Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Performing an "HAL"sectomy on Gnome :)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 481
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 8:08 pm    Post subject: Performing an "HAL"sectomy on Gnome :) Reply with quote

I've been driving myself nuts trying to find out what in Gnome after unmasking 2.30 from the Gnome overlay still needs HAL

Although X runs perfectly well without HAL, emerge still picks up dependencies on HAL through the packages that I unmasked from the Gnome overlay.

Any ideas? Let's share them! And file bug reports!
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roelof
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Im in.

I think we first have to investigate which packages still wants use HAL.
Then file bug reports on them where we ask that HAL has to be changed into udev which Xorg 1.8 uses.

Roelof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roelof
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Helllo,

I came to this packages :

equery depends hal
* These packages depend on hal:
gnome-base/gnome-applets-2.30.0 (hal ? >=sys-apps/hal-0.5.3)
gnome-base/gnome-vfs-2.24.3-r1 (hal ? >=sys-apps/hal-0.5.7)
gnome-base/gvfs-1.6.1 (>=sys-apps/hal-0.5.10)
gnome-extra/gnome-power-manager-2.30.1 (hal ? >=sys-apps/hal-0.5.9)
media-video/vlc-1.0.6 (hal ? sys-apps/hal)
x11-base/xorg-server-1.8.0 (hal ? sys-apps/hal)

So i will ask on the Gnome boys if this is needed because the Gentoo gnome group is very busy now with stabilasation of 2.28 and making 2.30 ebuilds.

Roelof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FelixPetzold
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 24
Location: Paderborn/Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have put USE="-hal" into /etc/make.conf. Only packages that still need hal on my system are gnome-base/gvfs, app-emulation/vmware-workstation and dev-libs/cyberjack for my HBCI pinpad. And i still have hald in runlevel default. hal-info will go when hal will be removed.

Code:
BitKiller ~ # equery depends hal
 * These packages depend on hal:
app-emulation/vmware-workstation-7.0.1.227600-r4 (sys-apps/hal)
app-emulation/wine-1.1.44 (hal ? sys-apps/hal)
app-misc/hal-info-20091130 (>=sys-apps/hal-0.5.10)
dev-libs/cyberjack-3.3.2 (hal ? sys-apps/hal)
gnome-base/gnome-applets-2.30.0 (hal ? >=sys-apps/hal-0.5.3)
gnome-base/gnome-vfs-2.24.3-r1 (hal ? >=sys-apps/hal-0.5.7)
gnome-base/gvfs-1.6.1 (>=sys-apps/hal-0.5.10)
gnome-extra/gnome-power-manager-2.30.1 (hal ? >=sys-apps/hal-0.5.9)
media-gfx/gimp-2.6.8 (hal ? sys-apps/hal)
media-libs/libgphoto2-2.4.9 (hal ? >=sys-apps/hal-0.5)
sys-fs/ntfs3g-2010.3.6 (hal ? sys-apps/hal)
x11-base/xorg-server-1.8.0 (hal ? sys-apps/hal)
x11-drivers/xf86-input-synaptics-1.2.2-r2 (hal ? sys-apps/hal)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salahx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ubuntu and Debian have a list of what of what needs to be updated to get gid of HAL: https://wiki.edubuntu.org/Halsectomy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3869
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as far as gvfs-1.6.1

this from the ebuild

RDEPEND section
Code:
    udev? (
        cdda? ( >=dev-libs/libcdio-0.78.2[-minimal] )
        >=sys-fs/udev-145[extras] )
    hal? (
        cdda? ( >=dev-libs/libcdio-0.78.2[-minimal] )
        >=sys-apps/hal-0.5.10 )


IT is looking to see if udev and/or hal flags are set to decode what else gets included

and this from pkg_setup
Code:
    if use cdda && ! use hal && ! use udev; then
        ewarn "You have \"+cdda\", but you have \"-hal\" and \"-udev\""
        ewarn "cdda support will NOT be built unless you enable EITHER hal OR udev"
    fi


From this it looks like you need either udev OR hal for cdda to work.


I wouldn't try and install both gnome-vfs and gvfs as they would probably conflict
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roelof
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Anon-E-moose.

Youre right. Gnome-vfs is used by gnome-2.24 so not on any system anymore
Gvfs can be without Hal.
So two of the list can be deleted.

Roelof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roelof
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

According to this page : http://live.gnome.org/TwoPointThirtyone/
Gnome-power-management and gnome-applets need still hal and we have to wait till June so 2.20.2 comes out.

Roelof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 973
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even though xorg no longer needs HAL there are still many progs that require it. KDE & Gnome both require HAL for automounting, and E17 won't even build without it.

For the time being, just live with HAL hanging out on your system. View it as a drunk uncle who is crashing on your couch and has no where else to go.
_________________
Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Even though xorg no longer needs HAL there are still many progs that require it. KDE & Gnome both require HAL for automounting, and E17 won't even build without it.

Gnome doesn't use hal for automounting anymore, don't know about 2.28 but I use 2.30 with udisks, polkit etc. and everything works, hal is removed completely.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 973
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, good to know. I only use e17 now so I'm still stuck with HAL on my couch :(
_________________
Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roelof
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello M.

Here automountimg is not working. But as I said gnome 2.30 still needs hal for gnome-power-management and the gnome-applets.

Roelof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I use gnome on my desktop so I don't have gnome-power-managment and I also don't use gnome-applets so I didn't have anything that use hal. I had to edit some files in /usr/share/polkit (don't know why /etc is not used for this) but after that automounting just works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 481
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

roelof wrote:
Here automountimg is not working. But as I said gnome 2.30 still needs hal for gnome-power-management and the gnome-applets.


Nope it doesn't. Just force the hal flag off on gnome-power-management and gnome-applets.

Code:

echo "gnome-power-management -hal" >> /etc/portage/packages.use/gnome

_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roelof
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oke,

Then so far i can see gnome 2.30 doesn't need HAL.
Then Im very curiois which packages then pulled HAL in for you.

Roelof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 481
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

roelof wrote:
Oke,

Then so far i can see gnome 2.30 doesn't need HAL.
Then Im very curiois which packages then pulled HAL in for you.

Roelof


I'm working on that at the moment. As soon as I find out you'll be the first to know. And yes, a bug report will get filed.
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 481
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gnome-extra/gnome-power-manager 2.30.1 forces hal on, but easily forced off with -hal in packages.use/*
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2253
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2010 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, it's all Ubuntu strategies.


I really think advanced uses should all abandon Gnome. Infact, all distributions except Ubuntu and it's derivatives should abandon Gnome. One day the official Gnome symbol soon.
_________________
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Unsupported Software.

This is from an overlay, so it's not officially supported.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilsonsamm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I have done on my computer is to add HAL to /etc/portage/package.mask.

My system is amd64, but I used ~amd64 for the things that otherwise would depend on HAL. It seems to work OK.

atm, brasero is ~amd64, that has pulled in unstable gtk+ and a few other things. seems to work great.
Now for automounting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum