Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox 3.6_beta from mozilla overlay... [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5881

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:11 pm    Post subject: Firefox 3.6_beta from mozilla overlay... [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I know that's to be expected for most of them, but in this case it's one that's supposedly been updated for the beta.

Since 3.6_beta3 onwards, Firebug stopped working for me. It looks like it's installed, but none of its menu options respond and about half the text labels in the statusbar menu are showing entity names(?) instead of the correct text.

So far I've tried a clean profile and installing various different Firebug 1.4/1.5 versions which hasn't helped. I've talked to people using other distros, and they say they don't have any problems with this combination. I haven't changed any compile/use flags that would cause it either. The only thing I could think of is that I'm using amd64... is anyone else seeing this or am I really the first to mention it? :?


Last edited by Ant P. on Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:43 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

install the add-on compatibility reporter then most or all of your addons should work again :idea:
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5881

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's one of the first things I did in 3.6.

This has nothing whatsoever to do with the compatibilty check, I guess my first line didn't make that clear enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant_P wrote:
That's one of the first things I did in 3.6.

This has nothing whatsoever to do with the compatibilty check, I guess my first line didn't make that clear enough.


oh yes - you did

I had the compatibility check disabled but add-ons / extensions wouldn't work - then I read about the add-on compatibility reporter

and first after I had installed/added it several extensions worked again - I thought it was the same for you

in that case I unfortunately can't help you

sorry ...
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbouzan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use firebug with firefox 3.6_beta4 and have no missing menu options. It's disabled right now so I can tell if another extension is broken, but I think it was working fine before. What happens if you disable firebug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5881

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I disable it then it goes away. If I re-enable it it comes back in the same state it was before.

I might go try it with an empty profile again. Edit: no luck there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5881

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Figured it out.

The "mozdevelop" use flag actually needs to be turned on now for Firebug to work. Weird...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum