Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Radeon R770 --kernel panic & other problems-wrks4me[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tbrass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 6:35 pm    Post subject: Radeon R770 --kernel panic & other problems-wrks4me[SOLV Reply with quote

Hi!

I am trying to get KMS working properly on my r770 (radeon 4850, pcie) using the xorg radeon driver.

I have tried kernels 2.6.32 - 2.6.34-r7 (x86_64) but always get a kernel panic when the kernel attempts to
load radeondrmfb. Why? Because I don't have radeondrmfb -- and I can't figure out the config
settings necessary to create it. The kernel continues to load after the panic, but this is frustrating!

Also, the card is showing only half of its video memory --I have doublechecked the bios settings and can't find anything missing.

Would you please take a look at my config and let me know what I am missing? Other relevant info:
Core2Duo, Asus P5BDeluxe-wifi/ap, Silverstone GD01 (Imon LCD), and the Radeon itself:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131124

Potentially related -- X starts up just fine (using xserver1.8 with udev 1.51), but when I tried "X -configure" as root, my whole system freezes (including ssh sessions into the box), the leds go out on my keyboard, and I have found no way to get the computer to respond, so after 2hrs, I hit the reset button (still no response), let it go for a while longer and hit the power button.

I have a lot of extra junk in my .config b/c I am trying to figure out the proper settings to get my Hauppauge dvb/atsc wintv2250, imon lcd+ remote and logitech quickcam ultra vision to work, so things that sound like they could be related have often been enabled.

*I have tried loading both the R600 and R700 blobs in my kernel as well as just the R700 (current), and noticed no difference, although glxinfo reports that the card is using R600 dri (and, yes, I get direct rendering). Finally, and probably unrelated, I am outputting to a 1080i hdtv via hdmi. Once I get into X, the screen size is correct. At terminal, however, the screen size is wrong (the driver is outputting a virtual screen about 2cm larger on every side than the actual physical monitor)--but this is only when I am connected over hdmi. with VGA, the color is a bit distorted, but the screen size is spot on. Am working through the radeon manpage to figure out how to properly set the screensize.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks![/code]

Here is my .config: http://paste.pocoo.org/show/214048/
Code:
CONFIG_UEVENT_HELPER_PATH="/sbin/hotplug"
# CONFIG_DEVTMPFS is not set
# CONFIG_STANDALONE is not set
# CONFIG_PREVENT_FIRMWARE_BUILD is not set
CONFIG_FW_LOADER=y
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL=y
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/R700_rlc.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"
# CONFIG_DEBUG_DRIVER is not set
#
# Graphics support
#
# CONFIG_AGP is not set
CONFIG_VGA_ARB=y
CONFIG_VGA_ARB_MAX_GPUS=2
# CONFIG_VGA_SWITCHEROO is not set
CONFIG_DRM=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=y
# CONFIG_DRM_TDFX is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_R128 is not set
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
# CONFIG_DRM_MGA is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_VIA is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_SAVAGE is not set
# CONFIG_VGASTATE is not set
CONFIG_VIDEO_OUTPUT_CONTROL=y
CONFIG_FB=y
# CONFIG_FIRMWARE_EDID is not set
# CONFIG_FB_DDC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT is not set
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
# CONFIG_FB_CFB_REV_PIXELS_IN_BYTE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SYS_FILLRECT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SYS_COPYAREA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SYS_IMAGEBLIT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_FOREIGN_ENDIAN is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SYS_FOPS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SVGALIB is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MACMODES is not set
# CONFIG_FB_BACKLIGHT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS is not set
CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING=y

#
# Frame buffer hardware drivers
...
# CONFIG_FB_VGA16 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_UVESA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VESA is not set
...
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set
...
# CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL is not set
...
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LCD_SUPPORT=y
# CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE is not set
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_CLASS_DEVICE=m
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_GENERIC=m
...
CONFIG_DISPLAY_SUPPORT=m
...
# Console display driver support
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=64
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_DETECT_PRIMARY=y
# CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION is not set
CONFIG_FONTS=y
# CONFIG_FONT_8x8 is not set
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y
...
CONFIG_FONT_10x18=y
CONFIG_LOGO=y



dmesg: http://paste.pocoo.org/show/214052/
Code:
[    1.242653] [drm] register mmio base: 0xFB1E0000
[    1.746858] [drm] fb mappable at 0xD0141000
[    1.746995] [drm] fb depth is 24
[    1.747165] fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[    1.759731] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
[    1.759754] registered panic notifier


emerge --info: http://paste.pocoo.org/show/214054/
Code:
Portage 2.2_rc67 (default/linux/amd64/2008.0, gcc-4.4.3, glibc-2.10.1-r1, 2.6.34-rc7 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-2.6.34-rc7-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-2_CPU_6400_@_2.13GHz-with-gentoo-2.1.6
Timestamp of tree: Wed, 12 May 2010 06:00:01 +0000
ccache version 2.4 [enabled]
app-shells/bash:     4.0_p35
dev-java/java-config: 2.1.11
dev-lang/python:     2.6.5-r2
dev-util/ccache:     2.4-r8
dev-util/cmake:      2.8.1-r1
sys-apps/baselayout: 2.1.6
sys-apps/openrc:     0.6.0
sys-apps/sandbox:    2.2
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.65
sys-devel/automake:  1.9.6-r3, 1.10.3, 1.11.1
sys-devel/binutils:  2.20.1
sys-devel/gcc:       4.4.3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.1
sys-devel/libtool:   2.2.6b
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.32
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="FREE @FREE-SOFTWARE @FREE-DOCUMENTS freedist radeon-ucode unRAR bakoma"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=core2 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
USE="X a52 aac acl acpi alac alsa amd64 athena bash-completion berkdb blas boost bzip2 cairo cblas cdda cddb cdr cli consolekit cracklib crypt cxx dbus dri dts dvb dvd dvdr dvdread encode exif expat fam ffmpeg flac fltk fontconfig fortran gd gdbm gif glade glitz gnutls gpm gstreamer gtk guile iconv ipod java jpeg lame lapack lcd lcms libnotify libsexy lirc lm_sensors mad mmx modules mp3 mp4 mpeg mplayer mudflap multilib nas ncurses network nls nptl nptlonly nsplugin odbc ogg opengl openmp pam pango pcre perl png policykit python readline reflection regex sdl session smp sndfile spell spl sse sse2 ssl ssse3 startup-notification svg sysfs taglib tcpd theora threads thumbnail thunar tiff truetype twolame udev unicode v4l v4l2 vorbis wavpack wxwidgets x264 xattr xaw xaw3d xcb xft xinerama xml xorg xv xvid zlib" ALSA_CARDS="hda_intel"
ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="imonlcd" LINGUAS="en_US" LIRC_DEVICES="devinput" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby18" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"


lspci -v : http://paste.pocoo.org/show/214061/
Code:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV770 [Radeon HD 4850] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
   Subsystem: Hightech Information System Ltd. Device 2266
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 29
   Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
   Memory at fb1e0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
   I/O ports at b000 [size=256]
   Expansion ROM at fb1c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
   Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
   Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
   Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
   Kernel driver in use: radeon

01:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc HD48x0 audio
   Subsystem: Hightech Information System Ltd. Device aa30
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 33
   Memory at fb1fc000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
   Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
   Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
   Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
   Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
   Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel


Last edited by tbrass on Mon May 24, 2010 6:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6312
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is not helpful, but whenever I have had problems with KMS - and those have been many - I have never solved them and the devs are not interested in doing anything pragmatic about it. The only thing that has ever worked for me was to stop using KMS and use versions of xorg-server that do not require it.

Other than that, all I can say is I feel your pain and hope you get your card working well, regardless of which specific driver you use.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 11:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Radeon R770 -- kernel panic & other problems Reply with quote

tbrass wrote:
I have tried kernels 2.6.32 - 2.6.34-r7 (x86_64) but always get a kernel panic when the kernel attempts to load radeondrmfb. Why? Because I don't have radeondrmfb -- and I can't figure out the config settings necessary to create it. The kernel continues to load after the panic, but this is frustrating!
After a panic the kernel will do nothing at all (except maybe reboot). So what you are seeing is not a panic. Please detail any actual problems that you see. radeondrmfb is the fb emulation of radeon kernel modesetting.
tbrass wrote:
Also, the card is showing only half of its video memory --I have doublechecked the bios settings and can't find anything missing.
Due to limitations of the current driver, only 256 MB video memory can be used at present. This is being worked on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2010 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All the traditional fancy framebuffers are incompatible with the KMS fb. Make absolutely certain that you do not select "ATI Radeon Framebuffer" under Device Drivers -> Graphics. It doesn't seem like you have it set, though.

Enable: Device Drivers -> Graphics support -> Console Display Driver Support -> Framebuffer Console
Enable: Device Drivers -> Graphics support -> Support for Framebuffer Devices
Enable: Device Drivers -> Direct Rendering -> ATi Radeon

Anything else under graphics support should preferably be off -- you don't need it. It might be a good idea to make sure that you don't have anything else in there. Just the DRM, FB support and fbcon.

If it works, you should automatically get a framebuffer at your native resolution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tbrass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 8:30 am    Post subject: thanks so much for your help! Reply with quote

I appreciate all of your suggestions--thanks! Unfortunately, my attempt to recompile the kernel failed and it seems as though GCC has broken with it (bugzilla has been filed). So, I'll be a bit delayed in trying any of this out. A few questions first though:

1. If I use menuconfig, VGA_FB is automatically added to the kernel and I cannot unselect it. Should I get rid of it by hand in my .config?
2. Under framebuffer console, should I add Firmware EDID, Tile Blitting, and Mode Helpers? (as well--given that my card has 3 outputs, should I add low level device switch?) Posts seem to be divided on this question and I can't find anything definitive from freedesktop.

As far as the problems are concerned:

The card has 3 outputs (HDMI,DVI,DisplayLink). If I have just HDMI hooked up, the visual output is appx 5% larger than the screen, regardless of modeline, at both console and Xwindow. If I do HDMI + DVI->VGA (monitor set to HDMI), I get the same underscan problem at terminal, no problem going to 1024x768 at Xwindows, and with some luck, I can get it to the native resolution of 1360x768 (though the modeline Xwindows sees has a clockspeed below the HW range of the card, so something is screwy with the EDID). If I do the same, but set the monitor to VGA, I have no problems (other than a general blandness of VGA coloring) at terminal OR in Xwindows.

Also -- if I try X -configure, the whole system freezes (but absolutely nothing is reported to syslog), no keyboard LEDs are lit, and I cannot ssh into the box, so I have had to reboot.

Those are the big ones, but I need to figure out this kernel/gcc issue before I can get back to the radeon one!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your gcc is broken, then you have other things to worry about :/

In general, though, I'd suggest compiling in the very minimum, until you get a working system, and then adding additional features.

X should run without any xorg.conf. Try deleting it and starting X as usual. You don't need the -configure step.

Direct rendering doesn't mean anything -- it is always on, even with the software rasterizer. Make sure that you are getting GL acceleration by trying "glxinfo |grep enGL".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tbrass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 7:34 pm    Post subject: Update: menuconfig issues Reply with quote

Hi! So, I couldn't fix the gcc errors, even with jobs=1 and disabling ccache and I ended up having to try a fresh install. Here's what I have found regarding the radeon:

My current .config (made using menuconfig & the minimum settings it will permit):

Code:
CONFIG_MTRR=y
CONFIG_MTRR_SANITIZER=y
CONFIG_MTRR_SANITIZER_ENABLE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_MTRR_SANITIZER_SPARE_REG_NR_DEFAULT=0
...
# Graphics support
# CONFIG_AGP is not set
CONFIG_VGA_ARB=y
CONFIG_VGA_ARB_MAX_GPUS=2
# CONFIG_VGA_SWITCHEROO is not set
CONFIG_DRM=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=y
...
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
...
# CONFIG_VGASTATE is not set
CONFIG_VIDEO_OUTPUT_CONTROL=y
CONFIG_FB=y
# CONFIG_FIRMWARE_EDID is not set
# CONFIG_FB_DDC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT is not set
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
# CONFIG_FB_CFB_REV_PIXELS_IN_BYTE is not set
...
# CONFIG_FB_BACKLIGHT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING is not set
# Display device support
CONFIG_DISPLAY_SUPPORT=y
# Console display driver support
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=64
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_DETECT_PRIMARY=y
# CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION is not set
CONFIG_FONTS=y
# CONFIG_FONT_8x8 is not set
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y
...
CONFIG_LOGO=y
...
CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_CLUT224=y


I am using udev 151 and vanilla 2.6.34-rc7. I included the MTRR information because I have read (but don't fully grasp) that the correct settings are essential for proper gfx handling.

Problems/questions:
1) glxinfo reports a best video mode as '33', but I can't find an ID of 33 on the table. glxgears gives me circa 2200fps at the unconfigured window-size and about 100fps full screen (this is in 1024x768, the only resolution I have successfully gotten to work). How can I find this missing video mode and what is the 'proper' number to report for glxgears (when someone writes about their glxgears fps, is it @ full or @window?)

2) I think that the DDC/EDID info being communicated b/t the card and my hdtv monitor are wrong b/c of the underscan issue--can anyone explain the 'custom table' referenced in radeon man & how to go about creating or finding one? The reported modelines are fairly different than the settings listed in the sceptre manual.

3) I am not using an initrd, as openrc & kernel automount (NOT devtmpfs or devfs) seem to handle everything else well & I have had genkernel problems in the past. If I build radeon as a module, I get the printk and early messages until the modules initscript, at which point I think that the probe of my radeon driver sends information to the monitor that forces it 'out of range' (at which point I have been unable to restore the display without rebooting into a kernel made with the radeon driver built-in). How can I a) prevent this from happening, and b) reinitialize the video connection without rebooting?

4) Kernel Config:
1. AMD-IOMMU seems to be required for my system to boot properly, even though I have an Intel E6400 Core2 Processor & a P965Express (ICH8R) motherboard. I assume that this relates to r770?
2. I don't believe that the E6400/ICH8R combo is numa capable, so I haven't enabled it OR ACPI numa emulation (though I have enabled PM and am trying to use just ACPI drivers soas to suppress all of the 'use ACPI instead of native' warnings) does this sound right?
3. menuconfig won't let me disable DUMMY or VGA_CON or change the FB_CFB settings. Should I remove by hand? And I thought that FB_SYS was preferred over FB_CFB?
4. I also have an imon LCD/remote connected via internal USB -- could the driver somehow think that is my display?

Thanks again for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewthomas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

edit: didn't read all of your post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewthomas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 9:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Radeon R770 -- kernel panic & other problems Reply with quote

tbrass wrote:
I am trying to get KMS working properly on my r770 (radeon 4850, pcie) using the xorg radeon driver.
This may help. Although I have a 3870 (RV670)
pingufunkybeat wrote:
All the traditional fancy framebuffers are incompatible with the KMS fb. Make absolutely certain that you do not select "ATI Radeon Framebuffer" under Device Drivers -> Graphics.
At least for me, it does not really matter.
Here are two partial configs that work good with KMS
Code:
# Generic Driver Options
#
CONFIG_UEVENT_HELPER_PATH="/sbin/hotplug"
CONFIG_STANDALONE=y
CONFIG_PREVENT_FIRMWARE_BUILD=y
CONFIG_FW_LOADER=y
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL=y
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/R600_rlc.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"
#
# Graphics support
#
CONFIG_AGP=y
CONFIG_AGP_AMD64=y
CONFIG_VGA_ARB=y
CONFIG_DRM=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
CONFIG_VIDEO_OUTPUT_CONTROL=y
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_EDID=y
CONFIG_FB_DDC=y
CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_BACKLIGHT=y
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
# Frame buffer hardware drivers
#
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y
# Console display driver support
#
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=256
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y
CONFIG_LOGO=y
or without the FB_RADEON
Code:
# Graphics support
#
CONFIG_AGP=y
CONFIG_AGP_AMD64=y
CONFIG_VGA_ARB=y
CONFIG_VGA_ARB_MAX_GPUS=16
CONFIG_DRM=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
# Frame buffer hardware drivers
#
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set
#
# Console display driver support
#
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=256
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FONTS=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y
CONFIG_LOGO=y


tbrass wrote:
Code:
[    1.759754] registered panic notifier

By the way, I get this regardless of how I have the config. I can't see any adverse effects.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tbrass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 10:23 pm    Post subject: working-ish(?) Reply with quote

So, I fixed the GCC errors and am back up and running.

When GLXGEARS is now reporting that the frame rate should be 1 1~~~~~~~~~~~~~ (a long series of numbers, adding up to something that has no reference point for me) of the refresh rate of my monitor. And then it goes on to the usual framerates. I am getting 2000+FPS in window, and ~100FPS full screen. Is this normal?

I did not enable AGP in my kernel -- and I am wondering if this is a mistake. The Intel P965 chipset comes in a few flavors -- and I have the 82P965 hostbridge, not the G965 (memory controller with integrated intel graphics). Right now lspci -v shows no driver or module interfacing with my host bridge, but if I were to enable AGP, I know that I'd get agpart (the only driver I have ever found for this memory controller).

Thoughts? And thanks for the reassurance that the "kernel panic" is normal... I wish I knew what it meant!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It could be normal, but glxgears does not give you ANY relevant information whatsoever. It's meaningless.

What's the output of "glxinfo |grep enGL" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tbrass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 8:31 am    Post subject: update Reply with quote

Thanks for hanging in with me! As you can see, no extensions were loaded by default. . .

I am about to play around with driconf (http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/DriConf) and and my log files to see if I can tweak out some sort of xorg.conf.d structure that'll work... and then I can get back to the fun of trying to figure out how to properly set console parameters for the size of my screen and maybe even why I can't load cpufreq drivers ;-)

Code:
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV770 9442) 20090101  TCL DRI2
OpenGL version string: 2.0 Mesa 7.8.1
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.10
OpenGL extensions:


And now that there is an official gentoo 2.6.34, I might try this over there, though I can't seem to get lirc to build from source if I have any appended characters to my kernel (including -gentoo).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you have 3d acceleration working just fine then (check the Mesa/DRI2 string).

I'm not sure about the console resolution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tbrass
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 5:38 pm    Post subject: One last thing :-) Reply with quote

Reading through the kernel documentation & freedesktop lists, I have found several references to how the driver uses ioctls. Does this mean we ought to have ioctls activated in our kernels, even though it is obsolete? I am v-confused as to how the different bus mechanisms end up working/conflicting.

And, related to that--I have found a few references to needing VIDEO_CARDS="radeon fbdev vesa" -- but again, nothing authoritative (a significantly greater number of threads/wikis say VIDEOCARDS="radeon" (and NOT radeonhd (which seems somewhat restrictive given that both drivers are under development (edit: somehow I missed this: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=ODIwOQ) and offer different features for r600/r700 chipsets))) I wonder if it is the lack of a vesa/fbdev module that caused X -configure to seize up and lock my system? Not that I am going to test it. . . I finally found a fix for my bad EDID info & wanted to share it in case anyone else is having a similar problem.

There is some sort of a version mismatch between my 'server glx vender (SGI) and my client glx vender (MESA) -- I found several threads online discussing this mismatch and how it didn't matter in previous versions (when the mismatch would just be SGI/SGI version numbers), but now that everything has shifted over to MESA, it is contributing to tearing and crashing. I am going to try building git-sourced versions of libdrm xf86-video-ati and mesa and then linking to the local libraries.

In sum:
Active questions:
1) Is there any way to set physical dimensions of a monitor given a bad HDMI handshake using radeondrmfb? Perhaps an initscript?
2) does KMS work best with OBSOLETE ioctls in the kernel?
3) what builds radeondrmfb? I haven't found anything named that in my box (is radeondrmfb just an alias for radeon w/ fbcon & vgacon & radeon KMS in the kernel???)

SOLVED:
modular X1.8 w/ KMS and FREE drivers with an rv770 (Thanks chithanh andrewthomas and esp. pingufunkybeat)

Here's my xorg.conf (sloppy and specific to my system--I'd love to know how to clean this up--but it might help others):
Code:
Section "Module"
        Load "glx"
        Load "dri"
        Load "drm"
        Load "dri2"
EndSection
#
Section "ServerFlags"
        Option "DontZap" "false"
   Option "DRI2" "enable"
EndSection
#
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "X32GV-Komodo"
   HorizSync 40-80
   VertRefresh 50-75
   ModeLine "1360x768" 85.50  1360 1424 1536 1792  768 771 777 795 -hsync +vsync
   ModeLine "1920x1080i" 74.25  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1094 1125 interlace +hsync +vsync
   ModeLine "1024x768"   78.75  1024 1040 1136 1312  768 769 772 800 +hsync +vsync
   DisplaySize   697 391
EndSection
#
Section "Device"
    Identifier   "Myrv770pita"
    Driver   "radeon"
    ChipID   0x9442
    Option   "BusType" "PCIE"
    Option   "IgnoreEDID" "on"
    Option   "ClockGating" "on"
    Option   "DynamicPM" "on"
EndSection
#
Section "Screen"
    Identifier   "Screen 1"
    Device   "Myrv770pita"
    Monitor   "X32GV-Komodo"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth      24
        Modes      "1360x768"
   Modes      "1920x1080i"
   Modes      "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum