Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
OFFICIAL Zen Kernel Discussion - zen-kernel.org
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5733

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DigitalCorpus wrote:
Since I do a *lot* of video encoding, I tweaked a script of mine to engage a butt load of muxing scripts. Within 60 seconds I had a load average of 120. No joke, I can do it again. System was still perfectly usable.

I did that with a camera photo-processing script a few days ago, but being lazy I'd implemented it using bash ()& stuff, and never really bothered to test it on more than 40-50 jpegs at a time. This time I had about 200 files... I think it got to about 113 loadavg before the whole machine froze from lack of RAM :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lk4d4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, on gentoo-sources with patch have same problem. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a hint to the maintainer of the ebuild:
zen-sources contain tuxonice patches. So, zen-sources should depend on sys-apps/tuxonice-userui and sys-power/hibernate-script, just like tuxonice-sources depends on them.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:
Just a hint to the maintainer of the ebuild:
zen-sources contain tuxonice patches. So, zen-sources should depend on sys-apps/tuxonice-userui and sys-power/hibernate-script, just like tuxonice-sources depends on them.


No it shouldn't, tuxonice-sources is different because the only thing that distinguishes it is tuxonice, most of the zen users do not use tuxonice (and the ones that do should know that they need the scripts to run it 8) )

Tuxonice is just another kconfig option in my book, no need to depend on the scripts.
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kelomi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Cork, Ireland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys,

Yesterday I compiled a zen-sources kernel for my first time and I'd like to know your configuration tips in order to improve the performance of my system. I don't have big experience configuring kernels so I try to include in my kernel only the things I know.

Here my lspci output
Code:
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 075e (rev a2)                           
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] SMBus (rev a1)                 
00:01.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Co-Processor (rev a2)
00:01.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] IDE (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation Device 0774 (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation Device 0ad0 (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:14.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 077a (rev a1)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h HyperTransport Configuration (rev 40)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Link Control
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0845 (rev a2)
07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)


cat /proc/cpuinfo
Code:
processor       : 0                                                                                           
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 17
model           : 3
model name      : AMD Sempron(tm) SI-42
stepping        : 1
cpu MHz         : 2100.000
cache size      : 512 KB
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch osvw skinit
bogomips        : 4199.40
TLB size        : 1024 4K pages
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate


And my kernel .config

http://pastebin.com/f2eb1c3ab

I have BFQ, BFS, 1000Hz and SQLB...

In general my system runs smooth but maybe I'm missing some interesting options or I'm doing something wrong! :roll:

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kelomi wrote:
Hey guys,

Yesterday I compiled a zen-sources kernel for my first time and I'd like to know your configuration tips in order to improve the performance of my system. I don't have big experience configuring kernels so I try to include in my kernel only the things I know.

Here my lspci output
Code:
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 075e (rev a2)                           
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] SMBus (rev a1)                 
00:01.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Co-Processor (rev a2)
00:01.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] IDE (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation Device 0774 (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation Device 0ad0 (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:14.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 077a (rev a1)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h HyperTransport Configuration (rev 40)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Link Control
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0845 (rev a2)
07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)


cat /proc/cpuinfo
Code:
processor       : 0                                                                                           
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 17
model           : 3
model name      : AMD Sempron(tm) SI-42
stepping        : 1
cpu MHz         : 2100.000
cache size      : 512 KB
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch osvw skinit
bogomips        : 4199.40
TLB size        : 1024 4K pages
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate


And my kernel .config

http://pastebin.com/f2eb1c3ab

I have BFQ, BFS, 1000Hz and SQLB...

In general my system runs smooth but maybe I'm missing some interesting options or I'm doing something wrong! :roll:

Thanks


I'd generally suggest a kernel seed (http://kernel-seeds.org/) to create a from scratch config because it takes less time and isn't very hard (i change a few things from them like turn of dynamic ticks, make sure CONFIG_FRAME_POINTER is on, etc.) - and of course add all the drivers i want and turn on bfs/bfq/etc.

Really, if you aren't having any problems there is no reason to try and fix anything! :D
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wrote a tutorial using Pappy's kernel seeds on how to make a zen-recommended and approved kernel configuration using one, it's a very good read ;) (especially those of you compiling WITHOUT DEBUGGING, FRAME POINTERS, AND WITH CRAZY CFLAGS) - now you can see a recommended zen config (WITH FRAME POINTERS, WITHOUT CRAZY CFLAGS)

http://zen-kernel.org/tutorials/creating-a-light-kernel-configuration
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome work. The Zen seeds will begin production next week. I've got to do some studio work in East BF, Texas over the weekend. I'm going to use the Zen sources that I have...which is almost everything from 2.6.29-zen2 up to the latest versions from ebuilds.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kelomi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Cork, Ireland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you both cheater and pappy...

What difference makes turning on/off dynamic ticks?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ponciarello
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 223
Location: beach of slack

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dynamic ticks are used to lower interrupt load.
con kolivas in bfs faqs suggests to disable dynamic ticks for having a lower latency on desktop, but if you prefeer lower load (because you have a laptop or something you want to have lower power consumption) enable them :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kelomi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Cork, Ireland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks ponciarello, nice links.

Con Kolivas says:

Quote:
THESE ARE OPTIONAL FOR LOWEST LATENCY. YOU DO NOT NEED THESE!
Configure your kernel with 1000Hz, preempt ON and disable dynamic ticks.

You shouldn't need to tune BFS virtually ever. The only tunable for the
scheduler itself is the rr_interval value (see documentation). Try 3ms if
latency is everything to you. When compiling software, do not use more jobs
than you have CPUs! So make -j2 on dual core, -j4 on quad core and so on.


I will change to -j1 as I have an AMD Sempron single core.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kelomi wrote:
Thanks ponciarello, nice links.

Con Kolivas says:

Quote:
THESE ARE OPTIONAL FOR LOWEST LATENCY. YOU DO NOT NEED THESE!
Configure your kernel with 1000Hz, preempt ON and disable dynamic ticks.

You shouldn't need to tune BFS virtually ever. The only tunable for the
scheduler itself is the rr_interval value (see documentation). Try 3ms if
latency is everything to you. When compiling software, do not use more jobs
than you have CPUs! So make -j2 on dual core, -j4 on quad core and so on.


I will change to -j1 as I have an AMD Sempron single core.


I compiled with -j5 on my quad core. I don't understand why it matters how many jobs you use to compile it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kingoftherings wrote:
Kelomi wrote:
Thanks ponciarello, nice links.

Con Kolivas says:

Quote:
THESE ARE OPTIONAL FOR LOWEST LATENCY. YOU DO NOT NEED THESE!
Configure your kernel with 1000Hz, preempt ON and disable dynamic ticks.

You shouldn't need to tune BFS virtually ever. The only tunable for the
scheduler itself is the rr_interval value (see documentation). Try 3ms if
latency is everything to you. When compiling software, do not use more jobs
than you have CPUs! So make -j2 on dual core, -j4 on quad core and so on.


I will change to -j1 as I have an AMD Sempron single core.


I compiled with -j5 on my quad core. I don't understand why it matters how many jobs you use to compile it.


It matters with BFS, because it keeps the CPUs busy and working, which is not the case with CFS.

On BFS+quad core, if you specify -j1 you are giving 1 core the work, -j2 2 cores, -j4 would occupy all of the cores for compilation, using more jobs than you have cores isn't a good idea for BFS (overloading the CPU)
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheater1034 wrote:
Kingoftherings wrote:
Kelomi wrote:
Thanks ponciarello, nice links.

Con Kolivas says:

Quote:
THESE ARE OPTIONAL FOR LOWEST LATENCY. YOU DO NOT NEED THESE!
Configure your kernel with 1000Hz, preempt ON and disable dynamic ticks.

You shouldn't need to tune BFS virtually ever. The only tunable for the
scheduler itself is the rr_interval value (see documentation). Try 3ms if
latency is everything to you. When compiling software, do not use more jobs
than you have CPUs! So make -j2 on dual core, -j4 on quad core and so on.


I will change to -j1 as I have an AMD Sempron single core.


I compiled with -j5 on my quad core. I don't understand why it matters how many jobs you use to compile it.


It matters with BFS, because it keeps the CPUs busy and working, which is not the case with CFS.

On BFS+quad core, if you specify -j1 you are giving 1 core the work, -j2 2 cores, -j4 would occupy all of the cores for compilation, using more jobs than you have cores isn't a good idea for BFS (overloading the CPU)


Oh, for compiling other things. I thought it meant for compiling the kernel and BFS itself. :P
I was thinking how does BFS know how many jobs I used to compile it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CC kernel/rcutree.o
kernel/rcutree.c: In function 'rcu_init_percpu_data':
kernel/rcutree.c:1607: error: 'lastcomp' undeclared (first use in this function)
kernel/rcutree.c:1607: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
kernel/rcutree.c:1607: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[1]: *** [kernel/rcutree.o] Error 1
make: *** [kernel] Error 2

errors with latest git pull 2.6.32...
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Waninkoko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 549

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CC drivers/block/ramzswap.o
drivers/block/ramzswap.c: In function 'ramzswap_ioctl_init_device':
drivers/block/ramzswap.c:1030: error: implicit declaration of function 'blk_queue_set_discard'
make[2]: *** [drivers/block/ramzswap.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [drivers/block] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2

some more debug.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Waninkoko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 549

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Waninkoko wrote:
Fixed.



CC [M] drivers/md/dm-loop.o
drivers/md/dm-loop.c:26:25: error: dm-bio-list.h: No such file or directory
drivers/md/dm-loop.c: In function 'loop_map':
drivers/md/dm-loop.c:802: error: implicit declaration of function 'bio_barrier'
drivers/md/dm-loop.c: In function 'loop_ctr':
drivers/md/dm-loop.c:960: warning: passing argument 2 of 'dm_set_device_limits' from incompatible pointer type
include/linux/device-mapper.h:109: note: expected 'struct dm_dev *' but argument is of type 'struct block_device *'
drivers/md/dm-loop.c:960: error: too few arguments to function 'dm_set_device_limits'

some more. sorry.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jw5801
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jun 2008
Posts: 251
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it expected for buffer usage to rise dramatically using BFS/BFQ/SLQB? I've just switched to using Zen sources to use these, as it solves the crazy AMD64 unresponsive under load thingy. The system is ridiculously more responsive under disk load, which is awesome, but the buffer usage is much higher. If I start running out of free memory this 'buffer' is the first to get dumped, but when I first boot up, I see this:
Code:
jw@Andornor ~ $ cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal:        1924688 kB
MemFree:          136280 kB
Buffers:          736136 kB
Cached:           422712 kB
SwapCached:            0 kB
Active:           535144 kB
Inactive:         974104 kB
Active(anon):     237256 kB
Inactive(anon):   119444 kB
Active(file):     297888 kB
Inactive(file):   854660 kB
Unevictable:          20 kB
Mlocked:              20 kB
SwapTotal:       2096440 kB
SwapFree:        2096440 kB
Dirty:               220 kB
Writeback:             0 kB
AnonPages:        350420 kB
Mapped:            80172 kB
Slab:             208184 kB
SReclaimable:     191012 kB
SUnreclaim:        17172 kB
PageTables:        16888 kB
NFS_Unstable:          0 kB
Bounce:                0 kB
WritebackTmp:          0 kB
CommitLimit:     3058784 kB
Committed_AS:     964820 kB
VmallocTotal:   34359738367 kB
VmallocUsed:       75552 kB
VmallocChunk:   34359659423 kB
HugePages_Total:       0
HugePages_Free:        0
HugePages_Rsvd:        0
HugePages_Surp:        0
Hugepagesize:       2048 kB
DirectMap4k:        2496 kB
DirectMap2M:     1961984 kB


If I start filling up memory (running a virtual machine, in this instance), I see this:
Code:
jw@Andornor ~ $ cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal:        1924688 kB
MemFree:           36076 kB
Buffers:           13576 kB
Cached:           400940 kB
SwapCached:         4728 kB
Active:          1103928 kB
Inactive:         627088 kB
Active(anon):     914224 kB
Inactive(anon):   414052 kB
Active(file):     189704 kB
Inactive(file):   213036 kB
Unevictable:        7140 kB
Mlocked:            7140 kB
SwapTotal:       2096440 kB
SwapFree:        2065664 kB
Dirty:             17336 kB
Writeback:             0 kB
AnonPages:       1320504 kB
Mapped:            90752 kB
Slab:              44132 kB
SReclaimable:      19136 kB
SUnreclaim:        24996 kB
PageTables:        21988 kB
NFS_Unstable:          0 kB
Bounce:                0 kB
WritebackTmp:          0 kB
CommitLimit:     3058784 kB
Committed_AS:    2137292 kB
VmallocTotal:   34359738367 kB
VmallocUsed:       80716 kB
VmallocChunk:   34359656159 kB
HugePages_Total:       0
HugePages_Free:        0
HugePages_Rsvd:        0
HugePages_Surp:        0
Hugepagesize:       2048 kB
DirectMap4k:        2496 kB
DirectMap2M:     1961984 kB


And after I stop running my VM, the buffers stay mostly empty, as experienced before:
Code:
jw@Andornor ~ $ cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal:        1924688 kB
MemFree:          825360 kB
Buffers:           16292 kB
Cached:           508812 kB
SwapCached:         8976 kB
Active:           444468 kB
Inactive:         543548 kB
Active(anon):     215132 kB
Inactive(anon):   256908 kB
Active(file):     229336 kB
Inactive(file):   286640 kB
Unevictable:          20 kB
Mlocked:              20 kB
SwapTotal:       2096440 kB
SwapFree:        2039872 kB
Dirty:               124 kB
Writeback:             0 kB
AnonPages:        456636 kB
Mapped:            49104 kB
Slab:              39920 kB
SReclaimable:      21204 kB
SUnreclaim:        18716 kB
PageTables:        17292 kB
NFS_Unstable:          0 kB
Bounce:                0 kB
WritebackTmp:          0 kB
CommitLimit:     3058784 kB
Committed_AS:    1098056 kB
VmallocTotal:   34359738367 kB
VmallocUsed:       75552 kB
VmallocChunk:   34359659423 kB
HugePages_Total:       0
HugePages_Free:        0
HugePages_Rsvd:        0
HugePages_Surp:        0
Hugepagesize:       2048 kB
DirectMap4k:        2496 kB
DirectMap2M:     1961984 kB


I'm not sure if it's actually relevant, performance is certainly significantly improved over CFS/CFQ/SLAB, but I thought I'd mention it, as it was something I'd not seen with the other schedulers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying to build this for my Eee PC, but the Intel DRM isn't included in this kernel. Is there any reason for that?

Edit: It looks like the i915 drm files are in the tree, it just wasn't showing up in menuconfig.

Edit2: Had to enable AGP_INTEL for it to show up apparently...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RealNC
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why on earth did you merge FatELF into Zen? 8O

1st: It's dead.
2nd: It requires glibc with FatELF. That is dead too.
3rd: It required ld with FatELF. Also dead.

Seriously... A bit of common sense wouldn't hurt.

Edit:
And even if it wasn't dead, Zen is:

"We include code that is not included in the mainline kernel in an attempt to create an all-around better kernel for desktops (although it can be compiled otherwise). This is done by including new features, supporting latest hardware, and including various code and optimizations to better suit desktops."

I don't see how FatELF offers anything even remotely interesting to desktops. Please consider what you merge into Zen. I was under the impression it's a desktop-performance-oriented kernel, not a throw-every-bit-of-crap-you-find-into-it kernel. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Waninkoko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 549

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FatELF is not really dead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RealNC
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Waninkoko wrote:
FatELF is not really dead.


Well, according to Ryan Gordon himself:

http://icculus.org/cgi-bin/finger/finger.pl?user=icculus&date=2009-11-03&time=19-08-04

"I think I'll declare FatELF done for now. I'll leave the project page up, but I imagine it'll only be for archeological purposes."

it looks grim. Anyway, even if it was alive and kicking, which it isn't, why put it in Zen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RealNC wrote:
Waninkoko wrote:
FatELF is not really dead.


Well, according to Ryan Gordon himself:

http://icculus.org/cgi-bin/finger/finger.pl?user=icculus&date=2009-11-03&time=19-08-04

"I think I'll declare FatELF done for now. I'll leave the project page up, but I imagine it'll only be for archeological purposes."

it looks grim. Anyway, even if it was alive and kicking, which it isn't, why put it in Zen?


http://icculus.org/cgi-bin/finger/finger.pl?user=icculus&date=2009-11-08&time=16-46-03
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 9 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum