Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
vmware-server2 webui
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
madchaz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 993
Location: Quebec, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 2:06 am    Post subject: vmware-server2 webui Reply with quote

Good day everyone,
I'm trying to find out if anyone as found a way to connect to the vmware-server 2 web UI with something else then IE. In firefox, I can't get anything at all of it to load and as far as I know, it's the only other supported (yea right) browser.

I'd hate to have to reboot to windows just to work on my VMs ...
_________________
Someone asked me once if I suffered from mental illness. I told him I enjoyed every second of it.
www.madchaz.com A small candle of a website. As my lab specs on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nativemad
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 903
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

You have to un-tick "SSL 3.0" under firefox's preferences in extended / encryption (sorry, i'm not sure if this is correctly translated, as my firefox is in german over here...)

HTH
_________________
Power to the people!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had this work with firefox and at the same time not work with IE. Then a day later not work with either. The webui for vmware server is full of bugs like this. I got tired of messing with it so I moved to virtualbox but that gave me other problems so I have moved to kvm. kvm is considerably faster than either of these and also is more reliable but it lacks a little in ease of use. Well at least with libvirt it's manageable.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madchaz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 993
Location: Quebec, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would use KVM except it requires a newer CPU then what I have in my server to work with any kind of speed. For my current hardware, Vmware is pretty much the only solution.

I haven't had any problems getting it work with IE. I'll try to disable SSL3 and see if that works.
_________________
Someone asked me once if I suffered from mental illness. I told him I enjoyed every second of it.
www.madchaz.com A small candle of a website. As my lab specs on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum