Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE overlay
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dolphinaura
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:00 pm    Post subject: KDE overlay Reply with quote

Im curious. How stable is the current kde 4.5.1 overlay? (I cant add it right now, because the gentoo overlays are down, but planning on trying it later?)
_________________
------------------------
Dolphinaura
http://twitter.com/dolphinaura
http://dolphinaura.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssteinberg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works smoothly so far for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2584
Location: userland

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:23 pm    Post subject: Re: KDE overlay Reply with quote

dolphinaura wrote:
Im curious. How stable is the current kde 4.5.1 overlay? (I cant add it right now, because the gentoo overlays are down, but planning on trying it later?)

Was built and is running without problems on my machine, except desktop effects aren't working right now, but I can live with that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
root_tux_linux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 966

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah overlays.gentoo.org is down :/

want my kde 4.5.1 :/
_________________
Intel Core i7 6700K@4.6GHz, Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti G1, Gigabyte Gaming 7, Hyper X Fury 32GB, 2 TB Samsung EVO 840 Basic
ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q Display
ASUS ROG ASUS G771JW Notebook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manko10
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Aug 2010
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using KDE 4.5.0 and am gonna upgrade soon but the only problem I noticed with this build is that KDE sometimes hangs on shutdown. I get a message that knotify4 has crashed and then only an ACPI event can kill KDE. But this problem is not reliably reproducible.
_________________
Refining Linux Advent calendar series 2010: “24 Short Linux Hints
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbouzan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've always used KDE overlay, because when I first installed Gentoo portage didn't have the latest version and the overlay did. Problems have been rare, except for the mirrors not having the files if you emerge an updated version too quickly. Does anyone else notice, though, that eix-update takes forever on the KDE overlay? Much longer than it does on the main tree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manko10
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Aug 2010
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep. KDE overlay is not in your dependency cache but you can speed up your eix-update when you first do an emerge --regen. Normally you shouldn't do this but for KDE overlay it seems to be necessary.
_________________
Refining Linux Advent calendar series 2010: “24 Short Linux Hints
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dolphinaura
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does anyone know when the overylays are going to be up again? or how I can manually add the kde overlay?
_________________
------------------------
Dolphinaura
http://twitter.com/dolphinaura
http://dolphinaura.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7961
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=335509
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dolphinaura
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

overlays back up. (pingable)
_________________
------------------------
Dolphinaura
http://twitter.com/dolphinaura
http://dolphinaura.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hunky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 821
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried the overlay a few times but each time I have to redo my sets. Portage puts them in /etc/portage/sets whereas when I added the overlay - I got messages about sets being all screwed up. So had to convert them to place that the overlay liked. Not sure if that is still the case or I was doing something wrong.. how do folk manage it nowadays - is it just as easy as doing a mv on portage sets to where-ever overlay wants 'em?

[edit] oh yeah, and editing make.conf to point to overlay was necessary - maybe not so much now?

thx, JD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 923
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am using trunk and even that works super :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kornhs4
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 83
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use kde-4.5.1 since 8 hours without any problem so far. The only issue I had was that icons did not show up in the system tray. It helped to delete /var/tmp/kdecache-USERNAME. However, no crash, no weird behaviour so far.
_________________
_________________
Life would be easier
if i had the source code
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geaaru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, i have upgrade my env to kde-4.5.1 with nvidia quadro fX2800 but is unstable.
Before upgradeo to nvidia-driver 256.53 computer freeze was happens often. Then with upgrade, freeze of my laptop happens only sometime.

I will downgrade to kde-4.4.5 ASAP. :'(

I will hope for a 4.5.2 version...

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum