Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Compiz alone?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iamwill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:58 am    Post subject: Compiz alone? Reply with quote

Okay, so I currently run openbox, and love it, but would love some extra window goodies that it just doesn't have (wobble.. cube/cylinder.. etc.. So I wanted to know if it is still possible to run compiz solo like you can the *box series?

I followed the normal guides to install compiz-fusion, and tried setting up..


/usr/share/xsessions/fusion.desktop
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
# This is the name you'll see for the session in gdm
Name=Fusion
# This is the comment
Comment=Compiz Fusion Standalone
# The command
Exec=/usr/local/bin/start-fusion.sh
Type=Application


/usr/local/bin/fusion-start.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
compiz ccp &
emerald &         #edit to add: this is optional, you don't need emerald at all.
fusion-icon &
nitrogen --replace &
pypanel    #or whatever panel you prefer, or no panel if you are brave


/etc/rc.conf
Code:
XSESSION="Fusion"
DISPLAYMANAGER="slim"


After all of this, I simply get a black screen for about 2 seconds, and drop back to slim.. =(

Is there a solid walkthrough, or something that I need to do to get this working?

Thanks... fyi, I know that I could use a ton of different methods to do this, but I do not want to run a desktop environment like kde, xfce, or gnome... I simply want to run compiz solo with pypanel... and use alt-f2 keybindings to launch my fbrun.

Thanks for any help.. and if I need to post more, please let me know.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quick23t
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 66
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just use ~/.xinitrc

This is how I have mine set up

Code:
compiz ccp &
emerald &
avant-window-navigator &
exec lxpanel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5720

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's definitely possible; I used to run nothing but compiz+xbindkeys at one point (can't remember how to do it now though...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iamwill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tried my way, and the xinitrc way, but cannot seem to get this thing to log into just compiz. In order to test it out, I started up xfce4 and launched fusion-icon, and had to do some tweaking to get compiz to start looking good, so I know that everything is configured right for it to run...

I then started kdm instead of slim so that I could test the "fusion" desktop profile that I created, and that is a no go!! it simply flickers a couple of times, and drops right back to kdm

when I edit rc.conf and change my XSESSION line to "compiz", it will start just fine, but it is just a blank, black screen with a mouse.

any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iamwill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so i tried "startx" manually to see if there were any problems, and I am getting..

(EDIT) here is my .xinitrc
Code:

#!/bin/bash
compiz ccp &
emerald &
nitrogen --replace &
exec tint2 &



Code:


roberts@reaper ~ $ grep EE /var/log/Xorg.0.log
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
(EE) Failed to load module "type1" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) Failed to load module "freetype" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) Failed to load module "dri" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) Failed to load module "dri2" (module does not exist, 0)


i did some browsing around, and https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-796379-highlight-dri2+module.html this guide said that this could be some possible problems... however, none of this is the problem...

here is my xorg.conf...

Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder62)  Mon May 11 15:57:20 PDT 2009

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"

EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"

SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection




is there something that I am missing?

do i need to load these modules in the xorg.conf (i have never done that before, and compiz works fine with other DE's)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5720

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're using the proprietary nvidia blob driver, so it doesn't matter if those modules don't load - it doesn't use them anyway.

You need to apply some nvidia-specific hack to start compiz IIRC, I haven't used it in a while but it's an environment variable that needs to be set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iamwill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got it...

in my xinitrc...

Code:

#!/bin/bash
compiz ccsm &
...


i was looking at other walkthroughs, and I assumed ccp was what i needed, but it is actually ccsm (for me)... anyway, it worked fine, and it is smooth!!

thanks for all the input guys..

now i just need to find that compiz right-click menu plugin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iamwill wrote:
so i tried "startx" manually to see if there were any problems, and I am getting..

(EDIT) here is my .xinitrc
Code:

#!/bin/bash
compiz ccp &
emerald &
nitrogen --replace &
exec tint2 &




Note that this script will launch everything in the background and then continue, which means X will just die. You need to remove the last '&'.

I'd also reconsider the ordering of the commands. The last command will be the "governor", in te sense that it is the one that decides when X will be closed. Right now, as you have it, and after removing the last '&', X will die when you close tint2, I am not sure that's what you want. Usually the last command will be the window manager, so X dies when the WM is closed.

Another approach could be capturing the WM pid and the wait'ing for it, like this:

Code:

whatever_window_manager &
wm_pid=$!
prog1 &
prog2 &
prog3 &
wait $wm_pid

_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iamwill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i noticed that, i do appreciate the help too, i will do this instead...

on a side note.. does anyone know if "compiz-deskmenu" is in portage somewhere or if there is an overlay somewhere?

or, if there is a good right-click menu that can be launched in compiz?

also, i noticed that when i launch conky, my background disappears, it is cool looking because the cube become transparent, and I can see all of the sides as if it was made of glass.... but not what i want =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spielc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 452

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

iamwill wrote:

on a side note.. does anyone know if "compiz-deskmenu" is in portage somewhere or if there is an overlay somewhere?



Nope that's something you have to fetch, compile and install yourself. It's a good trainig tho ;)
_________________
Raise your beers up high...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum