Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Pappy's Kernel Seeds Part II <CLOSED>Please use new thread
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dufeu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 896
Location: US-FL-EST

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
Quote:
Pappy? Do you have any 2.4 kernel seeds?

No, I don't.

{laughs} That was rhetorical. If I do go through the exercise of putting that PC back in service as a firewall, it'll definitely be a 2.6 kernel. But it won't be anytime soon. It's in FL and I'm looking for work in NJ.
_________________
People whom think M$ is mediocre, don't know the half of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can even use a LiveCD instead of installing a distro on that :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is LRP (the Linux Router Project) still active? They were putting together a minimalist system for routers, firewalls, etc.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Under Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit), turn on, EISA, VLB, PCI and on board controllers, Below that, you will find the driver for which you seek.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scan2006
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know were it is supposed to be and it is there when I don't use the config but when I do I see this :
http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/120/441h.png

Maybe I did something wrong?

Code:
wget ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v2.6/linux-2.6.33.tar.bz2
tar -xjvf linux-2.6.33.tar.bz2
cd linux-2.6.33
wget http://downloads.zen-kernel.org/2.6.33/2.6.33-zen1.patch.lzma
lzma -d 2.6.33-zen1.patch.lzma
patch -p1 < 2.6.33-zen1.patch
wget http://kernel-seeds.org/seeds/32_bit/zen/2.6.33-zen1-x86-07.config
mv 2.6.33-zen1-x86-07.config .config
make menuconfig


btw great site it has helped me quite a bit setting up some of my other computers. Thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know. It's working fine for me with 2.6.33-zen1. This machine has that as its wired NIC, and a broadcom BCM4311 wireless. That's where the settings lie.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scan2006
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My error it is there when enabling EISA I just needed to look down the menu more. Sorry for wasting your time and thanks for the great site and all the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When it comes to helping someone get their machine running Linux, there is no such thing as "wasting my time." Working with computers is one of the things in my life I really enjoy. Sharing that is never time wasted.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geburns
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 65
Location: st paul, mn

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
When it comes to helping someone get their machine running Linux, there is no such thing as "wasting my time." Working with computers is one of the things in my life I really enjoy. Sharing that is never time wasted.

Cheers,
Pappy


spoken like a true warrior. ;)

just a follow up to my earlier post... zen.33 working well, still having page allocation errors, but not as frequently. the memory is fine on boot, then when i do and emerge --sync and emerge -uNDva world, the memory gets used up down from 256M free to about 40 mb free. and stays there even after emerge. if i ran several programs while emerging, that's when the page allocation failure errors happen. i'm going to use gentoo.33 and see if the same thing happens.

i smoked my first amd cpu overclocking... that was fun.

-=g=-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this two sticks of 256, or 1 of 512?

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dufeu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 896
Location: US-FL-EST

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
Is this two sticks of 256, or 1 of 512?

Cheers,
Pappy


@geburns - this is a good question from Pappy. Do you have other memory you can try out? Have you tried memtest86+ yet? If you have two sticks mem, are they the exact same speed? Same manufacturer?
_________________
People whom think M$ is mediocre, don't know the half of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

geburns wrote:
i smoked my first amd cpu overclocking... that was fun.


What model ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geburns
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 65
Location: st paul, mn

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
Is this two sticks of 256, or 1 of 512?

Cheers,
Pappy


ok... after a little digging

2 sticks, 1 128MB and 1 256MB, for a total of 384MB

Code:
cat /proc/meminfo

MemTotal:         382948 kB
MemFree:           12848 kB
Buffers:           49132 kB
Cached:           136228 kB
SwapCached:        15908 kB
Active:           155216 kB
Inactive:         179040 kB
Active(anon):      74356 kB
Inactive(anon):    74560 kB
Active(file):      80860 kB
Inactive(file):   104480 kB
Unevictable:           0 kB
Mlocked:               0 kB
HighTotal:             0 kB
HighFree:              0 kB
LowTotal:         382948 kB
LowFree:           12848 kB
SwapTotal:        522072 kB
SwapFree:         198840 kB
Dirty:               780 kB
Writeback:             0 kB
AnonPages:        133104 kB
Mapped:             7104 kB
Shmem:                 0 kB
Slab:              28152 kB
SReclaimable:      19336 kB
SUnreclaim:         8816 kB
KernelStack:        1080 kB
PageTables:         1212 kB
NFS_Unstable:          0 kB
Bounce:                0 kB
WritebackTmp:          0 kB
CommitLimit:      713544 kB
Committed_AS:     477576 kB
VmallocTotal:     638968 kB
VmallocUsed:       12212 kB
VmallocChunk:     624976 kB
HugePages_Total:       0
HugePages_Free:        0
HugePages_Rsvd:        0
HugePages_Surp:        0
Hugepagesize:       4096 kB
DirectMap4k:       12288 kB
DirectMap4M:      380928 kB


i have to crack open the laptop to verify the speed (but if i recall correctly, i verified this before adding the 256 stick). i also seem to recall that max was 256 until i got a bios update.

unfortunately, no other sticks to test with, and i did run memtest86+. not sure about the manufacturer.

@ d2_racing: circa mid 90's 486 DX/100 overclocked to 120. it ran great and then i tried to play with it and messed up the jumpers. smelled great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try running with just the 256, and see if your issues remain. Then try the 128. I get the feeling that will tell the tale.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dufeu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 896
Location: US-FL-EST

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
Try running with just the 256, and see if your issues remain. Then try the 128. I get the feeling that will tell the tale.

Cheers,
Pappy

In addition to trying just one than just the other ...

Different vintage mem sticks or sticks from different manufacturers, regardless of the fact that they may be the same nominal speed, won't always work well together.

This despite the fact that your BIOS may claim all is good.

I tried looking through your posts for a laptop model and configuration and didn't see one. Given the 128/256 total 384 I'm assuming an older laptop with an Intel chipset until you say otherwise. If this is true, I've had finicky problems adding in memory to such machines in the past. It's not just the speed that needs to be the same, it's also the latency and timings. I'm reasonably certain the BIOS update you did was partly to address these issues. If the 128 is removable, I'd remove that first and just do the 256.

From here, it really does sound like memory. Either a slightly marginal stick or the northbridge chip is being really picky, picky, picky.
_________________
People whom think M$ is mediocre, don't know the half of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got the old server for kernel-seeds.org up for auction on Ebay. If you'd like to own the machine that used to run the site, click here, and bid. Bid early and bid often.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geburns
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 65
Location: st paul, mn

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dufeu wrote:
pappy_mcfae wrote:
Try running with just the 256, and see if your issues remain. Then try the 128. I get the feeling that will tell the tale.

Cheers,
Pappy

In addition to trying just one than just the other ...

Different vintage mem sticks or sticks from different manufacturers, regardless of the fact that they may be the same nominal speed, won't always work well together.

This despite the fact that your BIOS may claim all is good.

I tried looking through your posts for a laptop model and configuration and didn't see one. Given the 128/256 total 384 I'm assuming an older laptop with an Intel chipset until you say otherwise. If this is true, I've had finicky problems adding in memory to such machines in the past. It's not just the speed that needs to be the same, it's also the latency and timings. I'm reasonably certain the BIOS update you did was partly to address these issues. If the 128 is removable, I'd remove that first and just do the 256.

From here, it really does sound like memory. Either a slightly marginal stick or the northbridge chip is being really picky, picky, picky.


ok.. tried the memory sticks one at a time and same results. did a little more digging to see when the page allocation failures started and lo and behold it was the day after i started using the zen kernel. i'm going to compile the latest gentoo-source with pappy's config seed and see if the problem persists. as i said in an earlier post, the laptop is 9 years old and this is the first time i've ran into issues. thanks again folks for all the suggestions.

this is a sony viao fx-210, originally purchases with 128MB ram. amd duron 800mhz with 64KB cache. VIA chipset. i added the 256MB stick a year later so its been running with its current mem sticks for about 8 years. the lcd screen broke about 3 years ago and its been running as remote vnc server desktop ever since. basically, boot, start the vncserver and ssh, away it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm...I'll be interested to see if it is the zen-sources.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dufeu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 896
Location: US-FL-EST

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

geburns wrote:
ok.. tried the memory sticks one at a time and same results. did a little more digging to see when the page allocation failures started and lo and behold it was the day after i started using the zen kernel. i'm going to compile the latest gentoo-source with pappy's config seed and see if the problem persists. as i said in an earlier post, the laptop is 9 years old and this is the first time i've ran into issues. thanks again folks for all the suggestions.

this is a sony viao fx-210, originally purchases with 128MB ram. amd duron 800mhz with 64KB cache. VIA chipset. i added the 256MB stick a year later so its been running with its current mem sticks for about 8 years. the lcd screen broke about 3 years ago and its been running as remote vnc server desktop ever since. basically, boot, start the vncserver and ssh, away it goes.

Thanks for the added info.

Did a quick google poke. Based on your comments here and what I've read here: http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/FX210/msearch?query=memory+problem&pos=10&cnt=10 I would weight your problem more towards zen then hardware. i.e. I think you're right to experiment with more vanilla kernels and generic kernel settings and work from there.

Having said that, I still wouldn't rule out hardware. Particularly since the FX210 uses a Via chipset. IF you've developed a hardware problem, I'd lean more towards the chipset starting to fail rather than memory. The best way to check this would be to borrow a third stick and try that out. If the same problem occurs and the new kernels don't "fix" it ...

Good luck!

P.S. - I always liked the itty bitty durons. Ah ... the memories. :)
P.P.S - Chipsets do fail eventually. That's been my single largest cause of motherboard replacement.
_________________
People whom think M$ is mediocre, don't know the half of it.


Last edited by dufeu on Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:22 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too have found that Via chipsets have a tendency to be buggy. I tend to steer clear of them. If it does turn out to be zen-related, I'd love to know why. I've never had a problem with any zen source kernel.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's tuxonice night in portage: two new tuxonice source packages in one night. That just means that the .configs for 2.6.32-tuxonice-r6 and 2.6.33-tuxonice are uploaded and available in both x86 and x86_64 flavors. Enjoy!

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tuxonice, great :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think there are serious issues with the latest kernel version. The .33 kernels aren't coming out as fast and furious as many of the other versions.

I'd have thought the .33 tuxonice would have been released a few weeks ago, as soon as the .33 zen was released. I wonder what some of the issues are, besides ALSA.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Talking about Kernel 2.6.33, my wireless card iwl3945 stopped from working.

I contacted my intel guy and I'm waiting for a reply.

I had no dmesg error or anything else.

Weird bug, because with the kernel 2.6.32 everything is working :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It also puts the broadcom-sta into the doesn't work column.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24  Next
Page 20 of 24

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum