Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox 4.0 beta out- works nice so far
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6013

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're using GTK Firefox in KDE you might also want to try x11-themes/oxygen-gtk, it's not an emulation layer like gtk-engines-qt4 so it should blend in much better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oxygen-gtk works great with Firefox, but native qt support is implemented, works, and is generally a preferable solution :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6111
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone getting the following error ?:
Quote:
In file included from gfxTeeSurface.cpp:46:0:
../../dist/system_wrappers/cairo-tee.h:3:28: fatal error: cairo-tee.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
make[4]: *** [gfxTeeSurface.o] Error 1
make[4]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[4]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/net-libs/xulrunner-2.0_beta10_pre/work/mozilla-central/gfx/thebes'
make[3]: *** [libs] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/net-libs/xulrunner-2.0_beta10_pre/work/mozilla-central/gfx'
make[2]: *** [libs_tier_platform] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/net-libs/xulrunner-2.0_beta10_pre/work/mozilla-central'
make[1]: *** [tier_platform] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/net-libs/xulrunner-2.0_beta10_pre/work/mozilla-central'
make: *** [default] Error 2
emake failed


edit:

FYI:

seems to be an overlay-problem on my side:

upstream (gentoo devs) added

--enable-tee=yes

in the portage-tree ebuild
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D


Last edited by kernelOfTruth on Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't compile Firefox with system cairo anymore. The Mozilla folks have patched their internal cairo copy and the rest of the code depends on the patched functionality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4329
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
You can't compile Firefox with system cairo anymore. The Mozilla folks have patched their internal cairo copy and the rest of the code depends on the patched functionality.


Yeah, I looked at all it would take to compile the latest and just walked away from it, I have no idea what their patched cairo,
patched libpng, etc would do to my system, and I'm not planning on being a guinea pig to find out.

I'm still using beta 6 which works well enough, until they put out the final ff 4
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6111
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
You can't compile Firefox with system cairo anymore. The Mozilla folks have patched their internal cairo copy and the rest of the code depends on the patched functionality.


no no !

just using system's x11-libs/cairo (or my updated overlay ebuild with the above mentioned changes) worked fine for me

so it compiled fine for me

now using beta10 :D
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quezak
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
Gusar wrote:
You can't compile Firefox with system cairo anymore. The Mozilla folks have patched their internal cairo copy and the rest of the code depends on the patched functionality.


no no !
just using system's x11-libs/cairo (or my updated overlay ebuild with the above mentioned changes) worked fine for me
so it compiled fine for me
now using beta10 :D


Also confirming, with cairo-1.10.2-r1 from the main tree beta10 compiles and works fine.
But very soon I installed FF 3.6 back -- I have 28 addons, about 10 of which are a "cant-live-without-it", and only one or two are actually working in FF 4 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://addons.mozilla.org/af/firefox/addon/add-on-compatibility-reporter/ solves most problems with addons, by simply forcing them to run without compatibility check.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, yesterday I finally did what I should've done much earlier - checked Mozilla's bugzilla. There I found this: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=623797. With the system-cairo-fixup patch I could indeed compile Firefox against system cairo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5710
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just noticed if you hide the menubar (to make a more chrome interface) you get a fugly minefield text button for the dropdown while for windows it is shinyshiny

any idea for the cause of this?
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roums
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 8:43 am    Post subject: Sound problem with firefox-bin-4 Reply with quote

Hi,

I just have tested the firefox-bin-4.01 :

It's working well expected for the sound :

I heard a ding regulary (interval between 5 & 40 sec) when firefox4-bin is running & another apps is using the sound
(also tested with firefox empty configuration & just one tab open & empty )

Error on the console :
May 13 10:32:35 localhost pulseaudio[1438]: alsa-sink.c: Error opening PCM device surround51:0: Périphérique ou ressource occupé
May 13 10:32:35 localhost pulseaudio[1438]: sink-input.c: Failed to create sink input: sink is suspended.
...
Same thing many time
...

Error on /var/log/messages :
May 13 00:23:16 localhost pulseaudio[1388]: ratelimit.c: 50 events suppressed

Any idea ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pierro78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://googlereader.blogspot.com/2011/02/updates-to-google-reader-app-for.html segmentation faults my firefox 4.0.1 from sources :(
working good with firefox-bin though ;)
_________________
gentoo on :
SDHC card (panasonic R4) with a fast firefox
512MB IBM Thinkpad X40
HP 2510p
PC with FOXCONN G9657MA-8KS2H MB & Intel Q6600 CPU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pierro78 wrote:
http://googlereader.blogspot.com/2011/02/updates-to-google-reader-app-for.html segmentation faults my firefox 4.0.1 from sources :(
working good with firefox-bin though ;)


That page loads without problems in Firefox 4.0.1 here.

~amd64 CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native -pipe"
Using Adblock Plus, Enter Selects, Omnibar
net-libs/xulrunner-2.0.1 USE="alsa crashreporter custom-optimization dbus ipc libnotify startup-notification webm -debug -gconf -system-sqlite -wifi"
www-client/firefox-4.0.1 USE="alsa custom-optimization dbus ipc libnotify startup-notification webm -bindist -debug -system-sqlite -wifi"
www-plugins/adobe-flash-10.2.159.1_p201011173 USE="32bit 64bit (multilib) vdpau -bindist"
no java plugin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pierro78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the feedback, here are my details :

stable x86, CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -march=native"
(went from -march=pentium-m to -march=native a couple of weeks ago & I didn't re-emerge everything ...)

Quote:
panar4 portage # more package.keywords
x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel ~x86
x11-libs/libdrm ~x86
sys-power/suspend ~x86
dev-libs/libgpg-error ~x86
www-client/chromium ~x86
dev-util/chromium-tools ~x86
dev-lang/v8 ~x86
media-libs/libwebp ~x86
virtual/ffmpeg ~x86
www-client/firefox-bin ~x86
www-client/firefox ~x86
net-libs/xulrunner ~x86
media-libs/libpng ~x86
dev-libs/nss ~x86
dev-libs/nspr ~x86
media-video/ffmpeg ~x86
media-libs/x264 ~x86
media-sound/lame ~x86
media-video/vlc ~x86
sys-process/nmon ~x86
sys-power/phc-intel ~x86
media-video/mplayer ~x86
media-libs/libass ~x86
media-libs/libmp4v2 ~x86
media-libs/libdv ~x86
media-libs/speex ~x86
media-video/dirac ~x86
media-libs/libsndfile ~x86
media-libs/faac ~x86
media-libs/schroedinger ~x86
media-sound/twolame ~x86
dev-lang/orc ~x86
media-video/gnome-mplayer ~x86
media-video/smplayer ~x86
dev-libs/lzo ~x86
=sys-kernel/pf-sources-2.6.37_p6 ~x86
net-libs/libproxy ~x86
panar4 portage #


Would segfault without extension (empty profile)
Quote:


panar4 portage # emerge --ask --verbose firefox

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild NS ] sys-devel/autoconf-2.13 [2.65-r1] 0 kB
[ebuild N ] app-dicts/myspell-en-20081002 0 kB
[ebuild N ] app-dicts/myspell-fr-20060316 0 kB
[ebuild N ] app-text/hunspell-1.2.11 USE="ncurses nls readline" LINGUAS="en fr -af -bg -ca -cs -cy -da -de -el -eo -es -et -fo -ga -gl -he -hr -hu -id -it -ku -lt -lv -mk -ms -nb -nl -nn -pl -pt -ro -ru -sk -sl -sv -sw -tn -uk -zu" 0 kB
[ebuild N ] net-libs/xulrunner-2.0.1 USE="alsa crashreporter dbus ipc libnotify startup-notification webm -custom-optimization -debug -gconf -system-sqlite -wifi" 0 kB
[ebuild N ] www-client/firefox-4.0.1 USE="alsa dbus ipc libnotify startup-notification webm -bindist -custom-optimization -debug -system-sqlite -wifi" LINGUAS="en fr -af -ak -ar -ast -be -bg -bn -bn_BD -bn_IN -br -bs -ca -cs -cy -da -de -el -en_ZA -eo -es -es_ES -et -eu -fa -fi -fy -fy_NL -ga -ga_IE -gd -gl -gu -gu_IN -he -hi -hi_IN -hr -hu -hy -hy_AM -id -is -it -ja -kk -kn -ko -ku -lg -lt -lv -mai -mk -ml -mr -nb -nb_NO -nl -nn -nn_NO -nso -or -pa -pa_IN -pl -pt -pt_PT -rm -ro -ru -si -sk -sl -son -sq -sr -sv -sv_SE -ta -ta_LK -te -th -tr -uk -vi -zu" 0 kB


Quote:
panar4 portage # emerge --ask --verbose adobe-flash

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] www-plugins/adobe-flash-10.2.159.1 USE="-vdpau" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB



no java either


... any idea ? ... maybe I should try with custom-optimization ?
_________________
gentoo on :
SDHC card (panasonic R4) with a fast firefox
512MB IBM Thinkpad X40
HP 2510p
PC with FOXCONN G9657MA-8KS2H MB & Intel Q6600 CPU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pierro78 wrote:
... any idea ? ... maybe I should try with custom-optimization ?

No idea. I think custom-optimization would make it compile with -O2 from your CFLAGS instead of -Os. It's conceivable that gcc 4.4.5 could have a bug with -Os.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pierro78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tried re-emerging firefox 4.0.1 with custom-optimization ... still no dice :(
_________________
gentoo on :
SDHC card (panasonic R4) with a fast firefox
512MB IBM Thinkpad X40
HP 2510p
PC with FOXCONN G9657MA-8KS2H MB & Intel Q6600 CPU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anarchy
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pierro78 wrote:
tried re-emerging firefox 4.0.1 with custom-optimization ... still no dice :(


There is a font issue with pango on x86, we have an open bug for it in bugzilla. I will try to make time this week to address this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pierro78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pierro78 wrote:
http://googlereader.blogspot.com/2011/02/updates-to-google-reader-app-for.html segmentation faults my firefox 4.0.1 from sources :(
page working good with newer pango on x86 ... thanks devs !
_________________
gentoo on :
SDHC card (panasonic R4) with a fast firefox
512MB IBM Thinkpad X40
HP 2510p
PC with FOXCONN G9657MA-8KS2H MB & Intel Q6600 CPU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creiss
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 97
Location: Dortmund

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:29 am    Post subject: FireFox 5 Reply with quote

Hey folks,

How to emerge Firefox 5?
I tried a fresh sync, its not there?! Someone's asleep? ;)
Also tried layman (alas, i never used it before) and used overlays sabayon and mozilla, still no joy.

Need FF5 desperatly to continue to code!

Help!
-Chris.
_________________
Registered Linux User #38359 (http://counter.li.org)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pierro78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FF5 is still in testing ( http://packages.gentoo.org/package/www-client/firefox ) ... but it seems to work good :)
_________________
gentoo on :
SDHC card (panasonic R4) with a fast firefox
512MB IBM Thinkpad X40
HP 2510p
PC with FOXCONN G9657MA-8KS2H MB & Intel Q6600 CPU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creiss
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 97
Location: Dortmund

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was about to edit my post:

Fixed it. I am not telling you how I did it. It has nothing to do with not unmasking firefox. No. It was something different that does not make me look like a total dork.

-Chris.
_________________
Registered Linux User #38359 (http://counter.li.org)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum