Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Official thread: "zen-sources" - Part 7
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ponciarello wrote:
you forgot to tell him about your hardcore compiler flags :lol: ( if I remember well ;) )


you asked for it :wink:

Quote:
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mno-align-stringops -minline-stringops-dynamically -fno-ident -freorder-blocks-and-partition -finline-limit=700 -fno-strict-overflow -fno-delete-null-pointer-checks -fsection-anchors -ftree-vectorize -mmmx -msse -msse2 -msse3 -mssse3 -ftracer -ftree-loop-distribution -floop-block -floop-interchange -floop-strip-mine -findirect-inlining -ftree-switch-conversion"


CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"

so most of them are gone

red = hardened / safety flags

blue = gcc 4.4.x optimization flags

orange = vectorization, parallelization

green = pretty safe, sane flags

the others (ftracer, fsection-anchors) are somewhat experimental


Hi MageSlayer,

strangely it works quite nicely here but perhaps I haven't stressed it enough yet :wink:

I've also found out during the past years that reiserfs and/or reiser4 are somewhat fragile on system partitions so this time it's obviously reiserfs v3.6's turn :(

with 2.6.32 or the next kernel-releases I believe those problems should be gone with the removal of the BKL and (at least) reiserfs :)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aTan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 134
Location: Czech Republic (Ukraine)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MageSlayer wrote:
kernelOfTruth

Well. Quite enough :).

I've chatted a bit with guys on #ck. They tell (& Con's FAQ tells the same) that reiserfs3.6 has poor implementation, so it hangs on bfs. I'm going to convert my /var partition to ext4 and watch how rsync going.


OLOL. I have completely forgotten that I have my portage on ReiserFS loop device. And my ccache also has its own ReiserFS loop. :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MageSlayer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 250
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:

Hi MageSlayer,

strangely it works quite nicely here but perhaps I haven't stressed it enough yet :wink:

I've also found out during the past years that reiserfs and/or reiser4 are somewhat fragile on system partitions so this time it's obviously reiserfs v3.6's turn :(

with 2.6.32 or the next kernel-releases I believe those problems should be gone with the removal of the BKL and (at least) reiserfs :)


Let's hope that reiserfs removal from kernel won't mean automatic removal of user data on reiserfs partitions :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MageSlayer wrote:
kernelOfTruth wrote:

Hi MageSlayer,

strangely it works quite nicely here but perhaps I haven't stressed it enough yet :wink:

I've also found out during the past years that reiserfs and/or reiser4 are somewhat fragile on system partitions so this time it's obviously reiserfs v3.6's turn :(

with 2.6.32 or the next kernel-releases I believe those problems should be gone with the removal of the BKL and (at least) reiserfs :)


Let's hope that reiserfs removal from kernel won't mean automatic removal of user data on reiserfs partitions :)


:wink:

luckily it's only the part of reiserfs where it uses the BKL so the filesystem (and data) should stay (mostly) intact

there are however still some locks / bugs right now which need to be tackled from what I read on the reiserfs mailing list ...


good luck on your "convert" - you better make a full backup of that partition or the system in general (stage4-tarball) in case anything goes wrong :idea: :)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benneque
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm sorry for asking here but i don't get it :( (really really sorry)
the question ist: how can i get the zen-sources-2.6.31-zen1 ebuild?
i'd like to use layman for updating the ebuilds. but i don't understand how it works :(
so went to layman/zen-overlay directory and did at first 'git branch -a' , but it doesn't show anything, just the master branch. ?!?!

please please tell me how to get the most up-to-date ebuilds

thanks a lot!

(and please STEP BY STEP!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MageSlayer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 250
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

benneque wrote:
i'm sorry for asking here but i don't get it :( (really really sorry)
the question ist: how can i get the zen-sources-2.6.31-zen1 ebuild?
i'd like to use layman for updating the ebuilds. but i don't understand how it works :(
so went to layman/zen-overlay directory and did at first 'git branch -a' , but it doesn't show anything, just the master branch. ?!?!

please please tell me how to get the most up-to-date ebuilds

thanks a lot!

(and please STEP BY STEP!)


See http://zen-sources.org/content/gentoo-install-guide

kernelOfTruth

Well. Ext4 works fine. At least it survived several rsync's :)

P.S. Of course I just copied /var to another partition and then recreate it ext 4:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aTan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 134
Location: Czech Republic (Ukraine)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please add gcc-4.4 patch for reiser4progs in zen-overlay.

btw Ext4 on / and Resier4 on portage and ccache and everything works just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dodo1122
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Sep 2006
Posts: 347
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.30-zen5 and 2.6.31-zen1 ebuilds are in zen-overlay now. Don't use them tho, use git :P I don't think anyone else bothers to update the overlay anymore, so please treat this as the (possibly) last update and switch to git asap :D


dodo
_________________
#zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MageSlayer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 250
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dodo1122 wrote:
2.6.30-zen5 and 2.6.31-zen1 ebuilds are in zen-overlay now. Don't use them tho, use git :P I don't think anyone else bothers to update the overlay anymore, so please treat this as the (possibly) last update and switch to git asap :D

dodo


BTW, is it possible to include in overlay some dummy ebuild to serve as a replacement to portage/paludis about virtual/sys-kernel? Just to keep updating with git :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now that's embarrassing - I was using CFS all the time and thought it was BFS (with some strange comparable behavior like CFS) :oops:

if you want to try BFS and it hangs at boot after sata/ide and usb-detection

apppend the following to your grub.conf / kernel-line:

Code:
clocksource=jiffies


this should let it boot on amd64
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5674
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
now that's embarrassing - I was using CFS all the time and thought it was BFS (with some strange comparable behavior like CFS) :oops:

if you want to try BFS and it hangs at boot after sata/ide and usb-detection

apppend the following to your grub.conf / kernel-line:

Code:
clocksource=jiffies


this should let it boot on amd64


\o/ that works excelent

--EDIT--

problem is BFS hardlocks my box when I play games.
oh well back to CFS for now
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rion
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 377
Location: Ekaterinburg, Russia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strange.. 2.6.31-zen doesn't see my microphone. 2.6.31-gentoo works fine though
_________________
~amd64
rion-overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MageSlayer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 250
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, guys.

Does anybody experience a bug with keyboard not responding in Xorg under BFS after some time?

P.S.
I use vanilla+BFS 221 on Core2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hallabro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MageSlayer wrote:
Hi, guys.

Does anybody experience a bug with keyboard not responding in Xorg under BFS after some time?

P.S.
I use vanilla+BFS 221 on Core2.


Yes, the keyboard usually freezes after 5-6 hours or so, quite rare. The keyboard simply stops responding (but it's probably just X not responding, since the sysrq-combos still works) and repeats the last pressed key.
I atleast think it's related to zen-sources (even more bfs) as I have not had this issue in the gentoo sources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heavyjoost
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 90
Location: /home/heavyjoost

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does any of you guys also have _two_ tux logos in the upper left corner when booting? I don't use usplash (or something similar), it's just the linux logo using the VESA framebuffer (vga=792 but also other modes).
I have this for quite some time now though, just wondering I am the only one. On other computers it's alright though, but this one is drunk or something ;) I have tried to completely reconfigure my kernel but I couldn't find anything odd.
My hardware:
Code:
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:05.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:05.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:05.2 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:06.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:08.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:09.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:02.0 Class 98cc: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (rev 07)
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV44 [GeForce 7100 GS] (rev a1)

Not posting the kernel config here since it's so big ;)
There are two monitors connected, though it also did this with one monitor and a TV (using TV out)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5881

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heavyjoost wrote:
does any of you guys also have _two_ tux logos in the upper left corner when booting?


Mine has three - because it has three CPU cores.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heavyjoost
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 90
Location: /home/heavyjoost

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant_P wrote:
heavyjoost wrote:
does any of you guys also have _two_ tux logos in the upper left corner when booting?


Mine has three - because it has three CPU cores.


Hmm, that makes sense because mine's a dual core CPU. So this is normal behaviour and nothing can change it to one? (except for changing the CPU :P)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5881

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could compile without SMP support... but that sort of misses the point :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No kidding. This machine loves BFS. My future web server loves bfs. My multi-processor machines don't...whether x86 or x86_64. I keep waiting in hope that one of the heads-up emails will find me staring at a patch that will make BFS work on my multiprocessor machines.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benneque
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How can I check if BFS is running/active?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ponciarello
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 223
Location: beach of slack

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

from the faqs:
Quote:
The only tunable for the scheduler itself is the rr_interval value (see documentation)

from Documentation/sysctl/kernel.txt
Quote:
rr_interval:

This is the smallest duration that any cpu process scheduling unit
will run for. Increasing this value can increase throughput of cpu
bound tasks substantially but at the expense of increased latencies
overall. This value is in milliseconds and the default value chosen
depends on the number of cpus available at scheduler initialisation
with a minimum of 6.

Valid values are from 1-5000.

so I would try a
Code:
# cat /proc/sys/kernel/rr_interval
6

if it exists and you can do, for example, an
Code:
# echo 3 > /proc/sys/kernel/rr_interval

you're using the bfs scheduler.

if you use zen-sources you decide at compile time if you want to use bfs or cfs; applying kolivas patch to vanilla kernel substitute the default cfs scheduler with bfs.
so after have it compiled and up you surely will have one of the two active (the one you have chosen/patched kernel for).


Last edited by ponciarello on Fri Sep 18, 2009 3:53 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heavyjoost
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 90
Location: /home/heavyjoost

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
No kidding. This machine loves BFS. My future web server loves bfs. My multi-processor machines don't...whether x86 or x86_64. I keep waiting in hope that one of the heads-up emails will find me staring at a patch that will make BFS work on my multiprocessor machines.

Blessed be!
Pappy

No problems here and I'm running on an dual-core AMD CPU. Running on Debian (testing) though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benneque
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running zen-sources and "cat /proc/sys/kernel/rr_interval" says: "12" and not 3 or 6 :D
What does that mean?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ponciarello
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 223
Location: beach of slack

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ponciarello wrote:
Quote:
This value is in milliseconds and the default value chosen
depends on the number of cpus available at scheduler initialisation
with a minimum of 6.

it means probably that you got two cpu cores ;)
it looks like 6 is default for quad, 12 is for dual.
you can try lowering it to 6 or 3 for better latency (but be sure to read faq and docs first ;) )
_________________
look for monty python channel on youtube :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jupiter1TX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 546
Location: 3rd Rock

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally got some time to play with this and i am impressed so far.
I used webkit-gtk in this test for obvious reasons, initial run was
with CFS, second is BFS. I also tried with rr_interval set to 12
and the system barfed all over the place so i set it back to what
it defaulted to '24'. I was viewing an interactive flash page in FF
while compiling and opened a movie with mplayer.
snappy snappy snappy....
If anyone can suggest any test that would help better gauge
performance let me know.

Code:


     Tue Sep 15 11:55:53 2009 >>> net-libs/webkit-gtk-1.1.10
       merge time: 5 minutes and 33 seconds.

     Fri Sep 18 14:01:17 2009 >>> net-libs/webkit-gtk-1.1.10
       merge time: 1 minute and 40 seconds.

Code:

vger ~ # cat /proc/sys/kernel/rr_interval
24

_________________
Core i7 920 D0 | Asus P6T DLX | Patriot Viper 1600 6GB | Antec Quattro 850W
Geforce 8800GTX OC2 768MB | Dell 22" LCD | Koolance Exos2/Swiftech GTZ
GCC 4.6.1 | 3.7.x-geek | Xorg-7.4-x | KDE-4.7.x | Compiz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 8 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum