Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to connect to wifi
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ProgVal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:19 am    Post subject: Unable to connect to wifi Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm using Sabayon, a Gentoo-like distribution, with some non-free drivers (my computer has some compatibility problem with Linux).

I don't know why, but, all distributions I tryed are unable to connect to my wifi connection. So, I use wicd, which can connect.
But, on Sabayon, wicd don't work. When I set automatically IP, it say me that it is unable to get an IP. When I set fixed IP, it say me it can't connect to the network. My network is protected by a WEP protection, but, when I disable protection, wicd doesn't work too. There is not MAC filter.

What must I do to fix this problem?

Thank you for advance,
ProgVal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kardolus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 120
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know much about wicd,

but I usually connect to a WEP protected network using the following commands:

Code:

iwconfig wlan0 mode managed key <wep key>
iwconfig essid <your essid>
dhcpcd wlan0


You could also try "iwlist scan" before you set the essid.

BTW, if this is your own network I would consider switching to wpa, wep is really not safe.
_________________
Smokey, this is not 'Nam. This is bowling. There are rules.

http://twitter.com/GKardolus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ProgVal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your commands make connecting to the network and querying an IP. But, as I said previously, if I set a fixed IP, I have also the problem...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kardolus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 120
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you see your router when you type: "iwlist scan" ?
_________________
Smokey, this is not 'Nam. This is bowling. There are rules.

http://twitter.com/GKardolus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ProgVal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I see it:
Code:
wlan0     Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:14:D1:35:75:98
                    Channel:7                 
                    Frequency:2.442 GHz (Channel 7)
                    Quality=46/70  Signal level=-64 dBm 
                    Encryption key:on                   
                    ESSID:"perso"                       
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              12 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s               
                    Bit Rates:9 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s       
                    Mode:Master                                       
                    Extra:tsf=0000003497e8f181                         
                    Extra: Last beacon: 8ms ago                       
                    IE: Unknown: 0005706572736F                       
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B960C183048                 
                    IE: Unknown: 030107                               
                    IE: Unknown: DD0600032F010001                     
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0100                               
                    IE: Unknown: 32041224606C                         
                    IE: Unknown: DD0900037F01010008FF7F               
                    IE: Unknown: DD1A00037F03010000000014D13575980214D135759864002C010808
PS: I remember you that I'm using chroot...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kardolus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 120
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So if you turn off the encryption on the router for a sec and you type

Code:

iwconfig wlan0 essid perso
dhcpcd wlan0


dhcpcd times out?
_________________
Smokey, this is not 'Nam. This is bowling. There are rules.

http://twitter.com/GKardolus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ProgVal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If Kubuntu is deconnected from network, I have:
Code:
Ordi-de-Val-Kubuntu / # dhcpcd wlan0
dhcpcd: version 5.0.6 starting
dhcpcd: wlan0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd: wlan0: carrier acquired
dhcpcd: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd: wlan0: probing for an IPv4LL address
dhcpcd: wlan0: checking for 169.254.250.128
dhcpcd: timed out
If Kubuntu is connected:
Code:
Ordi-de-Val-Kubuntu / # dhcpcd wlan0
dhcpcd: version 5.0.6 starting
dhcpcd: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd: wlan0: offered 192.168.1.150 from 192.168.1.1
dhcpcd: wlan0: acknowledged 192.168.1.150 from 192.168.1.1
dhcpcd: wlan0: leased 192.168.1.150 for 604800 seconds
dhcpcd: forking to background
PS: Kubuntu uses a fixed IP which is 192.168.1.150
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kardolus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 120
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but I dont seem to understand your configuration. You are chrooting from a kubuntu environment and want to connect to the net in a chrooted environment when kubuntu networking is turned off?
_________________
Smokey, this is not 'Nam. This is bowling. There are rules.

http://twitter.com/GKardolus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ProgVal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43012
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Networking & Security to Unsupported Software.

Sabayon is not gentoo
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mobilejimbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to copy over your /etc/resolv.conf from Kubuntu into your chroot environment (I think prior to chrooting) from the konsole. Although it's not gentoo, assuming the directory structure is the same, it should work. Edit the following line to match where your sabayon is mounted and where /etc/resolv.conf lies. For Kubuntu, its the same: /etc/resolv.conf. To copy into gentoo from kubuntu, I would type# sudo cp -Lv /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf (I like feedback from my system)

Code:

cp -Lv /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf


Cheers,

Jimbo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ProgVal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your answer.

I already use this command before using chroot.
However, if I run Sabayon out of a chroot envirronment, it don't work anyway...

ProgVal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mobilejimbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll have to do that command every time you boot up the machine, mount drives, proc, dev. Then enter the chroot. On another note, what does route command display?

Code:

route


Cheers,

Jimbo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum