Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Hulu desktop
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dacid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 49
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:39 pm    Post subject: Hulu desktop Reply with quote

Is there an ebuild or a way to install http://www.hulu.com/labs/hulu-desktop-linux
I see Fedora and Ubuntu links on the site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quick23t
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 66
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haven't seen an ebuild, but, since the hulu desktop is a binary you can just extract the rpm and copy the contents to their respect folders, then either create a launcher or launch it from a terminal.

The other option may be to use dpkg to install the .deb. Niether option would be managed by portage unless an ebuild was written that called dpkg to install the .deb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zythran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 38
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 3:16 am    Post subject: Hulu desktop Reply with quote

Alright, I took a stab at it. https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=288372

This installs and runs fine on my AMD64 box. Hulu desktop does not seem to autodetect the flash plugin, so after you install the ebuild you need to start the program once, then edit ~/.huludesktop and set the following:

[flash]
flash_location = /usr/lib/nsbrowser/plugins/libflashplayer.so

Enjoy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SDNick484
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That ebuild worked for me (I run ~amd64). Didn't have to do anything special or modify it, although I did create the ~/.huludesktop file as the elog suggests.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BitJam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 2483
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Zythran! Youre ebuild works great here on amd64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zythran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 38
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This package has been added to the Sunrise overlay:

http://overlays.gentoo.org/proj/sunrise/browser/reviewed/media-video/huludesktop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beandog
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2066
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is pretty impressive work, guys. It's rare to see an ebuild come together that fast from the community, and get in sunrise too. Right on.
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. dvds | blurays | blog | wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beandog
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2066
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way, you should throw RESTRICT=mirror in there.
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. dvds | blurays | blog | wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genblood
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 133
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice job ... works good ... I just had to add the pointer for
flash and that was it ...
_________________
General Blood ..

Gentoo 2008.0 AMD Phemon X4 9850+ 8GB DDR2 1066
MSI K9A2 Platium Mother Board ATI 4830 PCI-e 512MB
1 Blu-Ray Drive
4 sata WD 500 GB drive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ebuild works great for me, I just wish I had better luck with it playing back full screen using the oss radeonhd driver without tearing.
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColeSlaw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 176
Location: Kearney, NE USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anybody used lirc with it? I'm thinking about adding this as a plugin to my MythTV box and am wondering how that might go.
_________________
My Folding@home Stats!
Join the GLUE folding Team!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ColeSlaw wrote:
Has anybody used lirc with it? I'm thinking about adding this as a plugin to my MythTV box and am wondering how that might go.


Take a look here. This was discussed on the user list.

It works great on a Phenom X3 @ 720p, not so much on an Athlon 5050e @ 1080 using xf86-video-radeonhd on both.
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3221

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very cool... the interface isn't half bad. I wish my TV supported more than a max resolution of 1024x768 for the VGA input. I was watching Hulu for a short time on my PS3, until they Hulu started actively blocking the PS3 browser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColeSlaw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 176
Location: Kearney, NE USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PraetorZero wrote:
ColeSlaw wrote:
Has anybody used lirc with it? I'm thinking about adding this as a plugin to my MythTV box and am wondering how that might go.


Take a look here. This was discussed on the user list.

It works great on a Phenom X3 @ 720p, not so much on an Athlon 5050e @ 1080 using xf86-video-radeonhd on both.


Awesome, my nicest TV is a pentium 4 2.1 GHz with a nvidia 5800 on a 720p TV. As long as it works on that one, I'll be happy.
_________________
My Folding@home Stats!
Join the GLUE folding Team!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ColeSlaw wrote:
PraetorZero wrote:
ColeSlaw wrote:
Has anybody used lirc with it? I'm thinking about adding this as a plugin to my MythTV box and am wondering how that might go.


Take a look here. This was discussed on the user list.

It works great on a Phenom X3 @ 720p, not so much on an Athlon 5050e @ 1080 using xf86-video-radeonhd on both.


Awesome, my nicest TV is a pentium 4 2.1 GHz with a nvidia 5800 on a 720p TV. As long as it works on that one, I'll be happy.


I need something beefy to make up for the lack of vdpau. :P BTW, nice to see someone quasi-local to me, ColeSlaw.
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7694
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Multimedia to Unsupported Software.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seqizz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 11:34 am    Post subject: :\ Reply with quote

it's still not supported outside of US, right? :?
_________________
what about an answer here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3221

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 4:44 pm    Post subject: Re: :\ Reply with quote

seqizz wrote:
it's still not supported outside of US, right? :?
Pretty sure they still block viewers outside the US. They are suppose to be working on deals with companies outside the country, but details are lax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genfoo'
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

'emerge huludesktop' gets me:
Code:
computer ~ # emerge huludesktop
Calculating dependencies ... done!

>>> Verifying ebuild manifests

>>> Emerging (1 of 1) media-video/huludesktop-0.9.3 from sunrise
>>> Downloading 'http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm'
--2009-10-21 00:44:22--  http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm
Resolving distfiles.gentoo.org... 130.239.17.6, 140.211.166.134, 149.20.20.135, ...
Connecting to distfiles.gentoo.org|130.239.17.6|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
Location: http://mirrors.kernel.org/gentoo/distfiles/huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm [following]
--2009-10-21 00:44:23--  http://mirrors.kernel.org/gentoo/distfiles/huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm
Resolving mirrors.kernel.org... 204.152.191.39, 149.20.20.135
Connecting to mirrors.kernel.org|204.152.191.39|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2009-10-21 00:44:23 ERROR 404: Not Found.

>>> Downloading 'http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo/distfiles/huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm'
--2009-10-21 00:44:23--  http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo/distfiles/huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm
Resolving distro.ibiblio.org... 152.46.7.109
Connecting to distro.ibiblio.org|152.46.7.109|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2009-10-21 00:44:24 ERROR 404: Not Found.

>>> Downloading 'http://download.hulu.com/huludesktop.i386.rpm'
--2009-10-21 00:44:24--  http://download.hulu.com/huludesktop.i386.rpm
Resolving download.hulu.com... 24.119.99.217, 24.119.99.218
Connecting to download.hulu.com|24.119.99.217|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 629073 (614K) [application/x-rpm]
Saving to: `/usr/portage/distfiles/huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm'

100%[=============================================================================>] 629,073      394K/s   in 1.6s   

2009-10-21 00:44:25 (394 KB/s) - `/usr/portage/distfiles/huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm' saved [629073/629073]

('Filesize does not match recorded size', 629073L, 628327)
!!! Fetched file: huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm VERIFY FAILED!
!!! Reason: Filesize does not match recorded size
!!! Got:      629073
!!! Expected: 628327
Refetching... File renamed to '/usr/portage/distfiles/huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm._checksum_failure_.Z2PUSi'

!!! Couldn't download 'huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm'. Aborting.
 * Fetch failed for 'media-video/huludesktop-0.9.3', Log file:
 *  '/var/log/portage/media-video:huludesktop-0.9.3:20091021-054421.log'

>>> Failed to emerge media-video/huludesktop-0.9.3, Log file:

>>>  '/var/log/portage/media-video:huludesktop-0.9.3:20091021-054421.log'

 * Messages for package media-video/huludesktop-0.9.3:

 * Fetch failed for 'media-video/huludesktop-0.9.3', Log file:
 *  '/var/log/portage/media-video:huludesktop-0.9.3:20091021-054421.log'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3221

PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Genfoo: The huludesktop download probably changed... or it was comprimised. I'm going to guess that they probably just updated the file. You can redigest the ebuild to account for the new file change, or if you haven't updated your overlays in a while, resync your sunrise overlay to see if they have already re-digested the ebuild.

Code:
ebuild /usr/local/portage/layman/sunrise/media-video/huludesktop/huludesktop-0.9.3.ebuild digest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikegpitt wrote:
@Genfoo: The huludesktop download probably changed... or it was comprimised. I'm going to guess that they probably just updated the file. You can redigest the ebuild to account for the new file change, or if you haven't updated your overlays in a while, resync your sunrise overlay to see if they have already re-digested the ebuild.

Code:
ebuild /usr/local/portage/layman/sunrise/media-video/huludesktop/huludesktop-0.9.3.ebuild digest


They did update the installer, it's now at 0.9.4.
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genfoo'
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help, mikegpitt. I tried updating the manifest last night before I posted but it didn't work. In fact it didn't act in the way I expected it to. I cleaned out my distfiles directory and when I tried to update the manifest I get this:
Code:
computer ~ # ebuild /usr/local/portage/layman/sunrise/media-video/huludesktop/huludesktop-0.9.3.ebuild digest
>>> Creating Manifest for /usr/local/portage/layman/sunrise/media-video/huludesktop

It didn't download the file as I expected, just printed that message. When I tried to install it again I got the same thing as before. So the next thing I did was to rename the package file to 'huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm' ( since it was renamed after the size verify failure ) and tried the digest again, but it just redownloaded the file and I got the same failure.

However! This time I noticed the message at the end:
Code:
!!! Couldn't download 'huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm'. Aborting.
!!! Fetch failed for huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm, can't update Manifest
!!! If you would like to forcefully replace the existing Manifest entry
!!! for huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm, use the following command:
!!!    ebuild --force huludesktop-0.9.3.ebuild manifest

The command on the very last line worked and it is now installed. I only got that message after the digest failure not the install failure.

Would it have worked if I had deleted the Manifest file? Is this something screwy with my system or is it just a fluke with this particular package and version? I hadn't used any overlays for a while, but when I started having trouble I deleted the three I had intalled, which included sunrise, and reinstalled only sunrise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Genfoo' wrote:
Thanks for the help, mikegpitt. I tried updating the manifest last night before I posted but it didn't work. In fact it didn't act in the way I expected it to. I cleaned out my distfiles directory and when I tried to update the manifest I get this:
Code:
computer ~ # ebuild /usr/local/portage/layman/sunrise/media-video/huludesktop/huludesktop-0.9.3.ebuild digest
>>> Creating Manifest for /usr/local/portage/layman/sunrise/media-video/huludesktop

It didn't download the file as I expected, just printed that message. When I tried to install it again I got the same thing as before. So the next thing I did was to rename the package file to 'huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm' ( since it was renamed after the size verify failure ) and tried the digest again, but it just redownloaded the file and I got the same failure.

However! This time I noticed the message at the end:
Code:
!!! Couldn't download 'huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm'. Aborting.
!!! Fetch failed for huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm, can't update Manifest
!!! If you would like to forcefully replace the existing Manifest entry
!!! for huludesktop-0.9.3.i386.rpm, use the following command:
!!!    ebuild --force huludesktop-0.9.3.ebuild manifest

The command on the very last line worked and it is now installed. I only got that message after the digest failure not the install failure.

Would it have worked if I had deleted the Manifest file? Is this something screwy with my system or is it just a fluke with this particular package and version? I hadn't used any overlays for a while, but when I started having trouble I deleted the three I had intalled, which included sunrise, and reinstalled only sunrise.


What you should have done is copied the ebuild to huludesktop-0.9.4.ebuild, then done an ebuild huludesktop-0.9.4.ebuild manifest then emerged the new version.
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3387

PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone comment on how well the Hulu desktop works, fullscreen? I've read that fullscreen Flash isn't very good on Linux because it uses no accelerations, and can confirm that that is true for youtube.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3221

PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depontius wrote:
Can anyone comment on how well the Hulu desktop works, fullscreen? I've read that fullscreen Flash isn't very good on Linux because it uses no accelerations, and can confirm that that is true for youtube.


For some reason my hulu desktop won't go "full screen", but I can maximize it to take up pretty much the entire screen, and it seems to work great. My only issue is the general problem of flash locking permissions on my sound device (which also happens in firefox a lot), so I need to exit firefox when using it.

BTW - If you want re-enable flash acceleration check out this thread... You will be quite happy you did, and it takes all of 10 seconds!
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-687978.html

The acceleration technology is in there, but adobe's way of checking for compatible machines is quite flawed, and it is hence disabled by default on most graphics cards that would otherwise work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum