Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
no sound on a G5
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 785
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 6:56 pm    Post subject: no sound on a G5 Reply with quote

Well that's it. Silence. Not a peep. The PPC FAQ at http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml says to ensure that PowerMac DMA sound support is turned off but I can't find any such option in the 2.6.34 config. Does that FAQ item refer to an older kernel ?

Config at http://www.pastebin.org/283129 and emerge --info: http://www.pastebin.org/283141.
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You still have the snd_powermac stuff built in. Disable it.
Code:

CONFIG_SND_POWERMAC=m
CONFIG_SND_POWERMAC_AUTO_DRC=y


You should build these into your kernel, it's easier that way, but these should support your mac's sound system.
Code:

CONFIG_SND_AOA=m
CONFIG_SND_AOA_FABRIC_LAYOUT=m
CONFIG_SND_AOA_ONYX=m
CONFIG_SND_AOA_TAS=m
CONFIG_SND_AOA_TOONIE=m
CONFIG_SND_AOA_SOUNDBUS=m
CONFIG_SND_AOA_SOUNDBUS_I2S=m


You may also want to disable the USB sound device for now. If you want to be sure before you go recompiling the kernel, try to make sure that only the AOA modules are loaded. If you have the Powermac modules loaded, remove both the AOA and the Powermac modules, then reload the AOA modules.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 785
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 1:37 am    Post subject: A big step forwards Reply with quote

Thanks --- the internal speaker sound now works (or headphones if they be plugged in) but the optical output is still silent. I've kept the sound as modules because I like as minimal a kernel as possible. So now,
lsmod:
Module                  Size  Used by
udf                   111383  1
crc_itu_t               1782  1 udf
hfsplus                95855  1
radeon                992453  0
drm_kms_helper         35548  1 radeon
ttm                    78749  1 radeon
drm                   253704  3 radeon,drm_kms_helper,ttm
snd_aoa_codec_tas      16983  2
snd_aoa_fabric_layout    15049  6
snd_aoa                23243  2 snd_aoa_codec_tas,snd_aoa_fabric_layout
snd_aoa_i2sbus         26365  1
snd_aoa_soundbus        7277  2 snd_aoa_fabric_layout,snd_aoa_i2sbus
snd_pcm               119015  2 snd_aoa_i2sbus
snd_page_alloc         10277  1 snd_pcm
snd_timer              30042  2 snd_pcm
snd                    86229  16
snd_aoa_codec_tas,snd_aoa_fabric_layout,snd_aoa,snd_aoa_i2sbus,snd_pcm,snd_timer
pmac_zilog             25888  0
uninorth_agp           11425  1
serial_core            28084  1 pmac_zilog
soundcore              10559  1 snd
agpgart                48966  3 ttm,drm,uninorth_agp
pata_macio             19103  2
Maybe this modules listing is relevant to the X display problem which you have answered for me as well. Also,
alsamixer:
????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? AlsaMixer v1.0.23 ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
? Card: SoundByLayout                                                                                        F1:  Help               ?
? Chip: SoundByLayout                                                                                        F2:  System information ?
? View: F3:[Playback] F4: Capture  F5: All                                                                   F6:  Select sound card  ?
? Item: Headphone Detected [Off]                                                                             Esc: Exit               ?
?                                                                                                                                    ?
?                                                                                                                                    ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ?  ?                                              ?  ?      ?  ?      ?  ?                                    ?  ?      ?  ?     ?
?   ?  ?                                              ?  ?      ?  ?      ?  ?                                    ?  ?      ?  ?     ?
?   ?  ?                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????                                              ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????     ?
?   ????      ????      ????      ????      ????      ????      ????      ????      ????      ????      ????      ????      ????     ?
?   ?OO?      ?OO?      ?OO?      ?MM?      ?OO?                                    ?OO?      ?OO?      ?MM?      ?OO?               ?
?   ????      ????      ????      ????      ????                                    ????      ????      ????      ????               ?
?  71<>71                                              79        82      79<>79                                    81      84<>84    ?
?  Master   Headphone Headphone<Headphone>Speakers    Bass     Treble      PCM    Line-Out  Line-Out  Line-Out  DRC Range  Monitor   ?
?                                                                                                                                    ?
?                                                                                                                                    ?
??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
so some controls cannot be unmuted and some have no volume controls, which I suppose is expected if they are digital controls.

Can you suggest how to get the digital output working ?
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I've never used the digital out. What does dmesg say when you load the modules?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 785
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Sorry, I've never used the digital out. What does dmesg say when you load the modules?
dmesg:
irq: irq 1 on host /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/mpic@40000 mapped to virtual irq 21
  alloc irq_desc for 24 on node 0
  alloc kstat_irqs on node 0
irq: irq 2 on host /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/mpic@40000 mapped to virtual irq 24
snd-aoa-fabric-layout: Using PMF GPIOs
snd-aoa-codec-tas: found 'deq' node
snd-aoa-fabric-layout: can use this codec
  alloc irq_desc for 61 on node 0
  alloc kstat_irqs on node 0
irq: irq 61 on host /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/mpic@40000 mapped to virtual irq 61
  alloc irq_desc for 60 on node 0
  alloc kstat_irqs on node 0
irq: irq 60 on host /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/mpic@40000 mapped to virtual irq 60
snd-aoa-codec-tas: tas found, addr 0x35 on /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/i2c@18000/deq@6a
EXT3-fs (sda4): using internal journal
eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full-duplex.
eth0: Pause is enabled (rxfifo: 10240 off: 7168 on: 5632)
I've left a few lines before and after the sound stuff so you can see that all the sound-related output is there.

It does occur to me that if I knew what the digital sound device hardware was, I could probably enable that hardware by name, as there is support for quite a lot of sound hardware, but none of it marked "This is the digital HW on a G5".
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 785
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 2:36 am    Post subject: ALSA Configuration Reply with quote

My ALSA configuration is at http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=7320c38d2943f4b9bec273e164ee0e0f131b36bb.
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 785
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 4:39 am    Post subject: Start from the bottom Reply with quote

Could someone who is dual-booting MacOS have a look at the hardware information dialog and tell me what the digital audio hardware is called: chipset, manufacturer etc.

My MacOS X DVD is physically damaged and I'm unable to install MacOS X myself.
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All of the Apple G5's use AOA. There's nothing else to find.

TAS might support the digital I/O, but it's certainly possible that nobody has ever tried it before. What machine is this specifically (cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep -i machine) ? I have heard of digital being used on machines with ONYX codec support.

On my G5, I get:
Code:

snd-aoa-codec-onyx: found pcm3052
snd-aoa-codec-onyx: attached to onyx codec via i2c
snd-aoa-codec-onyx: created and attached onyx instance


And a "digital" control in alsamixer.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 785
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 1:05 am    Post subject: Thanks for looking Reply with quote

grep -i machine /proc/cpuinfo:
machine   :  PowerMac7.2
and
grep snd-aoa /var/log/messages:
May 31 21:59:56 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-fabric-layout: Using PMF GPIOs
May 31 21:59:56 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-tas: found 'deq' node
May 31 21:59:56 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-fabric-layout: can use this codec
May 31 21:59:56 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-tas: tas found, addr 0x35 on /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/i2c@18000/deq@6a
May 31 22:14:21 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-onyx: found k2-i2c, checking if onyx chip is on it
May 31 22:14:21 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-onyx: failed to read control register
May 31 22:14:21 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-onyx: failed to read control register
May 31 22:14:21 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa: fabric didn't like codec toonie
May 31 23:00:57 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-fabric-layout: Using PMF GPIOs
May 31 23:00:57 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-tas: found 'deq' node
May 31 23:00:57 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-fabric-layout: can use this codec
May 31 23:00:57 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-tas: tas found, addr 0x35 on /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/i2c@18000/deq@6a
Jun  1 01:08:35 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-fabric-layout: Using PMF GPIOs
Jun  1 01:08:35 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-tas: found 'deq' node
Jun  1 01:08:35 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-fabric-layout: can use this codec
Jun  1 01:08:35 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-tas: tas found, addr 0x35 on /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/i2c@18000/deq@6a
Jun  2 10:48:19 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-fabric-layout: Using PMF GPIOs
Jun  2 10:48:19 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-tas: found 'deq' node
Jun  2 10:48:19 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-fabric-layout: can use this codec
Jun  2 10:48:19 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-tas: tas found, addr 0x35 on /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/i2c@18000/deq@6a
and what is curious about that messages log is that snd-aoa-codec-onyx did occur during one boot, three days ago, but not since. I cannot explain that. In any case, it looks like my machine has -tas hardware rather than -onyx. I must confess to my ignorance about sound hardware. I thought a codec was a sound encoding format like .wav or .au but it seems to mean the hardware interface.
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 168

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:47 am    Post subject: Re: Thanks for looking Reply with quote

mounty1 wrote:
I thought a codec was a sound encoding format like .wav or .au but it seems to mean the hardware interface.

I thought so too, but apparently the term is used in a wider manner.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Codec

mounty1 wrote:

May 31 21:59:56 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-tas: tas found, addr 0x35 on /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/i2c@18000/deq@6a
May 31 22:14:21 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-onyx: found k2-i2c, checking if onyx chip is on it
May 31 22:14:21 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-onyx: failed to read control register
May 31 22:14:21 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa-codec-onyx: failed to read control register
May 31 22:14:21 alstoe kernel: snd-aoa: fabric didn't like codec toonie



Your sound layout id allows tas and onyx, at least so it seems. Toonie is not tried, again due to the layout id.

It would be much easier to look in Mac OS X' System Profiler which CODEC it uses. It may well be TAS and Onyx that is needed.

My experience is limited to
  • PowerMac3,6 aka Power Mac G4 “Mirrored Drive Doors” (MDD) – which uses aoa-codec-tas, and Mac OS X reports a Texas Instruments TAS3004 CODEC
  • and a PowerMac11,2 aka Power Mac G5 “Late 2005” – which uses aoa-codec-onyx, Mac OS X reports CODEC Burr Brown PCM3052 “Onyx” and Crystal Semiconductor CS84xx “Topaz”.

I haven't tried the digital out on my G5, and in lack of a suitable device to be connected to it I probably never will.

One thing that I would try is to remove aoa-codec-tas and let there be only aoa-codec-onyx and see what this will do. Maybe onyx cannot be used because tas is in the way.

If nothing works, I'd contact one of the developers for ALSA PowerMac/AOA, preferrably Johannes Berg who wrote ALSA AOA.
  • http://bugtrack.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Main_Page
  • http://bugtrack.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Matrix:Module-powermac
  • http://bugtrack.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Matrix:Module-aoa

Also, there is a Wiki that may be able to help.
  • http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php/Main_Page


I hope you'll get it working! Good luck!
Cheers, A.

EDIT – APPENDED:
Looking at /usr/src/linux-2.6.34-gentoo/sound/aoa/fabrics/layout.c I cannot find a PowerMac7,2, so maybe the author Johannes Berg had no chance yet to include and test it. You can also see that for my G5 PowerMac11,2 (in layout.c listed as “Quad PoweMac”) onyx is responsible for Analog In+Out and Digital Out, and topaz (which is included in aoa-codec-onyx) is responsible for Digital In.

There is something I wrote a while ago:
  • http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php/Aoa

What is your output of:
find /proc/device-tree/ -name layout-id | xargs hexdump -e '1/4 "0x%x\n"'

Search for these layout ids in /usr/src/linux-2.6.34-gentoo/sound/aoa/fabrics/layout.c to see if it gives any clues.

Cheers, A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mounty1
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 785
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:22 am    Post subject: movement Reply with quote

That find command gave 0x24 as the only output, which is 36 decimal, which is the tas codec. Only onyx and topaz include digital output. So it seems that PowerMac7,2 is not supported yet. I've emailed Johannes so I'll await his reply.
_________________
Michael Mounteney
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum