Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
net.lo failed to start SIOCADDRT file exists
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:24 pm    Post subject: net.lo failed to start SIOCADDRT file exists Reply with quote

My system was working fine until I did emerge -uDN world last night, now
after rebooting I can't get networking to start. This is a wired lan, nothing
wireless involved here.

/etc/init.d/net.lo start
gives
"SIOCADDRT file exists"
net.lo failed to start !!

Network card is same, kernel is same, and there is no such file as
SIOCADDRT anyplace on my drive (didn't expect there would be).

How do I get my machine running again? (Using Wife's laptop to post this).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 2152

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

New networking introduced with the new openrc-0.5x, read this to fix it. IMHO, there should have been an `eselect news`-item for this :evil:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ph030 wrote:
...IMHO, there should have been an `eselect news`-item for this ...


True that. :)

The sys-apps/funtoo-netscripts were unmasked only 2 days ago. Works real nice here...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ph030 wrote:
New networking introduced with the new openrc-0.5x, read this to fix it. IMHO, there should have been an `eselect news`-item for this :evil:


Alas that tells you to look in /usr/share/doc/funtoo-netscripts WHICH DOES NOT EXIST #$)*#*$#($. Had to
go download funtoo-netscripts from an other computer (if you don't have a LiveCD or a second box your hosed).
Then the net.eth0 script does not work, will figure out that later (Yes I edited as instructed), so off to the other box to download dhcpcd as this
machine had been using a static IP. At least with dhcpcd I can get as far as leaving this message.

Thank you for pointing me in the correct direction. Now off to repair all of the damage...I hope. :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 2152

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to hear you've got so many problems with this. For me it's just been writing the little script and that's it, haven't even installed the "funtoo-netscripts"-package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ph030 wrote:
Sorry to hear you've got so many problems with this. For me it's just been writing the little script and that's it, haven't even installed the "funtoo-netscripts"-package.


I have my system set up as a bridge system, using inbound and
outbound VPNs with tun/tap, along with dnsmasq. All of which
require some tweaking now.

I'm not a networking script guru but it looks to me like the
bridge script shipped with funtoo-netscripts is not functional.
IP at the top of the script is never used, so no IP is assigned
to the bridge interface. After fixing that, and reconfiguring dnsmasq,
I can get back on Internet with eth0. Now I have to figure out why
the VPNs are not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clouds222
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you may have a look at this document.
http://www.funtoo.org/en/funtoo/networking/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Networking & Security to Unsupported Software.
unsupported openrc, funtoo-scripts etc, so moved here
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 996
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is some error in the new scripts or somewhere.
It doesn't shutdown lo properly.
Workaround for this
Code:
#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Roy Marples <roy@marples.name>
# All rights reserved. Released under the 2-clause BSD license.

depend() {
        provide net
}

start() {
        ebegin "Bringing up network interface lo"
        ifconfig lo down ; \
        ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0 up && \
        route add -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 dev lo
        eend $?
}

stop() {
        ebegin "Shutting down network interface lo"
        route del -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 dev lo &&
        ifconfig lo down
        eend $?
}

Put the above as your net.lo script
in /etc/init.d/net.lo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drobbins
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 19
Location: Albuquerque, NM

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shaumux wrote:
There is some error in the new scripts or somewhere.
It doesn't shutdown lo properly.
Workaround for this
Code:
#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Roy Marples <roy@marples.name>
# All rights reserved. Released under the 2-clause BSD license.

depend() {
        provide net
}

start() {
        ebegin "Bringing up network interface lo"
        ifconfig lo down ; \
        ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0 up && \
        route add -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 dev lo
        eend $?
}

stop() {
        ebegin "Shutting down network interface lo"
        route del -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 dev lo &&
        ifconfig lo down
        eend $?
}

Put the above as your net.lo script
in /etc/init.d/net.lo


Hey shaumux, thanks for helping out. I notice you forgot a "\" after the last "&&". We think a lot of these issues may be caused by stray net.eth0 -> net.lo symlinks in /etc/init.d. Make sure you don't have any - I will also be making improvements to the script like what you posted above so it works in as many intermediate situations as possible, and getting these changes pushed into the Funtoo tree in the next few days.
_________________
Funtoo Linux - the next generation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Belliash
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 2452
Location: Wroclaw, Poland

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, ok....
but what about wifi connection?

I use wpa_supplicant in order to connect to a network and dhcpcd to obtain IP configuration...
_________________
Asio Software Technologies
Belliash IT Weblog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thommys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my net.wlan0 with static IP and wpa_supplicant.
Code:

#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright 1999-2009 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $

depend() {
provide net
after net.lo

}

IP=192.168.178.201
NM=255.255.255.0
GW=192.168.178.1
INT=wlan0

start() {
ebegin "Configuring network interface $INT"
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -i $INT -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -B
ifconfig $INT $IP netmask $NM up && \
route add default gw $GW $INT && \
resolvconf -a $INT << "EOF"
#domain funtoo.org
nameserver 192.168.178.1
EOF
eend $?

}

stop() {
ebegin "Shutting down network interface $INT"
resolvconf -d $INT && \
route del default gw $GW $INT && \
ifconfig $INT down
wpa_cli terminate
eend $?

}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
its1louder
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 75
Location: Santa Barbara CA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why does there seem to be a move away from separating the data and the script code? I think it was less error prone in the old way when you don't edit the scripts directly very often but may edit the /etc/conf.d files regularly. If I have a static IP at home but then take my laptop somewhere else, I don't want to risk breaking the executable code because I temporarily switched to DHCP.

I guess you could still separate it but that is not what's encouraged by these suggested scripts.
_________________
These go to eleven.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5881

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem I can see with the original initscripts is that they invented a new config file syntax and parser for relatively little benefit. The size of the current net.lo script plus supporting modules is pretty scary, and more code just means more places for bugs to hide. In the end, it's not much harder to just write the shell script bits you actually need instead of reading net.example (plus then you've learned something that works everywhere else).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
its1louder
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 75
Location: Santa Barbara CA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see the advantages of this simplified approach to initscripts. I never wanted to touch them before because they were so complex. What I came up with to get my new system on the LAN was pretty simple. Right now I don't feel like figuring out how to use security and wpa suplicant blah blah blah but that should be worked out next.

for what its worth here is the rudimentary script I used to just get my wireless up.

Code:

#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright 2009 Funtoo Technologies, LLC
# All rights reserved. Released under the 2-clause BSD license.

INT=wlan0
ESSID=dodgicus_darticus

depend() {
        provide net
        after net.lo
}

start() {
        ebegin "Bringing up network interface $INT"
        iwconfig $INT essid $ESSID && \
        #ifconfig $INT up && \
        dhcpcd $INT
        eend $?
}

stop() {
        ebegin "Shutting down network interface $INT"
        dhcpcd -k $INT && \
        ifconfig $INT down
        eend $?
}


This is remarkably simpler and easier to read then the net.lo script on any of my normal gentoo machines and that does appeal to the pythonista in me. If I were to upgrade one of my gentoo laptops to openrc and take it to an internet cafe it would work less well though. I still think it is a good thing to separate data and execution code to some extent in a config file and a script file.
_________________
These go to eleven.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5881

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're moving between networks a lot, setting up wpa_supplicant is worth the effort.

The hardest part with a manual setup is figuring out how to make it start at all (:)), after that you can tell it to connect to any open network by putting this in the config file:
Code:
network={
key_mgmt=NONE
}


I found the Debian wiki helpful when setting mine up. Some of it is distro-specific, but the example configs there are useful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
its1louder
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 75
Location: Santa Barbara CA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in the end, the very best solution I have come up with is to remove all netscripts and use wicd. The configuration is done in a gtk xwindows gui, or an ncurses console gui. pretty painless. gentoo-wiki claims this speeds up your boot time too but I don't know.
_________________
These go to eleven.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum