Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
nspluginwrapper 1.3.0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wait, you compile emul-linux-x86-* ?

I thought they were just precompiled binaries?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
playahater
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2005
Posts: 382
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pingufunkybeat wrote:
Wait, you compile emul-linux-x86-* ?

I thought they were just precompiled binaries?


they are .. my bad ..

:%s/compiling/emerging/g ..

cheers ..
_________________
http://droopia.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1177
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2010 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, no joy. Pages using flash objects are now unresponsive, and will not load completely. I get stuck on a FUTEX_WAIT call while they're loading elements.

Is anybody else getting this behavior? I've tried every version of adobe-flash in the 10 series.

I'm downgrading nspluginwrapper. I'll see what that does, and report back.

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1177
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I noticed something:

When I have an embedded flash object (say, some YouTube video of kittens snuggling with turtles or whatever), and press the Play button, nothing happens (as I've already said). But, on my internet traffic monitor, the download speed shoots up (from like 2k/s to over 800).

So, it's streaming the video; the player just isn't playing it, or buffering it. Any idea what would be causing this malfunction?

Thanks again for the help.

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkbasic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately adobe-flash-10.0.45.2-r1 with flashblock are still a better alternative.
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners:
they stop working properly when you open Windows...

Coltiva Linux, Windows si pianta da solo.


http://www.linuxsystems.it/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forkbomb
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Apr 2009
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExecutorElassus wrote:
When I have an embedded flash object (say, some YouTube video of kittens snuggling with turtles or whatever), and press the Play button, nothing happens (as I've already said). But, on my internet traffic monitor, the download speed shoots up (from like 2k/s to over 800).

So, it's streaming the video; the player just isn't playing it, or buffering it. Any idea what would be causing this malfunction?
I get pretty much the same thing -- the circle "spinny thing" in the middle that indicates buffering just spins indefinitely. Haven't bothered monitoring my network traffic, but all the other symptoms are the same -- widgets are there, just no video. Hulu gives a similar loading "spinny thing" until it tries streaming in ads, at which time the video area turns black (player controls still there).

So, not much to add other than "me too." I have the ~amd64 keyword set on mozilla-firefox (3.6.6), adobe-flash (10.1.53.64), and nspluginwrapper (1.3.0).

(I've been absent from Gentoo for quite awhile and this install is less than a week old, so I was chalking up my flash issues to being rusty... until I found this thread. I've tried pretty much all the stuff in this thread and still no dice.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

forkbomb wrote:
Hulu gives a similar loading "spinny thing" until it tries streaming in ads, at which time the video area turns black (player controls still there).



ok, so i had that too, and now it's working.

What's your flash path in ~/.huludesktop look like?

am heading to bed in 5 minutes and will be on my laptop where i have it working (I also have it working under Arch, using that same route)

I will post what I have there in a tick

On Arch I have it as such:

Code:

flash_location = /home/meat/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so


Code:

$ file /home/meat/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
/home/meat/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so: ELF 32-bit LSB shared object, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, stripped


Apparently I have all of these installed (surprised no conflicts?)

Code:

64 aur/lib32-flashplugin 10.1.53.64-2 [10.1.53.64-1 installed] (175)
    32-bit Macromedia flash plugin for Mozilla-based browsers (nonfree)

77 aur/nspluginwrapper-flash-prerelease 10.1.53.64-2 [10.1.53.64-1 installed] (57)
    32-bit flash 10.1 prerelease for arch64

1 aur/bin32-huludesktop 0.9.7-2 [installed] (8)
    Official Hulu Desktop client for Linux. You may need to edit ~/.huludesktop to the correct path of your Flash plugin.


I can't remember if I had to edit the PKGBUILD or not to force it to do 32bit.
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash


Last edited by cach0rr0 on Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forkbomb
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Apr 2009
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
What's your flash path in ~/.huludesktop look like?
Oops. Sorry... should have mentioned I just watch Hulu from FF. I've never used Hulu Desktop, but I'll give it a try when I get a minute.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

forkbomb wrote:
I've never used Hulu Desktop, but I'll give it a try when I get a minute.


aye, that's the route I had to go unfortunately. Of course turns out I prefer it anyway, so I haven't looked at getting it to work in browsers for a bit.
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, on gentoo, here is what i have

Code:

[I] media-tv/huludesktop
     Available versions:  (~)0.9.7!m!s (~)0.9.7-r1!m!s {lirc}
     Installed versions:  0.9.7-r1!m!s(03:57:11 06/25/10)(-lirc)
     Homepage:            http://www.hulu.com/labs/hulu-desktop-linux
     Description:         Hulu desktop

[I] www-plugins/adobe-flash
     Available versions:  (~)9.0.159.0!m!s[1] (~)9.0.277.0!m!s 10.0.45.2!m!s (~)10.0.45.2-r1!m!s 10.1.53.64!m!s {+32bit +64bit multilib}
     Installed versions:  10.1.53.64!m!s(03:58:40 06/25/10)(multilib)
     Homepage:            http://www.adobe.com/go/kb406791
     Description:         Adobe Flash Player

[I] www-plugins/nspluginwrapper
     Available versions:  1.2.2-r2 (~)1.3.0
     Installed versions:  1.3.0(04:09:08 06/25/10)
     Homepage:            http://www.gibix.net/projects/nspluginwrapper/
     Description:         Netscape Plugin Wrapper - Load 32bit plugins on 64bit browser


Code:

flash_location = /home/meat/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so


Code:

meat@laptop02 ~ $ qfile libflashplayer.so
www-plugins/adobe-flash (/opt/netscape/plugins32/libflashplayer.so)
www-plugins/adobe-flash (/usr/lib32/nsbrowser/plugins/libflashplayer.so)
meat@laptop02 ~ $ ls -l /usr/lib32/nsbrowser/plugins/libflashplayer.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 41 Jun 25 03:58 /usr/lib32/nsbrowser/plugins/libflashplayer.so -> /opt/netscape/plugins32/libflashplayer.so



I had to do some trickery I think, because

Code:

$ file /home/meat/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
/home/meat/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so: ELF 64-bit LSB shared object, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, stripped

$ file `which huludesktop.bin`
/opt/bin/huludesktop.bin: ELF 64-bit LSB executable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.6.8, stripped


Code:

laptop02 plugins # diff /home/meat/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib64/nsbrowser/plugins/npwrapper.libflashplayer.so
laptop02 plugins #


i should have documented this better. but apparently in my fiddling, i copied /usr/lib64/nsbrowser/plugins/npwrapper.libflashplayer.so to ~/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so

I think this npwrapper.libflashplayer.so gets created by ndiswrapper (automagically if you emerge flash THEN emerge the ndiswrapper).

seems to be what works for me, just watched 5 minutes of family guy to make sure it wasnt just the commercials working.

Hope that helps? YMMV
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forkbomb
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Apr 2009
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
i should have documented this better. but apparently in my fiddling, i copied /usr/lib64/nsbrowser/plugins/npwrapper.libflashplayer.so to ~/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so

Who knows what's automatic and what isn't, but thanks! That did it. I actually did
Code:
cp /usr/lib64/nsbrowser/plugins/npwrapper.libflashplayer.so ~/.mozilla/plugins

and that worked too. FF must not care about the file name?

Addendum:
Hulu Desktop from Portage works fine too once I set the path (I pointed it straight to /usr/lib64/nsbrowser/plugins/npwrapper.libflashplayer.so rather than in my home dir -- same difference I guess).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

possible it makes no difference, i think i was just so desperate to get it working i tried changing things that shouldn't have logically made any sense.

I was floundering. But well, the floundering worked. Probably all i needed to do was exactly that, merge the 64bit huludesktop, merge flash+ndiswrapper, then point .huludesktop at the wrapped 32bit version.
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1177
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whoa. I just emerget the -r1 of the 10.1 flashplayer, and now all my flash videos (youtube, vimeo, etc) play just fine. This is really weird, since the only change was moving libflashplayer.so to another directory.

far out.

Ah well, it works. So, uh, thanks?

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my dilemma began when I just emerged the latest flash player...

I left my /etc/make.conf file alone even as it asked for the 10.1 license, subsequently not installing flash 10.1 and leaving flash 10.0.45-r1 in place...

BUT...I finally buckled, thinking that the latest flash would "work" -- it did not even after changing my Konqueror Plugins and following other work arounds.

Thanks to this article, I downgraded to 10.0.45-r1, re-emerged nspluginwrapper, scanned for new plugins in konqueror, installed them and I'm back in business, using 10.0.45-r1

...what I learned: if it's not broke...you know the rest...
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum