/drivers/dri/common/dri_test.o vmwgfx_dri.so.tmp   -ldrm   -lexpat -lm -lpthread -ldl -ltalloc   -Wl,-O1 -L/usr/lib64/llvm  -lpthread -lffi -ldl -lm ;
vmwgfx_dri.so.tmp: undefined reference to `wrapper_sw_winsys_dewrap_pipe_screen'
vmwgfx_dri.so.tmp: undefined reference to `wrapper_sw_winsys_wrap_pipe_screen'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
gmake[3]: *** [vmwgfx_dri.so] Error 1
gmake[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/mesa-9999/work/Mesa-9999/src/gallium/targets/dri-vmwgfx'
gmake[2]: *** [default] Error 1
gmake[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/mesa-9999/work/Mesa-9999/src/gallium/targets'
make[1]: *** [subdirs] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/mesa-9999/work/Mesa-9999/src'
make: *** [default] Error 1
emake failed

as I have vmware in my video cards, I suspect it is related.
can anyone comfirm?


removing vmware flag solves it.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

interesting:

another virtualization problem:

does virtualbox-bin work for anyone using xf86-video-ati, xorg-server-1.9* and a evergreen card with the gallium acceleration ?

with virtualbox 4.0.2 the x-server just crashes and gdm restart

with virtualbox 3.1.12 the graphics driver seems to crash and prints and error message on the screen (the advantage of KMS) - the only thing that works is magic sysrq key (don't know if you could still work with the box via ssh but without direct feedback on the local monitor)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using virtualbox-bin-4.0.2 on xf86-video-ati-9999, xorg-server-1.9.3rc1 and a HD5770, sometimes if I click on button option of a virtual maching x-server crash, so I have to restart it with startx, but I sometimes get same crash when I open nautilus.
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
printf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dont know how much is this relevant, but i have a mobility 7500 in my notebook (yeah, pretty old), acceleration works fine and all the stuff but every texture is messed up in games: in quake 3, even in the player model select screen, i can see in the background random textures of walls, fonts and all sort of stuff.
in game sometimes the textures randomly change on walls etc.
even when i ran my old opengl-sdl project, it had the same texture issue
before this, i had opensuse 11.1 and the 3d acceleration there was ok
now my question is that is it worth for me doing all this stuff to try to get my card work (of course i would not emerge the radeonhd ebuild), or it would not effect me at all (currently i have all the latest packages relevant to my card)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

derbrain wrote:
I was using the packages from the x11-overlay, but they got masked by EAPI 3 some time ago. I didn't realize this, and they got automatically downgraded to the main tree unstable drivers (xf86-video-ati-6.12.4-r1, mesa-7.7-r1, libdrm-2.4.18 ), but I still have 3D hardware acceleration (Radeon HD 4200 onboard graphics)

I've also been successfully running my ATI 5870 system using the instructions from this thread and the x11 overlay live ebuilds of the xorg-drivers. However, a recent update of the x11 overlay introduced this downgrade issue on my system as well. I don't want to downgrade my xorg drivers and lose my evergreen acceleration, but when I try to explicitly emerge the x11 overlay live ebuild again, I'm greeted with;
Code:
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=xf86-video-ati-9999" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-9999::x11 (masked by: EAPI 4)

The current version of portage supports EAPI '3'. You must upgrade to a newer version of portage before EAPI masked packages can be installed. For more information, see the MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.

I'm currently running;
Code:
sys-apps/portage-2.2.1.1

on my Funtoo system, and I thought that EAPI 4 was supported by 2.2. Does anyone know if the fix for this is to upgrade portage, and if so, to what version?

Thanks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasn wrote:
derbrain wrote:
I was using the packages from the x11-overlay, but they got masked by EAPI 3 some time ago. I didn't realize this, and they got automatically downgraded to the main tree unstable drivers (xf86-video-ati-6.12.4-r1, mesa-7.7-r1, libdrm-2.4.18 ), but I still have 3D hardware acceleration (Radeon HD 4200 onboard graphics)

I've also been successfully running my ATI 5870 system using the instructions from this thread and the x11 overlay live ebuilds of the xorg-drivers. However, a recent update of the x11 overlay introduced this downgrade issue on my system as well. I don't want to downgrade my xorg drivers and lose my evergreen acceleration, but when I try to explicitly emerge the x11 overlay live ebuild again, I'm greeted with;
Code:
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=xf86-video-ati-9999" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-9999::x11 (masked by: EAPI 4)

The current version of portage supports EAPI '3'. You must upgrade to a newer version of portage before EAPI masked packages can be installed. For more information, see the MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.

I'm currently running;
Code:
sys-apps/portage-2.2.1.1

on my Funtoo system, and I thought that EAPI 4 was supported by 2.2. Does anyone know if the fix for this is to upgrade portage, and if so, to what version?

Thanks..


wut ?

I don't even have that version available to install - I got: 2.2.0_alpha19

so your version must be older

afaik EAPI 4 support get added just recently
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
I don't even have that version available to install - I got: 2.2.0_alpha19

Sorry about that. I asked over on the Funtoo forums, and it turns out 2.2.2 has EAPI 4 support, so "never mind"...

Thanks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5879

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/commit/?id=8c631cfe

I just saw this and updated mesa - Minecraft's gone from unplayable to 20fps at high settings. Awesome!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yellowhat wrote:
I have a Sapphire ati HD5770 and it works very good. I am using mesa-9999 (gallium), xf86-video-ati-9999 (evergreen_accel branch), libdrm-9999. xorg-server-1.8.2, vanilla-sources-2.6.36-rc5, without xorg.conf.

Thanks to the developers, (and this thread for instructions on how to enable it), I've also had ATI 5870 radeon 3d acceleration working using a similar config, (x11 overlay ebuilds for xf86-video-ati, libdrm, and mesa), and enabling the evergreen acceleration branch for the radeon driver, (using a per-package environment setting in /etc/portage/env, described here). Does anyone know, or have a reasonable guess as to the following?

1) When will the evergreen_accel branch be merged with the regular git branch, so that installing the live ebuild from the x11 overlay of xf86-video-ati would include all the proper evergreen acceleration code? (IOW, I could get rid of the per package environment setting)

2) When, (or in what version), will these updates make it into the standard radeon xf86-video-ati driver? (It looks close because the 7/6/2010 release of 6.13.1 explicitly disabled evergreen acceleration)

Thanks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that evergreen_accel branch has been merged with the regular git branch sometimes ago, infact I am using live ebuild without adding that branch, I am using a radeon 5770 and 3d works quite good on urban terror, no problems in general.
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~amd64, Kernel 4.5.3, Enermax 400W, Intel i7-3770, DDR3 8GB, Sapphire HD6870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I think that evergreen_accel branch has been merged with the regular git branch sometimes ago


this


from what I can tell - I haven't that enabled

and it works fine with my 5850 :)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 23 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum