Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Pappy's Kernel Seeds Part II <CLOSED>Please use new thread
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 22, 23, 24  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, that's a bit if an optical illusion. The i7 is just a bit larger than the core-2 processor. Yes, it has a lot more connection pads and associated pins in its socket, but the chip itself is no more than a half inch larger on each side than the core-2. And since they keep making mobo's smaller, that makes the socket look bigger.

With all that said, I still want to play with one. I want to see how fast it can compile gcc or glibc.

BB!
P
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
With all that said, I still want to play with one. I want to see how fast it can compile gcc or glibc.


If you do one day, post this :

Code:

# time emerge -e system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can be assured that if I come upon a machine of this type, I'll be crowing about it for days on end. Of that, there is no doubt.

BB!
P
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

processor : 3
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 2
model name : AMD Phenom(tm) 9650 Quad-Core Processor
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2304.812
cache size : 512 KB

8 GB ram, no swap

Disk 1.5 TB 7500 RPM Seagate SATA-2 (120 MBytes/sec)

# time emerge -e system

real 143m7.315s
user 140m42.384s
sys 36m9.156s
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have an Intel core2quad that is similar:

processor : 3
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 23
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz
stepping : 7
cpu MHz : 2664.000
cache size : 6144 KB

Everything else is the same as the AMD above, but the slightly faster clock and the much larger cache. I do not want to mess with this machine until I am sure the ability of genkernel to properly make an initrd for root filesystem with raid and lvm is working again. :(
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm just starting this one. Since I've roughly calculated it to take about two hours, I'm really curious to see how long it actually takes.

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33GHz
4 Gigs RAM
nVidia GeForce 7300
Windoze drive=MAXTOR STM316081
Gentoo drive=MAXTOR ST3500320AS

BB!
P
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would guess more like 3 hours for that one.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

4 hours at least :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well he did not say how much cache it has, and that's a pretty critical parameter.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact, the more cache that you have on the CPU helps a lot and also your HDD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

real 178m30.650s
user 185m44.378s
sys 29m40.060s

BB!
P
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well congratulations, Pappy! Much better than I expected!
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact nice :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My secret is using tmpfs. Having a two gig ramdisk really makes compilation speed along.

Code:
mount -t tmpfs tmpfs -o size=1999M,nr_inodes=1M /var/tmp/portage


BB!
P
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And my question is why should a ramdisk be necessary, given that disk IO is supposed to be cached in ram anyway, and with all that ram available, why doesn't the cache just do what you are doing with your ram disk? 8O

In fact, cache ought to outperform the ram disk, since no copying of sectors would be need from the ram disk into the cache?

I know, you just configure these systems; you don't write the internals. :evil:
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43072
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moriah,

It does - provided the kernel does not need to reallocate the RAM.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please clarify "provided the kernel does not need to reallocate the RAM."

Isn't that what memory mapping hardware is for?
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops! I mis-read your post. :oops:

I though you said re-locate instead of re-allocate.

So if the kernel does re-allocate the ram, it is because that ram will help the system perform even better being used for whatever the kernel wants it for than by being used to cache file data. That's what an o/s is for: to manage system resources.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43072
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moriah,

The kernel will use all of available RAM for disk buffers ... to the point of swapping things not used for a long time to free more RAM.
This buffer space is flushed to disk, so the kernel can reallocate the space if something else needs it. e.g. you open a huge image in The GIMP.
If there isd no demand for RAM, the disk buffer is not deallocated. Its this feature that prompts all the questions about "I'm just running nano at the command line and all of my 16G RAM is used and some swap too, is the kernel broken?" Nope - its normal behaviour. Everything that passes to/from disk is kept in the RAM cache for as long as possible.

Using tmpfs gives you a degree of control - what you put there stays there, like a normal filesystem. Actually thats not quite true. tmpfs can be swapped if more RAM is needed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
...tmpfs can be swapped if more RAM is needed.


I take it that this only happens after the disk cache has been made as small as is reasonable?
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43072
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moriah,

I don't know the details of how swap is managed. You may find this topic of interest.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shsucif
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok I am unsure of my self when it comes to pappy's kernel seeds.

Is kernel seeds just a check list that you should follow to streamline your kernel?

Is there a way to get a kernel config generated for your hardware, or is it just free hand and follow the checklist?

I am NOT looking for someone else to do the work for me, but if there are tools to build me a kernel config, then I would certainly use them.

I have been to http://62.3.120.141/~pappy/
it's just I really have no clue how to start using it. or to download my own kernel seeds. I am still in the chroot environment and am on the initial kernel config. I have not gotten to grub yet.

I am sorry if this makes no sense. I just don't know the questions I am supposed to ask.

I also don't know if I need 'links' (emerge -pv links says 53 packages and I am still in chroot)

also can I use pappy's seeds with gentoo-sources

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I normally use another machine with a good graphical web browser to read the documentation and find the files I need to fetch, then I use wget on the system I am building to actually fetch those files that I need. I don't use links or lynx to do installs.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43072
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shsucif,

In summary, Pappys seeds are a replacement for the defualt kernel .config file, which has a few odd options set.
They are a good starting point for a lean mean kernel of your own.

The checklist angle comes in because you have to add in the options for your hardware and the filesystems you want to use.

Find a seed that matches the kernel version and arch you have put the seed in place of the .config file at the top of the kernel tree, add your hardware and filesystems, following the detailed instructions then make and install your kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
throdon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry shsucif is me, I wont be using that name again sorry, it's the name on my other box.

If I am using a pappy seed should I unemerge gentoo-sources, or can I use this with a seed/config?

when I use 'wget' how do i form the command, do I just use the url from what seed I want?

and do i also use wget to DL the config to go with the seed?

just trying for a cleaner kernel than having everything built in or using genkernel.

I know how to use the tools on his site and also wgetpaste so I will be able to answer any and all questions if you have any.
_________________
The progress bar in Gentoo?... it's in your head.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 22, 23, 24  Next
Page 11 of 24

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum