Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mesa+gallium3d+r6xx: first impression
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 8:34 am    Post subject: mesa+gallium3d+r6xx: first impression Reply with quote

well I've took the plunge with my r635.
it works, glxinfo posts alot of data, glxgear is garbled, there is no acceleration but as I don't need it, it doesn't matters.
I'm testing it with kernel 2.5.34.3 will try with 34 later on.
it feels abit faster might be me thought.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rion
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 377
Location: Ekaterinburg, Russia

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.5.34.3 ? 8O where did you get it? 8O
_________________
~amd64
rion-overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rion wrote:
2.5.34.3 ? 8O where did you get it? 8O

2.6.33.3, my bad, typo...
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to hack the sources to make the gears run.

Anyway, the important thing is that this is out in the open now, so it's not only dependent on jglisse's time, other developers will (hopefully!) jump in.

The r300g devs in particular must have lots of know-how that can be useful to bring r600g up-to-speed, or at least that's my naive guess (many things will obviously be different).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
You need to hack the sources to make the gears run.

Anyway, the important thing is that this is out in the open now, so it's not only dependent on jglisse's time, other developers will (hopefully!) jump in.

The r300g devs in particular must have lots of know-how that can be useful to bring r600g up-to-speed, or at least that's my naive guess (many things will obviously be different).

I know, still as I don't need all the fancy features, I can use it and user the update to get them :)
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5877

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopefully this won't take as long to become usable as the old r600 3D...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wswartzendruber
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1261
Location: Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sweet. Gallium3D can't take over the world soon enough. Legacy Mesa really needs to die.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hallabro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you guys noticed the first r600g pull into the mesa repo?

Now off to play some more. :)

Edit: Aww, seems it doesn't enable any acceleration (yet) according to the x11-overlay log.
Code:
commit 37e0ece8d90bed9b3b02ef3918cf2fb88c3f406c
Author: Chi-Thanh Christopher Nguyen <chithanh@cs.tu-berlin.de>
Date:   Fri May 28 00:34:47 2010 +0200

    media-libs/mesa: disable r600g again
    It does not work and displaces classic, leading to no acceleration at all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hallabro wrote:
Have you guys noticed the first r600g pull into the mesa repo?

Now off to play some more. :)

Edit: Aww, seems it doesn't enable any acceleration (yet).

strange, after install, I was using the r600g but now I'm stuck on sw...
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those using media-libs/mesa-9999 from the x11 overlay, there is now an eselect mesa module to switch between classic and gallium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5387

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

found a bug, it seems that logging out of the user or/and screen went into off state/sleep/suspend makes the driver revert to sw.
info was passed to david airlied
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingoftherings
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
For those using media-libs/mesa-9999 from the x11 overlay, there is now an eselect mesa module to switch between classic and gallium.


That's awesome.
I had been afraid of enabling the gallium use flag because it would have disabled classic mesa.

Edit: Anyone using the llvm flag? equery says it's only for gallium, so I was just wondering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wswartzendruber
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1261
Location: Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kingoftherings wrote:
chithanh wrote:
For those using media-libs/mesa-9999 from the x11 overlay, there is now an eselect mesa module to switch between classic and gallium.


That's awesome.
I had been afraid of enabling the gallium use flag because it would have disabled classic mesa.

Edit: Anyone using the llvm flag? equery says it's only for gallium, so I was just wondering.

LLVM is used for Gallium3D's software rasterizer, among other things. r300g is also making use of it to emulate fragment shaders, or something like that.

Does the gallium USE flag work on hardened profiles yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5877

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
For those using media-libs/mesa-9999 from the x11 overlay, there is now an eselect mesa module to switch between classic and gallium.

Will that work for e.g. flipping between mesa r600 and gallium llvmpipe?


Last edited by Ant P. on Sun Jun 20, 2010 1:07 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As was already said, LLVM is only used for llvmpipe and r300g at this time. r600g and the other gallium drivers do not use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 482
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
For those using media-libs/mesa-9999 from the x11 overlay, there is now an eselect mesa module to switch between classic and gallium.


Code:

# eselect mesa list
i915 (Intel 915, 945)
i965 (Intel 965, G/Q3x, G/Q4x)
r300 (Radeon R300-R500)
r600 (Radeon R600-R700)
sw (Software renderer)
  classic *                 
  gallium                   
# eselect mesa set gallium
!!! Error: Usage: set [--auto|<family> <architecture>]
exiting


How do I make sure it's using the Nouveau gallium driver? Or have I misunderstood something?

Thanks
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For nouveau, you have no choice between gallium and classic. That is why eselect mesa does not show it. And the syntax is eselect mesa set family architecture, e.g.
Code:
eselect mesa set sw gallium
With
Code:
glxinfo | grep render
you can verify whether you are using gallium or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frostwarrior
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow man, thanks a lot!
Yesterday I played urt with the legacy mesa drivers. Hope the gallium driver develops well. If that's so, my video card preference will be flipped like a waffle. :)

I recently tried to use llvmpipe with gallium3d, but when I try to start a 3d app (from urban terror to glxgears) it shows this:
http://pastebin.com/A4A35GRE

I'm using mesa-9999, libdrm-999 and llvm-999
Code:
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.9-devel
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20


Code:
# emerge -vat libdrm mesa llvm

These are the packages that would be merged, in reverse order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] media-libs/mesa-9999  USE="classic gallium llvm nptl xcb -debug -motif -pic (-selinux)" VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau radeon -i810 -i915 -i965 -intel -mach64 -mga -none -r100 -r128 -r200 -r300 -r600 -radeonhd -savage -sis -tdfx -via -vmware" 0 kB [1]
[ebuild   R   ]  sys-devel/llvm-9999  USE="libffi -alltargets -debug -llvm-gcc -ocaml -test -udis86" 0 kB [0]
[ebuild   R   ]  x11-libs/libdrm-9999  USE="-libkms -static-libs" VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau radeon -intel -vmware" 0 kB [1]

Total: 3 packages (3 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Portage tree and overlays:
 [0] /usr/portage
 [1] /usr/local/portage/layman/x11

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No]


I use the xorg-x11 opengl implementation:
Code:
frost # eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   ati
  [2]   nvidia
  [3]   xorg-x11 *


Do you have an idea about the problem? I will try to investigate.
Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum