Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
A movie-like desktop - HOWTO (DRAFT)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
curtis119
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 2160
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA, North America, Earth, SOL System, Milky Way, The Universe, The Cosmos, and Beyond.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is tricky. There has to be a way though.
_________________
Gentoo: it's like wiping your ass with silk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2003
Posts: 62
Location: Helsinki/EU

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great thread indeed .-]
Im going to mod my fluxbox soon with basic addons like idesk & fluxter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ranmakun
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 372
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, this is what I was thinking about, I made this in a few minutes, so it's not very well done.
It's my actual desktop but I added a TV picture (the first one I found in google pics) and I would like to play movies there. :D
I'm sure there are others that will have more imagination.

[img:038dbd4db6]http://kaori.com.ar/idea.jpg[/img:038dbd4db6]

What do you think?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moled
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 635

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice :)


you need the ultimate movie tool


xtraceroute \o/ :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vlack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 59
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another great terminal is Eterm. I do
Code:
Eterm --trans --shade 75
and my Eterm is readable even on a bright part of the background... whereas with rxvt, you had to keep the term off of the brighter areas of your background image. I looked in rxvt's man page for a 'shade' option, and there wasn't one, but it's possible that they called it something else :).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vlack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 59
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@TenPin: what's the terminal that you're running? It looks like you've got tabs.. is that correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

someone has to make a xine skin out of the TV in ranmakuns shot. pleeeease!
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vlack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 59
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw that you had rxvt running with top in a window in the borrom right corner. Is there any way to run that actually on the "root" window, like with root-tail? I don't seem to be having any luck with pipes or anything like that, but I don't really know what I'm doing. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_strange
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 480
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try this:

Eterm --scrollbar false --buttonbar false -x --trans --font-fx none --exec top
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vlack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 59
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can get rxvt to do the same thing (sort of...).

The difference is that root-tail is not moveable or resizeable or anything -- it just is a bit of your background that happens to be able to scroll text. I want top to be on the background like root-tail can be.

Is that possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Garbz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 260
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vlack on the subject of tabs they are part of the the Fluxbox / blackbox / whatever box style wm he's using. I think he's running 5 eterms and the window manager has grouped them and tabbed them
_________________
Every begining is another begining's end.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AGM
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 171

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

Here is my "movie-like" desktop... It's fluxbox with a theme I've done some months ago to match a xmms theme...

[img:ef33ef9363]http://www.agm-homepage.de/gentoo/movie_desk/TheLogin_Blue_thumbnail.png[/img:ef33ef9363]
- This is the blue version -

[img:ef33ef9363]http://www.agm-homepage.de/gentoo/movie_desk/TheLogin_Green_thumbnail.png[/img:ef33ef9363]
- This is the green version -

Here are the xmms-themes (sorry, that I can not give credits to the theme-author, but I can't remerber where I found the themes...)
Blue
Green

And here are the fluxbox styles:
Blue
Green
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"battlecat" kernel? :D
Oh, man the eighties. I'm having flashbacks already.
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AGM
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 171

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, my other machines are named: skeletor and gwildor :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xavior2180
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Location: dallas, tx

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i used this type if desktop for a really long time now, before i saw this thread. i just don't like bright desktops.

for those of you who use wmaker, you can easily get rid of the docs at the top left and top right, thus, having absolutely no icons whatsoever.

in .xinitrc:

Code:

wmaker --no-dock --no-clip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cicero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2003 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody have any idea how to get a program to run in the root window on XFCE? mplayer, xscreensaver, root-tail, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noff
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 388
Location: College Park, Maryland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2003 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cicero wrote:
Anybody have any idea how to get a program to run in the root window on XFCE? mplayer, xscreensaver, root-tail, etc.


xfdesktop blocks the root window.

Nope but I did figure out how to use xplanet for the background. :D

Write a script to generate the background using xplanet and the second item is to do xfdesktop to regenerate it.
_________________
What Larry was saying is that if you make it too easy for programmers, then poor programmers will be able to do things best left to good programmers, and will inevitably do them poorly. Everyone will suffer in the long term as a result." - Tom Chance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cicero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just changed the startup script to not run xfdesktop. Problem solved! Uh . . . sorta. Is there another way to get the run program prompt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cicero wrote:
I just changed the startup script to not run xfdesktop. Problem solved! Uh . . . sorta. Is there another way to get the run program prompt?

Alt-F2?
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cicero wrote:
I just changed the startup script to not run xfdesktop. Problem solved! Uh . . . sorta. Is there another way to get the run program prompt?


executable is xfrun4.

i don't run xfce4, but boy i like that run dialog. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SDGR406
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 47
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming you use the panel there is a plugin to incorporate 'run program' capability.

Code:

[ Results for search key : xfce4-minicmd ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]
 
*  xfce-extra/xfce4-minicmd
      Latest version available: 0.2.0
      Latest version installed: 0.2.0
      Size of downloaded files: 179 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.xfce.org/
      Description: Xfce4 panel command line plugin


It is basically just a text box you enter a program name into. It will accept parameters as well, so if you were to type something like 'scite ~/file.txt' it will open said file in said program. I find it quite handy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cicero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nephros wrote:

Alt-F2?


That would be it. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arand
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may not be that big of a tip but most people that see this thinks it is neat.

Code:
emerge xpenguins


This make penguins run around on your tesktop and on top fo your window borders.

I have one questions.

In fluxbox how would you embed a terminal like the root-tail does?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trevoke
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 4099
Location: NY, NY

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bump*
Does anyone have any more ideas on this? It's been over a year, surely things have improved, eh? ;-)
_________________
Votre moment detente
What is the nature of conflict?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bonginc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just wanted to *bump* this again it looks like a great idea lol 3 years later though oh well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum