Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[kde-testing] and [kde-crazy] KDE4 overlays thread (part 5)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 19, 20, 21  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shining Arcanine
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 1110

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

energyman76b wrote:
arcane and random breakage ;)

just like an emerge -e world after switching to 4.5.1 completely destroyed my system (init going oom is not fun. Or bash. Or zsh). Others are happy and everything works, I will stay with 4.4 for a little bit longer.


What CPU do you use and what are your CFLAGS? I have a suspicion that the issue is linked to this. I have an Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 and I use the following CFLAGS:

Code:
CFLAGS="-march=core2 -mtune=core2 -mcx16 -msahf -msse4.1 --param l1-cache-size=32 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=6144 -O2 -pipe"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
energyman76b
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 2045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not entirely sure because I also wrecked make.conf, but it was something like this:
CFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -msse3 -msse4a -mabm -fpredictive-commoning -mfpmath=sse -fgraphite-identity -floop-block -floop-interchange -floop-strip-mine -pipe"
on a Phenom II 955
_________________
Study finds stunning lack of racial, gender, and economic diversity among middle-class white males

I identify as a dirty penismensch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheDodger
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Aug 2002
Posts: 126
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:35 am    Post subject: k3b moved to kde-git Reply with quote

hi guys!

i read just at http://www.planetkde.org/ that k3b has moved to the KDE git infrastructure.

i have change the ebuild manually to test & update my k3b-9999'er version:

Code:

if [[ ${PV} != *9999* ]]; then
        KDE_LINGUAS="ast be bg ca ca@valencia cs csb da de el en_GB eo es et eu fi fr ga
        gl he hi hne hr hu is it ja km ko ku lt mai nb nds nl nn oc pa pl pt pt_BR ro ru
        se sk sl sv th tr uk zh_CN zh_TW"

       SRC_URI="mirror://sourceforge/${PN}/${P/_}.tar.bz2"

        DOCS=( FAQ PERMISSIONS README RELEASE_HOWTO )

        S=${WORKDIR}/${P/_*}
else

        EGIT_REPO_URI="git://anongit.kde.org/k3b"
        GIT_ECLASS="git"

        DOCS=( FAQ.txt PERMISSIONS.txt README.txt )
fi

inherit kde4-base ${GIT_ECLASS}


thats was it.

have fun :)


i hope that hal dies in next time ... k3b is last application that needs hal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheDodger
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Aug 2002
Posts: 126
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:38 am    Post subject: KDE4.6Beta2 Reply with quote

Yesterday, i find out, the 'KDE4.6 Beta2' are available.

Only kget has problem, the rest runs fine. ;)

Regards from Hamburg!

PS The Mailtransport ist not fully functional, thats right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shining Arcanine
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 1110

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

energyman76b wrote:
I am not entirely sure because I also wrecked make.conf, but it was something like this:
CFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -msse3 -msse4a -mabm -fpredictive-commoning -mfpmath=sse -fgraphite-identity -floop-block -floop-interchange -floop-strip-mine -pipe"
on a Phenom II 955


Some combination of -fgraphite-identity -floop-block -floop-interchange -floop-strip-mine probably caused your issues. I used to use graphite flags and I had issues compiling things. Since removing them, I have had no issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 946
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think its actually quite painful to update KDE nowadays. Usually its "advised" (well, in fact in most cases its just mandatory) to remove the previous version and then re-install everything. If KDE is ur main/only WM u will have to live with terminal until kdelibs decide to compile. If something terrible happen and there is a particular bug which prevents u from building, u just are obligated to downgrade it again - but oh, what if the previous version was removed from portage?

This was my case for a long time. Upgrading it now and praying that nothing will break. I still have e17, but I mostly use kate/kwrite and other stuffs like that...
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbouzan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holysword wrote:
I think its actually quite painful to update KDE nowadays. Usually its "advised" (well, in fact in most cases its just mandatory) to remove the previous version and then re-install everything. If KDE is ur main/only WM u will have to live with terminal until kdelibs decide to compile. If something terrible happen and there is a particular bug which prevents u from building, u just are obligated to downgrade it again - but oh, what if the previous version was removed from portage?

This was my case for a long time. Upgrading it now and praying that nothing will break. I still have e17, but I mostly use kate/kwrite and other stuffs like that...

Is that the case with live builds? I've frequently started to update KDE components on a minor update (4.5.1 to 4.5.2, not 4.4 to 4.5), stopped the compile and restarted the computer, and continued to use it with no issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coolsnowmen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 1479
Location: No.VA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:05 pm    Post subject: version numbers out of step Reply with quote

It used to be that basically all of kde (with the notable exceptions of amarok, k3b, kdevelop) kept their version numbers in lock step. This is super useful.
Can anyone tell me/ link-to-me why, what seems to be, all of kde-pim is at version 4.4.* while everything else is 4.5.* ? Or am missing part of my ebuild tree.
_________________
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "moo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
energyman76b
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 2045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, there was no kdepim release for 4.5.
_________________
Study finds stunning lack of racial, gender, and economic diversity among middle-class white males

I identify as a dirty penismensch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
energyman76b
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 2045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holysword wrote:
I think its actually quite painful to update KDE nowadays. Usually its "advised" (well, in fact in most cases its just mandatory) to remove the previous version and then re-install everything. If KDE is ur main/only WM u will have to live with terminal until kdelibs decide to compile. If something terrible happen and there is a particular bug which prevents u from building, u just are obligated to downgrade it again - but oh, what if the previous version was removed from portage?

This was my case for a long time. Upgrading it now and praying that nothing will break. I still have e17, but I mostly use kate/kwrite and other stuffs like that...


I never had to remove kde. Not even when there was a major upgrade like 4.2 to 4.3 or 4.3 to 4.4. In fact, I usually use kde while the update is running. Sure, some stuff does not start for a while - that is why it is a smart move to start all apps you plan to use in the next two hours and then start the emerge -u.

So, where does that advise come from? Seems that some people like to post crap. Probably to make KDE look bad.
_________________
Study finds stunning lack of racial, gender, and economic diversity among middle-class white males

I identify as a dirty penismensch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

energyman76b wrote:
Holysword wrote:
I think its actually quite painful to update KDE nowadays. Usually its "advised" (well, in fact in most cases its just mandatory) to remove the previous version and then re-install everything. If KDE is ur main/only WM u will have to live with terminal until kdelibs decide to compile. If something terrible happen and there is a particular bug which prevents u from building, u just are obligated to downgrade it again - but oh, what if the previous version was removed from portage?

This was my case for a long time. Upgrading it now and praying that nothing will break. I still have e17, but I mostly use kate/kwrite and other stuffs like that...


I never had to remove kde. Not even when there was a major upgrade like 4.2 to 4.3 or 4.3 to 4.4. In fact, I usually use kde while the update is running. Sure, some stuff does not start for a while - that is why it is a smart move to start all apps you plan to use in the next two hours and then start the emerge -u.

So, where does that advise come from? Seems that some people like to post crap. Probably to make KDE look bad.


Twice so far (that I can remember with KDE 4.x), I've seen a file collision error while trying to upgrade KDE. So instead I switch to E17 while upgrading and remove the previous version first - then the upgrade goes perfectly.

I'm using portage 2.1.9.25. I haven't customized FEATURES or COLLISION_IGNORE. How have your KDE upgrades been file collision free?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssteinberg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

StringCheesian wrote:
energyman76b wrote:
Holysword wrote:
I think its actually quite painful to update KDE nowadays. Usually its "advised" (well, in fact in most cases its just mandatory) to remove the previous version and then re-install everything. If KDE is ur main/only WM u will have to live with terminal until kdelibs decide to compile. If something terrible happen and there is a particular bug which prevents u from building, u just are obligated to downgrade it again - but oh, what if the previous version was removed from portage?

This was my case for a long time. Upgrading it now and praying that nothing will break. I still have e17, but I mostly use kate/kwrite and other stuffs like that...


I never had to remove kde. Not even when there was a major upgrade like 4.2 to 4.3 or 4.3 to 4.4. In fact, I usually use kde while the update is running. Sure, some stuff does not start for a while - that is why it is a smart move to start all apps you plan to use in the next two hours and then start the emerge -u.

So, where does that advise come from? Seems that some people like to post crap. Probably to make KDE look bad.


Twice so far (that I can remember with KDE 4.x), I've seen a file collision error while trying to upgrade KDE. So instead I switch to E17 while upgrading and remove the previous version first - then the upgrade goes perfectly.

I'm using portage 2.1.9.25. I haven't customized FEATURES or COLLISION_IGNORE. How have your KDE upgrades been file collision free?


In my experience, stables from portage tree have been usually problem free.
4.4->4.5->4.6, including all the prereleases and betas from the overlay, have been so far pretty painless, which is light years ahead of gnome's betas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbouzan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

StringCheesian wrote:
energyman76b wrote:
Holysword wrote:
I think its actually quite painful to update KDE nowadays. Usually its "advised" (well, in fact in most cases its just mandatory) to remove the previous version and then re-install everything. If KDE is ur main/only WM u will have to live with terminal until kdelibs decide to compile. If something terrible happen and there is a particular bug which prevents u from building, u just are obligated to downgrade it again - but oh, what if the previous version was removed from portage?

This was my case for a long time. Upgrading it now and praying that nothing will break. I still have e17, but I mostly use kate/kwrite and other stuffs like that...


I never had to remove kde. Not even when there was a major upgrade like 4.2 to 4.3 or 4.3 to 4.4. In fact, I usually use kde while the update is running. Sure, some stuff does not start for a while - that is why it is a smart move to start all apps you plan to use in the next two hours and then start the emerge -u.

So, where does that advise come from? Seems that some people like to post crap. Probably to make KDE look bad.


Twice so far (that I can remember with KDE 4.x), I've seen a file collision error while trying to upgrade KDE. So instead I switch to E17 while upgrading and remove the previous version first - then the upgrade goes perfectly.

I'm using portage 2.1.9.25. I haven't customized FEATURES or COLLISION_IGNORE. How have your KDE upgrades been file collision free?

No collisions I can remember, ever. Runing ~amd64 and KDE4 since 4.1, from overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 946
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

energyman76b wrote:
I never had to remove kde. Not even when there was a major upgrade like 4.2 to 4.3 or 4.3 to 4.4. In fact, I usually use kde while the update is running. Sure, some stuff does not start for a while - that is why it is a smart move to start all apps you plan to use in the next two hours and then start the emerge -u.

So, where does that advise come from? Seems that some people like to post crap. Probably to make KDE look bad.


Well, emerge -auND gives me a lot of package collision. I HAVE to unmerge everything and emerge again. What I usually do is to do it slowly, such that I will have some kind of usable system, and then re-emerge everything to be sure that nothing was linked against he wrong/old lib.

As about the advice, I don't clearly remember where I read it for upgrading from 4.X to 4.X+1, but it was probably here inside gentoo forums.

However, for some specific cases, its advised by the Gentoo itself.
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
energyman76b
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 2045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

then remove collision protect for the emerge...
_________________
Study finds stunning lack of racial, gender, and economic diversity among middle-class white males

I identify as a dirty penismensch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tarch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 8:55 am    Post subject: KNotify crashes and keeps restarting/crashing at login Reply with quote

Hi all,
I have a problem with knotify. As I wrote in the title when I log in it crashes and
keeps crashing.
The problems seems related to libQtDBus but I wasn't able to save the stacktrace
because knotify keeps launcing and crashing. Can someone give me some advice on
how to track down the problem?
I have kde 4.5.85 installed but the problem was already happening in 4.5.80.
Here you can find my emerge info:
Code:

Portage 2.1.9.25 (default/linux/amd64/10.0, gcc-4.5.1, glibc-2.12.1-r3, 2.6.31 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-2.6.31-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-_i7_CPU_920_@_2.67GHz-with-gentoo-2.0.1
Timestamp of tree: Wed, 08 Dec 2010 11:00:23 +0000
app-shells/bash:     4.1_p9
dev-lang/python:     2.6.6-r1, 2.7.1, 3.1.3
dev-util/cmake:      2.8.1-r2
sys-apps/baselayout: 2.0.1-r1
sys-apps/openrc:     0.6.8
sys-apps/sandbox:    2.4
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.68
sys-devel/automake:  1.9.6-r3, 1.10.3, 1.11.1
sys-devel/binutils:  2.20.1-r1
sys-devel/gcc:       4.5.1-r1
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.1
sys-devel/libtool:   2.4-r1
sys-devel/make:      3.82
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.36.1 (sys-kernel/linux-headers)
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -finline-functions"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/language.dat.d /etc/texmf/language.def.d /etc/texmf/updmap.d /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -finline-functions"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs distlocks fixlafiles fixpackages metadata-transfer news parallel-fetch protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://mirror.switch.ch/ftp/mirror/gentoo/"
LANG="it_IT.UTF-8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -Wl,-O1 -Wl,--hash-style=both -Wl,--sort-common -Wl,-z,now"
LINGUAS="it en"
MAKEOPTS="-j9"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/var/lib/layman/qting-edge /var/lib/layman/sunrise /var/lib/layman/kde /var/lib/layman/mozilla"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X acl acpi alsa amd64 bash-completion berkdb bluetooth bzip2 cli cracklib crypt cups cxx dri fortran gdbm gpm iconv lm_sensors lzma mmx modules mudflap multilib ncurses nls nptl nptlonly opengl openmp pam pch pcre perl phonon pppd pulseaudio python readline samba semantic-desktop session smp spell sse sse2 sse3 ssl ssse3 sysfs system-sqlite tcpd unicode vdpau vim-syntax xinerama xorg xvmc zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CAMERAS="canon pentax" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev keyboard mouse wacom" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LINGUAS="it en" PHP_TARGETS="php5-2" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby18" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia vesa" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, FFLAGS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS


Thanks in advance,
Bye,
Tarch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you do "revdep-rebuild" after "icu" update? For me it showed "sqlite" to be recompiled, and after that everything is back on track.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tarch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lustmored wrote:
Did you do "revdep-rebuild" after "icu" update? For me it showed "sqlite" to be recompiled, and after that everything is back on track.

Hi,
I'm almost sure that the problem isn't related to this. I had some problem
with that as well and solved. Moreover revdep-rebuild reports that the system
is clean.

Thanks anyway,
Bye,
Tarch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shining Arcanine
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 1110

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When all else fails:

http://techbase.kde.org/Development/Tutorials/Debugging/How_to_create_useful_crash_reports
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3251
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

K3b fails today- anyone seen this one?
Code:
  >>> Emerging (11 of 11) app-cdr/k3b-9999 from kde
 * Package:    app-cdr/k3b-9999
 * Repository: kde
 * Maintainer: kde@gentoo.org media-optical@gentoo.org
 * USE:  amd64 dvd elibc_glibc kernel_linux userland_GNU wav
>>> Unpacking source...
 * subversion update start -->
 *      repository: svn://anonsvn.kde.org/home/kde/trunk/extragear/multimedia/k3b
D    Release How To.txt
D    cmake
D    plugins
D    qt4.tag
D    INSTALL.txt
D    FAQ.txt
D    libk3bdevice
D    src
D    scripts
D    ChangeLog
D    config-k3b.h.cmake
D    k3b.lsm.cmake
D    PERMISSIONS.txt
D    k3bsetup
D    kioslaves
D    Doxyfile.cmake
D    libk3bK3b has been moved to git. Current location:
git://anongit.kde.org/k3b (read-only)
ssh://git@git.kde.org:k3b (read-write)
D    COPYING
D    README.txt
D    COPYING.DOC
D    CMakeLists.txt
A    README
Updated to revision 1204915.
 *    working copy: /usr/portage/distfiles/svn-src/k3b/k3b

>>> Source unpacked in /var/tmp/portage/app-cdr/k3b-9999/work
>>> Preparing source in /var/tmp/portage/app-cdr/k3b-9999/work/k3b-9999 ...
>>> Source prepared.
>>> Configuring source in /var/tmp/portage/app-cdr/k3b-9999/work/k3b-9999 ...
>>> Working in BUILD_DIR: "/var/tmp/portage/app-cdr/k3b-9999/work/k3b-9999_build"
 * Unable to locate CMakeLists.txt under:
 * "/var/tmp/portage/app-cdr/k3b-9999/work/k3b-9999/CMakeLists.txt"
 * Consider not inheriting the cmake eclass.
 * ERROR: app-cdr/k3b-9999 failed:
 *   FATAL: Unable to find CMakeLists.txt
 *
 * Call stack:
 *     ebuild.sh, line   56:  Called src_configure
 *   environment, line 3943:  Called kde4-base_src_configure
 *   environment, line 3012:  Called cmake-utils_src_configure
 *   environment, line 1178:  Called _execute_optionaly 'src_configure'
 *   environment, line  561:  Called enable_cmake-utils_src_configure
 *   environment, line 1561:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *           die "FATAL: Unable to find CMakeLists.txt";
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of 'emerge --info =app-cdr/k3b-9999',
 * the complete build log and the output of 'emerge -pqv =app-cdr/k3b-9999'.
 * This ebuild used the following eclasses from overlays:
 *   /var/lib/layman/kde/eclass/kde4-base.eclass
 *   /var/lib/layman/kde/eclass/kde4-functions.eclass
 * This ebuild is from an overlay named 'kde': '/var/lib/layman/kde/'
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/app-cdr:k3b-9999:20101209-171605.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/app-cdr/k3b-9999/temp/environment'.
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/app-cdr/k3b-9999/work/k3b-9999'


Tried removing the k3b svn-src sources, but it only downloads the README file which says.
Quote:
K3b has been moved to git. Current location:
git://anongit.kde.org/k3b (read-only)
ssh://git@git.kde.org:k3b (read-write)


Should I remove the kde overlay and re-aquire, or is there a simple edit I can make somewhere to point to git- the k3b ebuild?

EDIT: Removed and redowloaded the entire kde overlay, didn't work- still same problem. k3b-9999 is unchanged.

EDIT 2: Just found this at bugzilla, which explains it. https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=348223
Guess we need an ebuild update, or edit in the git address ourselves?


OOPS! :roll: Missed TheDodger's ebuild edit posted above. That fixed it up! Thanks much, Dodger. :D

Something interesting- don't think I've ever seen this before today. Has etc-update gotten so powerful it now does it's work in /etc/portage/ files, even with stuff from live overlays?
Code:
  Showing differences between /etc/portage/package.keywords and /etc/portage/._cfg0000_package.keywords
--- /etc/portage/package.keywords       2010-11-16 05:37:33.000000000 -0500
+++ /etc/portage/._cfg0000_package.keywords     2010-12-09 14:28:36.000000000 -0500
@@ -748,7 +748,8 @@
 ~net-p2p/ktorrent-9999 **
 ~net-wireless/kbluetooth-9999 **
 ~sys-auth/policykit-qt-9999 **
-~sys-auth/polkit-kde-9999 **
+# move sys-auth/polkit-kde sys-auth/polkit-kde-agent
+~sys-auth/polkit-kde-agent-9999 **
 ~sys-auth/polkit-qt-9999 **
 ~sys-block/partitionmanager-9999 **
 ~www-client/rekonq-9999

Did I just miss this before, or is it a new feature? Very impressive.

Anyone know if I should go ahead and replace sys-auth/polkit-kde keyword with sys-auth/polkit-kde-agent-9999 keyword, as etc-update wants to do? I currently have polkit-0.99 and polkit-kde-agent-9999 installed, but no polkit-kde installed.

In other words, has polkit-kde-agent replaced polkit-kde? There's no polkit-kde ebuild in the overlay I can find. Actually, I don't even know if polkit-kde was previously used, and was in the overlay. :roll:
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7108
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, how is 4.6 beta2 working for you guys so far? I am tempted to jump kde-4.stable-ship again.

@wrc1944: Seen this ages before. ;)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lustmored
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me it runs much better than 4.5.3 did. No problem,s no crashes, and smoother plasma effects :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7108
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, doing the switch now, since PyQt4/pykde4-4.5.3 would not build anyway.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shining Arcanine
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 1110

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lustmored wrote:
For me it runs much better than 4.5.3 did. No problem,s no crashes, and smoother plasma effects :D


It seems like they fixed an issue with compositing in 4.6. Anyone using the Blur effect will benefit:

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=242457
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7108
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems my recent PyQt4/pykde4 issues were related to qt-gui[egl] and qt-opengl[egl], that USE-flag currently isn't safe.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 6 of 21

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum