Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[how-to] 3d hardware acc with ati open source driver.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just recently updated the usual suspects (mesa, xf86-video-ati, x11-drm) and tried desktop effects for the first time in a while... it's beautiful and fast. :) (And hasn't crashed yet...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wumpyr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 63
Location: Downunder

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a powercolor HD4890 / rv790. Is rv790 supported in x11-drm-99999999?

I've switched back to non live builds/in kernel drm as it was unusable so glxinfo right now wouldn't be useful. Happy to go back and try live again if rv790 is supposed to work?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, wumpyr, I don't know the answer to your question.

Further comments on desktop effects: still some minor graphics corruption with text and icons, which occurs frequently and consistently. A full-screen game running under Wine ran fine, I could even switch virtual desktops and it fancily slid in and out of view. However, a basic OpenGL application suffered from major refresh issues. And although it's quick, it's not lightning quick, so I'm probably still going to leave it off unless I want to disabuse someone of the notion that Linux is ugly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I've got a powercolor HD4890 / rv790. Is rv790 supported in x11-drm-99999999?

I don't know for sure, but it should be.

If you install all the four ebuilds listed in this thread, and not the ones from the gentoo portage repository, it should work.

EDIT: Not sure what exactly went wrong in your case, but it looks like there is some sort of mismatch going on. Make sure to

- Remove all vestiges of fglrx, if you've ever used it
- Compile your kernel with all radeon drm bits DISABLED
- Install the drm bits from this thread
- Install mesa and ati-radeon from this thread
- Move your xorg.conf just in case something in there is causing it to barf
- Reboot and restart X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Radeon HD 3200 (RS780):

- glxgears gives ~960 fps
- kde4 effects seems to work fine
- There are small glitches of fonts when I typing into any X app though

I've just put three patched ebuilds from the beginning of this thread into my local overlay and built them (I have the xorg-server 1.6.3 installed).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5719

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far I've got two major problems (R700) even with latest versions of everything...

* X hangs when KMS is enabled and I have to use sysrq to reboot
* Running 3D games works, but after a few seconds the keyboard and mouse to lock up and I have to sysrq again

Anyone know how to fix these?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KMS should work, but it's in a huge state of flux still. Your best bet is to try regularly with the latest git code. I haven't been brave enough to try it yet.

I haven't had the problem you describe using non-KMS 3D acceleration with games. With which games does it happen? Does it happen with glxgears if you leave it running? Any strange messages (memory leaks, or similar)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5719

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

glxgears causes me no problem at all. No odd messages either.

If I try to run Nexuiz, the menu works fine but the input freezes after a few seconds in-game (doesn't respond to keyup events either, i.e. gets stuck running forward). In UT2004 it gets stuck as soon as the menu loads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 7:13 pm    Post subject: AtomBIOS: radeon vs radeonhd Reply with quote

It's maybe off-topic in this thread, but could anyone comment on AtomBIOS usage in "radeon" and "radeonhd" drivers? Which one is using it currently?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5719

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both of them are using it for R600/700 IIRC, radeon uses it for older ones too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sinister wrote:
Radeon HD 3200 (RS780):

- glxgears gives ~960 fps
- kde4 effects seems to work fine
- There are small glitches of fonts when I typing into any X app though

I've just put three patched ebuilds from the beginning of this thread into my local overlay and built them (I have the xorg-server 1.6.3 installed).

Yeah, I get the glitchy fonts too, so I'm wondering, what is everyone else's experience? Does anyone *not* get glitchy fonts? So far it's probably the most annoying problem with desktop effects.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joseph K. wrote:
So far it's probably the most annoying problem with desktop effects.


Definitely it is. Emacs is most affected by this bug for some reason :-( The best thing about free driver is that KWin never crashes now (at least yet ;-)) with effects turned on. I tried nearly all fglrx versions in several different distros, including Fedora 10 and Gentoo, and KWin segfaulted periodically (especially as I switched windows using Alt+Tab with some effects turned on). XVideo is working OK also, as opposed to fglrx which always freezed my system after several minutes of video playback.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikkoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2007
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sinister wrote:
Radeon HD 3200 (RS780):

- glxgears gives ~960 fps
- kde4 effects seems to work fine
- There are small glitches of fonts when I typing into any X app though

I've just put three patched ebuilds from the beginning of this thread into my local overlay and built them (I have the xorg-server 1.6.3 installed).


Is this with KMS? Without KMS I get about 600fps with my rs780 :(
with kms I have other problems...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikkoc wrote:
sinister wrote:
Radeon HD 3200 (RS780):

- glxgears gives ~960 fps
- kde4 effects seems to work fine
- There are small glitches of fonts when I typing into any X app though

I've just put three patched ebuilds from the beginning of this thread into my local overlay and built them (I have the xorg-server 1.6.3 installed).


Is this with KMS? Without KMS I get about 600fps with my rs780 :(
with kms I have other problems...


IIUC this is without KMS (DRM=n in Linux's .config, I'm using x11-base/x11-drm-99999999). BTW, I checked glxgears again and noticed that it always renders over any other window :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikkoc wrote:
I get about 600fps with my rs780 :(


I suppose it depends on CPU also: glxgears consumes 100% of my AMD 64 X2 4800+.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Definitely it is. Emacs is most affected by this bug for some reason :-(

gvim is unusable with desktop effects too. I need to disable effects if I want to program.

Other than that, I don't have many glitches. Some slight button corruption in PyQt3 apps, but nothing major.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey everyone running KMS with r600+, what is the best way to get a KMS-enabled kernel now that the out-of-kernel DRM is being discontinued?

Will the latest git-sources suffice? Do I have to download a vanilla kernel snapshot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5719

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zen-sources has the KMS stuff already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So does 2.6.32-rc1, I was messing something else up.

People should note that the ebuilds from the first post here won't work with KMS. For KMS, you need a recent kernel (2.6.32-rc1 or newer) and the latest libdrm, mesa and xf86-video-ati from the overlay. Either that or change the EGIT line in the libdrm ebuild to EGIT_REPO_URI="git://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/drm"
and comment out the EGIT_BRANCH line.

No special branches are needed anymore.

Just a status report from my side -- I got it working, and it's working like a charm, with spinning gears on top of a rotating desktop cube with all the compositing jingle-jangle on. It's amazing how far we've come since April, when bleeding edge meant rendering a triangle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is anyone else getting this error when they emerge x11-drm?

Code:
 * git fetch -f -u origin r6xx-r7xx-3d:r6xx-r7xx-3d
fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly

Just started happening to me today. Is this related to what you were just saying about special branches not being needed anymore, pingufunkybeat?
Edit: Same error is happening with libdrm, so I guess it is related. Should we all be changing our ebuilds to the cgit repository now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The x11-drm package is no longer maintained, because all the development has moved to the kernel tree. In fact, the package is hardmasked because of this. Your best bet is either to get the kernel git and pull in the drm-next branch, as described in http://www.x.org/wiki/radeonBuildHowTo, or (much easier), to simply install 2.6.32-rc1 from www.kernel.org.

In any case, you should remove any EGIT_BRANCH lines from the remaining ebuilds. You don't want any special branches anymore, it's all in master. If possible, switch to the ebuilds from the overlay. Also, make sure to get the DRM from the freedesktop cgit, not from agdf's repo, as that is in the master now as well.

KMS+TTM+DRI2 is working great here (multiple GL apps on a rotating desktop cube, wobbling, etc.). There were some regressions in Mesa recently that are preventing OpenArena and some other stuff from running, but I expect that to be sorted out soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5326

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
The x11-drm package is no longer maintained, because all the development has moved to the kernel tree. In fact, the package is hardmasked because of this. Your best bet is either to get the kernel git and pull in the drm-next branch, as described in http://www.x.org/wiki/radeonBuildHowTo, or (much easier), to simply install 2.6.32-rc1 from www.kernel.org.

wrong, the guy which is incharge on this repository got (somehow) it erased...
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what portage says:
Code:
- x11-base/x11-drm-99999999 (masked by: package.mask)
/usr/portage/profiles/package.mask:
# Bryan Stine <battousai@gentoo.org> (18 Sep 2009)
# Mask for removal in 30 days. The x11-drm git tree is abandoned, modules have
# moved to the kernel. See bug #284598 for more information.

:?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mallrat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:44 pm    Post subject: can't get dri2 accel for R500 Reply with quote

I have got Acer laptop with Mobility X1300 card. I have added x11 overlay and emerged the following packages:
=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.31
=x11-base/xorg-server-1.6.3.901-r2
=media-libs/mesa-7.6
=x11-libs/libdrm-9999
=x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-9999
=x11-drivers/xf86-video-radeonhd-1.2.5

I have configured the kernel to use KMS in drm and pass "radeon.modeset=1" to kernel at boot time. KMS seems working. But DRI2 doesn't work.

dmesg | grep "\[drm\]"
xorg.conf
For radeon driver:
Xorg.0.log
glxinfo
For radeonhd driver:
Xorg.0.log
glxinfo

Can anybody help me please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try starting X with no xorg.conf . You seem to be getting no DRI at all:

Code:
(II) RADEON(0): GPU accel not working, using shadowfb for KMS         
...
(WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled                                                                                                                                                   
(II) RADEON(0): Acceleration disabled


Does DRI work if you disable KMS?


Last edited by pingufunkybeat on Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:59 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 4 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum