Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde3.5
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:24 pm    Post subject: kde3.5 Reply with quote

I have a strange strange occurrence. A very healthy gentoo jusy had some files go missing
It's a slightly old system, but I've chosen to keep it as is. I have another up to date gentoo.
The old gentoo was fine, then it wouldn't go into kde3.5. I followed the message, and it can't find startkde.
So having two gentoos, I went to the other and found startkde where it ought to be.
In old gentoo, the equivalent of every kde file in /usr/bin has gone missing. Just why, I'm completely stumped.
This can be fixed but regular re-emerge can't be done ofcourse because kde3.5 is no longer in regular portage.

So I have all these kde packages sitting in distfiles. I can see two ways of doing it but gentoo style gets pretty intricate.
I gather a kde overlay called sunset or something may do the trick ro re-emerge, but how do you set it up.
I've raed of its presence but can't really follow it. The other way is to know which of the dozens of kde3.5 packages contains
these files, mostly shell scripts, open it up with emerge or ebuild or whichever, and try cpying the script files required.
It seems that's all that's needed. Not as if the package content require recompiling. ??
I remember ages ago yinkering with ebuild and seeing how that's done. The hard part is knowing which package.
I know you have emerge --search, but how do you emerge --look for one single shell script in a momolithic kde???
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -a layman

Then configure layman.
Code:
layman -a kde-sunset

_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yngwin, like most gentoo helpers, very short and brief, thanks for the reponse..
I shall do so, so does man layman expalin how to use it? Clearly this is the tool for the problem.

Just not clear on what goes next. maybe emerge kde-3.5??

Code:

debian / # layman -a kde-sunset
* Overlay "kde-sunset" does not exist!



The posts I read described this. What of the assurances that the name sunset is in place?

Code:

debian / # layman -L
* THE                       [Git       ] (git://zen-sources.org/zen/THE.git                        )
* akoya                     [Mercurial ] (https://hg.poildetroll.net/hg/gentoo/overlay             )
* alexxy         
.....................
* kde                       [Git       ] (git://git.overlays.gentoo.org/proj/kde.git               )
* kde-sunset                [Git       ] (git://git.overlays.gentoo.org/proj/kde-sunset.git        )
* kerberos                  [Git       ] (git://git.overlays.gentoo.org/proj/kerberos.git          )
* kolab         

.............

* suka                      [Subversion] (svn://overlays.gentoo.org/dev/suka                       )
* sunrise                   [Subversion] (svn://overlays.gentoo.org/proj/sunrise/reviewed/         )
* swegener                  [Rsync     ] (rsync://rsync.gentoo.stealer.net/swegener-overlay/       )
* tante                     [Git       ] (git://gitorious.org/tante_overlay/mainline.git           )


I gather it's blocked. That's nice. layman prompted for git, which I know is a repository acquiring tool. emerge git
required to emerge -C gail-1000, then


Code:

emerge git


produced a very substantiall list of packages to install for my little old gentoo. Is this right??
For one little git? Seems to have put a disproportional demand on the old gentoo, but its emrging them


gail-1000
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need git for the kde-sunset overlay, yes. But how many dependencies git pulls in depends on the useflags you set for it.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yngwin, oh excellent. I like this about gentoo forum, good solid help. My internet is capped because my boys used up all the account quota, and it's strangled, but it will get there. It's emerging 48 packages to support one lttle git.

Now, to finish off, Once this overlay is in place, I want to re-emerge some of kde3.5 for the sake of a handful of little shell scripts..
What do I do, layman sunset and do the lot? The situation warrants re-emrging just a few lettle files.
What is the required emerge or layman selection? The gentoo overlay is very short on detail, that's why I found it hard to grasp.

Out of interest, I actually apte-gett ed git on this debian lenny. I was trying to acquire a kernel source. I ran the directed git command,
got
git no such file or dir. I checked it files list, and there was indeed no executable git file listed at all.
I expect better from gentoo. It's almost finished the slow emerge. So, it's after 1 in the morning here. I'll check for a reply tomorrow.
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm back to the old block. The overlay is in place.
I need the right choice for emerge. I've tried a few, but I get blocks

Code:

emerge  kdm

 * IMPORTANT: 6 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U ] sys-apps/dbus-1.2.3-r1 [1.1.20] USE="X*"
[ebuild  N    ] net-nds/openldap-2.4.19-r1  USE="berkdb crypt ipv6 minimal perl samba slp ssl tc

...................................
[ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kdm-4.3.3 [3.5.9] USE="consolekit handbook pam (-aqua) -debug (-kdeenablefinal) (-kdeprefix) -kerberos"
[blocks B     ] x11-libs/qt-core ("x11-libs/qt-core" is blocking x11-libs/qt-4.3.3)
[blocks B     ] kde-base/kde-env ("kde-base/kde-env" is blocking kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.9-r4)
[blocks B     ] <x11-libs/qt-4.4.0:4 ("<x11-libs/qt-4.4.0:4" is blocking x11-libs/qt-core-4.5.3-r2)
[blocks B     ] kde-base/kdebase-data ("kde-base/kdebase-data" is blocking kde-base/kdebase-data-3.5.9)
[blocks B     ] app-text/poppler ("app-text/poppler" is blocking dev-libs/poppler-0.10.7, app-text/poppler-utils-0.10.7)
[blocks B     ] <kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r3:3.5 ("<kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r3:3.5" is blocking kde-base/kde-env-4.3.3)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.



Code:

emerge -u kdm

.....................

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "~kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r7 (masked by: package.mask, ~x86 keyword)
/usr/portage/profiles/package.mask:
# Samuli Suominen <ssuominen@gentoo.org> (09 Jan 2009)
# KDE 3.5.10 has been removed from Portage. You can find it in layman, kde-sunset overlay.
#
# http://linuxized.blogspot.com/2008/10/how-to-unmerge-kde-3-packages-if-their.html
#

- kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r6 (masked by: package.mask)


Dependency issues again. Why is kdelibs-3.5.10 getting dragged into it?
kde 3.5.9 was emerged before kdelibs-3.5.10 was created. I just want to replace a few little files!!!!
It's as if I'm trying to update the old system all over again. This is just a little re-emerge. It's turning into a protracted emerge exercise.

It's worse than I thought.

Code:

susie / # emerge --search startkde
Searching...
[ Results for search key : startkde ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  kde-base/kdebase-startkde
      Latest version available: 4.3.3-r1
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Size of files: 61,031 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.kde.org/
      Description:   Startkde script, which starts a complete KDE session, and associated scripts
 



Code:

susie / # emerge --search kde-meta
Searching...
[ Results for search key : kde-meta ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  kde-base/kde-meta
      Latest version available: 4.3.3
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Size of files: 0 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.kde.org/
      Description:   KDE - merge this to pull in all non-developer, split kde-base/* packages
      License:       GPL-2


Code:

ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kdebase-meta-4.3.3 [3.5.9] USE="semantic-desktop (-kdeprefix) -policykit"                       
[ebuild  N    ] kde-base/kde-meta-4.3.3  USE="nls -accessibility (-kdeprefix)"                                           
[blocks B     ] x11-libs/qt-core ("x11-libs/qt-core" is blocking x11-libs/qt-4.3.3)                                       
[blocks B     ] <sys-fs/e2fsprogs-1.41.8 ("<sys-fs/e2fsprogs-1.41.8" is blocking sys-libs/e2fsprogs-libs-1.41.9, sys-apps/util-linux-2.16.1)                                                                                                       
[blocks B     ] <x11-libs/qt-4.4.0:4 ("<x11-libs/qt-4.4.0:4" is blocking x11-libs/qt-core-4.5.3-r2)                       
[blocks B     ] sys-libs/com_err ("sys-libs/com_err" is blocking sys-libs/e2fsprogs-libs-1.41.9)                         
[blocks B     ] app-text/poppler ("app-text/poppler" is blocking dev-libs/poppler-0.10.7, dev-libs/poppler-qt4-0.10.7, app-text/poppler-utils-0.10.7)                                                                                               
[blocks B     ] sys-libs/e2fsprogs-libs ("sys-libs/e2fsprogs-libs" is blocking sys-libs/com_err-1.40.9, sys-libs/ss-1.40.9)                                                                                                                         
[blocks B     ] sys-libs/ss ("sys-libs/ss" is blocking sys-libs/e2fsprogs-libs-1.41.9)                                   

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.                 


Just more of the same. I have no idea how this overlay works. Why had it not kept the list of kde-3.5.9 as it had at the time.
It's picking up 3.5.9 and 3.5.10 which I neither want nor need. I just want to replace a few startup files.

Code:

susie / # emerge kde-meta:3.5



Wouldn't it be easier to go the other way and open up the RIGHT package with ebuild instead of emerge?
Things like this knock belief in gentoo.
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

idella4 wrote:
I'm back to the old block. The overlay is in place.
I need the right choice for emerge. I've tried a few, but I get blocks

Because you want to stick with old stuff, you get into trouble with the new packages. You need to mask everything you do not want/need to prevent updates that generate these blocks.

idella4 wrote:
Wouldn't it be easier to go the other way and open up the RIGHT package with ebuild instead of emerge?

Probably yes. If you know which files you need and in which packages they reside, then just do `ebuild path/to/ebuild unpack` and get them out of the unpacked directory.

BTW, this should go to "Unsupported Software" as this concerns ebuilds no longer in portage.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43577
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Unsupported Software.

idella4,

I have described how to use /etc/portage/package.mask elsewhere in our correspondence.

You have two issues. KDE4 packages need to be masked so you can keep kde-3.5

sys-fs/e2fsprogs-1.41.8 needs to be fixed. Its not related to KDE 4.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum