Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Vapor scientific visualisation installation question - Qt
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
groomsi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Location: New York

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:02 pm    Post subject: Vapor scientific visualisation installation question - Qt Reply with quote

There is a nice open source scientific visualisation program developed by the folks at the Nat'l Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) called Vapor: http://www.vapor.ucar.edu/
I'm trying to install from source because I have a PPC and they don't have a binary for Linux on PPC. I installed their list of dependencies using 'emerge'. The tricky one is Qt (I installed qt-core and everything that comes with it). You have to edit a configuration file 'options.mk' to tell it where all the dependencies reside on your system; in this file you have to set QTDIR

"# Set QTDIR to the root of the QT directory where the directories 'bin',
# 'lib', and 'include' may be found, if not in a standard location."

They also include the following, just in case,

"# Set QT_LIB_PATH to the directory where "libqt-mt.*" may be found if
# ***NOT*** under $(QTDIR)/lib. This macro, if set, overrides the
# the default location, $(QTDIR)/lib, and may be needed on platforms
# with mixed word size support (Linux32 and Linux64)."

I've looked around and found several 'qt' and 'Qt' directories, but none which contain 'bin' and 'include' let alone 'bin', 'include', AND 'lib'.

Perhaps someone who knows more about Qt or about Gentoo could suggest something? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi groomsi,
To start I don't have a PPC box.
You didn't state what exactly you emerged.
This software needs Qt3 which no longer is in portage.
Qt4 is unusable for apps that require qt3,this can probably be solved by emergeing qt3support.
You can probably give /usr as the directory where all the qt stuff is located.
You also might want to emerge app-misc/mc.
This will make browsing files a lot easier.
Hope this will get you going.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groomsi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Location: New York

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks gerard82, I hadn't noticed that I was emerging qt4 but that I needed qt3. I emerged the following

x11-libs/qt-core-4.6.2-r1
x11-libs/qt-dbus-4.6.2
x11-libs/qt-gui-4.6.2
x11-libs/qt-qt3support-4.6.2
x11-libs/qt-script-4.6.2
x11-libs/qt-sql-4.6.2

I tried setting QTDIR to /usr, but compilation still fails. The error(s) refer to missing header files like 'qcolor.h'. I think these are qt header files, and they are not in /usr/include.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yes they are!
Look in /usr/include/qt4/Qt
How you should tell gmake where it is I don't know.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groomsi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Location: New York

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also don't know how to tell gmake where the files are, but I suppose that's not a Gentoo question... Thanks for your help; now that I know where the files are I'll try to muddle my way through the makefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Too bad this thing doesn't have a "configure" file.
Most source files have this included so you can give gmake the necessary data.
Good luck.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExZombie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can find qt3 in kde-sunset overlay, available through layman. It installs into /usr/qt/3/.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Qt3 and Qt4 are not source-compatible. You can't compile Qt3 software with Qt4.

qt3support is only there to ease the transition, as it offers a number of deprecated classes so you don't have to completely rewrite code depending on them, but you still need a certain amount of porting.

In short, unless you're the developer of the software, or want to become one, you should not do it, and should install qt3 from the sunset overlay, or some other source.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groomsi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Location: New York

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: They have a version of qt3 available on their website with good installation instructions. I unmerged all the qt on my system, then compiled and installed their version in /usr/local/qt. I then had a problem with tiff/geotiff (can't remember which one at the moment, but the Vapor compile failed). I noticed that they have older versions of the source available on their website; the most recent is 1.5.2, but versions 1.4.2 and previous don't use tiff or geotiff. I'll try installing 1.4.2 and post results.

EDIT: It didn't work. The older versions also fail to compile but with different errors like '<something> not declared in this scope' or 'va_list has not been declared'. I'm not a programmer, so this is where I let it go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groomsi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE: After it was pointed out that Vapor requires Qt3 instead of Qt4 I should have checked all the other dependencies. Vapor requires libgeotiff 1.2.5, but I had the latest stable ppc version, 1.2.1. I unmasked and installed 1.3.0, but this didn't work either because vapor specifically needs libgeotiff.so.1.2. So I downgraded to version 1.2.5 and everything seems to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congratulations!
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum