Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[resolved]net.eth1 can't start. but DHCPCD make eth1work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
clouds222
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:23 pm    Post subject: [resolved]net.eth1 can't start. but DHCPCD make eth1work Reply with quote

hi feriends, I've got a new problem when I update kernel from 29-r5 to 30-r4. The configration I use is the same as that in 29-r5.
when I start up the system,error occurs that net.eth1 can't start.
Code:

.....
ADDCADDRI:file exists.
 cannot start netmount as net.eth1 could not start
....

net.lo have already started.
but I can use this way to get ip add from dhcp server:

dhcpcd eth1

I have been working over night to find our the reason. but I didn't find the way.

conf.d/net
Code:

config_eth1="dhcp"


I've fix the IP add of the card to 192.168.0.8 at the router, it works well before.
can anyone help me ? thanks.


Last edited by clouds222 on Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, can you post this :

Code:

# rc-update show
# cat /etc/conf.d/net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clouds222
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

localhost ~ # cat /etc/conf.d/net
Code:


# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
config_eth1=("dhcp")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clouds222
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

and.. here is the

Code:

localhost ~ # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
* Bringing up network interface lo...
SIOCADDRT: File exists                                                      [!!]
* ERROR: net.eth1 failed to start
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clouds222
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

/* I tried to start eth1, but errors */

localhost ~ # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
* Bringing up network interface lo...
SIOCADDRT: File exists                                                      [!!]
* ERROR: net.eth1 failed to start


/I tried to stop net.lo and then start eth1, it starts,but no dhcp ip aquired*/

localhost ~ # /etc/init.d/net.lo stop
* WARNING: you are stopping a boot service
* Stopping sshd...                                                          [ok]
* Stopping proftpd...                                                       [ok]
* Unmounting network filesystems...                                         [ok]
* Stopping apache2...                                                       [ok]
* Shutting down network interface lo...                                     [ok]

localhost ~ # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 stop
* WARNING: net.eth1 is already stopped


localhost ~ # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
* Bringing up network interface lo...                                       [ok]

/* then  I tried to start net.lo. but erroers like that eth1, if I stop eth1 then can start net.lo */

localhost ~ # /etc/init.d/net.lo start
* Bringing up network interface lo...
SIOCADDRT: File exists                                                      [!!]
* ERROR: net.lo failed to start
localhost ~ #


I though there must be come configuration conflict but I dnown't know where.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clouds222
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

localhost ~ # cat /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
Code:

# This file was automatically generated by the /lib/udev/write_net_rules
# program, run by the persistent-net-generator.rules rules file.
#
# You can modify it, as long as you keep each rule on a single
# line, and change only the value of the NAME= key.

# PCI device 0x14e4:0x169d (tg3)
SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:00:50:29:92:0f", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kdvgent
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 333
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:12 am    Post subject: Same problem here Reply with quote

I have the same problem here. Yesterday, I updated openrc (now sys-apps/openrc-0.5.0-r2) and that one apparently has an /etc/init.d/net.lo script that is explicitely mentioning lo, making the net.ethx scripts (that are links to the net.lo script) no longer working.

/etc/init.d/net.lo script:
Quote:
# cat /etc/init.d/net.lo
#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Roy Marples <roy@marples.name>
# All rights reserved. Released under the 2-clause BSD license.

depend() {
provide net
}

start() {
ebegin "Bringing up network interface lo"
ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0 up && \
route add -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 dev lo
eend $?
}

stop() {
ebegin "Shutting down network interface lo"
route del -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 dev lo &&
ifconfig lo down
eend $?
}


I will issue a bug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kdvgent
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 333
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 9:20 am    Post subject: Problem with network not coming up resolved Reply with quote

Clouds222 - are you also using the funtoo repository? The network configuration changed - see http://www.funtoo.org/en/funtoo/networking/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact, you need to read this guide, if you use dhcp, then you can remove net.lo and net.eth*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

... if you want a static IP you'll need to emerge sys-apps/funtoo-netscripts which is where the new init.d scripts are.
... and you can remove /etc/conf.d/net as well. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clouds222
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:42 am    Post subject: Re: Problem with network not coming up resolved Reply with quote

kdvgent wrote:
Clouds222 - are you also using the funtoo repository? The network configuration changed - see http://www.funtoo.org/en/funtoo/networking/



yes , I'm also using it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clouds222
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you guys. I resolved the problem by your help. here are my actions, maybe some steps are not mentioned in detail:

1: install new version of dhcpcd.
by default, use emerge -s only find the version 4.1.3 of dhcpcd. you should go into /usr/portage/net-misc/dhcpcd
Code:


#cd /usr/portage/net-misc/dhcpcd
#emerge dhcpcd-5.0.6??????.ebuild


2. update ec-update:
del the default startup tasks from rc, and then add dhcpcd to default startup
Code:

#rc-update del net.lo
#rc-update del net.eth0     //(or eth1 used before)
#rc-update add dhcpcd default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure you wan't to rc-update del net.lo?

funtoo/networking wrote:
...now net.lo only performs the task of setting up the lo interface, and nothing else...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, because net.lo is replace with a script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not so sure about that,
funtoo/networking wrote:
...

The new system that Funtoo Linux uses does away with this intermediate configuration layer, resulting in a net.lo script that is around .5 KB in size, rather than 15 KB in size....


EDIT: Yes you can take net.lo out, it gets started manually, so it's more-or-less the same. Same for ntpd, and so on but squid doesn't work if it's taken out of default runlevel
Code:
# rc-status
...
...
Dynamic Runlevel: manual                                                       
 net.lo                                                             [ started ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clouds222
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May be it'll start by some apps manually, but it didn't start for me. I don't use squid.


Code:

Runlevel: default
 syslog-ng                                                           [ started ]
 dhcpcd                                                              [ started ]
 netmount                                                            [ started ]
 alsasound                                                           [ started ]
 proftpd                                                             [ started ]
 mysql                                                               [ started ]
 sshd                                                                [ started ]
 apache2                                                             [ started ]
 vixie-cron                                                          [ started ]
 local                                                               [ started ]
Dynamic Runlevel: hotplugged
Dynamic Runlevel: needed
Dynamic Runlevel: manual

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a static IP so I also have net.eth0 in default maybe that make the difference. - Not sure. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Networking & Security to Unsupported Software.
openrc version not in portage, so unsupported
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum