Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New Cairo 1.10.0 results in huge performance drop?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4209
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note: I sync emerge early morning

When I got round to checking for updates this morning cairo 1.10.0-r1 wanted to recompile with the "qt4" USE flag
(I have it set globally) and when I started up X and brought up deluge, it would segfault every time.
I recompiled with the "qt4" flag removed and deluge is working fine again.

I did see that there is a "-r3" of cairo and I downloaded the ebuild, but the emerge crashed when trying to apply the patch early on.
So I went back to the -r1 version.


These are the flags from my ebuild that works (for me)
x11-libs/cairo-1.10.0-r1 USE="X opengl svg xcb (-aqua) -debug -directfb -doc (-drm) (-gallium) -openvg -qt4 -static-libs"
in case anyone is interested.


Edit to add: I built cairo 1.10.0-r3 this morning and it worked fine, with the exception that if the "qt4" flag is enabled it causes a segfault in deluge (I don't know why as deluge doesn't use qt4, but does use gtk) so I just removed it from cairo and things are working fine.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon


Last edited by Anon-E-moose on Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:03 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jhedron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ssuominen wrote:
just FYI

cairo-1.10.0-r2 and also now cairo-1.10.0-r3 should take care of most these rendering / performance issues


I just upgraded to cairo-1.10.0-r3 earlier this evening and everything is working just swell now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gqman69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright so cario r3 seems to work.

Actually, it is somewhat faster (in real world experience)
but what exactly is the patch?

Disabling the gradients?

Aaron seems to say there is some problem with the nvidia driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr_Maniac
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only have one problem with cairo-1.10 so far:
Some animated GIFs are not being displayed correctly in my firefox.
They are "blinking". I mean: it renders a few frames, disappear, renders the same frames again, disappears...

But only a few GIFs are showing these behaviours...
_________________
Intel Core i7 6700
ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING
32 GB DDR4 RAM
GeForce GTX 1070
Gentoo Linux (most recent stable kernel - amd64)
Windows 10 x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4209
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mr_Maniac wrote:
I only have one problem with cairo-1.10 so far:
Some animated GIFs are not being displayed correctly in my firefox.
They are "blinking". I mean: it renders a few frames, disappear, renders the same frames again, disappears...

But only a few GIFs are showing these behaviours...


Rebuilding firefox/xulrunner might fix that
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have same problem. Rebuilding didn't helped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4209
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for firefox 3.* then roll back cairo to pre 1.10.0

or update to the ff 4 beta versions.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gqman69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ff4 freaking rules.

Also about:config -> disable all logging and put all remaining logs to error not debug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gqman69 wrote:
ff4 freaking rules.

Also about:config -> disable all logging and put all remaining logs to error not debug.


this is a little off-topic but:

setting from "debug" to "nodebug" or what ?


thanks for cairo 1.10.0-r3 !
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gqman69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you filter by "log" you should see a bunch of log keys with "debug" as the default logging level.

Just put "Error" instead and also disable anything that is a debug log.

In newer betas some are disabled by default so just check that out.


kernelOfTruth wrote:
gqman69 wrote:
ff4 freaking rules.

Also about:config -> disable all logging and put all remaining logs to error not debug.


this is a little off-topic but:

setting from "debug" to "nodebug" or what ?


thanks for cairo 1.10.0-r3 !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Folks, do we have a handle on what happened to lcdfilter and cleartype USE flags. What provides the same behavior?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
Folks, do we have a handle on what happened to lcdfilter and cleartype USE flags. What provides the same behavior?


PaulBredbury has the answer (if you haven't looked already)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
lcdfilter and cleartype USE flags

You want the lcd-filtering overlay. They have updated the Ubuntu patch for cairo 1.10.0 - edit: the new patch contains very little, so I assume that cairo includes the needed changes. I'm using Infinality's rendering, rather than Ubuntu's rendering, these days anyway.

Edit2: And the cleartype USE flag in lcd-filtering's cairo 1.10.0-r3 looks useless.

On-topic, the slowdown is solved by cairo-1.10.0-buggy_gradients.patch


Last edited by PaulBredbury on Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:35 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
devsk wrote:
lcdfilter and cleartype USE flags

You want the lcd-filtering overlay. They have updated the Ubuntu patch for cairo 1.10.0

On-topic, the slowdown is solved by cairo-1.10.0-buggy_gradients.patch


which should be included in cairo-1.10.0-r3

for me it didn't make any difference but it should for nvidia and (probably also) intel users
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gqman69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Infinality = Wow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssteinberg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
devsk wrote:
lcdfilter and cleartype USE flags

Edit2: And the cleartype USE flag in lcd-filtering's cairo 1.10.0-r3 looks useless.

On-topic, the slowdown is solved by cairo-1.10.0-buggy_gradients.patch


Again, if you want cleartype use patch I posted on bugzilla.
Either use cleartype with this patch, or lcdfilter from the overlay. IMHO, cleartype gives better antialiasing, Infinality has a trace of blur on the fonts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum