Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[how-to] 3d hardware acc with ati open source driver.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
compiled now, I have the file

Yeah, works for me too now, they fixed a typo in x11 overlay :) And now it doesn't build glut libraries too :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NForce wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
compiled now, I have the file

Yeah, works for me too now, they fixed a typo in x11 overlay :) And now it doesn't build glut libraries too :)

I don't use external overlays just my own.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loopx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2787
Location: Belgium / Liège

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They have split 32 and 62 bits drivers ???


Code:
loop loopx # eselect mesa list
64bit i915 (Intel 915, 945)
64bit i965 (Intel 965, G/Q3x, G/Q4x)
64bit r300 (Radeon R300-R500)
  [1]   classic
  [2]   gallium *
64bit r600 (Radeon R600-R700, Evergreen, Northern Islands)
  [1]   classic
  [2]   gallium *
64bit sw (Software renderer)
  [1]   classic
  [2]   gallium *
32bit i915 (Intel 915, 945)
  [1]   classic *
  [2]   gallium
32bit i965 (Intel 965, G/Q3x, G/Q4x)
  [1]   classic *
  [2]   gallium
32bit r300 (Radeon R300-R500)
  [1]   classic
  [2]   gallium *
32bit r600 (Radeon R600-R700, Evergreen, Northern Islands)
  [1]   classic
  [2]   gallium *
32bit sw (Software renderer)
  [1]   classic
  [2]   gallium *

_________________
Mon MediaWiki perso : http://pix-mania.dyndns.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

loopx wrote:
They have split 32 and 62 bits drivers ???

Of course the drivers are split.

Actually, it's the same driver, just built twice, because your system is multilib.

If you want to use 32-bit apps (3d apps), you need 32-bit drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loopx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2787
Location: Belgium / Liège

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good to know 8)
_________________
Mon MediaWiki perso : http://pix-mania.dyndns.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joeklow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2011
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did they made 3D acceleration into r600 driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

joeklow wrote:
Did they made 3D acceleration into r600 driver?

Yes, about a year and a half ago.

Or am I not understanding you correctly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
supernovae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
loopx wrote:
They have split 32 and 62 bits drivers ???

Of course the drivers are split.

Actually, it's the same driver, just built twice, because your system is multilib.

If you want to use 32-bit apps (3d apps), you need 32-bit drivers.


Actually this isn't necessarily the case, unless you've setup your system to use the multilib overlay and support for multilib building, those 32 libraries are coming from the app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-opengl package which are actually a fair bit older than the git build ones from the -9999 ebuilds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the git ebuilds have recently started providing the 32-bit builds too.

But you still need 32-bit Mesa to run 32-bit 3d apps. It's just that they are more recent now and provide Gallium switching.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Am I doing something wrong?

With this
Code:
media-libs/mesa-9999  USE="classic gallium llvm nptl -d3d -debug -gles -motif -pic (-selinux)" VIDEO_CARDS="r600 radeon<snip>"


and eselect mesa all set to gallium, I end up with a vendor string along the lines of
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS780
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.1
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:


The versions are slightly different since this is from 10 minutes before I emerged 9999, but it's the same thing. I also get about 300 frames in glxgears. If I set it to use the classic, then I get the llvm string
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: VMware, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.11-devel
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:

and around 1300 frames in glxgears.

Shouldn't I be getting better performance with the gallium driver? Shouldn't the vendor string read something about my video card?

This is on vanilla 2.6.38
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PraetorZero wrote:
Am I doing something wrong?

With this
Code:
media-libs/mesa-9999  USE="classic gallium llvm nptl -d3d -debug -gles -motif -pic (-selinux)" VIDEO_CARDS="r600 radeon<snip>"


and eselect mesa all set to gallium, I end up with a vendor string along the lines of
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS780
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.1
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:


The versions are slightly different since this is from 10 minutes before I emerged 9999, but it's the same thing. I also get about 300 frames in glxgears. If I set it to use the classic, then I get the llvm string
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: VMware, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.11-devel
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:

and around 1300 frames in glxgears.

Shouldn't I be getting better performance with the gallium driver? Shouldn't the vendor string read something about my video card?

This is on vanilla 2.6.38


try again with the gles flag enabled
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
PraetorZero wrote:
Am I doing something wrong?

With this
Code:
media-libs/mesa-9999  USE="classic gallium llvm nptl -d3d -debug -gles -motif -pic (-selinux)" VIDEO_CARDS="r600 radeon<snip>"


and eselect mesa all set to gallium, I end up with a vendor string along the lines of
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS780
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.1
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:


The versions are slightly different since this is from 10 minutes before I emerged 9999, but it's the same thing. I also get about 300 frames in glxgears. If I set it to use the classic, then I get the llvm string
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: VMware, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.11-devel
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:

and around 1300 frames in glxgears.

Shouldn't I be getting better performance with the gallium driver? Shouldn't the vendor string read something about my video card?

This is on vanilla 2.6.38


try again with the gles flag enabled


No change. Although I did discover that Super TuxKart runs with gallium enabled, though with issues that aren't present with nouveau. It segfaults with the classic renderer enabled.
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PraetorZero wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
PraetorZero wrote:
Am I doing something wrong?

With this
Code:
media-libs/mesa-9999  USE="classic gallium llvm nptl -d3d -debug -gles -motif -pic (-selinux)" VIDEO_CARDS="r600 radeon<snip>"


and eselect mesa all set to gallium, I end up with a vendor string along the lines of
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS780
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.1
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:


The versions are slightly different since this is from 10 minutes before I emerged 9999, but it's the same thing. I also get about 300 frames in glxgears. If I set it to use the classic, then I get the llvm string
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: VMware, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.11-devel
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:

and around 1300 frames in glxgears.

Shouldn't I be getting better performance with the gallium driver? Shouldn't the vendor string read something about my video card?

This is on vanilla 2.6.38


try again with the gles flag enabled


No change. Although I did discover that Super TuxKart runs with gallium enabled, though with issues that aren't present with nouveau. It segfaults with the classic renderer enabled.

what card are you using?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
PraetorZero wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
PraetorZero wrote:

what card are you using?


01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3300 Graphics (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
on one

01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3200 Graphics (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
on the other.
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malto
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Location: KSA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there adaequatus manual how to configure OpenGL 3D on:
Code:
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Mobility Radeon HD 3400 Series

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you mean by "configure OpenGL 3d"?

Install libdrm, mesa and xf86-video-ati from portage. Get a recent kernel and enable radeon DRM under drivers. Move xorg.conf out of the way.

Reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, is there a need for this thread now? It was started when you needed git checkout to get experimental 3d for r600+

Nowadays, 3d acceleration is stable, and is available from portage and thus supported.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malto
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Location: KSA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So under mesa classic work fine but some 3D sowtware fault with:
Code:
[93998.843963] [drm:radeon_cs_parser_init] *ERROR* cs IB too big: 19720
[93998.843969] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to initialize parser !

And Blender wont work with GLSL shading and OpenGL render :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

give the output of the following:

emerge -pv libdrm mesa xf86-video-ati
dmesg |grep drm
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log |grep EE

Also, give us the kernel version you're using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malto
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Location: KSA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge -pv libdrm mesa xf86-video-ati
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.23  USE="libkms static-libs" VIDEO_CARDS="radeon -intel -nouveau -vmware" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] media-libs/mesa-7.10.1  USE="classic gallium gles nptl -debug -hardened -llvm -motif -pic (-selinux)" VIDEO_CARDS="radeon -intel -mach64 -mga -nouveau -r128 -savage -sis -tdfx -via -vmware" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.0  0 kB

dmesg |grep drm
Code:
[    0.436568] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
[    0.436682] [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
[    0.436684] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
[    0.438840] [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (RS780 0x1002:0x9612).
[    0.438866] [drm] register mmio base: 0xFDCF0000
[    0.438868] [drm] register mmio size: 65536
[    0.464444] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=256M, BAR=256M
[    0.464449] [drm] RAM width 32bits DDR
[    0.464596] [drm] radeon: 256M of VRAM memory ready
[    0.464599] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
[    0.464633] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 1 (10.10.2010).
[    0.464635] [drm] Driver supports precise vblank timestamp query.
[    0.464680] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
[    0.464684] [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
[    0.465750] [drm] Loading RS780 Microcode
[    0.502930] [drm] ring test succeeded in 1 usecs
[    0.503182] [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
[    0.503281] [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
[    0.503284] [drm] Enabling audio support
[    0.504182] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
[    0.504184] [drm] Connector 0:
[    0.504186] [drm]   VGA
[    0.504189] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
[    0.504192] [drm]   Encoders:
[    0.504194] [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
[    0.506235] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
[    0.513375] [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes - going 1024x768
[    0.527165] [drm] fb mappable at 0xC0141000
[    0.527167] [drm] vram apper at 0xC0000000
[    0.527169] [drm] size 3145728
[    0.527170] [drm] fb depth is 24
[    0.527172] [drm]    pitch is 4096
[    0.577560] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
[    0.577562] drm: registered panic notifier
[    0.577570] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.8.0 20080528 for 0000:01:05.0 on minor 0
[    0.579655] [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (RV620 0x1002:0x95C4).
[    0.579682] [drm] register mmio base: 0xFDDF0000
[    0.579684] [drm] register mmio size: 65536
[    0.583560] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=256M, BAR=256M
[    0.583564] [drm] RAM width 64bits DDR
[    0.583582] [drm] radeon: 256M of VRAM memory ready
[    0.583585] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
[    0.583590] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 1 (10.10.2010).
[    0.583593] [drm] Driver supports precise vblank timestamp query.
[    0.583689] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
[    0.583693] [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
[    0.584821] [drm] Loading RV620 Microcode
[    0.618782] [drm] ring test succeeded in 1 usecs
[    0.618966] [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
[    0.619049] [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
[    0.619052] [drm] Enabling audio support
[    0.620461] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
[    0.620463] [drm] Connector 0:
[    0.620465] [drm]   VGA
[    0.620468] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
[    0.620470] [drm]   Encoders:
[    0.620472] [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
[    0.620474] [drm] Connector 1:
[    0.620475] [drm]   LVDS
[    0.620478] [drm]   DDC: 0x7f68 0x7f68 0x7f6c 0x7f6c 0x7f70 0x7f70 0x7f74 0x7f74
[    0.620480] [drm]   Encoders:
[    0.620481] [drm]     LCD1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_LVTMA
[    0.620483] [drm] Connector 2:
[    0.620485] [drm]   HDMI-A
[    0.620486] [drm]   HPD1
[    0.620489] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e60 0x7e60 0x7e64 0x7e64 0x7e68 0x7e68 0x7e6c 0x7e6c
[    0.620491] [drm]   Encoders:
[    0.620492] [drm]     DFP1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
[    0.680444] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
[    1.668644] [drm] fb mappable at 0xD0141000
[    1.668646] [drm] vram apper at 0xD0000000
[    1.668648] [drm] size 4096000
[    1.668650] [drm] fb depth is 24
[    1.668651] [drm]    pitch is 5120
[    1.668807] fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb1) is primary device
[    3.010303] fb1: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
[    3.010311] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.8.0 20080528 for 0000:02:00.0 on minor 1

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log |grep EE
Code:
[    41.793] (EE) Failed to load module "vesa" (module does not exist, 0)
[    41.794] (EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module does not exist, 0)

uname -a
Code:
Linux malto 2.6.38-gentoo-r2 #16 SMP Wed Apr 27 00:57:26 MSD 2011 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) X2 Dual-Core QL-65 AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot to ask for:

glxinfo |grep ender
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malto
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Location: KSA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
I forgot to ask for:

glxinfo |grep ender

Code:
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV620 95C4) 20090101 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE2 TCL DRI2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why use mesa classic? I found a lot more apps working and giving a lot better performance with gallium on my evergreen card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. Switch to Gallium3d (eselect mesa set r600 gallium) and see if it's better.

If it's still not working, file a bug with mesa on freedesktop.org, because you basically have the drivers running properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malto
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Location: KSA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

under gallium :(
Code:
[  124.809632] 2.57 blender[8216]: segfault at afc87000 ip b68cbebe sp bfe45ea0 error 4 in r600g_dri.so[b6898000+2e6000]

and
Code:
[  152.786433] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to parse relocation -35!
[  171.241545] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to parse relocation -35!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 26 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum