Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
hplip 3.9.12-R1 fails somewhere ? [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:04 am    Post subject: hplip 3.9.12-R1 fails somewhere ? [Solved] Reply with quote

Hello,

When I launch the printing of a document, it... does *not* get printed... :evil:
These are the related /var/log/everything messages :
Code:

2010-02-10 08:51:40   [kernel]   [ 1312.764784] usblp0   removed
2010-02-10 08:52:25   [hp]   io/hpmud/musb.c 1390   unable to write data hp:/usb/photosmart_7200_series?serial=CN38C2B29KI5: 45 second io timeout_
2010-02-10 08:52:30   [hp]   io/hpmud/musb.c 739   invalid deviceid ret=-110: Connection timed out_
2010-02-10 08:52:30   [hp]   prnt/backend/hp.c 625   ERROR: 5021 device communication error!_
2010-02-10 08:52:30   [hp]   io/hpmud/musb.c 548   aborting outstanding 7/1/2 write_

What is the kernel doing there removing usblp0 ?
Related in kernel log (run time):
Code:

2010-02-10 08:52:30   usb 7-1   usbfs: USBDEVFS_CONTROL failed cmd hp rqt 161 rq 0 len 1024 ret -110

Related kernel boot-time :
Code:

2010-02-10 08:29:49   usb 7-1   new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2
2010-02-10 08:29:49   usb 7-1   New USB device found, idVendor=03f0, idProduct=b002
2010-02-10 08:29:49   usb 7-1   New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
2010-02-10 08:29:49   usb 7-1   Product: photosmart 7200 series
2010-02-10 08:29:49   usb 7-1   Manufacturer: hp
2010-02-10 08:29:49   usb 7-1   SerialNumber: CN38C2B29KI5
2010-02-10 08:29:49   usb 7-1   configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
2010-02-10 08:29:49   usblp0   USB Bidirectional printer dev 2 if 0 alt 0 proto 2 vid 0x03F0 pid 0xB002


- I had built hplip with the following use flags :
gtk hpcups qt4 -doc -fax -hpijs -libnotify -minimal -new-hpcups -parport -policykit -scanner -snmp -static-ppds -udev-acl
- hp-setup did his job correctly, (at least apparently)
- hp-toolbox works well... as long as... no print request is made...
- hp-check complains about missing libnetsnmp-devel required dependency. (does it mean that snmp use flag should be forced)

Any idea ?

EDIT : Until then I had hplip 2.8.6.b which, apart from a huge delay before releasing the last page of a job, was printing well.
Coul it be linked to the hpijs -> hpcups move or any configuration problem ?


Last edited by aCOSwt on Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mani001
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 358
Location: Oleiros

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm also having problemas with hplip-3.9.12-r1. It doesn't print and hp-setup kind of hangs: it gets stalled forever after printing:
Quote:

HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.9.12)
Printer/Fax Setup Utility ver. 9.0

Copyright (c) 2001-9 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

warning: Fax setup disabled - Python 2.3+ required.

However, the printer is able to scan...and print a page in order to align cartridges (is that done by hardware :? ) I don't know if all this is zeroconf/mdns related so, just in case, I enabled the zeroconf flag and did emerge -uND world...but nothing :(
And hplip 2.8.6.b was working perfectly for me too :twisted:
If you find a solution for this, please let me know.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 419

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem with hplip-3.9.12-r1. I downgraded to 2.8.6b for now to have a working printer. Can someone shed some light on the many use flags which may be important:

-hpijs
-new-hpcups
-static-ppds
-cupsddk

The cupsddk flag seems to be masked by profile:

Code:

[ebuild     U ] net-print/hplip-3.9.12-r1 [2.8.6b] USE="hpcups%* libnotify%* qt4 -doc -fax -gtk% -hpijs% -minimal -new-hpcups% -parport -policykit% -scanner -snmp -static-ppds% -udev-acl% (-cupsddk%) (-dbus%*) (-ppds%*)" 0 kB


...but net-print/cupsddk was emerged when upgrading hplip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wuesti
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The configuration of the printing quality has changed. You can't choose the dpi settings anymore.
I solved the problem when I confirmed all settings in cups (http://localhost:631/printers/). You muss be member of group lpadmin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 419

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wuesti wrote:
I solved the problem when I confirmed all settings in cups (http://localhost:631/printers/). You muss be member of group lpadmin.


This didn't work for me, but deleting the printer via web interface and adding it again via hp-setup (run as root) did it. If only I had read the emerge messages the first time :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mani001
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 358
Location: Oleiros

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

deleting the printer via web interface and adding it again via hp-setup (run as root) did it.

that did no good to me :(
hp-setup is still hanging...am I the only one with troubles running hp-setup? Apheus, wuesti, was that your problem or was it that the printer wasn't printing?

Greetings!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apheus wrote:
Can someone shed some light on the many use flags which may be important:

Well, from what I understood from ebuild readings :

hpijs is the old driver(2.8.6.b's one). now replaced by hpcups =>
Either you build (+hpijs -hpcups) or (-hpijs +hpcups)
I had built (+hpcups -hpijs) as recommended, I will try with (+hpijs -hpcups) Just in case all this story would be hpcups' fault... :evil:

new-hpcups : you should not set it. It is reported for "internal" use only... :)

cupsddk seems masked but just seems. As a matter of fact, it is the default.
And will be active unless you set static-ppds

This is my understanding.

I filled a bug request on gentoo-bugzilla and a question under HPLIP message list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
canduc17
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 795
Location: Ferrara, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same identical problem here...and the printer is not started when I enter in my kde session.
I can see either that in HP Device Manager, Printer Control tab than at http://localhost:631/printers/.
If I start the printer in hplip Device manager, automatically it turns on also in CUPS web interface, but I'm still unable to print.
I launch a print and nothing happens...
This is so annoying...why make an ebuild like this stable?!
_________________
A cow enters a supermarket, does an handstand and dies. (Public toilet graffito)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aCOSwt wrote:
...I will try with (+hpijs -hpcups) Just in case all this story would be hpcups' fault... :evil:

Well... I did try (+hpijs -hpcups) and additionally +static-ppds...
Unfortunately ! No change ! I do not know why, but as soon as a job is queued... usblp0 is seen removed... :evil: :? :? :evil:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr. Strangelove
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2006
Posts: 104
Location: Germania

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why is this in "Unsupported Software"?

aCOSwt wrote:
I do not know why, but as soon as a job is queued... usblp0 is seen removed

I suppose you have
Code:
CONFIG_USB_PRINTER=y/m
set in your kernel.

AFAIK this module is no longer needed for printing with hplip & cups, because access to printer is now over some raw device protocol. (the hp:/usb/XYZ you can read about in your logs)
So it tries to unload the module (if it's not built in! - check). I don't have this setting no longer on in my kernel and there aren't any usblp0 devices, still printing is fine. In the dmesg isn't any mention about the printer at all then.

I suggest, you first try to remove any old printer configurations from cups, stop it, and rebuild hplip with the hpcups flag while leaving off the hpijs. After that, start cups and go to http://localhost:631/ , adding new printer. You should at least see one automatic detected entry for your printer and choose it. In case that there are TWO entrys, take the one with the longer name, and make sure (after next click maybe) that the protocol used for adressing is in form of hp:/usb/XYZ instead of the old usb:/XYZ one.

If this does not help, I had success on one machine with first unmerging both hplip and cups, then purging ALL leftovers, I mean all refernces to cups also in /etc/cups, /var/XYZ.
I had used updatedb and then searched via the locate command for terms like 'cups' 'hp' and so on..

Here are my useflags:
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] net-print/hplip-3.9.12-r1  USE="hpcups libnotify qt4 snmp -doc -fax -gtk -hpijs -minimal -new-hpcups -parport -policykit -scanner -static-ppds -udev-acl" 0 kB


If you only want the drivers and no gui, you can disable [qt4], maybe [libnotify] too, and enable [minimal] instead.
If your printer isn't attached over network, you can probably disable [snmp] too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 419

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mani001 wrote:
Apheus, wuesti, was that your problem or was it that the printer wasn't printing?


No, there was no unloading of modules for me.

Exact symptoms were:

- when I accessed the CUPS web interface and wanted to print a test page, the printer did nothing
- after some seconds the message "/usr/libexec/cups/filter/foomatic-rip failed" appeared next to the printer name, this message stayed the same with every update of the page every few seconds
- all I could do was cancel the print job
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys, it's simple, try my trick, I'm using hplip-3.9.12-r1 :

1. Download the plugin here : http://www.linuxprinting.org/download/printdriver/auxfiles/HP/plugins/hplip-3.9.12-plugin.run

2. Download your printer plugin here : http://www.linuxprinting.org/download/printdriver/auxfiles/HP/plugins/

For example, I have a Hp laserjet P1505 and I downloaded this one : http://www.linuxprinting.org/download/printdriver/auxfiles/HP/plugins/hp_laserjet_p1505.plugin

3. Start hp-setup

Code:

# hp-setup


When the program ask for the plugin, just point it to the directory where you downloaded the 2 files, and voila it will works.

At least, for my concern and a couple of my friends too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

labor_ratte wrote:
I suppose you have
Code:
CONFIG_USB_PRINTER=y/m
set in your kernel.

Yes I had. Followed your advice and removed it.
labor_ratte wrote:
I suggest,...and make sure (after next click maybe) that the protocol used for adressing is in form of hp:/usb/XYZ instead of the old usb:/XYZ one.

Did exactly as you suggested & verified that URI=hp:/usb/XYZ.

Had previously rebuilt +hpcups +libnotify +qt4 +gtk - the remaining including -hpijs

No luck. Even the test page leads to the same problem.

labor_ratte wrote:
If this does not help, I had success on one machine with first unmerging both hplip and cups, then purging ALL leftovers, I mean all refernces to cups also in /etc/cups, /var/XYZ.
I had used updatedb and then searched via the locate command for terms like 'cups' 'hp' and so on..
8O 8O :?

Well well... I do agree that it is the last sensible thing I can try...
However, considering the amount of work needed for this... I will probably go back to 2.8.6b's buggy hp-toolbox. At least... it was printing :twisted:

Thank you very much for your help labor_ratte.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... this incidentally... fell down... working !

1/ As hp-check was complaining about missing snmp required dependency, and despite I do not need network printing, I rebuilt hpilp with the same use flags as above +snmp
2/ I no longer tried to setup the printer as advised. (i.e. running hp-setup as root => hp-setup -i on the console) nor via http://localhost:631/ but as user (lpadmin && lp groups member) via the hp-toolbox.
3/ As I had read some similar issue on some ubuntu list that had been solved via some /etc/udev/rules.d/55-hpmud.rules I did the suggested correcting action (despite it was associated with a much older hplip version.

Well...mixed that all together in one go, shook and... it works ! Do not know what in 1,2,3 or some help from heaven did it but... nevermind !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, can you post the details of your solution ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Hi, can you post the details of your solution ?

:oops:I would be ashamed ! Really !
aCOSwt wrote:
...mixed that all together in one go, shook and... it works

Ashamed because that is actually what I did. :twisted:
I am even not able to justify any step I followed... :roll:
Well... If you really want this... :

1/ Stop cupsd (/etc/init.d/cupsd stop)
2/ emerge hplip 3.9.12-r1 with the following use flags :
+hpcups +libnotify +qt4 +gtk +snmp
- Note that 3.9.12-r1 is a ~ package at the time of writing
- Note that hp considers (rightfully or not) that snmp is a required dependency => set it even if you do not need network printing)
3/ Check for the existence of the following file :
/etc/udev/rules.d/55-hpmud.rules
If it exists and is dated from the time you emerged hplip then things are OK
If not, then find one somewhere on the net. Sorry, I just cannot remember where I found mine... :oops:
4/ Restart cupsd (/etc/init.d/cupsd restart)
5/ Forget about the indications given at the end of hplip's emerge (i.e. to run hp-setup as root)
Forget as well indications given elsewhere on the net about declaring the printer through the cups http interface
- Add your username in the lpadmin and the lp groups
- Launch your favourite window-manager-desktop-environment
- Launch hp-toolbox
6/ Follow the steps as guided by hp-toolbox.

Hope it will help... and once again apologizes for not being able to justify anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know why, but for my concern, my friends and I are using only this little wiki and it's working pretty well since 2008 and right now it's still working : http://www.gentoo-quebec.org/wiki/index.php/Imprimantes_HP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
I don't know why, but for my concern, my friends and I are using only this little wiki and it's working pretty well since 2008 and right now it's still working : http://www.gentoo-quebec.org/wiki/index.php/Imprimantes_HP

Well well d2_racing...
"Graeca sunt, non leguntur" :wink:

Blague à part...

Your wiki is indeed perfect... as long as... you stay with the stable 2.8.6b version on which your wiki is based.
I approximately followed these steps when installing my perfectly printing 2.8.6b + buggy hp-toolbox.

It just did not do it on my system when upgrading from 2.8.6b to 3.9.12-r1 :oops:

BTW, for my 2 added cents about your wiki and irrespective of any installation + configuration problem :
A/ I infere that if you launch hp-setup as root, you launch it from console and not from any X based WM+DE.
With 3.9.12-r1, if you wish to run hp-setup from console, you will need to hp-setup -i
B/ As snmp is not set as default, running hp-check will issue an error regarding missing snmp required dependency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you don't understand, I'm using the 3.9.12-r1 version too.

I can use my printer, you only need to download the right version of the plugin that match the gentoo ebuild and it may work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
magowiz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1029
Location: Italy/Milan/Bresso

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Guys, it's simple, try my trick, I'm using hplip-3.9.12-r1 :

1. Download the plugin here : http://www.linuxprinting.org/download/printdriver/auxfiles/HP/plugins/hplip-3.9.12-plugin.run

2. Download your printer plugin here : http://www.linuxprinting.org/download/printdriver/auxfiles/HP/plugins/

For example, I have a Hp laserjet P1505 and I downloaded this one : http://www.linuxprinting.org/download/printdriver/auxfiles/HP/plugins/hp_laserjet_p1505.plugin

3. Start hp-setup

Code:

# hp-setup


When the program ask for the plugin, just point it to the directory where you downloaded the 2 files, and voila it will works.

At least, for my concern and a couple of my friends too.


I cannot find mine printer right plugin , I have a psc 2110 all in one and in the link you provided it lists almost all laserjet


Also aCOSwt's solution didn't worked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right, it's only for laserprinter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
magowiz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1029
Location: Italy/Milan/Bresso

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
You are right, it's only for laserprinter.


So what should I do? Is there a way to make it work with my printer or should downgrade to make it work again ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@magowiz : is there, in the foomatic database a ppd file associated with your printer ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
magowiz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1029
Location: Italy/Milan/Bresso

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aCOSwt wrote:
@magowiz : is there, in the foomatic database a ppd file associated with your printer ?


I don't think so because I ran equery f foomatic-db-ppds | grep HP and I get a lot of laser printers , only one all-in-one (9100) , some business inkjet and some desingjet , the one that is most similar to mine is this :
/usr/share/foomatic/db/source/PPD/HP/mono_laser/HP_LaserJet_2100_Series.ppd.gz

but this is a laser printer and mine is a inkjet one.

Anyway hp-toolbox recognize mine printer and I can see ink level and so on , the problem is "only" I cannot print, on cups page I get the error :
Code:
/usr/libexec/cups/filter/foomatic-rip failed


every time I try to print something.


EDIT : I solved it , I did these things (I don't know if they are all necessaries) :
  • emerge -1v ghostscript-gpl
  • restarted cups
  • modify mine printer and re-entered all configuration data I entered on first install changing the printer to USB instead of hplip , perhaps also the ppd changed and re-setting it again maybe was the decisive thing.


I also noticed that this topic is in unsupported software section, it could be right at the time this topic started but since hplip 3.9.12-r1 is in portage and it is stable (at least for amd64) I think it could be moved to the right section. What do you think about it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

magowiz wrote:
: I solved it , I did these things (I don't know if they are all necessaries) :

:lol:
Happy you managed to sort it out.
That is the common factor to all our problems with hplip... we incidentally manage to make it work... but we cannot tell exactly why... :twisted:
magowiz wrote:
I also noticed that this topic is in unsupported software section,...I think it could be moved to the right section. What do you think about it ?

I actually do not mind. If mods believe it should be done, let's go !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum