Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde-4.5 does not work with xorg-server-1.8.99.905
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gh0str1d3r
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 411

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:15 pm    Post subject: kde-4.5 does not work with xorg-server-1.8.99.905 Reply with quote

This is more an information than a question:

If you are upgrading to kde-4.5 and experience segmentation faults after the login, this is possible due to the fact that kde-4.5 does not work with xorg-server-1.8.99.905 (at least for me). So you should consider downgrading xorg-server to the latest version in portage tree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z_sfeng
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 154
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I second this :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where did you pick your Xorg-server version ? From the X11 Overlay ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7108
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xorg-server-9999 works for me, I also had issues with 1.8.99.905 at some point but that was related to other live X dependencies that needed to be unmasked additionally I think.

Anyway, this should go into Unsupported Software.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z_sfeng
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 154
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Where did you pick your Xorg-server version ? From the X11 Overlay ?

Yes. X11 overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3251
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having this problem, too, plus panel disappears and gradually reappears in unpredictable segments after 15-20 seconds, seemingly at random. :?

However, I also have another graphics problem, which is troubling.

When I move any window (dolphin, konsole, firefox, konqueror- whatever), by left click/holding the title bar and dragging, hundreds of identical windows trail the main windows all over the screen, remaining until I release the left click. There are still corrupted vestitages of 2-3 surrounding the original window border (whever the final position is), and moving the cursor over those borders partially removes them. Closing and reopening the windows wipes out all traces of the multiple windows.

I'm thinking it must be a qt and/or an xorg-server version problem. I'm using ~Arch qt-4.6.3, and xorg-server-1.8.2. Anyone seeing this, and know what's happening?
Maybe a complete qt then kde-4.5.0 rebuild? try a 9999 xorg-server? :?

This is an ~amd64/gcc-4.5.1/graphite box. revdep-rebuild only turned up imagemagick, which I rebuilt.
Other than that, it's looking pretty good. :D

EDIT: OK- it appears it's not an xorg-server problem, as it doesn't occur when booted to gnome. Looks more like kde/compositing desktop effects to me.

EDIT2: OK- Disabling ALL desktop effects and compositing doesn't fix it. Now I'm thinking forget about graphite- disable it and do a complete rebuild. ( or maybe just qt and kde). Is there any other possible cause?
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
savalas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrc1944 wrote:
I'm having this problem, too, plus panel disappears and gradually reappears in unpredictable segments after 15-20 seconds, seemingly at random. :?
Do they flicker? Mine flicker, but windows flicker too and that's related to compositing (turning it off fixes it.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7108
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@wrc1944: graphite is not the culprit, at least on my system everything runs fine. (qt-4.6.3, kde-4.5 with Xrender, xorg-server-9999, gcc-4.5.1 +graphite, i915 KMS). Of course, I can't test with OpenGL compositing because kwin says it won't. ;)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3251
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@genstorm: I found that out the hard way, as usual. :lol:
I did a gcc-4.5.1 rebuild (without graphite), then an emerge -e @system (277 packages), then a complete qt-4.6.3 rebuild (12 packages), then my complete kde install rebuild (currently at 111 packages). Same problem ocurring. :cry:

Then I went to system settings->window behavior, and enabled the "show content when moving/resizing windows" items), and the problem disappears, with content in the moving windows. For years, iI had by default always unchecked "show content" as I thought it hurt performance (which it did). This was the whole problem. That it's solved, great, but now even if I uncheck "show content" it doesn't obey, and still shows content when moved. :o
Oh well- at least no more spawning of dragged windows all over the place. :D

Afterwards, I also went to Xrender instead of OpenGL, and that seemed to help with the panel aberrational behavior. (In fact, kwin shut down on it's own my compositing too when I had OpenGL selected).
However, now that I think about it, the first time I rebuilt I only did emerge -e @system, where I saw a bunch of qt packages and just assumed @system was rebuilding all the qt packages. Subsequently, I realized it only rebuilt 6 of them, so probably that contributed to the weird graphical behavior. After I did a complete qt rebuild, things are better.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum